Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Extratropical Transition

When a tropical cyclone enters the subtropics and mid-latitudes, it can interact with other extratropical weather systems that are there. These systems can include mature storm systems, leftover surface systems or disturbances in the upper atmosphere. In many cases, a change takes place, resulting in a new weather system that is a cross between a tropical cyclone and an extratropical cyclone. This process is called extratropical transition (ET), and meteorologists often simply call the resulting storms ETs.

Although with time the ET will end up being mostly extratropical, these systems always keep some tropical traits, even after moving across the entire Atlantic Ocean. Some of Western Europe’s worst extratropical storms were former ETs. Neither tropical cyclones nor ETs directly hit the west coast of Canada. However, some bad fall and winter storms (extratropical cyclones)--ex-typhoons that have tracked across the Pacific-- have hit British Columbia long after their ET stage. The most infamous case was ex-Typhoon Freda in 1962.  Because of its impact on the American northwest, it became known as the Columbus Day Storm.

Almost all “Canadian-style” tropical cyclones are ETs in some stage of transition. Hurricane Juan (2003) was a rare example of a tropical cyclone that was late in starting the transition process, arriving at Nova Scotia’s coast with most of its tropical qualities still intact. ETstorms affecting Canada have often been as bad as, or even worse than, their earlier tropical versions.

Hurricane Hazel (1954) is the best-known Canadian example of a hurricane that wasn’t really a hurricane. The storm that hit Toronto on that fateful October night was actually a newly formed extratropical cyclone, but one that had completely ingested the energy and moisture of Hazel.

In November 2007, Hurricane Noel completed its ET stage long before arriving in Nova Scotia.  But the extratropical storm that hit was as powerful as any Category 1 hurricane, and it delivered the most damaging waves felt along the coast in at least 50 years. Whether an ET weakens or strengthens depends on the timing and phasing of a number of atmospheric conditions.

Understanding these storms and the transition process is very important because as these storms transform, their structure, behavior and impacts also change. ETs are an ongoing concern for Canada because they are some of the most challenging storms to predict, and they can bring surprisingly severe weather. Forecasters tracking a hurricane have to go to a different “play book” when they think that extratropical transition is taking place. They look for certain telltale signs such as the development of front-like characteristics, the erosion of the deep convection and cloud shield, and an expansion in the radius of gales, to name a few. When and where this transition takes place is important because the impacts are different.

Simple graphic showing where extratropical transition occurs during the lifecycle of tropical cyclones
Simple graphic showing where extratropical transition occurs during the lifecycle of tropical cyclones

A 2001 study by Hart and Evans showed that extratropical transition happens more often in Atlantic Canadian waters than anywhere else in the world. Therefore, Canada’s main tropical cyclone problem is accurately predicting extratropical transition.

The table below shows the differences between tropical cyclones and extratropical cyclones. It helps explain the challenge of predicting the transition before it actually happens.

Differences Between Tropical Cyclones and Extratropical Cyclones
FactorTropical CycloneExtratropical Cyclone
Storm entityThe vortex of the storm is unconnected to the surrounding atmosphere, much like a cork floating in a riverThe vortex of the storm is connected to and is part of the surrounding atmosphere, much like the water near the drain in a bathtub
Maximum wind in the stormLocated in the lower part of the storm, below 2 000 feetLocated in the upper part of the storm, above 30 000 feet (known as the jet stream)
Maximum wind near the surfaceLocated close to the storm centre, just outside the eye of the storm … just to the right of the storm along the direction of motionLocated well away from the storm centre and generally in an elongated orientation along the direction of motion and to the right of the storm
Thermal nature of the storm’s coreWarm coreCold core
Driving energy mechanismEnergy driven by latent-heat release of condensation through deep convectionEnergy driven by baroclinic instability which results from warm and cold air coming in close proximity
RainfallForms in spiral bands around the stormForms in a large area predominantly to the left side of the storm in the direction of motion

To understand the challenge of forecasting ETs, consider Hurricane Ivan from September 2004. The rainfall and upper atmospheric moisture from a dying Ivan (inland over Tennessee) fed northward into a developing storm over eastern Canada. The result was a much more intense storm system over Atlantic Canada than would have otherwise developed, with Newfoundland waters experiencing hurricane-force winds and fatalities. Meanwhile, the lower atmospheric rotation of Ivan drifted back southward, through Florida, into the Gulf of Mexico, where it renewed itself as Tropical Storm Ivan, creating dangerous conditions all over again along some U.S. Gulf coasts.

Typical threat areas

As mentioned earlier, most tropical cyclones are in some stage of extratropical transition when they arrive in Canada or in Canadian waters. Even Hurricane Juan (2003), which was still more tropical than most by the time it reached Canada, was still undergoing ET when it arrived. This is important because the resulting weather and impacts are different than what is seen with a purely tropical cyclone. At the same time, the weather is also different from what might be expected from the purely extratropical storm systems that are common in Canada. The very simple graphic below shows the usual arrangement of the weather and oceanic impacts with typical ETs. Go to the section on Hazards and Impacts for details about the wind, rain, storm surge and ocean waves that are seen with post-tropical storms. For more information on the distinction between the terms "extratropical storm" and "post-tropical storm", visit the Post-tropical Cyclonespage.

The graphic explains the usual threat areas of each kind of weather that a post-tropical storm normally brings (explained in detail below).

This map shows the track, or path, of "Post-tropical Storm Whatzizname", a fictitious storm that is moving northeast through Newfoundland. The graphic explains the usual threat areas of each kind of weather that a post-tropical storm normally brings. The main area of rain (green) is located to the left of the storm track, whereas the worst wind, waves and storm surge are on the right. The highest surge (yellow) is at the coast and immediately to the right of the storm track. The highest winds (red) are generally much stronger to the right of the track and at a distance out from the track (the actual distance depends on a number of factors). The highest waves (blue) are also to the right of the track. They are well-removed from the track itself--at least as far out as the highest winds and sometimes twice that distance.

First Canadian hurricane flight – Hurricane Michael (2000)

In 2000 when Hurricane Michael was bearing down on Newfoundland, Canada flew its first hurricane-mission flight into the storm. The National Research Council (NRC) partnered with Environment Canada to fly NRC’s Convair 580 research aircraft into the hurricane to gather data for forecasters and researchers. Later flight missions into Karen (2001), Isabel (2003) and Juan (2003) gave important data that help us to understand the nature of ETs--but none of them were as important as Michael.

Hurricane Michael storm track
Hurricane Michael storm track
Convair 580 research aircraft. Photo: National Research Council
Convair 580 research aircraft. Photo: National Research Council

The NRC crew and Environment Canada research-flight specialists, including a CHC forecaster, flew into Michael when it was southeast of Nova Scotia on October 19. The flight pattern was designed so that researchers could gather data in all quadrants of the storm as well as through the hurricane’s eye.

National Research Council and Environment Canada research scientists conducting a research flight. Photo: National Research Council and CHC
National Research Council and Environment Canada research scientists conducting a research flight. Photo: National Research Council and CHC
Hurricane Michael dropsonde sequence and storm track map. Photo: Environment Canada © 2009
Sixteen dropsondes were deployed throughout the storm between 16:00 and 18:30 UTC(1:30-4:00 p.m. NDT ). © Environment Canada, 2009
Dropsondes graph for Hurricane Michael. © Environment Canada, 2009
Dropsondes graph for Hurricane Michael. © Environment Canada, 2009

Remarkable wind speeds were recorded on the right side of the storm by the seventh dropsonde, at 16:40 UTC (2:10 p.m. NDT ), shown here. Note the increase in wind speed between the surface and 500 metres; this is normally seen with tropical cyclones. Above that, however, one would expect to see the winds gradually decrease as the altitude increases. In the case of Michael, the hurricane was clearly showing that it was a storm in transition. What was surprising was the strength of the maximum winds: 70-72 metres per second, or 252-259 kilometres per hour.  Category 5 hurricane-strength winds begin at 252 km/h!

It was also surprising that these powerful winds were occurring through a very deep layer of the lower atmosphere, from 500 to 2 000 metres (almost 5 000 feet thick). This was the first time that researchers had obtained detailed wind data from inside a rapidly transitioning storm, and the results got everyone’s attention. If the very stabilizing effects of the cold Atlantic Canadian waters had not kept the high winds from reaching the surface, Michael could have been an enormously devastating storm for Newfoundland. Forecasters, therefore, have to forecast the power of the storm, but they also have to predict the stability of the lower atmosphere to figure out how much of the high wind will reach down to where we live and play.

Research about extratropical transition began in the late 1990s and continues today. The knowledge has been furthered in Canada by, among other things, research flights into Canadian-style tropical cyclones. Read the reports about:

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Transition extratropicale

Quand un cyclone tropical entre dans des zones subtropicales ou des latitudes moyennes, il peut interagir avec les autres systèmes météorologiques extratropicaux qui s'y trouvent. Il peut s’agir de tempêtes à pleine maturité, de systèmes de surface résiduels ou de perturbations dans la haute atmosphère. Il en résulte souvent un nouveau système atmosphérique à mi-chemin entre le cyclone tropical et le cyclone extratropical. C’est ce qu’on appelle la transition extratropicale (TE) que les météorologues nomment simplement la tempête de TE.

Bien qu'avec le temps, la TE devient surtout extratropicale, ces systèmes conservent toujours certaines caractéristiques tropicales, même après une traversée complète de l'océan Atlantique. Certaines des tempêtes extratropicales d'Europe de l'Ouest étaient d’anciennes TE. Ni les cyclones tropicaux, ni les TE frappent directement la côte ouest du Canada. Toutefois, certaines violentes tempêtes d'automne et d'hiver (cyclones extratropicaux) -- d'ex-typhons qui ont traversé le Pacifique -- ont déjà frappé la Colombie-Britannique longtemps après avoir perdu leur état de TE. Le plus célèbre d’entre elles est l’ex-typhon Freda en 1962. Son impact sur le nord-ouest américain a été tel qu'on l'a baptisé la tempête du Columbus day.

La plupart des cyclones tropicaux « de style canadien » sont des TE en transition. L’ouragan Juan (2003) est un rare exemple de cyclone tropical qui a mis du temps à entrer dans son processus de transition et qui a atteint la côte de Nouvelle-Écosse avec la presque totalité de ses caractéristiques tropicales. Les tempêtes en TE qui touchent le Canada sont souvent égales sinon pires que leur version tropicale antérieure.

L’ouragan Hazel (1954) est l’exemple le plus connu d'ouragan qui n’en était pas vraiment un. La tempête qui a frappé Toronto un tristement mémorable soir d’octobre était en fait un cyclone extratropical nouvellement formé qui avait entièrement assimilé l’énergie et l’humidité de Hazel.

En novembre 2007, l’ouragan Noel a perdu son état de TE bien avant d'atteindre la Nouvelle-Écosse. Pourtant, la tempête extratropicale qui a frappé la Nouvelle-Écosse avait toute la puissance d’un ouragan de catégorie 1 et a jeté sur la côte les vagues les plus destructrices depuis au moins 50 ans. L’affaiblissement ou l’aggravation d’une TE dépend de la séquence de plusieurs conditions atmosphériques.

Il est important de bien comprendre ces tempêtes et leur processus de transition, car, lorsqu'elles se transforment, leur structure, leur comportement et leurs répercussions changent également. Le Canada se préoccupe sans cesse des TE, car il s'agit d'un des types de tempête les plus imprévisibles qui peuvent transporter des conditions météorologiques étonnamment violentes. Les prévisionnistes qui suivent les ouragans doivent consulter différentes sources d'information lorsqu’ils croient être en présence d'une transition extratropicale. Ils recherchent certains indices; par exemple, le développement de caractéristiques frontales, l'organisation d'une convection profonde et d'un bouclier de nuages, et la croissance du rayon des coups de vent. L’endroit et le moment où a lieu la transition sont importants, car ils déterminent les répercussions de la tempête.

Schéma simplifié illustrant où se produit la transition extratropicale durant la vie des cyclones tropicaux
Schéma simplifié illustrant où se produit la transition extratropicale durant la vie des cyclones tropicaux

En 2001, une étude de Hart et Evans a démontré que les eaux de l’Atlantique sont l’endroit où se produit le plus grand nombre de transitions extratropicales au monde. Le principal problème du Canada vis-à-vis des cyclones tropicaux est donc de prédire avec précision les transitions extratropicales.

Le tableau ci-dessous montre les différences entre les cyclones tropicaux et extratropicaux. Il aide à comprendre la difficulté de prévoir la transition avant qu’elle ne se produise.

Différences entre les cyclones tropicaux et extratropicaux
FacteurCyclone tropicalCyclone extratropical
TempêteLe tourbillon de la tempête est isolé de l’atmosphère environnante, comme un bouchon de liège flottant sur l’eau d’une rivièreLe tourbillon de la tempête est lié à l’atmosphère environnante et en fait partie, comme l’eau près du drain d’une baignoire
Vent maximum d'une tempêteSitué au bas de la tempête, sous 2 000 pieds d’altitudeSitué en haut de la tempête, au-dessus de 30 000 pieds (appelé le courant jet)
Vent maximum près de la surfacePrès du centre de la tempête, tout juste à l'extérieur de l’œil de celle-ci, à droite, suivant sa trajectoireÀ bonne distance du centre de la tempête, généralement étiré dans la trajectoire de la tempête, à sa droite
Caractéristique thermique du cœur de la tempêteCœur chaudCœur froid
Mécanisme d'entraînement par l’énergieEntraînée par la condensation de chaleur latente dans la convection profondeEntraînée par l’énergie de l’instabilité barocline provoquée par la proximité d’air froid et d’air chaud
PluieEn bandes spirales autour de la tempêteEn grandes étendues principalement à gauche de la tempête, dans sa trajectoire

Pour bien comprendre la difficulté de prévoir les TE, examinons l’ouragan Ivan de septembre 2004. La pluie et l’humidité dans la haute atmosphère d'Ivan en perte de puissance (au-dessus du Tennessee) ont continué leur course vers le nord, vers l'est du Canada, en se muant en tempête. Est alors apparue une tempête beaucoup plus intense que prévu au-dessus de l’Atlantique canadien avec des vagues poussées par des vents de l’intensité d’un ouragan qui ont frappé Terre-Neuve y causant des décès. Entre-temps, le mouvement de rotation d'Ivan, dans la basse atmosphère, a dérivé vers le sud, a traversé la Floride et est redevenu la tempête tropicale Ivan dans le golfe du Mexique, menaçant de nouveau toute la côte américaine du golfe.

Zones normalement dangereuses

Comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné, la plupart des cyclones tropicaux sont dans une certaine mesure des transitions extratropicales lorsqu'ils atteignent le Canada ou les eaux canadiennes. Même l’ouragan Juan (2003), qui était encore à prédominance tropicale lorsqu’il a atteint le Canada, était en transition extratropicale à son arrivée. C'est un point important, car les conditions météorologiques qui s'ensuivent et leurs conséquences sont différentes de celles d'un cyclone purement tropical. Parallèlement, le temps est aussi différent de ce qu’on peut prévoir des tempêtes purement extratropicales qui sont fréquentes au Canada. Le graphique simplifié ci-dessous montre le climat habituel et les impacts océaniques des TE types. Consultez la section Dangers et impacts pour plus de détails sur les vents, la pluie, l’onde de tempête et les vagues océaniques caractéristiques des tempêtes post-tropicales. Pour en savoir plus sur la différence entre les termes « tempête extratropicale » et « tempête post-tropicale », consultez la page « Cyclones post-tropicaux».

L’illustration montre les zones généralement menacées par les différentes conditions normalement présentes dans une tempête post-tropicale (expliquées en détail ci-dessous).

Cette carte montre la trajectoire de la tempête tropicale Machintruc, une tempête fictive qui traverse Terre-Neuve dans un axe nord-est. Le graphique explique les dangers habituels de chaque type de temps qu'apporte généralement une tempête post-tropicale. La principale zone pluvieuse (en vert) se trouve à gauche de la trajectoire de la tempête, tandis que les pires vents et les pires vagues ainsi que l'onde de la tempête sont à droite. L’onde la plus forte (en jaune) atteint la côte, tout juste à droite de la trajectoire de la tempête. Les vents les plus violents (en rouge) sont généralement plus forts à droite de la trajectoire, à une certaine distance de celle-ci (la distance réelle dépendant d'un certain nombre de facteurs). Les plus grosses vagues (en bleu) se trouvent également à droite de la trajectoire. Elles sont à bonne distance de la trajectoire, aussi loin et parfois même deux fois plus loin que les pires vents.

Premier vol d’étude canadien d’un ouragan -- ouragan Michael (2000)

En 2000, alors que l'ouragan Michael approchait de Terre-Neuve, le Canada a effectué son premier vol d'étude d'une tempête. Le Conseil national de recherche du Canada (CNRC), en collaboration avec Environnement Canada, a lancé dans l’ouragan son avion-laboratoire Convair 580 pour y recueillir des données à l'intention des prévisionnistes et des chercheurs. Par la suite, d’autres missions aériennes (Karen en 2001, Isabel en 2003 et Juan en 2003) ont permis de recueillir d’importantes données qui nous aident à comprendre la nature des TE, bien qu’aucun de ces ouragans n’a eu l'ampleur de Michael.

Image satellite de l’ouragan Michael
Image satellite de l’ouragan Michael
Avion-laboratoire Convair 580. Photo: Conseil national de recherche du Canada
Avion-laboratoire Convair 580. Photo: Conseil national de recherche du Canada

L'équipe du CNRC et les spécialistes des vols d'étude d'Environnement Canada, dont un prévisionniste du CCPO, ont traversé Michael le 19 octobre alors que l’ouragan se trouvait au sud-est de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Grâce à la trajectoire de vol, les chercheurs ont pu recueillir des données dans tous les quadrants de la tempête et dans l’œil de l’ouragan.

Chercheurs du CNRC et d’Environnement Canada en vol d’étude. Photo: Conseil national de recherche du Canada et Environnement Canada
Chercheurs du CNRC et d’Environnement Canada en vol d’étude. Photo: Conseil national de recherche du Canada et Environnement Canada
Séquence de catasonde et carte de la trajectoire de l’ouragan Michael. © Environnement Canada, 2009
16 catasondes ont été parachutées dans la tempête entre 16 heures et 18 heures 30 UTC (13 heures 30 et 16 heures HAT).
© Environnement Canada, 2009
Catasondes parachutées dans l’ouragan Michael. © Environnement Canada, 2009
Catasondes parachutées dans l’ouragan Michael.
© Environnement Canada, 2009

Des vents d’une vitesse impressionnante ont été enregistrés à droite de la tempête par la septième catasonde à 16 heures 40 UTC (14 heures 10 HAT), comme l’illustre le graphique. Remarquez l'augmentation de la vitesse du vent entre le sol et l’altitude de 500 mètres, normalement observée dans les cyclones tropicaux. Normalement, les vents ralentissent graduellement plus l'altitude augmente. En ce qui concerne Michael, on voit nettement qu'il s'agit d'une tempête en transition. Phénomène surprenant : la puissance du vent maximum : entre 70 et 72 mètres à la seconde, ou entre 252 et 259 km/h. Les vents les plus faibles d’un ouragan de catégorie soufflent à 252 km/h!

Il a également été surprenant de constater la couche très épaisse de ces vents violents dans la basse atmosphère, entre 500 et 2 000 mètres (d'une épaisseur d'environ 5 000 pieds). C'était la toute première fois que les chercheurs recueillaient des données détaillées sur les vents à l'intérieur d'une tempête en rapide transition, et les résultats ont été surprenants. Si les effets très stabilisants des eaux froides de l’Atlantique canadien n’avaient pas empêché les vents élevés d’atteindre le sol, Michael aurait pu causer des dégâts considérables à Terre-Neuve. Les prévisionnistes doivent donc prévoir non seulement la puissance de la tempête, mais également le degré de stabilité de la basse atmosphère afin de calculer la puissance des vents qui risquent de nous atteindre à la surface du sol.

Les recherches sur la transition extratropicale ont commencé à la fin des années 1990 et se poursuivent. Certaines connaissances ont été acquises au Canada grâce notamment aux vols d’étude dans les cyclones tropicaux de type canadien. Il est également possible de consulter les rapports suivants :