Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Canadian Tropical Cyclone Season Summary for 1999

Prepared by: Peter Bowyer

The 1999 tropical cyclone season saw twelve named storms. Five entered the Canadian Hurricane Centre (CHC) Response Zone (RZ), and three of these entered the CHC Area of Responsibility.

1999 Storm Tracks Image
1999 Storm Tracks Image

The remnants of a sixth storm moved over the region as well, resulting in strong winds and “1-in-100-year” rainfalls being greatly exceeded.

A total of 141 bulletins were issued by the CHC, making the 1999 season the busiest since 1995.

Bulletin Summaries for 1995-1999
Bulletin Summaries19991998199719961995
Prognostic Messages
(FXCN05 CWHX)
70
45
26
43
90
Hurricane Information Statements
(WTCN31/71 CWHX)
71
42
26
48
55
Total
141
87
52
91
145

 

Cindy (August 19–31)

Tropical Storm Cindy entered the extreme southeastern portion of the CHC RZ on August 31, but was downgraded shortly thereafter. Over the Southern Grand Banks of Newfoundland, peak winds of 115 km/h and maximum wave heights of 16.7 m were reported. No significant effects were felt over land.

Floyd (September 7–17)

Hurricane Floyd entered the CHC RZ during the evening of September 16, near the eastern coast of the United States, and was downgraded to a tropical storm thereafter. Floyd was further downgraded the following morning while over southern Maine. Despite intense media interest in this storm, few significant effects were felt over Canadian land. Maximum winds while crossing the CHC RZ were near 83 km/h with maximum seas of 8 to 9 m.

Gert (September 11–23)

Hurricane Gert entered the CHC RZ during the afternoon of September 22 and was downgraded to a tropical storm during the early morning hours of September 23 while passing about 110 km east of St. John’s, Newfoundland. Gert subsequently headed out over the Atlantic. Maximum winds of 125 km/h and maximum seas of 23.6 m were reported. An interesting feature of Gert was that it did not exhibit the often-observed post-tropical rain pattern. The main precipitation area was observed to the right of the storm’s track, instead of to the left, thereby producing no significant rainfalls over land. However, high waves and surf were responsible for considerable damage and property loss, particularly at St. Bride’s on the south coast of Newfoundland.

Harvey(September 21– 23)

Some of the most noteworthy events for Atlantic Canada during the 1999 tropical cyclone season occurred when the remnants of Tropical Storm Harvey moved through. After interacting with a mid-latitude trough, rainfalls measuring more than twice the “1-in-100-year” values were reported along with strong winds. Some areas of southeastern New Brunswick and northern Nova Scotia received over 250 mm of rain over a 30-hour period. Oxford, Nova Scotia reported 302 mm during the same time period. From 50 to 100 mm fell in Labrador.

Irene (October 13–19)

Hurricane Irene entered the CHC RZ near noon on October 18, then tracked across the southern marine areas, about 385 km south of Nova Scotia. Irene was downgraded to a tropical storm during the evening of October 18 and subsequently passed just southeast of Cape Race, Newfoundland, before moving rapidly off to the northeast. Numerous wind warnings (marine and public) and heavy rainfall warnings were issued by both the Newfoundland Weather Centre and the Maritimes Weather Centre. Maximum winds from Irene were near 98 km/h with a gust of 117 km/h along the east coast of Newfoundland. Rainfall amounts for the Atlantic coast of Nova Scotia and for eastern Newfoundland were in the 40 to 70 mm range. Maximum seas of 14.8 m were reported.

Jose (October 17–25)

Tropical Storm Jose entered the CHC RZ during the morning of October 25, passing about 675 km southeast of Sable Island before weakening over the Southern Grand Banks of Newfoundland. No effects were felt over land. There were, however, marine warnings issued for southern waters by both the Newfoundland Weather Centre and the Maritimes Weather Centre. Buoy reports showed maximum seas of 8.3 m as well as peak winds of 65 km/h. Estimates by the CHC, however, suggested maximum winds near Jose in excess of 100 km/h.

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Résumé de la saison de cyclones tropicaux au Canada de 1999

Préparé par Peter Bowyer

Douze tempêtes de la saison des cyclones tropicaux de 1999 ont reçu un nom. Cinq d’entre elles ont pénétré dans la zone d’intervention (ZI) du Centre canadien de prévisions d’ouragan (CCPO) et, sur ces cinq, trois sont entrées dans la zone de responsabilité du CCPO.

Trajectoires des tempêtes de 1999. Cinq cyclones tropicaux ont pénétré dans la zone d’intervention du Centre canadien de prévision des ouragans : Floyd, Irene, Gert, José et Cindy.

De plus, les vestiges d’une sixième tempête ont traversé la région, accompagnés de vents violents et des pluies les plus abondantes enregistrées en 100 ans.

Au total, le CCPO a diffusé 141 bulletins, faisant de 1999 la saison la plus animée depuis 1995.

Résumés des bulletins de 1995 à 1999
Statistiques Sur Les Bulletins19991998199719961995
Messages de prévision
(FXCN05 CWHX)
70
45
26
43
90
Bulletins d’information sur les ouragans
(WTCN31/71 CWHX)
71
42
26
48
55
Total
141
87
52
91
145

 

Cindy (du 19 au 31 août)

La tempête tropicale Cindy est entrée dans l’extrémité sud-est de la ZI du CCPO le 31 août, mais elle a été déclassée peu de temps après. Des pointes de vent de 115 km/h et une hauteur de vague maximale de 16,7 m ont été observées dans le sud des Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve. Aucun effet important n’a été ressenti sur la terre ferme.

Floyd (du 7 au 17 septembre)

L’ouragan Floyd est entré dans la ZI du CCPO le 16 septembre en soirée, près de la côte est des États-Unis, et a été déclassé au stade de tempête tropicale peu de temps après. Le lendemain matin, Floyd a de nouveau été déclassé tandis qu’il passait au-dessus du sud du Maine. Malgré l’importante couverture médiatique dont elle a fait l’objet, la tempête Floyd a produit peu d’effets importants sur la terre ferme au Canada. Elle a traversé la ZI du CCPO accompagnée de vents soufflant jusqu’à près de 83 km/h et de vagues d’une hauteur maximale de 8 à 9 m.

Gert (du 11 au 23 septembre)

L’ouragan Gert est entré dans la ZI du CCPO dans l’après-midi du 22 septembre et a été déclassé au stade de tempête tropicale aux premières heures du 23 septembre, tandis qu’il se trouvait à 110 km à l’est de St. John’s (Terre-Neuve). Il a poursuivi sa course au-dessus de l’Atlantique, accompagné de vents d’une vitesse maximale de 125 km/h et de vagues d’une hauteur maximale de 23,6 m. L’ouragan Gert se distingue des autres cyclones tropicaux, puisque les précipitations qui l’accompagnaient sont tombées à droite de sa trajectoire, et non à gauche, comme c’est généralement le cas. Il n’y a donc pas eu de chutes de pluie importantes sur les terres, mais la violence des vagues et du ressac a entraîné des dommages matériels considérables, particulièrement à St. Bride’s, sur la côte sud de Terre-Neuve.

Harvey (du 21 au 23 septembre)

Au Canada atlantique, la saison des cyclones tropicaux de 1999 a été marquée par le passage des vestiges de la tempête tropicale Harvey. S’étant mélangée à un creux barométrique des latitudes moyennes, cette tempête a causé des chutes de pluie deux fois plus abondantes que le maximum observé en cent ans ainsi que des vents très forts. Certaines régions du sud-est du Nouveau‑Brunswick et du nord de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont reçu plus de 250 mm de pluie en trente heures. À Oxford, en Nouvelle-Écosse, 302 mm de pluie sont tombés pendant cette période, et, au Labrador, de 50 à 100 mm.

Irene (du 13 au 19 octobre)

L’ouragan Irene est entré dans la ZI du CCPO le 18 octobre vers midi, puis a traversé les secteurs maritimes situés à environ 385 km au sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Déclassée au stade de tempête tropicale le 18 octobre en soirée, Irene est passée juste au sud-est du cap Race, à Terre-Neuve, puis a rapidement poursuivi sa course vers le nord-est. Les centres météorologiques de Terre-Neuve et des Maritimes ont diffusé de nombreux avertissements de vent (maritimes et publics) et de pluies abondantes. La vitesse maximale des vents, de près de 98 km/h, et la plus forte rafale, de 117 km/h, ont été enregistrées sur la côte est de Terre-Neuve. De 40 à 70 mm de pluie sont tombés sur la côte atlantique de la Nouvelle-Écosse et sur l’est de Terre-Neuve. La hauteur maximale des vagues était de 14,8 m.

Jose (du 17 au 25 octobre)

La tempête tropicale Jose est entrée dans la ZI du CCPO dans la matinée du 25 octobre, passant à environ 675 km au sud-est de l’île de Sable, avant de faiblir au-dessus du sud des Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve. Aucun effet important n’a été ressenti sur la terre ferme, mais les centres météorologiques de Terre-Neuve et des Maritimes ont diffusé des avertissements maritimes pour le sud de la zone. Des vagues maximales de 8,3 m ainsi que des pointes de vent de 65 km/h ont été enregistrées par des bouées, mais selon les estimations du CCPO, la vitesse maximale des vents a été supérieure à 100 km/h.

Date de modification :