Storm Preparedness: Taking Action against Hurricane Hazards

This part of the Canadian Hurricane Centre website describes the hazards posed by tropical cyclones. With this information in hand, Canadians will have what they need to take concrete action to prepare against these storms, well in advance of the threat. These actions will help to save lives at work, at home, or while on the road or on the water.

On this website you'll find almost everything you need to know about the hazard - that's our expertise. But you’ll also find almost everything you need to know about how you can limit your vulnerability or reduce the risks of these storms. That comes from the expertise of Public Safety Canada and provincial emergency management organizations. We are providing most of the necessary information you’ll need here, for your convenience. But you will also find links to the websites of these other agencies so that you can be aware of the efforts that are being taken in your own community and can go even further in your personal preparations.

Once you are armed with this information, you will know exactly what to do to take action - and it’s all about taking action. We agree with the United States National Hurricane Center, whose website states that

"preventing the loss of life and minimizing the damage to property from hurricanes are responsibilities that are shared by all."

La préparation aux tempêtes : Passer à l’action pour se protéger des dangers que présentent les ouragans

Cette section du site Web du Centre canadien de prévisions d'ouragan décrit les dangers que présentent les cyclones tropicaux. Grâce à cette information, les Canadiens pourront poser des gestes concrets pour se protéger des tempêtes, bien avant d’être confrontés à une menace. Ces gestes contribueront à sauver des vies au travail, à la maison, sur la route ou sur l’eau.

Dans ce site, vous trouverez à peu près tout ce que vous devez savoir sur les dangers – c’est notre domaine d’expertise. Vous y trouverez aussi à peu près tout ce que vous devez savoir pour limiter votre vulnérabilité ou réduire les risques que présentent ces tempêtes – c’est le domaine d’expertise de Sécurité publique Canada et des organisations de gestion des urgences provinciales. Nous avons réuni ici pour vous la plupart de l’information essentielle sur le sujet. Nous vous proposons aussi des liens vers les sites Web d’autres organismes afin de vous sensibiliser aux efforts déployés dans votre collectivité et de vous aider dans votre préparation aux situations d'urgence.

Le but est de vous informer afin que vous sachiez exactement ce que vous devez faire pour passer à l’action, car, en bout de ligne, c’est ce qui compte. Nous sommes d’accord avec le site Web du National Hurricane Center des États-Unis qui affirme que :

La prévention des pertes de vies et la réduction des dommages causés aux biens par les ouragans sont des responsabilités que nous partageons tous.