Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Tropical Cyclone Information Statements and Technical Discussions 

The Canadian Hurricane Centre issues two types of bulletins when a tropical cyclone is expected to bring tropical-storm force winds (gales 63-117 km/h) into Canadian territory or territorial waters within the next three days. The Tropical Cyclone Information Statement is a plain language bulletin designed for the public and media, whereas the Tropical Cyclone Technical Discussion provides technical details on the storm for specialized clients who need more detailed meteorological information.

The Canadian Hurricane Centre stops issuing these bulletins in any of the following circumstances:

  • when the tropical cyclone has moved beyond our area of concern and is no longer bringing gales to Canada or Canadian waters AND any heavy rainfalls have also ended
  • when the tropical cyclone has become extratropical and has lost most of its tropical characteristics (Note: regional Storm Prediction Centres will continue to issue routine forecasts and warnings)
  • when the tropical cyclone has dropped below gale strength to tropical depression strength (37–62 km/h) AND any heavy rainfalls have ended (Note: The Canadian Hurricane Centre will continue issuing bulletins as long as heavy rains are falling)

Note: The Canadian Hurricane Centre stops issuing bulletins only after consulting with the affected regional Storm Prediction Centres.

Content of the Tropical Cyclone Information Statement

These bulletins, which are intended for the media and general public, provide non-technical storm-specific information. A  bulletin header and information about the affected areas are followed by the following details:

  • Section 1 – The storm’s current position, strength, present movement and central pressure
  • Section 2 – Information on reported severe weather or impacts, and an overview of expected impacts (if predictable). This section also includes a summary of inland warnings issued by the Canadian Hurricane Centre or Storm Prediction Centres. Details on specific impacts are listed as follows just prior to the storm’s arrival:
    • A: Wind
    • B: Rainfall
    • C: Surge/Waves
  • Section 3 – Summary of marine warnings issued by the Storm Predication Centres, details of reported severe weather or impacts, and an overview of expected impacts (if predictable)

Content of the Tropical Cyclone Technical Discussion

These bulletins are intended for meteorologists and other clients with a technical or meteorological background who require more detailed meteorological information. They contain more technical detail and language. The bulletin provides details on the reasoning behind the analysis and forecast of a specific storm. It also includes tabular information for storm forecast positions and a wind radii table. In the Tropical Cyclone Technical Discussion a bulletin header is followed by the following details:

  • Section 1 – The storm’s current position, strength, central pressure and present movement
  • Section 2 – Information on the forecast position, central pressure and strength of the storm in tabular format
  • Section 3 – A written technical discussion intended to convey the forecaster’s rationale on the current and forecast elements of the storm. 
    • A: Analysis – discussion of the current details of the storm and its environment
    • B: Prognostic – discussion of the future details of the storm and its environment
    • C: Predicted Wind Radii – A table of the predicted radii of recognized wind thresholds (e.g. gale force winds, storm force winds, hurricane force winds)

Bulletins d’information et discussions techniques sur les cyclones tropicaux

Le Centre canadien de prévision des ouragans émet deux types de bulletins lorsque l’on prévoit qu’un cyclone tropical générera, dans les trois jours à venir, des vents de la force d’une tempête tropicale (coups de vent de 63 à 117 km/h) sur le territoire canadien ou dans les eaux territoriales canadiennes. Le bulletin d’information sur les cyclones tropicaux est un bulletin en langage clair destiné au public et aux médias, tandis que la discussion technique sur les cyclones tropicaux fournit des renseignements techniques sur la tempête à des clients spécialisés qui ont besoin d’une information météorologique plus détaillée.

Le Centre canadien de prévision des ouragans cesse d’émettre ces bulletins dans l’une ou l’autre des circonstances suivantes :

  • quand le cyclone tropical a quitté notre zone de responsabilité et ne génère plus de coups de vent au Canada ou dans les eaux canadiennes ET que toute pluie abondante a cessé
  • quand le cyclone tropical est devenu extratropical et qu’il a perdu la plupart de ses caractéristiques tropicales (remarque : les centres de prévision des intempéries régionaux continueront d’émettre des prévisions et des avertissements réguliers)
  • quand la force du cyclone tropical est réduite à celle d’une dépression tropicale (vents de 37 à 62 km/h) ET que toute pluie abondante a cessé (remarque : le Centre canadien de prévision des ouragans continuera de diffuser des bulletins tant qu’il y aura une pluie abondante)

Remarque : Le Centre canadien de prévision des ouragans cesse d’émettre des bulletins uniquement après avoir consulté les centres de prévision des intempéries régionaux concernés.

Contenu des bulletins d’information sur les cyclones tropicaux

Ces bulletins, destinés aux médias et au grand public, fournissent de l’information non technique sur les tempêtes. L’en-tête du bulletin et les renseignements sur les régions touchées sont suivis de l’information suivante :

  • Section 1 – La position actuelle, l’intensité, le déplacement actuel et la pression centrale de la tempête.
  • Section 2 – Information sur les phénomènes météorologiques de temps violent ou les impacts signalés, et aperçu des répercussions attendues (si elles sont prévisibles). Cette section comprend également un résumé des avertissements pour les régions intérieures émis par le Centre canadien de prévision des ouragans ou les centres de prévision des intempéries. L’information sur les impacts précis est présentée comme suit, tout juste avant le début de la tempête :
    • A: Vent
    • B: Précipitation
    • C: Onde de tempête/vagues
  • Section 3 – Résumé des avertissements pour les secteurs maritimes émis par les centres de prévision des intempéries, détails sur les phénomènes météorologiques violents ou les impacts signalés et aperçu des répercussions attendues (si elles sont prévisibles).

Contenu de la discussion technique sur les cyclones tropicaux

Ces bulletins sont destinés aux météorologues et aux autres clients possédant des connaissances techniques ou en météorologie, qui nécessitent des renseignements météorologiques plus détaillés. Ils contiennent de l’information et des termes plus techniques. Ils fournissent des renseignements sur le raisonnement derrière l’analyse et la prévision d’une tempête donnée. Ils comprennent également des tableaux sur les positions prévues de la tempête et les rayons des vents. Dans la discussion technique sur les cyclones tropicaux, l’en-tête du bulletin est suivi de l’information suivante :

  • Section 1 – La position actuelle, l’intensité, la pression centrale et le déplacement actuel de la tempête
  • Section 2 – Information, sous forme de tableau, sur la position prévue, la pression centrale et l’intensité de la tempête 
  • Section 3 – Discussion technique écrite visant à faire connaître la justification du prévisionniste sur les éléments actuels et prévus de la tempête 
    • A: Analyse – discussion des données actuelles de la tempête et de son environnement
    • B: Pronostic – discussion des données futures de la tempête et de son environnement
    • C: Rayons prévus des vents – tableau des rayons prévus (p. ex., coups de vent, vents de force tempête, vents de force ouragan)
Date de modification :