Conservation of Polar Bears
in Canada

This content is also available in PDF format (784 KB)

Did you know?

Canada is home to approximately 16 000 of the estimated 20 000–25 000 polar bears in the global polar regions. It is no wonder that the polar bear, an icon of Canada’s wildlife heritage, is of great cultural significance to the Canadian people. For the Inuit and many northern communities, polar bears are especially significant culturally, spiritually and economically. Canada has a unique conservation responsibility to protect these iconic creatures. This is one reason why Canada has increased investment in monitoring efforts in recent years. Canada’s inventory schedule for polar bears is designed to ensure that there are up-to-date population estimates for all 13 subpopulations that occur in our country. While monitoring is challenging due to the remote and inhospitable environment of the Arctic, population estimates can help ensure that management and conservation actions are appropriate.

Polar bears and CITES

Appendix I listings are appropriate for species that are known to be traded internationally and when the trade has, or may have, a detrimental impact on the status of the species. At the current time, the polar bear does not meet the criteria for listing in CITES Appendix I. Approximately 2% of the Canadian polar bear population enters international trade (300 bears annually), and exports from Canada have not increased over the years. Polar bear trade does not come from a commercial harvest but from a subsistence harvest. Harvest quotas are based on principles of conservation and Aboriginal subsistence, and are not market driven; an Appendix I listing would have no conservation benefit.

Polar bear also do not meet the biological criteria to be listed in Appendix I. To be listed, a species must be “threatened with extinction,” which is defined as a species that meets at least one of: a small wild population; the wild population has a restricted area of distribution; and/or, a marked decline that is either observed or projected. The current global population size is estimated at 20 000–25 000 polar bears. The polar bear does not have a small wild population, it does not have a restricted area of distribution and no marked decline has been observed. 

International trade is not a threat to polar bears, and the species does not meet the biological criteria for an Appendix I listing at the current time.

Polar bear resting in snow

Photo : © Photos.com

Canada’s action on polar bears

Canada is home to two thirds of the global polar bear population and is committed to the conservation of this incredible species. In Canada, polar bears are protected through a collaborative approach that is shared with provinces, territories and regional wildlife management boards. This allows activities, investments and expertise to be coordinated across the country and ensures that each organization is meeting its responsibilities to conserve the species while supporting our international commitments. This collaborative approach has been successful in positioning Canada to meet its obligations as party to the Agreement on Conservation of Polar Bears (1973) that was signed by Canada, Norway, Russia, Greenland and the United States.

In 2008, a committee of wildlife experts considering science and Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge assessed polar bears as species of Special Concern. Extensive consultations with all Canadians, particularly in the North, took place over two years. The polar bear was listed as a species of Special Concern in November 2011 under the Species at Risk Act (SARA), which is strong domestic legislation to conserve and protect wildlife in Canada. A federal Management Plan is now under development in accordance with the Special Concern listing.

Ongoing assessments by experts, including the Polar Bear Technical Committee, have identified the most vulnerable populations of polar bears. As a result, a number of actions have been taken including signature of a Memorandum of Understanding with Greenland, targeted export restrictions and interjurisdictional coordination where appropriate.

Additional actions taken to protect polar bears include:

  • Providing scientific advice and Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge on harvest management consistent with the Agreement on the Conservation of Polar Bears (1973) to ensure that quotas allow for a sustainable harvest from polar bear populations.
  • Regulating the import and export of live polar bears, polar bear hides and trophies through the Wild Animal and Plant Protection and Regulation of International and Interprovincial Trade Act (WAPPRIITA).
  • Establishing protected areas for habitat important to polar bears through our national parks, national and marine wildlife areas, and provincial and territorial parks.
  • Developing a National Polar Bear Conservation Strategy (completed August 2011) and involvement in the development of a Circumpolar Action Plan with the other Range States (in progress).
    • The Circumpolar Action Plan will be informed by science and Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge and will focus on opportunities for collaboration across the range of the polar bear. It is anticipated that the plan will be finalized by the 2015 Range States Meeting of the Parties.

International action

Canada is working with its international partners, including non-governmental organizations, to coordinate our efforts in polar bear conservation. Our international actions include:

  • Meeting international obligations under:
    • 1973 Agreement on the Conservation of Polar Bears
    • Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES)
  • Collaborating with the other Polar Bear Range States on conservation actions
  • Signing bilateral agreements on the management of polar bears:
    • US–Canada Memorandum of Understanding
    • Greenland–Canada Memorandum of Understanding
  • Working with the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
    • Environment Canada scientists are members of the IUCN’s Polar Bear Specialist Group, who compile scientific information and give independent advice to decision-makers and management authorities.

The Polar Bear Range States

The five parties to the 1973 Agreement recognize that polar bear are important for people in northern communities, the Range States and the world. The nature and pace of change in the Arctic requires action locally, nationally and internationally. The five Range State countries will continue to work collaboratively on both new and ongoing conservation initiatives. 

Climate change

  • Canada is taking action on all fronts--domestic, continental and international--to address the impacts of climate change.
  • We stand firm on our commitment to reduce our greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions by 17% from 2005 levels, by 2020. To move towards this goal, we have developed a sector-by-sector regulatory plan to systematically address all major sources of emissions.
  • Internationally, the Durban Platform for Enhanced Action has set out a negotiating mandate for all countries to develop a single, new, international treaty to include all major emitters, to be implemented by 2020. Canada will continue to engage actively with international partners over the next several years to successfully conclude these negotiations.
  • Climate change continues to have a negative impact on polar bears in some portions of their range and remains the most important threat to their long-term range-wide security.
  • Conservation plans for polar bears must consider highly variable immediate and ongoing effects as well as predictable ultimate effects of the global warming challenge. 

Research

Environment Canada is combining science, experience and Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge to form the basis for our research. The inclusion of Traditional Knowledge helps to provide information on polar bear abundances, movements and behaviours, and provides valuable long-term perspective on changes in the population. This approach is unique, as Canada is the only country that considers Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge in the management and conservation of polar bears.

Cooperative research is often undertaken where the project is of interest to several jurisdictions, including the United States (Alaska), Greenland and Norway. Some research projects conducted by university researchers are coordinated with government scientists. 

Other projects are supported by funds from wildlife management boards established by the land claims process, by independent foundations, and through grants to graduate students who are co-supervised by government and university researchers.

Conservation de l’ours blanc
au Canada

Ce contenu est aussi disponible en fomat PDF (766 Ko)

Le saviez-vous?

Le Canada abrite environ 16 000 des 20 000 à 25 000 ours blancs qui vivent dans les régions polaires du monde entier? Il n’est pas étonnant que l’ours blanc, un emblème du patrimoine faunique du Canada, ait une grande importance culturelle pour le peuple canadien. Pour les Inuits et de nombreuses collectivités du Nord, l’ours blanc est particulièrement important sur les plans culturel, spirituel et économique. Le Canada a une responsabilité unique en ce qui a trait à la conservation et à la protection de ces créatures emblématiques. C’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles le Canada investit davantage dans les efforts de surveillance depuis quelques années. La méthode qu’utilise le Canada pour dénombrer les ours blancs permet d’obtenir des estimations à jour pour chacune des sous-populations qu’abrite le pays. Bien que la surveillance constitue un défi en raison de l’éloignement géographique de l’Arctique et des conditions inhospitalières qui y règnent, les estimations de population sont précieuses, car elles permettent de s’assurer que les mesures de gestion et de conservation mises en œuvre sont appropriées.

L’ours blanc et la CITES

L’inscription à l’Annexe 1 est généralement réservée aux espèces que l’on sait faire l’objet d’un commerce international ayant, ou étant susceptible d’avoir, un effet préjudiciable sur la situation de l’espèce. À l’heure actuelle, l’ours blanc ne remplit pas les critères d’inscription à l’Annexe 1 de la CITES. Environ 2 % de la population canadienne d’ours blancs fait l’objet d’un commerce international (soit 300 ours annuellement), et les exportations à partir du Canada n’ont pas augmenté au fil des ans. Le commerce de l’ours blanc découle de la chasse à des fins de subsistance et non de la chasse à des fins commerciales. Les quotas de capture sont établis en fonction des principes de conservation et de manière à assurer la subsistance des peuples autochtones; ils ne sont pas dictés par les forces du marché. Une inscription à l’Annexe 1 ne présenterait aucun avantage sur le plan de la conservation.

De plus, l’ours blanc ne remplit aucun des critères biologiques qui justifieraient de l’inscrire à l’Annexe I. Pour être inscrite, une espèce doit être « menacée d’extinction », et pour être considérée comme telle, elle doit remplir au moins un des critères suivants : la population sauvage est petite; la population sauvage a une aire de répartition restreinte; un déclin marqué de la population a été observé ou est prévu. On estime que la population actuelle d’ours blancs compterait de 20 000 à 25 000 individus à l’échelle mondiale. L’ours blanc n’a pas une petite population sauvage, son aire de répartition n’est pas restreinte et aucun déclin marqué de la population n’a été observé. 

Le commerce international ne constitue pas une menace pour l’ours blanc et pour le moment l’espèce ne remplit aucun des critères biologiques qui justifieraient de l’inscrire à l’Annexe 1.

Mesures prises par le Canada pour la conservation de l’ours blanc

Photo en gros plan d'un ours blanc qui se repose dans la neige.

Photo : © Photos.com

Le Canada abrite les deux tiers de la population mondiale d’ours blancs et est bien résolu à assurer la conservation de cette espèce remarquable. Au Canada, l’ours blanc est protégé grâce à une collaboration entre les provinces, les territoires et les conseils régionaux de gestion des ressources fauniques. Cette approche concertée permet de coordonner les activités, les investissements et l’expertise d’un bout à l’autre du pays et de s’assurer que chaque organisation s’acquitte de ses responsabilités relatives à la conservation de l’espèce, tout en soutenant nos engagements internationaux. Grâce à cette approche, le Canada est en position de remplir ses obligations à titre de partie à l’Accord sur la conservation des ours blancs (1973), lequel a également été ratifié par la Norvège, la Russie, le Groenland et les États-Unis.

En 2008, un comité de spécialistes des espèces sauvages, éclairé par des données scientifiques et des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones, est parvenu à la conclusion que l’ours blanc constituait une « espèce préoccupante ». De vastes consultations auprès de l’ensemble des Canadiens – en particulier ceux du Nord – ont été menées sur une période de deux ans. En novembre 2011, l’ours blanc a été désigné « espèce préoccupante » au titre de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), une loi nationale musclée qui assure la conservation et la protection des espèces sauvages du Canada. Un Plan de gestion fédéral tenant compte de ce statut d’espèce préoccupante est en cours d’élaboration.

Des évaluations continues menées par des spécialistes, y compris le Comité technique de l’ours blanc, ont permis d’identifier les populations d’ours blancs les plus vulnérables. Ces évaluations ont donné lieu à plusieurs mesures, notamment la signature d’un Protocole d’entente avec le Groenland, l’imposition de restrictions ciblées à l’exportation et un travail de coordination entre les différents secteurs de compétence au besoin.

D’autres mesures ont été prises pour protéger l’ours blanc, notamment :

  • Fournir des conseils scientifiques et des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones sur la gestion des captures allant de pair avec l’Accord sur la conservation des ours blancs (1973), de manière à ce que les quotas s’inscrivent dans une optique de préservation des populations d’ours blancs.
  • Réglementer l’importation et l’exportation d’ours blancs vivants, de leur peau et de trophées, au moyen de la Loi sur la protection d’espèces animales ou végétales sauvages et la réglementation de leur commerce international et interprovincial (WAPPRIITA).
  • Établir des zones d’habitat protégées importantes pour les ours blancs dans nos parcs nationaux, nos réserves fauniques nationales, nos réserves de faune marine, et nos parcs provinciaux et territoriaux.
  • Élaborer une Stratégie nationale de conservation de l’ours blanc (achevée en août 2011) et participer à l’établissement d’un Plan d’action circumpolaire avec les autres États abritant l’ours blanc (en cours).
    • Le Plan d’action circumpolaire sera élaboré à la lumière de données scientifiques et de connaissances traditionnelles autochtones, et axé sur les possibilités de collaboration entre les États abritant l’ours blanc. Le Plan devrait être au point d’ici la réunion des États abritant l’ours blanc qui se tiendra en 2015.

Mesures internationales

Le Canada travaille de concert avec ses partenaires internationaux, y compris des organisations non gouvernementales, afin de coordonner ses efforts pour assurer la conservation de l’ours blanc. De nombreuses mesures sont prises à l’échelle internationale, notamment :

  • le respect de nos obligations internationales en vertu des accords suivants :
    • Accord sur la conservation des ours blancs de 1973;
    • Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES)
  • une collaboration avec les autres États abritant l’ours blanc quant aux mesures de conservation à prendre;
  • la signature d’accords bilatéraux sur la gestion de l’ours blanc :
    • Protocole d’entente entre le Canada et les États-Unis;
    • Protocole d’entente entre le Canada et le Groenland;
  • une collaboration avec l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)
    • Des scientifiques d’Environnement Canada font partie du Groupe de spécialistes de l’ours blanc de l’UICN, lequel compile des données scientifiques et fournit des avis impartiaux aux décideurs et aux autorités de gestion.

Les États abritant l’ours blanc

Les cinq parties à l’Accord de 1973 reconnaissent que l’ours blanc revêt une grande importance pour les habitants des collectivités du Nord, pour les États qui l’abritent et pour les citoyens du monde entier. La nature et le rythme des changements qui s’opèrent dans l’Arctique exigent la prise de mesures locales, nationales et internationales. Les cinq États abritant l’ours blanc continueront d’unir leurs efforts pour assurer la réussite des initiatives de conservation actuelles et à venir.  

Changements climatiques

  • Le Canada agit sur tous les fronts – national, continental et international – afin d’atténuer les impacts des changements climatiques.
  • Nous sommes résolus à respecter notre engagement de réduire, d’ici 2020, nos émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) de 17 % par rapport aux niveaux de 2005. Pour atteindre cette cible, nous avons élaboré un plan de réglementation pour chaque secteur qui cible de manière systématique toutes les principales sources d’émissions.
  • À l’échelle internationale, le Programme de Durban pour une action renforcée a établi un mandat de négociation pour l’ensemble des pays en vue d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre d’ici 2020 un nouveau traité international unique réunissant les principaux émetteurs. Au cours des prochaines années, le Canada continuera de collaborer activement avec ses partenaires internationaux afin de favoriser la réussite de ces négociations.
  • Les changements climatiques continuent d’avoir un impact négatif sur les ours blancs dans certaines régions de leur aire de répartition et demeurent la menace la plus grave pour leur sécurité à long terme dans l’ensemble de leur aire de répartition.
  • Les plans de conservation de l’ours blanc doivent tenir compte d’effets immédiats et de longue durée extrêmement variables, ainsi que des effets ultimes prévisibles du réchauffement climatique.

Recherche

Environnement Canada fonde ses activités de recherche à la fois sur la science, l’expérience et le savoir traditionnel autochtone. La prise en considération du savoir traditionnel permet d’obtenir de l’information sur l’abondance des ours blancs, sur leurs déplacements et sur leurs comportements, et offre une précieuse perspective à long terme sur les changements touchant la population. Il s’agit d’une approche unique; le Canada étant le seul pays à tenir compte du savoir traditionnel autochtone dans la gestion et la conservation de l’ours blanc.

Des recherches conjointes sont souvent effectuées lorsqu’un projet présente un intérêt pour plusieurs pays, par exemple, les États-Unis (Alaska), le Groenland et la Norvège. Certains projets de recherche menés par des chercheurs universitaires sont coordonnés avec ceux de scientifiques gouvernementaux.

D’autres projets sont menés grâce à des fonds provenant des conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques établis dans le cadre de processus de revendication territoriale, par des fondations indépendantes et au moyen de bourses accordées à des étudiants diplômés qui travaillent sous la supervision conjointe de chercheurs gouvernementaux et universitaires.

Date de modification :