Bird Population Monitoring

Bird population monitoring programs take the pulse of our migratory bird populations and provide an essential measure of their health. Monitoring data provide the foundation for conservation action by identifying bird species or populations of conservation concern, tracking the success of management activities (including those for species at risk), and setting hunting regulations. They also provide information on the potential impacts of environmental contaminants, habitat change and other factors that can affect birds. Environment and Climate Change Canada supports and reports on many different types of surveys that monitor Canada’s birds.

We now have a much greater understanding of how our birds are faring than ever before. While some species are doing well thanks to careful management, many others are declining and require conservation action if they are to avoid becoming species at risk. Environment and Climate Change Canada’s Status of Birds in Canada website provides an assessment of the population status for all species that breed or regularly occur in Canada, based on a synthesis of the best available population trend data. Working in partnership with the North American Bird Conservation Initiative, Environment and Climate Change Canada released the State of Canada’s Birds 2012 report that draws on 40 years of monitoring and research to provide a picture of the health of Canada’s birds, the potential effects of human activity and a brief summary of some of our conservation successes. These publications would not be possible without long-term, standardized monitoring programs.

Environment and Climate Change Canada also runs the Canadian Bird Banding Office, which provides support for bird banding operations. Bird banding data collected by individual banders across Canada are used for scientific research on avian dispersal, migration, longevity, survival rates, reproductive success and population growth, as well as various management issues.

Bird Surveys

Learn about the surveys that provide information on the status of Canada’s birds, many of which are supported or run by Environment and Climate Change Canada, including the North American Breeding Bird Survey, the National Harvest Survey and many others.

See Bird Surveys

Bird Banding

Learn the about the importance of bird banding to ornithological research and conservation, how to report a marked bird, how to obtain data from the Bird Banding Office, and how to apply for a bird banding permit.

See Bird Banding

Top of Page

Date modified:

La surveillance des populations d'oiseaux

Les programmes de surveillance des populations d’oiseaux servent à prendre le pouls de nos populations d’oiseaux migrateurs et constituent un outil essentiel pour mesurer leur santé. Les données de surveillance sont à la base des activités de conservation, car elles servent à identifier les espèces ou les populations d'oiseaux préoccupantes en matière de conservation, à surveiller le succès des activités de gestion (y compris celles relatives aux espèces en péril), et à établir les règlements de chasse. Les données fournissent aussi des renseignements sur les impacts possibles des contaminants environnementaux, sur les changements de l’habitat et sur d’autres facteurs qui touchent les oiseaux. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada appuie de nombreux types de relevés qui surveillent les oiseaux du Canada et en fait état.

Nous sommes maintenant plus en mesure de constater l’état des oiseaux. Tandis que certaines espèces prospèrent grâce à un meilleur système de gestion, nombre d'autres espèces sont en baisse et nécessitent des mesures de conservation immédiates pour ne pas se retrouver parmi les espèces en péril. Le site Web Situation des oiseaux au Canada d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada fournit une évaluation de l’état de la population qui nichent ou se trouvent régulièrement au Canada, fondée sur une synthèse des meilleures données disponibles sur les tendances de ces populations. En collaboration avec l’Initiative de conservation des oiseaux de l’Amérique du Nord, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a publié l’État des populations d’oiseaux du Canada 2012, qui s’appuie sur 40 ans de surveillance et de recherche, dans le but de dresser un portrait de la santé des oiseaux au Canada et des effets potentiellement néfastes des activités humaines et de fournir un résumé de certaines de nos réussites en matière de conservation. Ces publications ne pourraient pas exister sans la présence de programmes normalisés de surveillance à long terme.

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada dirige également le Bureau canadien du baguage d’oiseaux, qui appuie les opérations de baguage d’oiseaux. Les données sur le baguage d’oiseaux recueillies par les bagueurs de tout le Canada sont utilisées pour effectuer de la recherche scientifique sur la dispersion, la migration, la longévité, les taux de survie, la reproduction et la croissance de la population des oiseaux, ainsi que pour divers problèmes de gestion.

Relevés

Renseignez-vous au sujet des relevés qui fournissent des données sur la situation des oiseaux au Canada, dont bon nombre sont appuyés ou gérés par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, tels que le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Amérique du Nord, l’Enquête nationale sur les prises, et bien d’autres.

Voir relevés

Le baguage d’oiseaux

Renseignez-vous sur l’importance du baguage d’oiseaux pour la recherche et la conservation ornithologiques, sur ce qu’il faut faire si vous trouvez un oiseau bagué, sur la façon d’obtenir les données du Bureau de baguage des oiseaux et sur la façon de demander un permis de baguage d’oiseaux.

Voir baguage d’oiseaux

Date de modification :