Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Particulate Matter

Atmospheric particles are important because of their impact on human health, acid deposition, visibility, climate change and atmospheric chemistry. The NAtChem/PM Database merges PM data from various North American monitoring networks for use in atmospheric research.

The NAtChem/PM Database is used to investigate spatial and temporal trends of particulate matter and to carry out data analyses related to climate change, visibility, human health and acid deposition.

The Database currently contains data from multiple North American PM networks. The current focus of the database is on chemical composition data. Eventually it will expand to include physical data such as number, size and optical properties. The current status can be viewed in the database status table.

Contributing Networks data are converted into a standard NAtChem/PM Database format. Key metadata is collected and evaluated to explain the networks' measurement methods and data. A summary can be found in the Networks Summary Tables.

Particules

Les particules atmosphériques sont importantes à cause de leur impact sur la santé humaine, sur les dépôts acides, sur la visibilité, sur les changements climatiques et sur la chimie de l’atmosphère. La base de données NAtChem/particules réunit les données sur les particules de divers réseaux nord-américains aux fins de la recherche atmosphérique.

La base de données NAtChem/particules sert à étudier les tendances spatio-temporelles relatives aux particules et à analyser les données sur les changements climatiques, la visibilité, la santé humaine et les dépôts acides.

Cette base de données contient présentement des données provenant de multiples réseaux nord-américains consacrés aux particules. À l’heure actuelle, ces données portent principalement sur la composition chimique. La base de données sera ultérieurement élargie pour inclure des données physiques comme le nombre, la taille et les propriétés optiques. On peut voir où on en est au tableau sur l’état de la base de données.

Les données des réseaux participants sont converties au format standard de la base de données NAtChem/particules. Les métadonnées clés sont assemblées et évaluées pour expliquer les méthodes de mesure et les données des réseaux. On trouvera un résumé aux tableaux récapitulatifs des réseaux.