Prairies regional marine weather guide

Countless words of weather wisdom, often in the form of weather lore or rhymes, have been passed down over the ages, allowing people to predict the weather to some degree. Most are true much of the time; however, exceptions exist because these sayings were based on pattern recognition of weather phenomena in a particular region. Variations in the direction of motion, time of year, local topography, and the unpredictability of some weather situations can change the expected outcome.

The Prairies, as referred to in this guide, encompass the provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba. This guide contains information on local weather effects for the larger lakes of the Prairies, including Wabamun Lake, Lesser Slave Lake, Lake Diefenbaker, Last Mountain Lake, Lac la Ronge, Lake Athabasca, Lake Winnipeg, Lake Manitoba and Lake Winnipegosis.

Marine forecasts are not issued for other lakes in the Prairies region; however, local, land-based forecasts and observations from nearby weather stations can be interpreted in order to assess current conditions over water.

Example of one of the local effects maps in the guide.

Description

Example of one of the local effects maps in the guide.

Understanding the current and forecast weather conditions, as well as the local marine environment, increases both the safety and enjoyment of boating. It is recommended that you download and read the MET 101 portion of the National Marine Weather Guide first in order to better understand the meteorological concepts, local weather, wind, sea state and ice conditions described in the Prairies Regional Marine Guide.

Date modified:

Guide de météo marine régionale pour les Prairies

D’innombrables paroles de sagesse sur la météo, souvent sous la forme de récits folkloriques ou de poèmes, ont été transmises au fil des ans, permettant aux gens de prédire dans une certaine mesure les conditions météorologiques. La majorité de ces paroles sont vraies la plupart du temps; cependant, des exceptions existent étant donné que ces paroles sont fondées sur la reconnaissance des configurations de phénomènes météorologiques dans une région en particulier. Des variations dans la direction du mouvement, la période de l’année, la topographie locale et la nature imprévisible de certaines situations météorologiques peuvent modifier le résultat attendu.

Les Prairies, auxquelles il est fait référence dans le présent guide, englobent les provinces de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba. Le présent guide contient des renseignements sur les effets des conditions météorologiques locales pour les plus grands lacs des Prairies, dont le lac Wabamun, le Petit lac des Esclaves, le lac Diefenbaker, le lac de la Dernière Montagne, le Lac la Ronge, le lac Athabasca, le lac Winnipeg, le lac Manitoba et le lac Winnipegosis.

Des prévisions maritimes ne sont pas émises pour les autres lacs dans la région des Prairies; toutefois, des prévisions locales fondées sur les données de stations terrestres et des observations provenant des stations météorologiques situées à proximité peuvent être interprétées pour évaluer les conditions météorologiques maritimes actuelles.

Example of one of the local effects maps in the guide.

Description

Example of one of the local effects maps in the guide.

Bien comprendre les conditions météorologiques actuelles et les prévisions météorologiques, ainsi que le milieu marin local, améliore la sécurité nautique et accroît le plaisir des plaisanciers. Il est recommandé de télécharger et de consulter la partie sur le MET 101 du Guide de météo marine national, tout d’abord dans l’ordre, pour mieux comprendre les concepts météorologiques, les conditions météorologiques locales, le vent, l’état de la mer et les conditions de la glace décrits dans le Guide régional pour les Prairies.

Date de modification :