Atlantic regional marine weather guide

The coastline of Atlantic Canada is long and varied. Its diversity and uniqueness is rivaled only by its inhabitants and the weather they experience. This region extends from the energetic tides of the Bay of Fundy; to the near tropical waters of the Scotian Slope; to the Gulf of St. Lawrence, where the fresh waters of the St. Lawrence River meet the briny inflow of the Atlantic; east to the stormy Grand Banks; and northward along the cold Labrador Current. This region is home to rapidly developing storms, changeable weather conditions and more than the odd hurricane. It experiences some of the harshest weather in the world and is home to the foggiest place on earth.

Those who make their living on the waters along and off the Atlantic coast have, through the generations, developed an innate understanding of the climate and weather here. Through countless consultations and interviews, their shared experiences and stories have helped to shape this guide. The information to follow comes directly from those discussions and research done by staff of the Meteorological Service of Canada.

Map of Fortune Bay and surrounding area from Hare Bay to Terrenceville to St-Pierre.

Description

Map of Fortune Bay and surrounding area from Hare Bay to Terrenceville to St-Pierre.

In this guide you will learn about our climatology (prevailing wind, weather, sea conditions, tides and currents), local wind and weather effects experienced along the vast coastlines of our 4 provinces, as well as some mariner’s tips and stories along the way.

It is recommended that you also download and read the MET 101 portion of the guide in order to better understand the meteorology that is described in the Atlantic Regional Marine Guide.

Date modified:

Guide de météo marine régionale pour l'Atlantique

Le littoral du Canada atlantique est long et varié. Sa diversité et son caractère unique n’ont d’égal que ses habitants et les conditions météorologiques qu’ils connaissent. La région s’étend des marées énergétiques de la baie de Fundy, aux eaux presque tropicales du talus du plateau néo écossais, au golfe du Saint Laurent, où les eaux douces du fleuve Saint Laurent rencontrent les apports d’eau salée de l’Atlantique, à l’est des Grands Bancs orageux, et au nord, le long du courant froid du Labrador. La région connaît des orages qui se forment rapidement, des conditions météorologiques changeantes et bien des ouragans. On y trouve certaines des conditions météorologiques les plus rigoureuses au monde; de plus, c’est l’un des endroits les plus brumeux de la planète.

Ceux dont le moyen de subsistance dépend des eaux le long et au large de la côte de l’Atlantique ont, au fil des générations, développé une compréhension intuitive du climat et des conditions météorologiques de la région. Dans le cadre d’innombrables consultations et entrevues, ils ont fait part de leurs expériences et leurs histoires ont aidé à former le présent guide. L’information qui suit provient directement de ces discussions et de la recherche effectuée par le personnel du Service météorologique du Canada.

Carte de la baie de Fortune et des environs, de la baie aux Lièvres à Terrenceville à St-Pierre.

Description

Carte de la baie de Fortune et des environs, de la baie aux Lièvres à Terrenceville à St-Pierre.

Dans le présent guide, vous obtiendrez de l’information sur notre climatologie (les vents dominants, les conditions météorologiques, l’état de la mer, les marées et les courants), les effets des vents et des conditions météorologiques locaux qui surviennent le long du vaste littoral de nos quatre provinces, de même que certains trucs et récits de navigateurs.

Il est recommandé de télécharger et de consulter la partie sur le MET 101 du Guide de météo marine national, tout d’abord dans l’ordre, pour mieux comprendre les concepts météorologiques décrits dans le Guide de météo marine régional pour l'Atlantique..

Date de modification :