Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Marine Warning Program

Environment Canada’s Meteorological Service is responsible for providing Canadians with a marine warning service that ensures the safety and security of life, shipping, and protection of the natural environment. Our Marine Warning Program is intended to provide an effective warning service for hazardous meteorological and sea state conditions. The program is active year-round, except in regions where shipping is not possible due to prevailing ice conditions.

Environment Canada’s Marine Warning Program consists of two main elements:  Watches and Warnings. Watches and Warnings are issued for a variety of potentially hazardous conditions that could occur, or are expected to occur, in the marine environment during the valid period of the marine forecast. 

Marine Watches are designed to alert mariners to the possibility that marine weather conditions may develop locally which could pose a hazard and negatively impact marine operations. Marine watches are usually issued for events where there is uncertainty about the area affected or the timing of the event. When a watch is issued, mariners in the area should be prepared to take appropriate action to ensure their safety and security. For example, mariners should review appropriate emergency plans, identify safe passage to the nearest sheltered harbour, maintain vigilance, and monitor the marine forecast for further updates or warnings.

Marine Warnings are designed to alert mariners to hazardous marine weather conditions that have already developed, or are forecast to develop, either locally or throughout the entire marine area under the warning. When a warning is issued it is time to put your emergency plan into action, such as making for safe harbour. Mariners should maintain vigilance and monitor the marine forecast for further updates or warnings.

Environment Canada's Marine Warning Program

Warnings and watches issued by
Environment Canada's Marine Warning Program
CategorySub-categoryWarningsWatches
Wind
Freezing Spray
  • n/a
Localized
Ice

Another type of message used to describe marine weather conditions of interest or concern to mariners is the Marine Weather Statement. This statement may be issued when the forecast marine weather conditions are unusual or when there is potential for the development of hazardous marine weather conditions. These statements can describe non-severe, but potentially hazardous conditions, as well as other information about a variety of conditions not covered by warnings or routine forecasts.

Return to Table of Contents

Wind Warnings

Wind warnings are typically issued for more than one marine forecast area at a time. Marine wind warnings are included in the Recreational Boating Forecast, where available, and the Regular Forecast bulletins, and are conveyed using the keywords “in effect”.

There are four categories of wind warnings that are recognized by Environment Canada (Strong Wind, Gale, Storm, and Hurricane Force Wind). Wind warnings are issued with as much advance notice to mariners as possible, in an effort to provide them with the opportunity to make timely decisions about their safety and security.

Strong Wind Warnings

Strong Wind Warnings are issued when wind speeds of 20 to 33 knots, excluding gusts, are occurring or are expected to occur. These warnings are primarily issued during the recreational or summer boating season and are intended for coastal or inland waters only. Note that Strong Wind Warnings are not issued for marine areas where strong winds occur frequently (i.e. offshore marine areas, and most marine areas adjacent to Newfoundland and Labrador).

Environment Canada's Strong Wind Warning program activity

Regions, time frames and areas that are included in
Environment Canada's Strong Wind Warning Program
RegionStart Date *End Date *Areas Covered
Pacific CoastMarch 20November 11
  • Juan de Fuca Strait
  • Haro Strait
  • Howe Sound
  • Strait of Georgia
  • Johnstone Strait
  • Queen Charlotte Strait
Hudson, Mackenzie and Arctic WatersSpringFall
  • Mackenzie River
  • Great Slave Lake
  • Lake Athabasca
Manitoba LakesMay 1November 15
  • Lake Manitoba
  • Lake Winnipegosis
  • Lake Winnipeg
Great LakesMay 1October 31
  • Great Lakes (from Superior to Cornwall)
  • Lake of the Woods
  • Lake Nipigon
  • Lake Nipissing
  • Lake Simcoe
  • North Channel
St. LawrenceMay 1October 15
  • St. Lawrence River (Cornwall to Anticosti Island)
Atlantic Coast-MaritimesApril 15November 15
  • Fundy
  • Grand Mahan
  • Lurcher
  • Southwestern Shore
  • Fourchu
  • Cabot Strait
  • Northumberland Strait
  • Gult - Magdalen
  • Chaleur - Miscou
  • Anticosti
  • Bras d'Or Lakes
  • Halifax Harbour and
  • Approaches
Atlantic Coast - Newfoundland and LabradorN/AN/ANo Strong Wind Warning program due to prevailing wind conditions

Note: *Strong Wind Warning program start and end dates may vary and are dependent upon prevailing wind conditions

Gale Warnings

Gale Warnings are issued when wind speeds of 34 to 47 knots, excluding gusts, are occurring or are forecast to occur. These warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast.

Storm Warnings

Storm Warnings are issued when wind speeds of 48 to 63 knots, excluding gusts, are occurring or are forecast to occur. These warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast.

Hurricane Force Wind Warnings

Hurricane Force Wind Warnings are issued when winds of 64 knots or greater, excluding gusts, are occurring or are forecast to occur. These warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast. Note that a Hurricane Force Wind Warning does not suggest that a hurricane is expected, only that the expected wind speeds will be comparable.

Return to Table of Contents

Freezing Spray Warnings

Freezing Spray Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast. Freezing Spray Warnings are issued when moderate or severe freezing spray is occurring or is forecast to occur. Moderate or severe freezing spray implies ice build-up at rates of 0.7 cm/hr or faster.

Return to Table of Contents

Localized Watches and Warnings

Localized Watches and Warnings are relatively short in duration and are typically issued for a single marine forecast area or portion of a marine area. Localized Watches and Warnings are issued in a special bulletin that indicates the status of the event, using the keywords “new” or “in effect” or “ended.”

Localized Watches and Warnings can be issued for such hazardous events as Squalls, Tornadoes, Waterspouts, High Water Levels and any other undefined event using a Special Marine notice. Localized Watches and Warnings are only issued on short notice (less than six hours in advance) and are ended soon after the prevailing conditions have passed.

Squall Watches and Warnings

Squalls usually occur when conditions, such as severe thunderstorms, are affecting a marine area. Squall Watches and Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast.

Squall Watches come into effect when there is the possibility of sudden, strong, gusty winds of 34 knots or greater over the marine area.

Squall Warnings come into effect when sudden, strong, gusty winds of 34 knots or greater are either forecast or observed over the marine area.

Tornado Watches and Warnings

Tornadoes can develop when conditions, such as severe thunderstorms, are affecting a marine area. Tornado Watches and Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast being produced for them.

Tornado Watches come into effect when severe thunderstorms have developed over a marine area, and the conditions are conducive for the development of one or more tornadoes within the marine area during the time specified in the watch.

Tornado Warnings come into effect when there is evidence of tornado formation (i.e. reliable observation, radar, etc.), or an existing tornado is moving from land to an adjacent marine area. Details about the expected development, movement and duration of the tornado will be provided in the warning message.

Waterspout Watches

Waterspouts can form during unstable conditions when cool air moves over relatively warmer water. Waterspout Watches are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast.

Waterspout Watches come into effect when conditions for the development of cold-air waterspouts are forecast over a marine area during the time specified in the watch.

High Water Level Warnings

Abnormally high water levels along coastal regions can be caused by the development of one or more of the following events in combination: tropical or non-tropical storms, strong winds, high waves, and high tides. High Water Level Warnings are relevant to all coastal marine forecast areas that have a regular or recreational marine forecast along the shores of the Great Lakes and the coasts of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador.

High Water Level Warnings come into effect in order to warn mariners and coastal populations, about the potential impacts of abnormally high water levels or waves on coastal or shoreline areas.

Special Marine Watches and Warnings

All other non-specified marine weather conditions that may warrant a watch or warning being issued will be covered in a Special Marine Watch or Warning.

Special Marine Watches can be issued when conditions are conducive for the development of any other weather-related phenomena that may pose a hazard to local marine operations. For example, a marine forecaster may decide to issue a Special Marine Watch when a small band of freezing precipitation is occurring, or is forecast to occur, over a marine area.

Special Marine Warnings can be issued for any other weather-related phenomena which may result in a hazardous impact on local marine operations. For example, a marine forecaster may decide to issue a Special Marine Warning when an extended period of freezing precipitation is forecast over a marine area that may result in hazardous icing conditions on marine infrastructure.

Return to Table of Contents

Ice Warnings

Ice Warnings are issued by the Canadian Ice Service (CIS), which is a specialized forecast centre within Environment Canada that deals specifically with providing information about ice in Canada’s navigable waters. Ice Warnings are included in the Ice Forecast bulletins issued by the CIS and are conveyed using the keywords “in effect.” 

Ice Warnings are designed to alert mariners to hazardous ice conditions that have already developed, or are forecast to develop, either locally or throughout the entire marine area under the warning. Ice Warnings are issued for specific ice conditions (Rapid Closing of Coastal Leads and Ice Pressure) and non-specific ice conditions (Special Ice) which may be hazardous to navigation or marine operations.

Rapid Closing of Coastal Leads Warnings

Rapid Closing of Coastal Leads Warnings are issued when the forecast combination of winds and ocean currents will result in the movement of pack ice rapidly closing any open waterways, known as leads, along the affected coastal sections.

Coastal leads can become blocked by six tenths or more of greywhite or older ice within a 12-hour period. Rapid Closing of Coastal Leads Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all coastal marine areas that have an ice forecast.

Ice Pressure Warnings

Ice Pressure Warnings are issued when a prolonged period of strong winds are forecast, which would cause ice pressure within the ice pack or along the coast.

Strong ice pressure could cause ships to lose the ability to navigate freely and could push ships towards potentially hazardous areas.  Ice Pressure Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas that have an ice forecast.

Special Ice Warnings

All other non-specified ice conditions that may warrant a warning being issued will be covered in a Special Ice Warning. Special Ice Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas that have an ice forecast.

A Special Ice Warningis issued for ice conditions that may be hazardous to marine operations. For example, a Special Ice Warning may be issued when ice is in an area at a time when ice is not usually there.

Return to Table of Contents

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme canadien d'avertissements maritimes

Le Service météorologique d'Environnement Canada est chargé de fournir aux Canadiens un service d'avertissement maritime qui veille à la santé et à la sécurité de la vie, des navires et à la protection de l'environnement naturel. Notre programme d'avertissements maritimes a pour objectif de fournir un service d'avertissement efficace lors de conditions météorologiques et d'état de la mer dangereux. Le programme est actif tout au long de l'année, sauf dans les régions où la navigation n’est pas possible en raison de conditions de glaces dominantes.

Le programme d'avertissements maritimes d'Environnement Canada est composé de deux éléments principaux : les veilles et les avertissements. Les veilles et les avertissements sont émis quand des situations dangereuses pourraient potentiellement se produire ou sont prévues en milieu marin, au cours de la durée de validité des prévisions maritimes.

Les veilles maritimes sont destinées à prévenir les navigateurs de la possible évolution locale des conditions météorologiques maritimes qui pourraient représenter un risque pour eux et avoir des répercussions négatives sur les opérations maritimes. Les veilles maritimes sont généralement émises quand la zone touchée ou le moment de l'évènement sont encore incertains. Lorsqu'une veille est déclenchée, les navigateurs se trouvant dans la zone concernée doivent se préparer à prendre les mesures appropriées pour veiller à leur sécurité et à leur sûreté. Par exemple, les navigateurs doivent examiner les plans d'urgence, déterminer un passage sécurisé vers le port abrité le plus proche, maintenir la vigilance, et surveiller les prévisions maritimes pour connaître les mises à jour ou les avertissements supplémentaires.

Les avertissements maritimes sont destinés à prévenir les navigateurs que des conditions météorologiques maritimes dangereuses se sont déclarées, ou pourraient se déclarer prochainement, soit à l'échelle locale soit dans toute la zone maritime concernée par l'avertissement. Lorsqu’un avertissement est déclenché, votre plan d'urgence doit être mis en œuvre immédiatement, et vous devez vous diriger vers un port sécurisé. Les navigateurs doivent rester vigilants et consulter régulièrement les prévisions maritimes pour connaître les mises à jour ou les avertissements supplémentaires.

Programme d'avertissements maritimes d'Environnement Canada

Avertissements et veilles émises par le
programme d'avertissements maritimes d'Environnement Canada
CatégorieSous-catégorieAvertissementsVeilles
Vent
Embruns verglaçants
  • s.o.
Localisé
Glace

Le communiqué maritime décrit également les conditions météorologiques maritimes et est un outil utile pour les navigateurs. Ce communiqué peut être émis lorsque les conditions des prévisions météorologiques maritimes sont inhabituelles ou lorsqu'il est possible que des conditions météorologiques maritimes dangereuses se déclarent. Ces communiqués peuvent décrire des conditions non graves mais potentiellement dangereuses, et peuvent contenir d'autres renseignements sur des conditions non traitées dans les avertissements ou prévisions habituels.

Retournez à la table des matières

Avertissements de vent

Les avertissements de vent sont généralement émis pour plusieurs zones de prévisions maritimes en même temps. Les avertissements de vent maritime sont inclus dans les prévisions pour la navigation de plaisance, le cas échéant, ainsi que dans les bulletins de prévisions régulières, et sont signalés par le terme « en vigueur».

Il existe quatre catégories d'avertissements de vent reconnus par Environnement Canada (vent fort, coups de vent, tempête, et force d'un ouragan). Les avertissements de vent sont transmis dès que possible aux navigateurs, pour qu'ils aient la possibilité de prendre les décisions en temps opportun au sujet de leur sûreté et de leur sécurité.

Avertissements de vent fort

Les avertissements de vent fort sont émis quand le vent atteint des vitesses de 20 à 33 nœuds, sans compter les rafales, ou quand ces vitesses pourraient être atteintes prochainement. Ces avertissements sont surtout émis durant la saison de navigation de plaisance ou estivale et sont destinés aux eaux intérieures et côtières seulement. Notez que les avertissements de vents forts ne sont pas émis pour les zones maritimes où les vents forts sont fréquents (c.-à-d. les zones maritimes au large, et la plupart des zones maritimes proches de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador).

Activité du programme d'avertissement de vents forts d'Environnement Canada

Régions, périodes et zones maritimes qui sont inclus dans le
programme d'avertissements de vent forts d'Environnement Canada
RégionDate de debut *Date de fin *Zones concernées
Côte du Pacifique20 mars11 novembre
  • Détroit Juan de Fuca
  • Détroit de Haro
  • Baie Howe
  • Détroit de Georgia
  • Détroit de Johnstone
  • Détroit de la Reine Charlotte
Hudson, Mackenzie et eaux arctiquesPrintempsAutomne
  • Fleuve Mackenzie
  • Grand lac des Esclaves
  • Lac Athabasca
Lacs du Manitoba1er mai15 novembre
  • Lac Manitoba
  • Lac Winnipegosis
  • Lac Winnipeg
Great Lacs1er mai31 octobre
  • Grands Lacs (de Supérieur à Cornwall)
  • Lac des Bois
  • Lac Nipigon
  • Lac Nipissing
  • Lac Simcoe
  • Chenal North
Saint-Laurent1er mai15 octobre
  • Fleuve Saint-Laurent (de Cornwall à l'île d'Anticosti)
Côte de l'Atlantique – Provinces maritimes15 avril15 novembre
  • Fundy
  • Grand Manan
  • Lurcher
  • Littoral Sud-Ouest
  • Littoral Est
  • Fourchu
  • Détroit de Cabot
  • Détroit de Northumberland
  • Golfe - Madeleine
  • Chaleurs - Miscou
  • Anticosti
  • Réseau du lac Bras d'Or
  • Port d'Halifax et ses abords
Côte de l'Atlantique – Terre-Neuve-et-Labradors.o.s.o.Aucun programme d'avertissement de vent fort en raison de conditions de vent dominant.

Remarque : * Les dates de début et de fin du programme d'avertissement de vents forts peuvent varier et dépendent des conditions météorologiques.

Avertissements de coups de vent

Les avertissements de coups de vent sont émis quand le vent atteint des vitesses de 34 à 47 nœuds, sans compter les rafales, ou quand ces vitesses pourraient être atteintes prochainement. Ces avertissements concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles.

Avertissements de vent de tempête

Les avertissements de vent de tempête sont émis quand le vent atteint des vitesses de 48 à 63 nœuds, sans compter les rafales, ou quand ces vitesses pourraient être atteintes prochainement. Ces avertissements concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles.

Avertissement de vent de la force d'un ouragan

Les avertissements de vent de la force d'un ouragan sont émis quand le vent atteint des vitesses de 64 nœuds ou plus, sans compter les rafales, ou quand ces vitesses pourraient être atteintes prochainement. Ces avertissements concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles. Notez qu'un avertissement de vent de la force d'un ouragan ne signifie pas qu'un ouragan est prévu, mais que la vitesse du vent prévue sera comparable.

Retournez à la table des matières

Avertissements d'embruns verglaçants

Les avertissements d'embruns verglaçants concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles. Les avertissements d'embruns verglaçants sont émis quand des conditions d'embruns verglaçants moyennes ou graves surviennent ou pourraient survenir prochainement. Des conditions d'embruns verglaçants moyennes ou graves sous-entendent une accumulation de glace à une vitesse de 0,7 cm/h ou plus rapide.

Retournez à la table des matières

Veilles et avertissements localisés

Les veilles et avertissements localisés sont de relativement courte durée et sont habituellement émis pour une seule zone de prévisions maritimes ou pour une seule partie d'une zone marine. Les veilles et avertissements localisés sont émis dans un bulletin spécial qui précise l'état de l'événement par les termes « nouvelle », « en vigueur » ou « terminé ».

Les veilles et avertissements localisés peuvent être émis pour des événement dangereux tels que les grains, les tornades, les trombes marines, les niveaux élevés des eaux et pour tout autre événement non défini grâce à un avis de maritimes spéciale. Les veilles et avertissements localisés sont uniquement émis au dernier moment (moins de 6 heures à l'avance) et sont terminés le plus tôt possible une fois passés les effets importants.

Veilles et avertissements de grains

Habituellement, les grains se produisent lorsqu'une zone maritime est touchée par certaines conditions, tels que des orages violents. Les veilles et avertissements de grains concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles.

Les veilles de grains sont déclenchées lorsqu'il existe une possibilité de rafales de vent, fortes et subites de 34 nœuds ou plus sur la zone maritime.

Les avertissements de grains sont déclenchés lorsque des rafales de vent, fortes et subites de 34 nœuds ou plus sont prévues ou observées sur la zone maritime.

Veilles et avertissements de tornade

Les tornades peuvent se produire lorsqu'une zone maritime est touchée par certaines conditions, tels que des orages violents. Les veilles et avertissements de tornade concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles.

Les veilles de tornades sont déclenchées lorsque des orages violents se sont déclarés sur une zone maritime, et que les conditions sont propices au développement d'une ou plusieurs tornades dans la zone maritime pendant le délai précisé dans la veille.

Les avertissements de tornades sont déclenchés lorsque la formation d'une tornade est démontrée (c.-à-d. observations sûres, radar, etc.), ou qu'une tornade existante se déplace des terres vers une zone maritime proche. Des détails sur l'évolution à prévoir, le déplacement et la durée de la tornade seront fournis dans le message d'avertissement.

Veilles de trombes marines

Les trombes marines peuvent se former dans des conditions instables, quand de l'air froid se déplace sur des eaux relativement plus chaudes. Les avertissements de trombes marines concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles.

Les veilles de trombes marines sont déclenchées lorsque les conditions d'une création de trombes marines d'air froid sont prévues sur une zone maritime pendant le délai précisé dans la veille.

Avertissements de niveau élevé des eaux

Des niveaux d'eau anormalement élevés le long des régions côtières peuvent être dus à un ou plusieurs de ces événements combinés : tempêtes tropicales ou non tropicales, vents forts, hautes vagues, et fortes marées. Les avertissements de niveau élevé des eaux concernent toutes les zones de prévisions maritimes côtières ayant des prévisions régulières ou occasionnelles le long des rives des Grands Lacs et le long des côtes, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Les avertissements de niveau élevé des eaux sont déclenchés afin de prévenir les navigateurs et les populations côtières des répercussions potentielles que pourraient avoir les niveaux d'eau anormalement élevés ou les vagues sur les zones côtières ou littorales.

Veilles et avertissements du maritime spécial

Toute autre condition météorologique maritime non définie pouvant nécessiter une veille ou un avertissement sera incluse dans « veille ou avertissement du maritime spécial ».

Les veilles du maritime spécial peuvent être émises lorsque les conditions sont propices au développement de tout autre phénomène climatique pouvant représenter un risque pour les activités maritimes locales. Par exemple, un prévisionniste maritime peut décider d'émettre une veille de situation maritime autre lorsqu'une précipitation verglaçante de faible ampleur se produit ou pourrait se produire sur zone marine.

Les avertissements du maritime spécial peuvent être émis pour tout autre phénomène climatique représentant un danger potentiel pour les opérations maritimes locales. Par exemple, un prévisionniste maritime peut décider de déclencher un avertissement de situation maritime autre lorsqu'une précipitation verglaçante de longue durée est prévue sur une zone maritime, pouvant entraîner des conditions dangereuses de formation de glace sur les infrastructures maritimes.

Retournez à la table des matières

Avertissements de glace

Les avertissements de glace sont émis par le Service canadien des glaces, qui est un centre de prévisions spécialisé au sein d'Environnement Canada et qui est spécialement chargé de fournir des informations sur les glaces dans les eaux navigables du Canada. Les avertissements de glace sont inclus dans les bulletins des prévisions de glaces émis par le Service canadien des glaces et sont signalés par le terme « en vigueur ».

Les avertissements de glace sont destinés à prévenir les navigateurs des conditions de glace dangereuses déjà déclarées, ou qui pourraient se déclarer, soit à l'échelle locale soit dans toute la zone maritime concernée par l'avertissement. Les avertissements des glaces sont émis pour des conditions de glace spécifiques (fermeture rapide des chenaux côtiers et pression des glaces) et des conditions de glace non spécifiques (spécial des glaces) pouvant représenter un danger pour la navigation ou pour les activités maritimes.

Avertissements de fermeture rapide des chenaux côtiers

Les avertissements de fermeture rapide des chenaux côtiers sontémis lorsque la combinaison des prévisions de vents et de courants océaniques entraînera un déplacement de la banquise fermant rapidement toutes les voies navigables, appelées chenaux, le long des sections côtières touchées.

Les chenaux côtiers peuvent se retrouver bloqués aux six dixièmes (ou plus) de glace blanchâtre ou de vieille glace en une période de 12 heures. Les avertissements de fermeture rapide des chenaux côtiers concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes côtières ayant des prévisions de glaces.

Avertissements de pression des glaces

Les avertissements de pression des glaces sont émis quand une période prolongée de vents forts est prévue, ce qui causerait une pression des glaces dans la banquise ou le long de la côte.

Des situations de forte pression des glaces peuvent limiter les capacités de navigation des navires et les entraîner ainsi vers des zones potentiellement dangereuses. Les avertissements de pression des glaces concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes ayant des prévisions de glaces.

Avertissements de spécial des glaces

Toute autre situation de glace non spécifique pouvant nécessiter un avertissement sera incluse dans « avertissement de spécial des glaces». Les avertissements de spécial des glaces concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes ayant des prévisions de glaces.

Un avertissement de spécial des glacesest émis pour des conditions de glaces pouvant représenter un danger pour les activités maritimes. Par exemple, un avertissement de spécial des glaces peut être déclenché si on remarque la présence de glace dans une zone où la glace n'est pas présente habituellement.

Retournez à la table des matières

Date de modification :