Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Marine Warning Program

Ice Warnings

Ice Warnings are issued by the Canadian Ice Service (CIS), which is a specialized forecast centre within Environment Canada that deals specifically with providing information about ice in Canada’s navigable waters. Ice Warnings are included in the Ice Forecast bulletins issued by the CIS and are conveyed using the keywords “in effect.” 

Ice Warnings are designed to alert mariners to hazardous ice conditions that have already developed, or are forecast to develop, either locally or throughout the entire marine area under the warning. Ice Warnings are issued for specific ice conditions (Rapid Closing of Coastal Leads and Ice Pressure) and non-specific ice conditions (Special Ice) which may be hazardous to navigation or marine operations.

Rapid Closing of Coastal Leads Warnings

Rapid Closing of Coastal Leads Warnings are issued when the forecast combination of winds and ocean currents will result in the movement of pack ice rapidly closing any open waterways, known as leads, along the affected coastal sections.

Coastal leads can become blocked by six tenths or more of greywhite or older ice within a 12-hour period. Rapid Closing of Coastal Leads Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all coastal marine areas that have an ice forecast.

Ice Pressure Warnings

Ice Pressure Warnings are issued when a prolonged period of strong winds are forecast, which would cause ice pressure within the ice pack or along the coast.

Strong ice pressure could cause ships to lose the ability to navigate freely and could push ships towards potentially hazardous areas.  Ice Pressure Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas that have an ice forecast.

Special Ice Warnings

All other non-specified ice conditions that may warrant a warning being issued will be covered in a Special Ice Warning. Special Ice Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas that have an ice forecast.

A Special Ice Warningis issued for ice conditions that may be hazardous to marine operations. For example, a Special Ice Warning may be issued when ice is in an area at a time when ice is not usually there.

Page 4
Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme canadien d'avertissements maritimes

Avertissements de glace

Les avertissements de glace sont émis par le Service canadien des glaces, qui est un centre de prévisions spécialisé au sein d'Environnement Canada et qui est spécialement chargé de fournir des informations sur les glaces dans les eaux navigables du Canada. Les avertissements de glace sont inclus dans les bulletins des prévisions de glaces émis par le Service canadien des glaces et sont signalés par le terme « en vigueur ».

Les avertissements de glace sont destinés à prévenir les navigateurs des conditions de glace dangereuses déjà déclarées, ou qui pourraient se déclarer, soit à l'échelle locale soit dans toute la zone maritime concernée par l'avertissement. Les avertissements des glaces sont émis pour des conditions de glace spécifiques (fermeture rapide des chenaux côtiers et pression des glaces) et des conditions de glace non spécifiques (spécial des glaces) pouvant représenter un danger pour la navigation ou pour les activités maritimes.

Avertissements de fermeture rapide des chenaux côtiers

Les avertissements de fermeture rapide des chenaux côtiers sontémis lorsque la combinaison des prévisions de vents et de courants océaniques entraînera un déplacement de la banquise fermant rapidement toutes les voies navigables, appelées chenaux, le long des sections côtières touchées.

Les chenaux côtiers peuvent se retrouver bloqués aux six dixièmes (ou plus) de glace blanchâtre ou de vieille glace en une période de 12 heures. Les avertissements de fermeture rapide des chenaux côtiers concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes côtières ayant des prévisions de glaces.

Avertissements de pression des glaces

Les avertissements de pression des glaces sont émis quand une période prolongée de vents forts est prévue, ce qui causerait une pression des glaces dans la banquise ou le long de la côte.

Des situations de forte pression des glaces peuvent limiter les capacités de navigation des navires et les entraîner ainsi vers des zones potentiellement dangereuses. Les avertissements de pression des glaces concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes ayant des prévisions de glaces.

Avertissements de spécial des glaces

Toute autre situation de glace non spécifique pouvant nécessiter un avertissement sera incluse dans « avertissement de spécial des glaces». Les avertissements de spécial des glaces concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes ayant des prévisions de glaces.

Un avertissement de spécial des glacesest émis pour des conditions de glaces pouvant représenter un danger pour les activités maritimes. Par exemple, un avertissement de spécial des glaces peut être déclenché si on remarque la présence de glace dans une zone où la glace n'est pas présente habituellement.

Date de modification :