Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Marine Warning Program

Localized Watches and Warnings

Localized Watches and Warnings are relatively short in duration and are typically issued for a single marine forecast area or portion of a marine area. Localized Watches and Warnings are issued in a special bulletin that indicates the status of the event, using the keywords “new” or “in effect” or “ended.”

Localized Watches and Warnings can be issued for such hazardous events as Squalls, Tornadoes, Waterspouts, High Water Levels and any other undefined event using a Special Marine notice. Localized Watches and Warnings are only issued on short notice (less than six hours in advance) and are ended soon after the prevailing conditions have passed.

Squall Watches and Warnings

Squalls usually occur when conditions, such as severe thunderstorms, are affecting a marine area. Squall Watches and Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast.

Squall Watches come into effect when there is the possibility of sudden, strong, gusty winds of 34 knots or greater over the marine area.

Squall Warnings come into effect when sudden, strong, gusty winds of 34 knots or greater are either forecast or observed over the marine area.

Tornado Watches and Warnings

Tornadoes can develop when conditions, such as severe thunderstorms, are affecting a marine area. Tornado Watches and Warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast being produced for them.

Tornado Watches come into effect when severe thunderstorms have developed over a marine area, and the conditions are conducive for the development of one or more tornadoes within the marine area during the time specified in the watch.

Tornado Warnings come into effect when there is evidence of tornado formation (i.e. reliable observation, radar, etc.), or an existing tornado is moving from land to an adjacent marine area. Details about the expected development, movement and duration of the tornado will be provided in the warning message.

Waterspout Watches

Waterspouts can form during unstable conditions when cool air moves over relatively warmer water. Waterspout Watches are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast.

Waterspout Watches come into effect when conditions for the development of cold-air waterspouts are forecast over a marine area during the time specified in the watch.

High Water Level Warnings

Abnormally high water levels along coastal regions can be caused by the development of one or more of the following events in combination: tropical or non-tropical storms, strong winds, high waves, and high tides. High Water Level Warnings are relevant to all coastal marine forecast areas that have a regular or recreational marine forecast along the shores of the Great Lakes and the coasts of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador.

High Water Level Warnings come into effect in order to warn mariners and coastal populations, about the potential impacts of abnormally high water levels or waves on coastal or shoreline areas.

Special Marine Watches and Warnings

All other non-specified marine weather conditions that may warrant a watch or warning being issued will be covered in a Special Marine Watch or Warning.

Special Marine Watches can be issued when conditions are conducive for the development of any other weather-related phenomena that may pose a hazard to local marine operations. For example, a marine forecaster may decide to issue a Special Marine Watch when a small band of freezing precipitation is occurring, or is forecast to occur, over a marine area.

Special Marine Warnings can be issued for any other weather-related phenomena which may result in a hazardous impact on local marine operations. For example, a marine forecaster may decide to issue a Special Marine Warning when an extended period of freezing precipitation is forecast over a marine area that may result in hazardous icing conditions on marine infrastructure.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme canadien d'avertissements maritimes

Veilles et avertissements localisés

Les veilles et avertissements localisés sont de relativement courte durée et sont habituellement émis pour une seule zone de prévisions maritimes ou pour une seule partie d'une zone marine. Les veilles et avertissements localisés sont émis dans un bulletin spécial qui précise l'état de l'événement par les termes « nouvelle », « en vigueur » ou « terminé ».

Les veilles et avertissements localisés peuvent être émis pour des événement dangereux tels que les grains, les tornades, les trombes marines, les niveaux élevés des eaux et pour tout autre événement non défini grâce à un avis de maritimes spéciale. Les veilles et avertissements localisés sont uniquement émis au dernier moment (moins de 6 heures à l'avance) et sont terminés le plus tôt possible une fois passés les effets importants.

Veilles et avertissements de grains

Habituellement, les grains se produisent lorsqu'une zone maritime est touchée par certaines conditions, tels que des orages violents. Les veilles et avertissements de grains concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles.

Les veilles de grains sont déclenchées lorsqu'il existe une possibilité de rafales de vent, fortes et subites de 34 nœuds ou plus sur la zone maritime.

Les avertissements de grains sont déclenchés lorsque des rafales de vent, fortes et subites de 34 nœuds ou plus sont prévues ou observées sur la zone maritime.

Veilles et avertissements de tornade

Les tornades peuvent se produire lorsqu'une zone maritime est touchée par certaines conditions, tels que des orages violents. Les veilles et avertissements de tornade concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles.

Les veilles de tornades sont déclenchées lorsque des orages violents se sont déclarés sur une zone maritime, et que les conditions sont propices au développement d'une ou plusieurs tornades dans la zone maritime pendant le délai précisé dans la veille.

Les avertissements de tornades sont déclenchés lorsque la formation d'une tornade est démontrée (c.-à-d. observations sûres, radar, etc.), ou qu'une tornade existante se déplace des terres vers une zone maritime proche. Des détails sur l'évolution à prévoir, le déplacement et la durée de la tornade seront fournis dans le message d'avertissement.

Veilles de trombes marines

Les trombes marines peuvent se former dans des conditions instables, quand de l'air froid se déplace sur des eaux relativement plus chaudes. Les avertissements de trombes marines concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles.

Les veilles de trombes marines sont déclenchées lorsque les conditions d'une création de trombes marines d'air froid sont prévues sur une zone maritime pendant le délai précisé dans la veille.

Avertissements de niveau élevé des eaux

Des niveaux d'eau anormalement élevés le long des régions côtières peuvent être dus à un ou plusieurs de ces événements combinés : tempêtes tropicales ou non tropicales, vents forts, hautes vagues, et fortes marées. Les avertissements de niveau élevé des eaux concernent toutes les zones de prévisions maritimes côtières ayant des prévisions régulières ou occasionnelles le long des rives des Grands Lacs et le long des côtes, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Les avertissements de niveau élevé des eaux sont déclenchés afin de prévenir les navigateurs et les populations côtières des répercussions potentielles que pourraient avoir les niveaux d'eau anormalement élevés ou les vagues sur les zones côtières ou littorales.

Veilles et avertissements du maritime spécial

Toute autre condition météorologique maritime non définie pouvant nécessiter une veille ou un avertissement sera incluse dans « veille ou avertissement du maritime spécial ».

Les veilles du maritime spécial peuvent être émises lorsque les conditions sont propices au développement de tout autre phénomène climatique pouvant représenter un risque pour les activités maritimes locales. Par exemple, un prévisionniste maritime peut décider d'émettre une veille de situation maritime autre lorsqu'une précipitation verglaçante de faible ampleur se produit ou pourrait se produire sur zone marine.

Les avertissements du maritime spécial peuvent être émis pour tout autre phénomène climatique représentant un danger potentiel pour les opérations maritimes locales. Par exemple, un prévisionniste maritime peut décider de déclencher un avertissement de situation maritime autre lorsqu'une précipitation verglaçante de longue durée est prévue sur une zone maritime, pouvant entraîner des conditions dangereuses de formation de glace sur les infrastructures maritimes.

Date de modification :