Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Marine Warning Program

Wind Warnings

Wind warnings are typically issued for more than one marine forecast area at a time. Marine wind warnings are included in the Recreational Boating Forecast, where available, and the Regular Forecast bulletins, and are conveyed using the keywords “in effect”.

There are four categories of wind warnings that are recognized by Environment Canada (Strong Wind, Gale, Storm, and Hurricane Force Wind). Wind warnings are issued with as much advance notice to mariners as possible, in an effort to provide them with the opportunity to make timely decisions about their safety and security.

Strong Wind Warnings

Strong Wind Warnings are issued when wind speeds of 20 to 33 knots, excluding gusts, are occurring or are expected to occur. These warnings are primarily issued during the recreational or summer boating season and are intended for coastal or inland waters only. Note that Strong Wind Warnings are not issued for marine areas where strong winds occur frequently (i.e. offshore marine areas, and most marine areas adjacent to Newfoundland and Labrador).

Environment Canada's Strong Wind Warning program activity

Regions, time frames and areas that are included in
Environment Canada's Strong Wind Warning Program
RegionStart Date *End Date *Areas Covered
Pacific CoastMarch 20November 11
  • Juan de Fuca Strait
  • Haro Strait
  • Howe Sound
  • Strait of Georgia
  • Johnstone Strait
  • Queen Charlotte Strait
Hudson, Mackenzie and Arctic WatersSpringFall
  • Mackenzie River
  • Great Slave Lake
  • Lake Athabasca
Manitoba LakesMay 1November 15
  • Lake Manitoba
  • Lake Winnipegosis
  • Lake Winnipeg
Great LakesMay 1October 31
  • Great Lakes (from Superior to Cornwall)
  • Lake of the Woods
  • Lake Nipigon
  • Lake Nipissing
  • Lake Simcoe
  • North Channel
St. LawrenceMay 1October 15
  • St. Lawrence River (Cornwall to Anticosti Island)
Atlantic Coast-MaritimesApril 15November 15
  • Fundy
  • Grand Mahan
  • Lurcher
  • Southwestern Shore
  • Fourchu
  • Cabot Strait
  • Northumberland Strait
  • Gult - Magdalen
  • Chaleur - Miscou
  • Anticosti
  • Bras d'Or Lakes
  • Halifax Harbour and
  • Approaches
Atlantic Coast - Newfoundland and LabradorN/AN/ANo Strong Wind Warning program due to prevailing wind conditions

Note: *Strong Wind Warning program start and end dates may vary and are dependent upon prevailing wind conditions

Gale Warnings

Gale Warnings are issued when wind speeds of 34 to 47 knots, excluding gusts, are occurring or are forecast to occur. These warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast.

Storm Warnings

Storm Warnings are issued when wind speeds of 48 to 63 knots, excluding gusts, are occurring or are forecast to occur. These warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast.

Hurricane Force Wind Warnings

Hurricane Force Wind Warnings are issued when winds of 64 knots or greater, excluding gusts, are occurring or are forecast to occur. These warnings are relevant to all marine interests and can be issued for all marine areas (coastal, inland and offshore) that have a regular or recreational marine forecast. Note that a Hurricane Force Wind Warning does not suggest that a hurricane is expected, only that the expected wind speeds will be comparable.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme canadien d'avertissements maritimes

Avertissements de vent

Les avertissements de vent sont généralement émis pour plusieurs zones de prévisions maritimes en même temps. Les avertissements de vent maritime sont inclus dans les prévisions pour la navigation de plaisance, le cas échéant, ainsi que dans les bulletins de prévisions régulières, et sont signalés par le terme « en vigueur».

Il existe quatre catégories d'avertissements de vent reconnus par Environnement Canada (vent fort, coups de vent, tempête, et force d'un ouragan). Les avertissements de vent sont transmis dès que possible aux navigateurs, pour qu'ils aient la possibilité de prendre les décisions en temps opportun au sujet de leur sûreté et de leur sécurité.

Avertissements de vent fort

Les avertissements de vent fort sont émis quand le vent atteint des vitesses de 20 à 33 nœuds, sans compter les rafales, ou quand ces vitesses pourraient être atteintes prochainement. Ces avertissements sont surtout émis durant la saison de navigation de plaisance ou estivale et sont destinés aux eaux intérieures et côtières seulement. Notez que les avertissements de vents forts ne sont pas émis pour les zones maritimes où les vents forts sont fréquents (c.-à-d. les zones maritimes au large, et la plupart des zones maritimes proches de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador).

Activité du programme d'avertissement de vents forts d'Environnement Canada

Régions, périodes et zones maritimes qui sont inclus dans le
programme d'avertissements de vent forts d'Environnement Canada
RégionDate de debut *Date de fin *Zones concernées
Côte du Pacifique20 mars11 novembre
  • Détroit Juan de Fuca
  • Détroit de Haro
  • Baie Howe
  • Détroit de Georgia
  • Détroit de Johnstone
  • Détroit de la Reine Charlotte
Hudson, Mackenzie et eaux arctiquesPrintempsAutomne
  • Fleuve Mackenzie
  • Grand lac des Esclaves
  • Lac Athabasca
Lacs du Manitoba1er mai15 novembre
  • Lac Manitoba
  • Lac Winnipegosis
  • Lac Winnipeg
Great Lacs1er mai31 octobre
  • Grands Lacs (de Supérieur à Cornwall)
  • Lac des Bois
  • Lac Nipigon
  • Lac Nipissing
  • Lac Simcoe
  • Chenal North
Saint-Laurent1er mai15 octobre
  • Fleuve Saint-Laurent (de Cornwall à l'île d'Anticosti)
Côte de l'Atlantique – Provinces maritimes15 avril15 novembre
  • Fundy
  • Grand Manan
  • Lurcher
  • Littoral Sud-Ouest
  • Littoral Est
  • Fourchu
  • Détroit de Cabot
  • Détroit de Northumberland
  • Golfe - Madeleine
  • Chaleurs - Miscou
  • Anticosti
  • Réseau du lac Bras d'Or
  • Port d'Halifax et ses abords
Côte de l'Atlantique – Terre-Neuve-et-Labradors.o.s.o.Aucun programme d'avertissement de vent fort en raison de conditions de vent dominant.

Remarque : * Les dates de début et de fin du programme d'avertissement de vents forts peuvent varier et dépendent des conditions météorologiques.

Avertissements de coups de vent

Les avertissements de coups de vent sont émis quand le vent atteint des vitesses de 34 à 47 nœuds, sans compter les rafales, ou quand ces vitesses pourraient être atteintes prochainement. Ces avertissements concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles.

Avertissements de vent de tempête

Les avertissements de vent de tempête sont émis quand le vent atteint des vitesses de 48 à 63 nœuds, sans compter les rafales, ou quand ces vitesses pourraient être atteintes prochainement. Ces avertissements concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles.

Avertissement de vent de la force d'un ouragan

Les avertissements de vent de la force d'un ouragan sont émis quand le vent atteint des vitesses de 64 nœuds ou plus, sans compter les rafales, ou quand ces vitesses pourraient être atteintes prochainement. Ces avertissements concernent tous les intérêts maritimes et peuvent être émis pour toutes les zones maritimes (côtières, intérieures et en mer) ayant des prévisions maritimes régulières ou occasionnelles. Notez qu'un avertissement de vent de la force d'un ouragan ne signifie pas qu'un ouragan est prévu, mais que la vitesse du vent prévue sera comparable.

Date de modification :