Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Marine

Boats in a marina. Photo: Mario Ouellet. Photo: Mario Ouellet

Driven by complex interactions between the atmosphere, water and the surrounding land, the weather conditions on Canada’s oceans, lakes and rivers can be harsh and unstable.

Professional and recreational mariners alike rely on accurate marine weather forecasts to provide them with the notice they need to seek safe shelter or take other actions to protect their passengers, vessels and cargo from harm.

Envrionment Canada addresses this need by forecasting marine weather 24 hours a day, all year round. Our marine forecasts cover Canada’s Pacific and Atlantic coasts, our Arctic waters, the Great Lakes, the St. Lawrence River, and many other major bodies of water.

Environment Canada also issues marine alerts on Weatheradio and its weather.gc.ca website when conditions could pose a hazard to mariners or their operations. Current measurements of wind, waves, temperature, visibility and other parameters at hundreds of land and buoy stations across Canada are also available online.

Météo maritime

Bateaux dans une marina. Photo: Mario Ouellet

Influencées par des interactions complexes entre l'atmosphère, l'eau et le relief environnant, les conditions météorologiques sur les océans, les lacs et les rivières du Canada peuvent être difficiles et instables.

Les marins professionnels et récréatifs comptent sur des prévisions météo maritimes exactes pour savoir quand chercher un abri sûr ou prendre d'autres mesures pour protéger leurs passagers, leurs marchandises et leurs navires.

Environnement Canada répond à ce besoin en offrant des prévisions météo maritimes 24 heures sur 24, toute l'année. Nos prévisions maritimes couvrent les côtes canadiennes du Pacifique et de l'Atlantique, les eaux arctiques, les Grands Lacs, le fleuve Saint-Laurent, et de nombreux autres plans d'eau d’envergure.

Environnement Canada émet également des alertes maritimes par l'entremise de Radio-Météo Canada et de son site Météo lorsque les conditions présentent un risque pour les marins ou leurs activités. Des mesures actuelles du vent, des vagues, de la température, de la visibilité et d'autres paramètres prises à des centaines de stations terrestres ou de stations-bouées dans tout le Canada sont également affichées en ligne.

Date de modification :