Land-based Observations

In this section, learn how to better understand and use our land-based marine observation data, which is collected from our extensive network of monitoring equipment in coastal locations across Canada.

Cape Race

04:30 PM NST 9 March 2010

A sample current conditions page for a land based marine observation location
Wind (knots)WSW 16Air temperature (°C)0
ConditionsN/A*Relative humidity (%)100
Visibility (km)8Dew point temperature (°C)0
Pressure and tendency (kPa)100.0 ↓Wind Chill-7
Sunrise6:27 NST Sunset17:58 NST
* In the event a senor is malfunctioning or out of service for maintenance or the parameter is not measured, the field would be displayed as not available (N/A).

Observation Location (displayed in the mock up display as Cape Race)

Identified as the name of the observing location.

Time

The time of the observation is displayed in local time (Daylight Savings Time or Standard Time as required), hh:mm ddmmyyy, and typically updated shortly past the hour for hourly observations. In the event that a special or non-routine observation is available, this will be posted with an updated time.

Wind – Speed in Knots

The direction from which the wind is blowing from, using geographic cardinal or intercardinal points. A north wind is therefore a wind blowing from the geographic north. The speed is derived from a 2-minute mean or average prior to the time of the observation. In the event a gust is recorded, this is the maximum observed in a 10-minute period prior to the time of the observation.

Conditions

This is the representative condition reported at the observing site, based on the significance of the phenomena. It should be noted that some automated observing stations do not record current sky conditions, or their cloud detecting system only measures cloud below a certain height.

Visibility

Where available, this is the greatest distance, expressed in Kilometers, at which a black object of suitable dimensions could be seen and recognized. During hours of darkness, it could also be seen if under the same daylight conditions

Pressure and Tendency

The latest air pressure observed on the hour of the observation, in Kilopascals (kPa) with the trend of either rising or falling from the previous hour’s reading.

Air Temperature

The latest air temperature observed on the hour of the observation, in degrees Celsius to the nearest whole degree. 

Relative humidity

The percentage of humidity or relative humidity observed on the hour of the observation.

Dew point temperature

The latest dew point temperature observed on the hour of the observation, in degrees Celsius to the nearest whole degree. 

Wind chill Humidex

Wind chill is indicated in current conditions only when the temperature is 0°C or lower, with a wind speed of 2 km/h or more. In general, wind chill is mentioned in a forecast only if it is expected to be significant, that is to say if the wind chill is expected to be -25 or colder, with a forecast wind speed greater than 10 km/h.

The humidex is particularly significant when its value is greater than 30. We only display humidex values of 25 or higher for a location, which reports a dew point temperature above zero (0°C) and an air temperature of 20°C or more. Below this value, the humidex is too close to the air temperature to be considered significant.

Sunrise/ Sunset

Environment Canada is not an official source for this data, however as a courtesy, approximations for sunrise and sunset are available on the city forecast page nearest your location. Official times for sunrise and sunset can be found on the website of the National Research Council of Canada.

Observations maritimes à partir des côtes

Dans cette section, vous apprendrez à mieux connaître et utiliser nos données d’observation maritimes à partir des côtes, qui sont recueillies au moyen de notre vaste réseau d'équipement de surveillance dans des sites côtiers au Canada.

Cape Race

Exemple de page de conditions actuelles pour un site d’observation maritime à partir de la côte
Vent (noeuds)OSO 16Température de l’air (°C)0
ConditionsN.D.*Humidité relative (%)100
Visibilité (km)8Température
de point de rosée (°C)
0
Pression et tendance (kPa)100.0 ↓Refroidissement éolien-7
Lever du soleil6:27 HNTCoucher du soleil17:58 HNT
* Advenant le cas d’une défaillance de capteur, d’une interruption pour entretien ou si un paramètre n’est pas mesuré, le champ serait affiché comme « non disponible » (N.D.)

Lieu de l’observation (affiché dans l’exemple comme Cape Race)

Identifié d’après le nom du lieu où l’observation a été faite.

Heure

L’heure de l’observation est affichée selon l’heure locale (heure avancée ou normale), hh:mm jjmmaaaa, il y a, habituellement, mise à jour peu après chaque heure écoulée dans le cas d’observations à toute les heures. Dans le cas où une observation spéciale est disponible, elle sera affichée avec une heure de mise à jour.

Vent – vitesse en nœuds

La direction d’où provient le vent, est déterminée en utilisant les points géographiques cardinaux ou intercardinaux. Un vent du nord est donc un vent provenant du nord géographique. La vitesse est dérivée d’une moyenne de deux minutes précédant l'heure de l'observation. Advenant l’observation d’un coup de vent, il s’agira du maximum observé dans les 10 minutes précédant l’heure de l’observation. 

Conditions

Il s’agit des conditions représentatives signalées au site d’observation basées sur l’importance du phénomène. Il est à noter que certaines stations d’observation automatisées n’enregistrent pas les conditions atmosphériques actuelles, ou le système de détection de nuages ne détecte que les nuages sous une certaine hauteur.

Visibilité

Il s’agit de la distance la plus grande, exprimée en kilomètres, à laquelle un objet noir d’une taille convenable peut être vu et reconnu. Quand il s'agit d'observations de nuit, le même objet pourrait être vu si l'éclairement général augmentait jusqu'à atteindre l'intensité normale en lumière du jour.

Pression et tendance

La plus récente pression atmosphérique observée à l’heure d’observation, en kilopascals (kPa), avec la tendance à la hausse ou à la  baisse, par rapport à la lecture de l'heure précédente.

Température de l’air

La plus récente température relevée à l’heure d’observation, en degrés Celsius, arrondie au degré entier le plus près.

Humidité relative

Le pourcentage d’humidité, ou l’humidité relative, relevée à l’heure de l’observation.

Température de point de rosée

La plus récente température de point de rosée relevée à l’heure d’observation, en degrés Celsius, arrondie au degré entier le plus près.

Refroidissement éolien / humidex

Le refroidissement éolien est indiqué dans les conditions actuelles seulement lorsque la température est de 0 °C ou moins et que le vent atteint une vitesse de 2 km/h ou plus. Habituellement, le refroidissement éolien est mentionné dans une prévision seulement si on s’attend à ce qu’il soit considérable. (Par exemple, si on envisage un refroidissement éolien de -25 ou encore plus bas et si l’on prévoit que le vent atteindra des vitesses de plus de 10 km/h).

L’humidex est particulièrement important lorsque sa valeur dépasse 30. Nous affichons seulement les valeurs d’humidex de 25 ou plus pour un endroit qui signale une température de point de rosée supérieure à 0 degré Celsius et une température de l'air de 20 °C ou plus. Sous cette valeur, l’humidex est trop près de la température de l’air pour être vraiment utile.

Lever/coucher du soleil

Environnement Canada n’est pas une source officielle pour ces données. Par contre, par commodité, des approximations des heures de lever et de coucher de soleil sont disponibles à la page de prévisions de la ville la plus près de l’endroit où vous vous trouvez. Les heures officielles de lever et de coucher de soleil peuvent être consultées sur le site Web du Conseil national de recherches Canada.