Guide to Environment Canada Marine Weather Forecasts

Interpreting the Wording of a Marine Forecast

As mentioned in Section 1 of this Guide (Types of Marine Forecast), there may be up to four marine weather elements included in regular or updated marine forecasts. At times the marine forecast can become quite lengthy, particularly during the winter storm season as extra wording may be required to convey the meteorological and warning information comprising the marine forecast.

As such, in the interests of brevity and utility for the end-user, the marine forecast will exclude wording that may be redundant, or that does not provide additional information for the end-user.

Since the marine forecast is worded in such a way so as to minimize length, end-users should note that insignificant changes in marine weather elements, such as wind and visibility, are not usually mentioned so as to avoid unnecessary or redundant wording. However, significant changes to marine weather elements are explicitly stated to ensure the forecast information is conveyed.

  • Example 1:  Significant changes to winds occurring part-way through the forecast period then winds remain unchanged for the remainder of the forecast period:

If the last significant change to the wind forecast occurs on Day 1, the wind statement will not be repeated in the Day 2 wind forecast. To illustrate, refer to wind statement of the following marine forecast:

FQCN13 CWUL 190700
MARINE FORECASTS FOR THE ST. LAWRENCE AND SAGUENAY RIVERS ISSUED BY ENVIRONMENT CANADA AT 3:00 A.M. EDT THURSDAY 19 MARCH 2009 FOR TODAY TONIGHT AND FRIDAY.
THE NEXT SCHEDULED FORECASTS WILL BE ISSUED AT 3:00 P.M.

FOG IMPLIES VISIBILITY LESS THAN 1 MILE.

MONTREAL TO TROIS-RIVIERES.
WIND WEST 15 KNOTS DIMINISHING TO LIGHT EARLY THIS EVENING. HIGH TODAY PLUS 3. LOW TONIGHT MINUS 12. HIGH FRIDAY MINUS 1.

Note that the stated period of coverage for the above forecast is TODAY TONIGHT AND FRIDAY, and that the wind forecast states WIND WEST 15 KNOTS DIMINISHING TO LIGHT EARLY THIS EVENING. Since there is no further mention of changes to the wind after early this (Thursday) evening, this implies that light winds are expected beginning early Thursday evening and persisting through to midnight Friday.

  • Example 2: A marine forecast in which there is no change in the wind speed or direction during the entire forecast period:

In this case there is no significant change in the wind during the forecast period, and the marine forecast will notrepeat the same wind forecast for subsequent times of the forecast part-periods (this afternoon, tonight, etc). To illustrate, refer to wind statement of the following marine forecast:

FQCN13 CWUL 190700
MARINE FORECASTS FOR THE ST. LAWRENCE AND SAGUENAY RIVERS ISSUED BY ENVIRONMENT CANADA AT 3:00 A.M. EDT THURSDAY 19 MARCH 2009 FOR TODAY TONIGHT AND FRIDAY.
THE NEXT SCHEDULED FORECASTS WILL BE ISSUED AT 3:00 P.M.

FOG IMPLIES VISIBILITY LESS THAN 1 MILE.

MONTREAL TO TROIS-RIVIERES.
WIND WEST 15 KNOTS. HIGH TODAY PLUS 3. LOW TONIGHT MINUS 12. HIGH FRIDAY MINUS 1.

Note that the stated period of coverage for the above forecast is TODAY TONIGHT AND FRIDAY, and that the wind forecast states WIND WEST 15 KNOTS. Since there are no further stated changes, this implies that 15 knot westerlies are expected to persist during the entire forecast period, from 3 AM Thursday morning through to midnight Friday.

Guide des prévisions météorologiques maritimes d’Environnement Canada

Interprétation des prévisions maritimes

Comme il est indiqué à la section 1 du présent guide (Type de prévisions maritimes), jusqu’à quatre éléments météorologiques maritimes peuvent être inclus dans les prévisions maritimes régulières ou mises à jour. Parfois, le texte des prévisions maritimes peut être plutôt long, surtout durant la saison des tempêtes hivernales. En effet, l’ajout de phrases peut être nécessaire pour véhiculer l’information météorologique et les avertissements que comprennent ces prévisions.

Ainsi, par souci de concision et d’efficacité, on exclut des prévisions maritimes toute formulation redondante qui n’ajoute aucune information pertinente pour les utilisateurs finaux.

Puisque les prévisions maritimes sont formulées de manière à en réduire la longueur au minimum, les utilisateurs doivent noter que des changements non importants touchant les éléments de météorologie maritime, comme le vent et la visibilité, ne sont habituellement pas mentionnés afin d’éviter des formulations redondantes et inutiles. Cependant, les changements importants aux éléments de météorologie maritime sont indiqués explicitement pour garantir la communication de l’information.

  • Exemple 1 : D’importants changements des vents se produisent durant la période de prévisions, puis les vents demeurent inchangés pour le reste de cette période :

Si le dernier changement important de la prévision des vents se produit le Jour 1, l’énoncé au sujet des vents ne sera pas répété dans la prévision des vents du Jour 2. Voici un exemple :

FQCN13 CWUL 190700
PRÉVISIONS MARITIMES POUR LE SAINT-LAURENTET LA RIVIÈRE SAGUENEAY ÉMISES PAR ENVIRONMENT CANADA À 3 H HAE LE JEUDI 19 MARS 2009 POUR AUJOURD'HUI, CETTE NUIT ET VENDREDI.
LES PROCHAINES PRÉVISIONS SERONT ÉMISES À 15 H.

LE BROUILLARD IMPLIQUE UNE VISIBILITÉ INFÉRIEURE À 1 MILLE.

MONTRÉEAL À TROIS-RIVIÈRES.
VENT DE L'OUEST DE 15 NOEUDS DIMINUANT À LÉGER TÔT CE SOIR. MAXIMUM AUNOURD'HUI PLUS 3. MINIMUM CETTE NUIT MOINS 12. MAXIMUM VENDREDI MOINS 1.

La période visée ci-dessus est AUJOURD’HUI, CETTE NUIT ET VENDREDI, et la prévision des vents annonce un VENT DE L'OUEST DE 15 NOEUDS DIMINUANT À LÉGER TÔT CE SOIR. Étant donné qu’il n’y a aucune autre mention de changements des vents après « tôt ce soir » (jeudi), cela signifie qu’on prévoit des vents légers débutant tôt jeudi soir et persistant jusqu’à vendredi à minuit.

  •  Exemple 2 : Des prévisions maritimes ne comportant aucun changement de la vitesse ou de la direction du vent durant toute la période de prévisions :

Dans ce cas, il n’y a aucun changement important des vents durant la période de prévisions et les prévisions maritimes ne répètent pas la même prévision des vents pour les autres parties des prévisions (cet après-midi, cette nuit, etc.). Voici un exemple :

FQCN13 CWUL 190700
PRÉVISIONS MARITIMES POUR LE SAINT-LAURENT ET LA RIVIÈRE DU SAGUENAY ÉMISES PAR ENVIRONNEMENT CANADA À 3H HAE LE JEUDI 19 MARS 2009 POUR AUJOURD'HUI, CETTE NUIT ET VENDREDI.
LES PROCHAINES PRÉVISIONS SERONT ÉMISES À 15H.

LE BROUILLARD IMPLIQUE UNE VISIBILITÉ INFÉRIEURE À 1 MILLE.

MONTRÉAL À TROIS-RIVIÈRES.
VENT DE L'OUEST DE 15 NOEUDS. MAXIMUM AUJOURD'HUI PLUS 3. MINIMUM CETTE NUIT MOINS 12. MAXIMUM VENDREDI MOINS 1.

La période visée ci-dessus est AUJOURD’HUI, CETTE NUIT ET VENDREDI, et la prévision des vents annonce un VENT DE L'OUEST DE 15 NOEUDS. Étant donné qu’il n’y a aucune autre mention de changements, cela signifie qu’on prévoit des vents de l’ouest de 15 nœuds persistant durant toute la période de prévisions, de 3 h jeudi matin à minuit vendredi.