Guide to Environment Canada Marine Weather Forecasts

Forecast Issue Times and Valid Periods

Regular Marine Forecast

The regular marine forecast is issued two to four times daily. The number of forecasts and the issue times are determined regionally. The period of coverage is from the forecast issue time out to midnight of the second day of the stated forecast period. Each day of this two-day period is referred to as Day 1 and Day 2 (See Table 1).

Extended Marine Forecast

The extended marine forecast is issued twice a day, and the issues times are determined regionally. The period of coverage begins after midnight of Day 2 and extends out to midnight of the fifth day of the stated forecast period. Each day of this extended three-day period is referred to as Day 3, Day 4, and Day 5 (See Table 1).

Wave Height Forecast

For waters where wave height forecasts are issued, the wave height forecast is issued two times daily. The issue times are determined regionally, but issue-times are usually the same as, or shortly after, the regular marine forecast issue time. The period of coverage is from the forecast issue time out to midnight of the second day of the stated forecast period. Each day of this two-day period is referred to as Day 1 and Day 2 (See Table 1).

Technical Marine Synopsis

The technical marine synopsis is issued with the regular marine forecast, and its time period of coverage corresponds to the time period of coverage of the regular marine forecast.

Marine Weather Statement

A marine weather statement is a non-scheduled bulletin that is issued on an “as needed” basis. It is used in special circumstances to describe the synoptic situation or potentially high impact marine weather expected to occur beyond the period of coverage of the regular marine forecast. This type of marine weather statement is issued at the forecaster’s discretion.

Table 1.  Definition of the Periods of Coverage Associated with the Regular Forecast (Day 1 and Day 2) and the Extended Forecast (Day 3, Day 4, and Day 5).
Forecast TermsCorresponding Valid Time Period (local time)Remarks
TodayIssuing time to 5:59 p.m. 
Tonight

6:00 p.m. – 5:59 a.m.

or

issue time to 05:59 a.m.

When a forecast is issued after 6:00 p.m., valid time for the phrase Tonight covers from the time of issue to 5:59 a.m. the next day
Day 26:00 a.m. – 11:59 p.m.Identified using the name of day
Day 312 midnight – 11:59 p.m.Identified using the name of day
Day 412 midnight – 11:59 p.m.Identified using the name of day
Day 512 midnight – 11:59 p.m.Identified using the name of day


Date modified:

Guide des prévisions météorologiques maritimes d’Environnement Canada

Heures d’émission et durée de validité des prévisions

Prévisions maritimes régulières

Les prévisions maritimes régulières sont émises de deux à quatre fois par jour. Le nombre de prévisions et les heures d’émission sont déterminés à l’échelle régionale. Ces prévisions couvrent la période allant de l’heure d’émission jusqu’au lendemain à minuit. Cette période de prévisions est composée du Jour 1 et du Jour 2 (voir le tableau 1).

Prévisions maritimes à long terme

Les prévisions maritimes à long terme sont émises deux fois par jour, et les heures d’émission sont déterminées à l’échelle régionale. Ces prévisions couvrent la période commençant après minuit le Jour 2 jusqu’au cinquième jour à minuit. Cette période de prévisions est composée du Jour 3, du Jour 4 et du Jour 5 (voir le tableau 1).

Prévisions de la hauteur des vagues

Les prévisions de la hauteur des vagues sont émises deux fois par jour pour les secteurs visés. Les heures d’émission sont déterminées à l’échelle régionale, mais les prévisions de la hauteur des vagues sont habituellement émises en même temps que les prévisions maritimes régulières ou peu de temps après. Ces prévisions couvrent la période allant de l’heure émission jusqu’au lendemain à minuit. Cette période de prévisions est composée du Jour 1 et du Jour 2 (voir le tableau 1).

Situation maritime technique

La situation technique maritime est émise en même temps que les prévisions maritimes régulières. Cette information est valide pour la même période que les prévisions maritimes régulières.

Communiqué maritime

Le communiqué maritime n’est pas un bulletin régulier; il est émis « au besoin ». Il est utilisé lors de circonstances spéciales pour décrire une situation synoptique ou des conditions météorologiques pouvant avoir des répercussions importantes au-delà de la période de validité des prévisions maritimes régulières. Ce type de communiqué maritime est émis à la discrétion du prévisionniste. 

 Tableau 1. Durée de validité des périodes de prévisions maritimes régulières (jours 1 et 2) et des périodes de prévisions maritimes à long terme (jours 3, 4 et 5)
Désignation de la périodeDurée de validité de la période (heure locale)Remarques
Aujourd’huiHeure d’émission – 17 h 59 
Ce soir et cette nuit

18 h – 5 h 59

ou

Heure d’émission – 5 h 59

Quand des prévisions sont émises après 18 h, la durée de validité de la période « Ce soir et cette nuit » va de l’heure d’émission à 5 h 59 le lendemain
Jour 26 h – 23 h 59Désignée à l’aide du nom du jour
Jour 3Minuit – 23 h 59Désignée à l’aide du nom du jour
Jour 4Minuit – 23 h 59Désignée à l’aide du nom du jour
Jour 5Minuit – 23 h 59Désignée à l’aide du nom du jour
Date de modification :