Guide to Environment Canada Marine Weather Forecasts

Types of Marine Forecasts

Regular Marine Forecast

The regular marine forecast gives a description of the marine winds and weather, visibility, and/or freezing spray (if applicable), expected over the marine district. It also states any marine warnings or watches that may be in effect.

Extended Marine Forecast

The extended marine forecast is meant for longer range planning purposes and therefore only gives a description of the marine winds expected over the marine district. Marine wind warnings are not included with the extended marine forecast because of the greater potential for forecast variability in longer range outlooks.  

Wave Height Forecast

The wave height forecast gives a description of the significant wave heights expected over the marine district.

Marine Synopses

The marine synopses consist of two bulletins:

  • Technical Marine Synopsis - The technical marine synopsis is a brief and generic description of the main weather systems affecting the marine district.
  • Marine Weather Statement - The marine weather statement is used either to describe (in further detail) marine weather conditions that may pose a hazard to marine interests; or as a way of providing additional marine weather information to supplement the marine forecast.
Date modified:

Guide des prévisions météorologiques maritimes d’Environnement Canada

Types de prévisions maritimes

Prévisions maritimes régulières

Les prévisions maritimes régulières décrivent les vents et les conditions météorologiques maritimes, la visibilité et les embruns verglaçants (le cas échéant) prévus dans le secteur maritime. De plus, elles comprennent les veilles et les avertissements en vigueur pour le secteur.

Prévisions maritimes à long terme

Les prévisions maritimes à long terme servent à la planification sur une période prolongée et, par conséquent, décrivent uniquement les vents prévus dans le secteur maritime. Les avertissements de vent ne sont pas inclus dans les prévisions maritimes à long terme, car les prévisions risquent davantage de varier sur une période prolongée.  

Prévisions de la hauteur des vagues

Les prévisions de la hauteur des vagues décrivent la hauteur significative des vagues prévue dans le secteur maritime.

Situation générale

La situation générale comprend deux volets :

  • Situation maritime technique - La situation maritime technique donne une brève description générale des principaux systèmes météorologiques qui touchent le secteur maritime.
  • Communiqué maritime - Le communiqué maritime sert soit à décrire plus en détail les conditions météorologiques maritimes qui peuvent présenter des risques pour les navigateurs, soit à fournir des renseignements supplémentaires pour compléter la prévision maritime.
Date de modification :