Mercury and the Environment

The goal of this section is to provide scientific background information and to outline current policies, programs, and practical guidance related to mercury. If you are looking for a general overview of the issues and concerns associated with mercury, the About Mercury page is a great place to start and contains information about mercury's history, chemical properties, biogeochemical cycling, transport through the atmosphere, and global circulation.  On this website, you will also find information on mercury legislation and guidelines of interest in the Federal Actions section, and specific information for stakeholders targeted by Environment Canada legislation in the Actions on Mercury at Environment Canada section.

Environment and Health Concerns

Selecting the Environment and Health Concerns heading on the menu bar to the left will open up an extended menu of subtopics. This section will be of interest if you are looking for information about sources of mercury, mercury in the food chain, health concerns, and fish consumption advisories.

Commercial and Consumer Products that Contain Mercury

Mercury has been used in a variety of commercial and consumer products due to its unique characteristics. These products include fluorescent lamps, thermometers and thermostats, batteries, dental amalgam, medical/measuring devices and switches and relays among others. This section includes information on these products and mercury-free alternatives.

Spills, Disposal and Cleanup

Because mercury is toxic even small mercury spills should be considered hazardous and should be cleaned up with caution and products containing mercury should be recycled or disposed of properly. The Spills, Disposal and Cleanup section contains information about cleaning up small mercury spills, what to do if a fluorescent lamp breaks and disposing of mercury products.

Taking Action

The What Can I Do? page outlines steps that you can take to protect yourself and the environment. a list of municipal collection programs

Managing and Reducing Mercury

The Managing and Reducing Mercury section contains information about the various approaches that are taken to address mercury issues. The subsections provide additional information about international actions, Federal Actions, Canada Wide Standards, and actions at the provincial/territorial and municipal level.

Research and Programs

Environment Canada is involved in the development and implementation of research and programs that will help reduce and manage anthropogenic releases of mercury. This section provides information on different initiatives and programs including voluntary and non-governmental actions.

Related Links

In this section you can explore numerous links providing information on a wide range of mercury-related topics.

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le mercure dans l'environnement

Cette section a pour but de fournir des renseignements généraux scientifiques sur le mercure et de décrire les politiques, les programmes et les directives pratiques à l'égard du mercure. Pour obtenir un aperçu général des questions et des préoccupations associées au mercure, la page À propos du mercure contient de l'information concernant l'historique du mercure, ses propriétés chimiques, son cycle biogéochimique, et sa circulation globale. Vous trouverez également sur ce site des renseignements sur la législation et les lignes directrices concernant le mercure dans la section Mesures federales ainsi que des informations spécifiques aux intervenants ciblés par la législation d'Environnement Canada dans la section Projets relatifs au mercure à Environnement Canada.

Préoccupations relatives à l'environnement et la santé

Le lien Préoccupations relatives à l'environnement et la santé dans la barre de menus à gauche vous donnera accès à une multitude de sous-sujets. Cette section vous intéressera si vous cherchez des renseignements sur les sources de mercure, le mercure dans la chaîne alimentaire, les préocupations relatives à la santé et les avis en matière de consommation de poisson.

Produits qui contiennent du mercure

Le mercure est utilisé dans un éventail de produits en raison de ses caractéristiques uniques. Ces produits incluent lampes fluorescentes, thermomètres et thermostats, piles, résidues des amalgame dentaires, instruments médicaux/de mesures et interrupteurs et relais et autres.

Déversements, élimination et nettoyage

On doit considérer comme dangereux les déversements mineurs de mercure en raison de la toxicité de cette substance et s'assurer de recycler ou d'éliminer de façon appropriée les produits contenant du mercure. La section Déversements, élimination et nettoyage contient de l'information sur comment nettoyer les déversements mineurs de mercure, que faire si une lampe fluorescente se brise, et comment se débarrasser des produits contenant du mercure.

Passons à l'action

La page Que puis-je faire? présente des mesures que vous pouvez prendre afin de vous protéger vous-même et de protéger l'environnement.

Gestion et réduction du mercure

La section Passons à l'action contient des renseignements sur les diverses initiatives mises en place pour s'attaquer aux problèmes liés au mercure. Les sous-sections fournissent des renseignements supplémentaires sur les mesures internationales, les mesures federales, les standards pancanadiens ainsi que les mesures provinciales et territoriales et municipales.

Recherche et programmes

Environnement Canada participe à l'élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de programmes et recherche non réglementaires qui aideront à réduire et à gérer les émissions anthropiques de mercure. Cette section fourni des renseignements sur des initiatives incluant des actions volontaires et non gouvernementales.

Date de modification :