Improving Federal Stewardship of Contaminated Sites

Speaking Notes for the Honourable Stéphane Dion, P.C., M.P. Minister of the Environment

Giant Mine, Yellowknife, NWT
August 2, 2005

 

Minister Stéphane Dion
Speech delivered by the
Hon. Stéphane Dion P.C., M.P., Minister of the Environment


Check against delivery

Seagia … Daah t'e

After nearly two centuries of heavy industrialization, our planet is riddled with a frightening number of contaminated sites.

Dispersed across urban, rural and even wilderness areas, these millions and millions of contaminated sites, hazardous legacy from past military, industrial, mining, smelting, manufacturing and farming activities, are putting at risk the health and security of hundreds of millions of human beings worldwide.

In Canada, contamination occurred at gas stations, factories, mines, military bases, tank farms, airports, laboratories, landfills, lighthouse stations and harbours, to name but a few.

It is estimated that there are, in our country, tens of thousands of these contaminated sites, the vast majority of which are privately held or owned by provincial, territorial or municipal governments.

And the federal government has its share of them. Since 2002, we have an Inventory of Federal Contaminated Sites. As of today, you will find listed on this inventory a little bit more than 4000 sites. And this number is likely to grow to an estimated 6000, as departments complete the identification of their sites.

Some of the practices that led to today's problems were due to ignorance or negligence. But we should bear in mind that the practices that caused the contamination were often carried out in a much different social, legal and scientific context. These practices would not be tolerated today, but in the past they were often common practice and they often met the standard of the day.

We have inherited the problem, and we must solve it. Today, our knowledge has increased, our environmental standards are higher and we all know that the contamination cannot be left to fester and continue to damage our ecosystems. We know what needs to be done: prevent new contamination and clean up the mess inherited from the past.

And we will do it.

True, remediation is a lengthy and complex process that is both costly and time consuming.

True, the variety of situations adds to the complexity : there is little in common between major sites such as the abandoned mine where we are, and smaller sites with lower levels of contamination. Contaminated sites found across the country range from the large to the small - from sites where fuel oil has spilled over many years, to large derelict industrial and mine sites such as the Giant Mine. The costs to deal with these contaminated sites vary, but they can reach hundreds of millions of dollars.

There are contaminated sites in urban areas, and many others are located in remote regions with harsh climates.

True, it is impossible to work at some of these locations year-round, which lengthens the time required to remediate the sites.

All this is true.

But remediation of these sites is the right thing to do, and the government of Canada will do it. This is the clearly expressed will of our Prime Minister, the Right Honourable Paul Martin.

We will do it without undue delay, using the appropriate approaches and the best available technologies. And in doing so, remediation will create new economic opportunities for affected communities, but also for the whole country: potential for redevelopment, new jobs in the environmental industry, and new innovative technologies.

Indeed, the remediation of contaminated sites will spur the development and commercialization of these new technologies, since many of these sites present challenges that cannot always be addressed cost effectively with existing technologies. The Government of Canada strongly believes that Canada has the potential to become a world leader in environmental technologies. This is borne out by Budget 2005, which also contains measures to support development of these technologies.

Yes, we will address federal contaminated sites with stronger dedication and commitment. Until recently, federal departments were on their own to manage or remediate sites for which they were responsible. They were investing about $100 million per year, but without coordination. Progress was slow.

The government spent an additional $175 million over two years from 2003 to 2005, over and above what the departments were already spending, to accelerate action on federal contaminated sites. This was a good beginning. But not enough for our Prime Minister. The 2004 budget provided a further announcement of $3.5 billion in long-term funding for federal sites, plus $500 million for shared responsibility sites.

Now, the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) is on a solid footing.

The goal of the Action Plan is to complete, within 15 years, the assessment, remediation and risk management of all of the estimated 6000 federal contaminated sites. We will reach this goal, all together.

This is good news for the North. You live with the impact of these abandoned mines and they are affecting your fragile ecosystem and your quality of life. You need this action plan: an estimated 60 percent of the Action Plan allocated funds will be spent on the federal sites in the North. And this will bring, indeed, potential for redevelopment, new jobs and new economic activities.

Already, you have your success stories. Aboriginal firms participating in remediation activities are helping create jobs for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people and further strengthen the local economies.

Allow me now to explain briefly how the Action Plan proceeds. Among all the federal sites on the inventory, each custodial department identified those sites that pose the greatest human health and ecological risks, and are ready for remediation : preliminary assesments, consultations with communities and other interested groups, all this needed work has been done.

Now, it is time to act. And this brings me to the announcement that I am so pleased to make today, an important step in the Action Plan :

I announce that for this fiscal year, 2005-2006, the federal government will commit $138.7 million to deal with 97 highest risk sites identified under the Action Plan. In addition to these $138.7 million, a further $14.3 million is set aside for the assessment of approximately 500 sites in 2005-2006 to determine whether further action is required. And remember : this is over and above the approximately 100 million$ already committed annually to the management of federal sites by custodial departments and agencies.

The 97 priority sites, identified for 2005-06, are located in all regions of the country, but 30 of them are in the North. Of the overall $138.7M in project funding for this year, almost $100M will be distributed among Northern sites.

I am releasing today the list of these 97 sites, with, for each of them, the federal departement responsible for its remediation. For the NorthWest Territories, you will find listed : Colomac Mine, Silver Bear Mines, Tundra-Taurcanis Mine, Discovery Mine, Axe Point, Atkinson Point, Port Radium Mine and last but not least, exactly where we are today: Giant Mine.

Giant Mine: after 50 years of operation, there are approximately 237,000 tonnes of highly toxic arsenic trioxide stored underground. In addition, arsenic-contaminated buildings,soils, and tailings on the site represent hazards to human health and the environment. There is potential for the release of arsenic dust from contaminated sources on the surface.

What to do? The "polluter pays" principle cannot apply since the company went bankrupt in 1999 and the site has since been transferred to the federal government, a month ago.

Your federal government will not shirk its responsibility. Along with our partners in the Giant Mine Remediation Project Team, after consulting extensively with the community, and taking into account the recommendations of a panel of independent experts, we selected the best remedial method under the circumstances.

Above ground, the land will be restored. Below ground, full decontamination is a complex challenge and we have not found the permanent solution yet; so while we look for it, the strategy will be to contain and monitor the contaminants to prevent them from affecting the surrounding environment.

I want to thank all our partners who worked so hard to find the solution, including the Government of Northwest Territories, the Yellowknives Dene First Nation, the community of Yellowknife, environmental groups, industry and all the experts involved. And, of course, your tireless Member of Parliament, our Minister of State for Northern Development, la grande dame des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, the Honourable Ethel Blondin-Andrew.

In my introduction, I acknowledged the spirit of leadership and partnership that has allowed a wide range of interest to come to terms with such problems as the Giant Mine.

In concluding, I want to thank you all again, representatives of the First Nations, the Community Advisory Committee, the city of Yellowknife, the Government of the NorthWest Territories and my federal government colleagues.

Thank you, all of you, and all my other federal colleagues and federal officials that I did not mention, for helping ensure that the North, and Canada as a whole, remain a good place to live in, a model of environmental stewardship.

In dealing with contaminated sites, our goal is to change liabilities into gains, to protect the environment and human health, and ultimately to restore these sites so that they can be enjoyed again by Canada's communities North and South of the 60th parallel.

In some cases, it will take time to reach these goals. But in the mean time, no effort will be spared to manage the pain and to prevent further damage. The Government of Canada is coming up not only with money and resources, but also with:

I assure you that your federal government will be the good partner you deserve, so that together, we can continue to work to preserve Canada's environment for the well-being of all its citizens, today and for the generations to come.

Thank you, Merci,

Mahsi Cho.

Vers une meilleure intendance des sites fédéraux contaminés

Notes pour une allocution de l'honorable Stéphane Dion, c.p., député, Ministre de l'Environnement du Canada

Mine Giant, Yellowknife (T.N-O.)

le 2 août 2005

 

L'honorable Stéphane Dion
Allocution de
l'Honorable Stéphane Dion, c.p., député
Ministre de l'Environnement


La version prononcée fait foi

Seagia … Daah t'e.

Après quelque deux siècles d'industrialisation forcenée, notre planète est constellée d'un nombre effarant de sites contaminés.

Éparpillés dans des secteurs urbains, ruraux, ou même sauvages, ces millions de sites contaminés, dangereux héritage d'anciennes activités militaires, industrielles, minières, sidérurgiques, manufacturières ou agricoles, menacent la santé de centaines de millions de personnes à l'échelle mondiale.

Au Canada, la contamination affecte des sites de stations service, d'usines, de mines, de bases militaires, de dépôts d'hydrocarbures, d'aéroports, de laboratoires, de sites d'enfouissement, de stations de phare et de ports, pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns.

On estime qu'il existe plusieurs dizaines de milliers de ces sites contaminés dans notre pays, et la plupart appartiennent à des intérêts privés ou à un gouvernement provincial, territorial ou municipal.

Quant au gouvernement fédéral, il en a aussi sa part. Depuis 2001, il existe un inventaire de ces sites fédéraux contaminés. Aujourd'hui, on peut y trouver une liste d'un peu plus de 4 000 sites. Et l'on estime que ce nombre pourrait bien grimper jusqu'à 6 000, au fur et à mesure que les ministères finiront d'identifier leurs sites.

Certes, l'ignorance et la négligence sont à l'origine de certaines des pratiques qui ont entraîné les problèmes que nous vivons d'aujourd'hui. Mais n'oublions pas que ces pratiques polluantes avaient souvent cours dans un contexte social, juridique et scientifique très différent de celui d'aujourd'hui. Il est clair que de telles pratiques ne seraient pas tolérées aujourd'hui. Mais hier, elles étaient souvent monnaie courante et elles respectaient les normes de l'heure.

Nous avons hérité du problème et nous devons le résoudre. Aujourd'hui, nos connaissances sont plus développées, nos normes environnementales sont plus exigeantes, et nous savons tous que l'on ne peut pas laisser la contamination perdurer et continuer à endommager nos écosystèmes. Nous savons ce qu'il faut faire : prévenir toute nouvelle contamination et nettoyer le gâchis hérité du passé.

Et c'est ce que nous allons faire.

Il est vrai que le traitement de ces sites est un processus long, cher et compliqué.

Il est vrai que la diversité des situations que l'on trouve partout au pays ajoute à la complexité : il y a de grandes différences entre un vaste site tel que la mine abandonnée où nous nous trouvons, ou encore le site industriel des étangs bitumineux de Sydney, et un site plus petit et peu contaminé. Le coût de traitement de ces sites contaminés varie beaucoup de l'un à l'autre, mais peut atteindre des centaines de millions de dollars.

Il y a des sites contaminés en milieu urbain, et beaucoup d'autres dans des régions éloignées au climat rigoureux.

Enfin, il est vrai que dans certains de ces sites, on ne peut pas travailler à l'année longue, ce qui allonge la durée du traitement.

Tout cela est vrai.

Mais le traitement des sites contaminés doit se faire, et le gouvernment du Canada va le faire. Voilà la volonté, clairement exprimée, de notre premier ministre, le très honorable Paul Martin.

Cela se fera sans délai, de manière appropriée et à l'aide des meilleures technologies disponibles. Ainsi, le traitement créera de nouvelles occasions économiques pour les collectivités affectées comme pour le pays tout entier : mise en valeur des sites, nouveaux emplois dans les industries environnementales, et nouvelles technologies.

Comme nombre de ces sites présentent des défis qui ne peuvent pas toujours être relevés à coût raisonnable avec les techniques existantes, leur traitement stimulera le développement et la commercialisation de technologies nouvelles. Le gouvernement du Canada croit fermement que le Canada peut devenir un chef de file mondial en matière de technologie environnementale. Cette conviction est appuyée par le budget de 2005 qui contient aussi des mesures de développement de ces technologies.

Oui, nous allons nous occuper des sites contaminés fédéraux avec une volonté et une détermination renouvelées. Jusqu'à récemment, les ministères fédéraux étaient laissés à eux-mêmes pour gérer ou traiter les sites dont ils sont responsables. Pour ce faire, ils investissaient environ 100 millions $ par an, mais sans coordination générale de l'effort. Les progrès étaient très lents.

Pour accélérer le mouvement, le gouvernement du Canada allait ajouter, entre 2003 et 2005, 175 millions $ à ce que les ministères dépensaient déjà. Un bon début, mais pas assez pour notre Premier ministre. Le budget de 2004 allait ajouter des investissements à long terme de 3,5 milliards $ pour les sites fédéraux, plus 500 millions $ pour les sites de responsabilité partagée.

Maintenant, le Plan d'action sur les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) a des assises solides. Son objectif est d'assurer, sur une période de 15 ans, l'évaluation, la gestion du risque et le traitement pour l'ensemble des sites contaminés fédéraux, que l'on estime à environ 6 000. Et cet objectif, c'est ensemble que nous allons l'atteindre.

C'est une bonne nouvelle pour le Nord. Vous vivez aujourd'hui les effets néfastes de ces mines abandonnées qui affectent vos fragiles écosystèmes et votre qualité de vie. Vous avez grand besoin de ce plan d'action : environ 60 pour cent des crédits du Plan d'action vont être affectés aux sites fédéraux du Nord. Voilà qui entraînera un intéressant potentiel de développement, d'emploi et d'activité économique.

D'ailleurs, vous pouvez déjà faire état de succès encourageants : des firmes autochtones participent déjà aux activités de restauration; elles procurent de l'emploi à des autochtones et à des non-autochtones, et renforcent les économies locales.

Permettez-moi d'expliquer brièvement le fonctionnement du Plan d'action. À partir de l'inventaire des sites contaminés fédéraux, chaque ministère responsable a identifié ceux qui posent les risques les plus élevés pour l'environnement et la santé humaine et qui sont prêts à être traités : évaluations préliminaires, consultations avec les collectivités et les autres intervenants, tout cela a été fait.

Maintenant, c'est le temps de l'action. Ce qui m'amène à l'annonce que j'ai le plaisir de faire aujourd'hui, une étape importante du Plan d'action.

J'annonce que pour l'année 2005-2006, le gouvernement fédéral a alloué 138,7 millions $ pour s'occuper de 97 sites qui comportent les risques les plus élevés, tels qu'identifiés dans le Plan d'action sur les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF). Outre ces 138,7 millions $, une enveloppe de 14,3 millions $ nous permettra d'évaluer environ 500 sites en 2005-2006 et de déterminer si des initiatives supplémentaires sont nécessaires. Et ne l'oublions pas : ces sommes s'ajoutent aux quelque 100 millions $ que consacrent déjà les ministères et les agences à la gestion des sites fédéraux dont ils sont responsables.

Les 97 sites prioritaires identifiés pour 2005-2006 se situent dans toutes les régions du pays mais 30 d'entre eux sont dans le Nord. Des 138,7 millions $ consacrés aux projets cette année, presque 100 millions $ iront aux sites nordiques.

Je publie aujourd'hui la liste de ces 97 sites ainsi que les ministères responsables pour leur restauration. Pour les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, vous y trouverez : la mine Colomac, les mines Silver Bear, la mine Tundra-Taurcanis, la mine Discovery, la pointe Axe, la pointe Atkinson, la mine Port radium et enfin, le dernier mais non le moindre, le site où nous nous trouvons aujourd'hui, la mine Giant.

La mine Giant : après 50 ans d'exploitation, il s'y trouve, stockées sous terre, quelque 237 000 tonnes d'une substance extrêmement toxique, le trioxyde d'arsenic. En outre, le site comporte des édifices, des sols et des déchets contaminés à l'arsenic, dangereux pour la santé humaine et l'environnement à cause du risque de migration de poussière contaminée.

Que faire ? Le principe du « pollueur payeur » ne peut pas s'appliquer car la compagnie ayant fait faillite en 1999, la responsabilité du site s'est vue transférée au gouvernment fédéral le mois dernier.

Votre gouvernement fédéral ne se dérobera pas à sa responsabilité. Avec nos partenaires de l'équipe du projet de restauration de la mine Giant, après avoir longuement consulté la collectivité et en tenant compte des recommandations d'un groupe d'expertts indépendants, nous avons choisi la meilleure méthode de traitement pour les circonstances actuelles.

En surface, le site sera restauré. Sous terre, la décontamination constitue un défi complexe pour lequel nous n'avons pas encore de solution; en attendant que nous ayons trouvé cette solution, la stratégie consistera à contenir et à surveiller les contaminants afin de les empêcher d'affecter les environs.

Je tiens à remercier tous nos partenaires qui ont travaillé si fort pour trouver une solution, y compris le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la première Nation des Dene Yellowknives, la collectivité de Yellowknife, les groupes environnementaux, l'industrie et les experts. Et bien sûr, votre infatigable députée, notre ministre d'État au développement du Nord, la grande dame des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, l'honorable Ethel Blondin-Andrew.

Dans mon introduction, j'ai souligné l'esprit de leadership et de partenariat qui a permis à une vaste gamme d'intérêts divers de venir à bien d'un problème tel que la mine Giant.

En conclusion, j'aimerais de nouveau vous remercier tous, représentants des Premières Nations, du Comité consultatif local, de la ville de Yellowknife et du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ainsi que mes collègues du gouvernement du Canada.

Merci à vous tous, ainsi qu'à tous mes collègues et fonctionnaires fédéraux que je n'ai pas nommés, de veiller à ce que le Nord - et le Canada tout entier - demeurent un endroit où il fait bon vivre et un modèle d'intendance environnementale.

Nos interventions sur les sites contaminés visent à changer le passif en actif, à protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine et, en fin de compte, à restaurer ces sites pour que les collectivités canadiennes, tant au Nord qu'au Sud du 60ème parallèle, puissent en jouir de nouveau.

Dans certains cas, atteindre ces objectifs demandera du temps. Mais entre-temps, nous n'épargnerons aucun effort pour atténuer la douleur et empêcher d'autres dommages. Le gouvernement du Canada n'apporte pas que de l'argent et des ressources; il a aussi instauré :

Soyez assurés que votre gouvernement fédéral sera le bon partenaire que vous méritez pour qu'ensemble, nous puissions continuer à protéger l'environnement du Canada pour le bien-être de tous ses citoyens, aujourd'hui et pendant les générations à venir.

Je vous remercie.

Mahsi Cho.