Bird Conservation Regions and Conservation Strategies

In response to concerns over declining populations of many species of once common birds, Canada, Mexico and the United States formed the North American Bird Conservation Initiative (NABCI) in 1999.

In order to plan, implement and evaluate conservation actions across the whole of North America, NABCI partners from the United States, Mexico, and Canada developed a common, ecologically based set of 'ecoregions' appropriate to birds throughout North America. For integrated bird conservation purposes in North America, Bird Conservation Regions (BCRs) function as the primary units within which biological planning is undertaken.

Through NABCI, Canada is committed to developing bird conservation strategies. These integrated, all-species ecoregional bird conservation strategies will provide a clear set of conservation objectives for birds of conservation concern across the country, developed according to a standard protocol. Conservation priorities and recommended actions from the BCR Strategies will be used as the biological basis to develop guidelines and beneficial management practices that support compliance with the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994. The BCR strategies will assist Environment and Climate Change Canada in fulfilling its mandate to manage migratory bird populations.

Map of 12 Bird Conservation Regions in Canada

There are 12 BCRs in Canada, several of which are divided into sub-regions. In all, 25 Canadian BCR Strategies have been prepared. For BCR names, descriptions and the completed BCR Strategies themselves, click on a BCR on the map.

Map of 12 Bird Conservation Regions in Canada. See the long text description beneath. Region 3 – Arctic Plains and Mountains Region 4 – Northwestern Interior Forest Region 5 – Northern Pacific Rainforest Region 10 – Northern Rockies Region 9 – Great Basin Region 6 – Boreal Taiga Plains Region 11 – Prairie Potholes Region 7 – Taiga Shield and Hudson PlainsTaiga Shield and Hudson PlainsTaiga Shield and Hudson Plains Region 12 – Boreal Forest Transition Region 13 – Lower Great Lakes/St. Lawrence Plain Region 14 – Atlantic Northern Forests Region 8 – Boreal Softwood Sheild

Text Description for the Map

The map shows all of Canada, with Alaska, Greenland and the northern portion of the United States also appearing. Each of the 12 Canadian BCRs are displayed differently and indicating individual subregions (e.g. 3 PNR for the portion of BCR 3 in Prairie and Northern Region, 3 QC for the portion of this same BCR in Quebec Region). Individual BCR subregions are labelled on the map. BCRs 4, 5, 9 and 10 are mostly contained within Pacific and Yukon Region; BCRs 6 and 11 are mostly contained within Prairie and Northern Region; BCRs 3, 7 and 8 stretch across the northern parts of Prairie and Northern, Ontario, Quebec, and Atlantic Regions (though BCR 3 does not extend south into Ontario); BCRs 12 and 13 mainly cover central and southern parts of Ontario and Quebec (respectively); and BCR 14 covers part of eastern Quebec and all the Maritime provinces in Atlantic Region. In addition, Marine Biogeographic Units are visible along the coasts.

Regions

The primary aims of BCR Strategies are to present Environment and Climate Change Canada’s priorities with respect to migratory bird conservation, and to provide a comprehensive overview of the conservation needs of bird populations to practitioners who may then undertake activities that promote bird conservation in Canada and internationally.

To achieve these aims, BCR Strategies provide landscape level information on 6 main elements of conservation including priority bird species (Element 1) and their habitat associations (Element 2), population objectives (Element 3), threats faced by priority species (Element 4), conservation objectives (Element 5) and proposed conservation actions (Element 6) to help reach the objectives. The information in the strategies is standardized across regions, integrated across species and follows widely accepted assessment methods.

Users from all levels of government, aboriginal communities, the private sector, academia, non-governmental organization (NGO)s and citizens will benefit from the information. BCR Strategies can be used in many different ways depending on the needs of the user, who may focus on one or more of the elements of the strategy.

For more detailed information on the scope, development and use of BCR Strategies, visit the Background Information Section.

Date modified:

Régions de conservation des oiseaux et Stratégies de conservation

En réponse aux préoccupations concernant le déclin des populations de nombreuses espèces qui étaient jadis communes, le Canada, le Mexique et les États-Unis ont créé l’Initiative de conservation des oiseaux de l’Amérique du Nord (ICOAN) en 1999.

Afin de planifier, d’appliquer et d’évaluer les mesures de conservation partout en Amérique du Nord, les partenaires américains, canadiens et mexicains de l’ICOAN ont mis en valeur des « écorégions » fondées sur des principes écologiques communs appropriés pour les oiseaux, et ce pour tout l’Amérique du Nord. Aux fins de l’intégration de la conservation des oiseaux en Amérique du Nord, les régions de conservation des oiseaux (RCO) constituent les cellules de base à partir desquelles la planification biologique est réalisée.

Le Canada s’est engagé, grâce à l’ICOAN, à élaborer des stratégies de conservation des oiseaux. Ces stratégies de conservation écorégionales et intégrées permettront d’établir une série clairement définie d’objectifs de conservation, élaborée conformément à un protocole normalisé, pour toutes les espèces d’oiseaux préoccupantes partout au pays. Les priorités en matière de conservation et les mesures recommandées dans les stratégies des RCO serviront de bases biologiques pour élaborer des lignes directrices et des pratiques de gestion bénéfiques qui favoriseront la conformité à la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs. Ces stratégies aideront Environnement et Changement climatique Canada à remplir son mandat de gestion des populations d’oiseaux migrateurs.

Carte des 12 régions de conservation au Canada

Il y a 12 RCO au Canada, et parmi celles-ci, plusieurs sont divisés en sous-régions. En tout, 25 stratégies canadiennes des régions de conservation des oiseaux ont été préparées. Pour les noms et les descriptions des RCO, ainsi que les stratégies elles-mêmes, s.v.p. cliquer sur un RCO sur la carte ci-dessous.

Carte de 12 régions de conservation au Canada. Voir la description textuelle longue ci-dessous. Région 3 – Plaine et cordillère arctiques Région 4 – Forêt intérieure du nord-ouest Région 5 – Forêt pluviale du nord du pacifique Région 10 – Rocheuses du Nord Région 9 – Grand bassin Région 6 – Plaines de la taïga boréal Région 11 – Marmites torrentielles des Prairies Région 7 – Taïga du bouclier et plaine hudsonnienne Région 12 – Forêt mixte boréale Région 13 – Plaine du Saint-Laurent et des lacs Ontario et Érié Région 14 – Forêt septentrionale de l'Atlantique Région 8 – Forêt coniférienne boréal

Description textuelle pour la carte

Carte des 12 régions de conservation des oiseaux (RCO) au Canada. La carte représente l'ensemble du Canada ainsi que l'Alaska, le Groenland et la partie nord des États-Unis. Chacune des 12 RCO du Canada est caractérisée différentes nuances selon les sous-régions (p. ex., la sous-région 3 RPN correspond à la partie de la RCO 3 située dans la région des Prairies et du Nord, la sous-région 3 QC correspond à la partie de cette même RCO située dans la région du Québec). Chacune des sous-régions des RCO est indiquée à même la carte. Les RCO 4, 5, 9 et 10 sont contenues presque entièrement dans la région du Pacifique et du Yukon; les RCO 6 et 11 sont contenues, pour l'essentiel, dans la région des Prairies et du Nord; les RCO 3, 7 et 8 couvrent la partie septentrionale des régions des Prairies et du Nord, de l'Ontario, du Québec et de l'Atlantique (quoique la RCO 3 ne rejoint pas l'Ontario vers le sud); les RCO 12 et 13 se situent en grande partie dans les régions centrales et méridionales de l'Ontario et du Québec (respectivement); enfin, la RCO 14 couvre une partie de l'est du Québec et l'ensemble des provinces maritimes de la région de l'Atlantique. Également, les unités biogéographiques marines sont indiquées le long de côtes.

Régions

Les stratégies des RCO visent avant tout à présenter les priorités d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada en matière de conservation des oiseaux migrateurs et à donner un aperçu exhaustif des besoins de conservation des populations d’oiseaux aux praticiens, pour leur permettre de réaliser des activités qui mettent en valeur la conservation des oiseaux au Canada et à l’étranger.

Pour atteindre ces objectifs, les stratégies des RCO fournissent des renseignements à l’échelle des paysages relativement à six principaux éléments de conservation, y compris les espèces d’oiseaux prioritaires (élément 1) et leur association à des habitats particuliers (élément 2), les objectifs pour les populations (élément 3), les menaces qui pèsent sur les espèces prioritaires (élément 4), les objectifs de conservation (élément 5) et les mesures de conservation proposées (élément 6) pour contribuer à l’atteinte des objectifs. Les renseignements contenus dans les stratégies sont uniformisés entre les régions, ils sont intégrés entre les espèces et sont conformes aux méthodes d’évaluation largement reconnues.

Les utilisateurs de tous les ordres de gouvernement, des collectivités autochtones, du secteur privé, du milieu universitaire, des sigle de organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) et du public tireront profit de ces renseignements. Les stratégies des RCO peuvent être utilisées de diverses manières en fonction des besoins de l’utilisateur, qui peut mettre l’accent sur un ou plusieurs éléments de la stratégie.

Pour plus d’information traitant du vision, du développement et de l’utilité des stratégies des RCO, visitez la section Renseignements généraux.

Date de modification :