Skip booklet index and go to page content

Discussion Document: New standards for off-road small spark-ignition engines under consideration


Introduction

Environment Canada has released a discussion document to initiate consultations on proposed changes to the Off-Road Small Spark-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations. Interested parties are invited to provide early comments on the proposed changes to these Regulations. These comments will be considered during the development of the proposed amendments.

The Off-Road Small Spark-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations regulate the importation and manufacture of off-road small spark-ignition engines – used in lawn mowers, power washers, portable generators, etc. – in Canada. These Regulations, originally published in 2003, require that engines imported or manufactured in Canada meet specific emission standards. Consistent with the Government of Canada’s policy of alignment with the U.S. on transportation emission standards, Environment Canada intends to propose changes to these Regulations in order to maintain alignment with more stringent Phase 3 U.S. federal standards.

Proposed amendments are intended to be developed for pre-publication in the Canada Gazette, Part I, in early 2013. A formal consultation period will follow, during which, interested parties will have another opportunity to make written comments specific to the proposal.

Please submit any comments on the discussion document by mail or email before September 14, 2012, to:

Josée Lavergne
Manager, Air Pollutant Regulatory Development Section
Transportation Division
Environment Canada
351 St-Joseph Blvd
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3
josee.lavergne@ec.gc.ca

 

Sincerely,

Mark Cauchi
Director, Transportation Division
Environmental Stewardship Branch

Related Link

Discussion Document - New standards for off-road small spark-ignition engines under consideration

 
Introduction
Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Document de discussion : Nouvelles normes pour les émissions des petits moteurs hors route à allumage commandé


Introduction

Environnement Canada a diffusé un document de discussion afin d’entamer une consultation concernant les modifications proposées au Règlement sur les émissions des petits moteurs hors route à allumage commandé. Les parties intéressées sont invitées à fournir leurs commentaires sur les modifications proposées. Ces commentaires seront pris en considération lors de l'élaboration du projet de règlement.

Au Canada, le Règlement sur les émissions des petits moteurs hors route à allumage commandé régit l'importation et la fabrication de petits moteurs à allumage commandé. Ces moteurs sont utilisés dans les tondeuses à gazon, laveuses à pression, génératrices portatives, etc. Ce règlement, publié à l’origine en 2003, exige que les moteurs importés ou fabriqués au Canada respectent les normes d'émissions spécifiques. Conformément à la politique du gouvernement du Canada d'aligner ses règlements concernant les émissions des moteurs et vehicules avec ceux des États-Unis, Environnement Canada a l'intention de proposer des modifications à ce règlement afin de maintenir l'harmonisation avec les normes fédérales américaines plus strictes de la phase 3.

On prévoit publier les modifications proposées en Partie I de la Gazette du Canada au début de 2013. La prépublication sera suivie d'une période de consultation formelle, au cours de laquelle, les parties intéressées auront une nouvelle occasion de présenter des commentaires par écrit.

Veuillez envoyer vos commentaires concernant le document de discussion par la poste ou par courriel avant le 14 septembre, 2012, à:

Josée Lavergne
Gestionnaire, Section de l'élaboration des règlements sur les polluants atmosphériques
Division du transport
Environnement Canada
351, boul. St-Joseph
Gatineau, Québec
K1A 0H3
josee.lavergne@ec.gc.ca

Sincèrement,

Mark Cauchi
Directeur, Division du transport
Direction générale de l'intendance environnementale

Liens connexes :

Document de discussion - Nouvelles normes pour les émissions des petits moteurs hors route à allumage commandé

 
Introduction
Date de modification :