This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the Proposed Order to add respirable particulate matter less than or equal to 10 microns (PM10) to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999)

Minister's Response to Concerns Raised by Canadian Trucking Alliance

April 09, 2001

Mr. David H. Bradley
Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Trucking Alliance
130 Stater Street, Suite 1025
Ottawa, ON
K1P 6E2

Dear Mr. Bradley:

This is in response to your letters of July 12, 2000 addressed to Roy Brooke and August 8, 2000 to Danie Dube and Arthur Sheffield concerning the proposed Order to add respirable particulate matter less than or equal to 10 microns (PM 10) to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule I of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999). Although it is unclear to me whether your letters constitute a formal request for the establishment of a Board of Review under subsection 332 of the Act, I have treated them as if they were.

I have fully and carefully considered your submissions. Although there are uncertainties in the database, the weight of the evidence supports the association of PM 10 with adverse human health effects, including mortality, and continues to support the declaration of PM 10 as toxic under CEPA. The Canadian Trucking Alliance has not raised any points which change our understanding of the nature and extent of the danger posed by particulate matter which would thus warrant the establishment of a Board of Review. Therefore. I will not establish a Board of Review.

In Health Effects Institute's 1999 Diesel Emissions and Lung Cancer: Epidemiology and Ouantitative Risk Assessment, A Special Report of the Institure's Diesel Epidemiology Expert Panel, the expert panel did not argue whether or not diesel exhaust is carcinogenic. The Executive Summary of the report clearly states that "state, national, and international agencies have all reviewed the broader animal and human evidence for carcinogenicity and, in either their draft or final reports, have all identified diesel exhaust as a probable human carcinogen or placed it in a comparable category." Several researchers, have overcome the limited exposure data in epidemiology studies, by showing a good correlation between data from personal exposure and fixed ambient monitors (FAMs), and an association between particle concentration obtained from FAMs and mortality was measured in one city.

You should note that once a substance is added to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1, preventive or control actions in relation to the substance are not limited to regulations. The addition of PM 10 to the List of Toxic Substances does not, in itself, control the substance in any way. With respect to PM 10, I will consider a broad range of possible control measures.

I appreciate your bringing the Canadian Trucking Alliance's concerns to my attention. I look forward to working with you in the future on matters of environmental interest to the Alliance.

Yours sincerely,
David Anderson, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition au décret proposé d'inscription des particules inhalables de 10 microns ou moins (PM10) à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Réponse du Ministre aux inquiétudes suscitées par l'Alliance canadienne du camionnage

Le 9 avril 2001

Mr. David H. Bradley
Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Trucking Alliance
130 Stater Street, Suite 1025
Ottawa, ON
K1P 6E2

Cher Monsieur Bradley :

La présente fait suite à votre lettre du 12 juillet 2000 adressée à M. Roy Brooke et du 8 août 2000 adressée à Mme Danie Dubé et à M. Arthur Sheffield concernant le projet de décret visant à ajouter toute matière particulaire inhalable de diamètre inférieur ou égal à 10 microns (MP10) à la Liste des substances toxiques de l'annexe I de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Bien qu'il soit difficile pour moi de savoir si vos lettres constituent une demande officielle d'établissement d'une commission de révision en vertu de l'article 332 de la Loi, je les ai traitées comme si c'était le cas.

J'ai examiné attentivement et soigneusement vos soumissions. Bien qu'il existe des incertitudes dans la base de données, le poids de la preuve appuie l'association de MP10 à des effets néfastes sur la santé humaine, y compris la mortalité, et continue d'appuyer que les MP10 sont jugées toxiques en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. L'Alliance canadienne du camionnage n’a pas soulevé des points qui permettent de modifier notre compréhension à l'égard de la nature et de l’étendue du danger posé par les matières particulaires pour justifier l'établissement d'une commission de révision. Par conséquent, je n'établirai pas une commission de révision.

Dans le rapport intitulé 1999 Diesel Emissions and Lung Cancer: Epidemiology and Quantitative Risk Assessment, A Special Report of the Institure's Diesel Epidemiology Expert Panel de la Health Effects Institute, le groupe d'experts n'a pas fait valoir si l'échappement des diesels est cancérogène ou non. Le résumé du rapport indique clairement que les organismes d'État, nationaux et internationaux ont tous examiné la preuve générale liée aux animaux et aux humains concernant la cancérogénicité et, dans leurs ébauches ou rapports finaux, ils ont tous déterminé que l'échappement des diesels est une substance probablement cancérogène pour l'humain ou ils ont placé la substance dans une catégorie comparable. Plusieurs chercheurs ont surmonté la quantité limitée de données sur l'exposition dans les études épidémiologiques, et ce, en montrant une bonne corrélation entre les données des instruments de contrôle fixes des niveaux de l'air ambiant et de l'exposition personnelle, et une association entre la concentration de particules obtenue à partir de ces instruments de contrôle fixes et la mortalité a été mesurée dans une ville.

Vous devriez noter qu'une fois qu'une substance est ajoutée à la Liste des substances toxiques de l'annexe 1, les mesures de prévention ou de contrôle relatives à la substance ne se limitent pas aux règlements. L'ajout des MP10 à la Liste des substances toxiques ne constitue pas, en soi, un contrôle de la substance en aucune façon. En ce qui a trait aux MP10, j'envisagerai un large éventail de mesures de contrôle possibles.

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait part des préoccupations de l'Alliance canadienne du camionnage. Je suis impatient de travailler avec vous à l'avenir sur des questions d'intérêt environnemental pour l'Alliance.

Je vous prie d'agréer mes salutations distinguées.

David Anderson, c.p., député

Date de modification :