Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Related International Agreements

Canada sees before it an ever more diverse, expansive and complex international environmental agenda. This international agenda has emerged as a result of an acknowledgment that domestic actions are often not sufficient to protect a country's citizens or the global environment. This creates the need for international cooperation, often through the vehicle of international agreements.

International environmental agreements are negotiated by the federal government on the basis of positions developed through consultations conducted with provincial, territorial and aboriginal self-governments and Canadian stakeholders.

Once the final agreement has been negotiated, countries may sign within a specified time frame, and if they wish to become bound as a party, they may then ratify the agreement. The agreement enters into force once a minimum number of parties has ratified, as stated in the agreement. It is also possible to accede to a convention, which is a one-step approach to becoming bound once the agreement is closed for signature.

In Canada, the federal government has the authority to negotiate and enter into international agreements. Cabinet approval is required to sign, ratify or accede to a new agreement. Generally, signature indicates the party's intent to consider ratification in good faith. Canada typically does not ratify until all legal measures are in place domestically to ensure the agreement's implementation at the time of entry into force. In some cases, this means developing and introducing new regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act 1999 (CEPA 1999) or other existing legislation to comply with requirements of the agreement.

Accords internationaux connexes

Le Canada doit traiter un programme international sur l'environnement plus diversifié, élargi et complexe que jamais auparavant, car l'on reconnaît que les mesures entreprises à l'échelle nationale ne suffisent pas dans bien des cas à protéger les citoyens d'un pays ou l'environnement de la planète. Par conséquent, il faut compter sur la collaboration internationale bien souvent par l'adoption d'accords internationaux.

Les accords internationaux sur l'environnement sont négociés par le gouvernement fédéral qui s'appuie sur les positions adoptées au cours des consultations menées par les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et les gouvernements autochtones autonomes ainsi que les partenaires canadiens.

Dès qu'un accord final est négocié, les pays peuvent signer dans un délai imparti et s'ils désirent y adhérer en tant que partie, ils peuvent alors ratifier l'accord. L'accord entre en vigueur dès la ratification par un nombre minimal de parties qui y est stipulé. Il est également possible d'adhérer à une convention, qui représente une approche en une étape pour devenir partie liée à l'approche de la signature d'un accord.

Au Canada, le gouvernement fédéral est habileté à négocier et à conclure des accords internationaux. Il faut obtenir l'approbation du Cabinet pour signer ou ratifier un nouvel accord ou y adhérer. En général, la signature par une partie traduit son intention de ratifier l'entente de bonne foi. Habituellement, le Canada ne ratifie pas d'entente jusqu'à la mise en œuvre nationale de toutes les mesures juridiques afin de veiller à ce que l'accord soit appliqué au moment de son entrée en vigueur. Dans certains cas, on doit élaborer et présenter de nouveaux règlements en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] ou d'autres lois existantes afin de se conformer aux exigences de l'accord.