Disposal at sea permit No. 4543-2-04433-01, renewal

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to section 127 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), the renewal of Disposal at Sea Permit No. 4543-2-04433 authorizing the loading for disposal and the disposal of waste or other matter at sea is approved for the first time out of an eligible four renewals as Permit No. 4543-2-04433-01. The renewal is published on the CEPA Registry on Tuesday, September 20, 2016.

1. Permittee: Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Québec, Quebec.

2. Waste or other matter to be disposed of: Dredged material.

2.1. Nature of waste or other matter: Dredged material consisting of gravel, sand, silt, clay and colloids.

3. Duration of permit: Permit is valid from October 1, 2016, to September 30, 2017.

3.1 The loading and disposal at sea activities are restricted to the following periods: from October 1, 2016, to April 30, 2017, and from July 11, 2017, to September 30, 2017. These activities must be carried out between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. The Permittee may modify the duration of the restriction periods with the written approval of the Department of the Environment.

4. Loading site(s): Sainte-Thérèse-de-Gaspé Harbour, Quebec, 48.41424° N, 64.39376° W North American Datum of 1983 (NAD83), with the exception of the zone(s) of exclusion described in the document titled “Zone d’exclusion pour l’immersion au Havre de Sainte-Thérèse-de-Gaspé, Gaspésie, 2016.” This document shall be available at the loading site and on all powered ships directly engaged in the loading and disposal operations.

5. Disposal site(s):

  1. ST-4, 48.39000° N, 64.38670° W (NAD83). The disposal site is located approximately 3 km south of the loading site.

  2. Sainte-Thérèse-de-Gaspé Channel, 48.41424° N, 64.39376° W (NAD83).

6. Method of loading: Dredging will be carried out using a clamshell dredge or a hydraulic shovel.

7. Route to disposal site(s) and method of transport: Most direct navigational route from the loading site to the disposal site via towed scow.

8. Method of disposal: Disposal will be carried out by bottom dumping, and levelling of the seabed in the channel by a steel beam, a scraper blade or a hydraulic shovel.

9. Total quantity to be disposed of: Not to exceed 1000 cubic metres, place measure.

10. Fees: The fee prescribed by the Disposal at Sea Permit Fee Regulations shall be paid by the Permittee in accordance with those regulations.

11. Inspection:

11.1. By accepting this permit, the Permittee and its contractors accept that they are subject to inspection pursuant to Part 10 of CEPA 1999.

11.2. The Permittee shall ensure that records of all loading and disposal activities are kept on site for the duration of the permit and are available for inspection by any enforcement officer or analyst, for two years following the expiry of the permit.

12. Contractors:

12.1. The loading or disposal at sea referred to under this permit shall not be carried out by any person without written authorization from the Permittee.

12.2. The Permittee shall ensure that all persons involved in the loading, transport or disposal activities authorized by this permit conduct these activities in accordance with the relevant permit conditions.

13. Reporting and notification:

13.1. The Permittee shall provide the following information at least 48 hours before loading and disposal activities commence: name or number of ship, platform or structure used to carry out the loading and/or disposal, name of the contractor including corporate and on-site contact information, and expected period of loading and disposal activities. The above-noted information shall be submitted to the Regional Director of the Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Department of the Environment, Quebec Region, 105 McGill Street, 4th Floor, Montréal QC  H2Y 2E7, 514-496-6982 (fax), ec.immersionenmerqc-disposalatseaqc.ec@canada.ca (email).

13.2. The Permittee must complete the Register of Disposal at Sea Operations as provided by the Department of the Environment. This register must, at all times, be kept aboard any vessel involved with the disposal operations and be accessible to enforcement officers designated under CEPA 1999.

13.3. The Permittee must keep a written register of the time of departure of the vessel to the disposal site and advise the Canadian Coast Guard station once per day of the departure times entered in the register. The Permittee must record these communications in the register mentioned in the previous paragraph.

13.4. The Permittee shall submit a written report to the Minister, as represented by the Regional Director of the Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Quebec Region, identified in paragraph 13.1, within 30 days after the expiry of the permit. This report shall contain the following information: a list of all work completed pursuant to the permit, including the names of the loading and disposal sites used, the quantity of matter disposed of at the disposal site(s), the dates on which disposal activities occurred and the Register of Disposal at Sea Operations.

13.5. At all times, a copy of this permit and of documents and drawings referenced in this permit shall be available at the loading site and on all powered ships directly engaged in the loading and disposal operations.

Alain Gosselin
Regional Director
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Quebec Region

On behalf of the Minister of Environment and Climate Change

Signed on September 13, 2016

 

Date modified:

Permis d'immersion en mer no 4543-2-04433-01, renouvellement

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

Avis est par les présentes donné, conformément à l’article 127 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], que le renouvellement du permis d’immersion en mer no 4543-2-04433, autorisant le chargement pour immersion et l’immersion de déchets ou d’autres matières en mer, est approuvé pour le premier renouvellement de quatre sous le no de permis suivant : 4543-2-04433-01. Le renouvellement est publié dans le Registre de la LCPE le mardi 20 septembre 2016.

1. Titulaire : Ministère des Pêches et des Océans, Québec (Québec).

2. Déchets ou autres matières à immerger : Déblais de dragage.

2.1. Nature des déchets ou autres matières : Déblais de dragage composés de gravier, de sable, de limon, d’argile ou de colloïdes.

3. Durée du permis : Le permis est valide du 1er octobre 2016 au 30 septembre 2017.

3.1. Les activités de chargement et d’immersion en mer doivent être effectuées entre le 1er octobre 2016 et le 30 avril 2017 et entre le 11 juillet et le 30 septembre 2017. Ces travaux doivent être réalisés entre 5 h et 21 h. Le titulaire pourra modifier la durée des périodes de restriction avec l’approbation écrite du ministère de l’Environnement.

4. Lieu(x) de chargement : Havre de Sainte-Thérèse-de-Gaspé (Québec), 48,41424° N., 64,39376° O. selon le système de référence nord-américain de 1983 (NAD83), à l’exception de la zone d’exclusion décrite dans le document intitulé « Zone d’exclusion pour l’immersion au Havre de Sainte-Thérèse-de-Gaspé, Gaspésie, 2016 ». Ce document doit être conservé en tout temps au lieu de chargement ainsi que sur tout navire participant directement aux opérations de chargement et d’immersion.

5. Lieu(x) d’immersion :

  1. ST-4, 48,39000° N., 64,38670° O. (NAD83). Le lieu d’immersion est situé à environ 3 km au sud du lieu de chargement.

  2. Chenal de Sainte-Thérèse-de-Gaspé : 48,41424° N., 64,39376° O. (NAD83).

6. Méthode de chargement : Le dragage se fera à l’aide d’une drague à benne à demi-coquille ou d’une pelle hydraulique.

7. Parcours à suivre et mode de transport : Voie navigable la plus directe entre le lieu de chargement et le lieu d’immersion à l’aide d’un chaland remorqué.

8. Méthode d’immersion : L’immersion se fera à l’aide d’un chaland à fond ouvrant et le nivelage du fond marin au moyen d’une poutre d’acier, d’une lame racleuse ou d’une pelle hydraulique.

9. Quantité totale à immerger : Ne pas excéder 1 000 mètres cubes, mesure en place.

10. Droits : Le titulaire doit payer le droit prescrit en vertu du Règlement sur les prix à payer pour les permis d’immersion en mer.

11. Inspection :

11.1. En acceptant ce permis, le titulaire et ses entrepreneurs acceptent d’être assujettis à des inspections conformément à la partie 10 de la LCPE (1999).

11.2. Le titulaire doit s’assurer que les registres de toutes les activités de chargement et d’immersion sont gardés sur les lieux pendant toute la durée du permis et qu’ils seront disponibles aux fins d’inspection par tout agent d’application de la loi ou tout analyste, pendant deux ans suivant l’expiration du permis.

12. Entrepreneurs :

12.1. Personne ne doit effectuer le chargement ou l’immersion en mer désignés aux termes du présent permis sans l’autorisation écrite du titulaire.

12.2. Le titulaire doit s’assurer que toutes les personnes qui prennent part aux opérations de chargement, de transport ou d’immersion pour lesquelles le permis a été accordé respectent les conditions mentionnées dans le permis.

13. Rapports et avis :

13.1. Le titulaire doit fournir les renseignements suivants au moins 48 heures avant le début des activités de chargement et d’immersion : le nom ou le numéro d’identification du navire, de la plate-forme ou de l’ouvrage duquel le chargement ou l’immersion sont effectués, le nom de l’entrepreneur, y compris les coordonnées des personnes-ressources de l’entreprise et de celles qui se trouvent sur les lieux ainsi que la période prévue des activités de chargement et d’immersion. Les renseignements susmentionnés doivent être acheminés au directeur régional de la Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, ministère de l’Environnement, région du Québec, 105, rue McGill, 4e étage, Montréal (QC)  H2Y 2E7, 514-496-6982 (télécopieur), ec.immersionenmerqc-disposalatseaqc.ec@canada.ca (courriel).

13.2. Le titulaire doit remplir le Registre des opérations d’immersion en mer fourni par le ministère de l’Environnement. Ce registre doit être gardé en tout temps à bord du navire chargé de l’immersion et être accessible aux agents de l’autorité désignés en vertu de la LCPE (1999).

13.3. Le titulaire doit consigner par écrit l’heure de chaque départ du bateau vers le site d’immersion et communiquer une (1) fois par jour avec la station de la Garde côtière canadienne pour transmettre l’ensemble des heures de départ consignées. Le titulaire devra consigner cette communication au registre dont il est fait mention au paragraphe précédent.

13.4. Le titulaire doit présenter un rapport écrit au ministre, représenté par le directeur régional de la Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, région du Québec, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 13.1, dans les 30 jours suivant l’expiration du permis. Ce rapport doit contenir les renseignements suivants : une liste de tous les travaux effectués visés par le permis, y compris les noms du (des) lieu(x) de chargement et d’immersion utilisés, la quantité de matières immergées au(x) lieu(x) d’immersion et les dates auxquelles les activités d’immersion ont eu lieu ainsi que le Registre des opérations d’immersion en mer.

13.5. Une copie de ce permis, des documents et des dessins visés par le présent permis, doit être conservée en tout temps au lieu de chargement ainsi que sur tout navire participant directement aux opérations de chargement et d’immersion.

Le directeur régional
Direction des activités de protection de l'environnement
Région du Québec
Alain Gosselin

Au nom de la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique

Signé le 13 septembre 2016

 

Date de modification :