This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

ARCHIVED - Guidance Manual for the Risk Evaluation Framework for Sections 199 and 200 of CEPA 1999 : Decisions on Environmental Emergency Plans

Lists of Tables and Figures

List of Tables

List of Figures

Figure 1: Pre-screening Assessment

This figure is a flow chart, detailing the pre-screening assessment of the REF process (Risk Evaluation Framework). The first step of the assessment is to determine whether a chemical will actually qualify for the REF process. Two primary questions are posed: is the chemical in commerce in Canada, or is it regulated by another act? If the answer is yes to either of these questions, then no action will be taken. If it is no, then the chemical is assessed for an emergencies pathway and then categorized into one of 3 subsections, Environmental Hazards, Human Health Hazards, or Physical Damage.

Figure 2: Environmental Hazards Subsection

Figure 2 is a flow chart, which displays a simplified version of the steps taken when a chemical is placed into the Environmental Hazards Subsection. This substance will undergo several tests in order to determine whether an E2 plan is required. If Persistence (air, water, and soil), or Bioaccumulation are at a "moderate" level then an E2 plan is required. For Aquatic toxicity, Terrestrial toxicity, and Ingestion toxicity, an E2 plan is triggered if their effects are considered "very high". When the scores of these sections are summed up, and they are greater than 0.55, an E2 plan is automatically required. If the sum of their scores in between 0.45 and 0.55 then more data is required, and if the score is less than 0.45 an E2 plan is not required.

Figure 3: Human Health Hazards Subsection

Similar to the two previous figures, figure 3 is also presented in a flow chart format. When a chemical is placed into this Human Health Hazards subsection, it will be subject to certain analysis pertaining to human health. First, Vapour Pressure is taken. If it is greater than or equal to 1.333 kPa then the substance is tested for Inhalation, Dermal, and Ingestion Toxicity. If Vapour Pressure is less than 1.333 kPa then Inhalation toxicity is not included, and analysis begins with dermal toxicity. If any of the toxicity levels are "very high", an E2 plan is obligatory. An E2 plan will also be requested if the substance is a known carcinogen or is corrosive and irritating to the skin. At the end of the analysis, the sections within this Environmental Hazards subsection are summed up. If they have a score of greater than 0.55 then an E2 plan is automatically required. If the sum of their scores is between 0.45 and 0.55 than more data is required, and if the score is less than 0.45 an E2 plan is not required.

Figure 4: Physical Safety Subsection

When a substance is being analyzed under the Physical Safety Subsection, it will be tested for flammability, and instability. If it is found that the affects of these properties are "very high" then an E2 plan is assigned. The scoring for substances in this Subsection are identical to that of Environment Hazards, and Human Health Hazards sections. The sum of the scores must be greater than 0.55 to automatically require an E2 plan. If it is between 0.45 and 0.55 more data is required, and if the score is less than 0.45 an E2 plan is not required.

Page 6
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

ARCHIVÉE - Guide pour le cadre d'estimation du risque - articles 199 et 200 de la LCPE 1999 : Décisions relatives aux plans d'urgence environnementale

Listes des tableaux et des figures

Liste des Tableaux

Liste des Figures

Figure 1 : Pré-évaluation

Cette figure est un organigramme qui décrit en détail la pré évaluation effectuée dans le CER (cadre d'estimation du risque). La première étape consiste à déterminer si une substance chimique répond aux critères du CER. Deux questions principales se posent : La substance est-elle commercialisée au Canada, ou est-elle régie par une autre loi? Si la réponse est oui à l'une ou à l'autre de ces questions, aucune mesure ne sera prise. Si la réponse est non, on détermine s'il y a des voies de pénétration dans l'environnement susceptibles de créer une urgence, puis on range la substance dans l'une des trois sous sections suivantes : danger pour l'environnement, danger pour la santé humaine ou danger physique.

Figure 2 : Sous-section du danger pour l'environnement

La figure 2 est un organigramme simplifié des étapes suivies quand une substance est placée dans la sous section Danger pour l'environnement. Cette substance subira plusieurs tests afin de déterminer si un plan d'UE est nécessaire. Si la persistance (air, eau et sol) ou la bioaccumulation sont à un niveau « modéré », un plan d'UE est nécessaire. Pour la toxicité aquatique, la toxicité terrestre et la toxicité par ingestion, un plan d'UE est déclenché si les effets sont jugés « extrêmes ». Quand le total des cotes de ces sections dépasse 0,55, un plan d'UE est automatiquement requis. Si le total se trouve entre 0,45 et 0,55, des données plus détaillées sont nécessaires, et s'il est inférieur à 0,45, un plan d'UE n'est pas requis.

Figure 3 : Sous-section du danger pour la santé humaine

Comme les deux figures précédentes, la figure 3 est un organigramme. Quand une substance est rangée dans la sous section Danger pour la santé humaine, elle est soumise à une certaine analyse relative à la santé. La pression de vapeur est d'abord mesurée. Si elle est supérieure ou égale à 1,333 kPa, la substance est soumise à un test de toxicité par inhalation, de toxicité cutanée et de toxicité par ingestion. Si la pression de vapeur est inférieure à 1,333 kPa, la toxicité par inhalation n'est pas incluse et l'analyse commence par la toxicité cutanée. Si l'un ou l'autre des niveaux de toxicité est « extrême », un plan d'UE est obligatoire. Un plan d'UE sera également exigé si la substance est un cancérogène connu, ou est corrosive et irritante pour la peau. À la fin de l'analyse, les éléments de cette sous section sont totalisés. Si la cote est supérieure à 0,55, un plan d'UE est automatiquement requis. Si la cote totale se trouve entre 0,45 et 0,55, des données plus détaillées sont nécessaires, et si la cote est inférieure à 0,45, un plan d'UE n'est pas requis.

Figure 4 : Sous-section du danger physique

Quand une substance est analysée dans la sous-section Danger physique, elle est soumise à des tests d'inflammabilité et d'instabilité. Si les résultats démontrent que les effets de ces propriétés sont « extrêmes », un plan d'UE est requis. L'attribution des cotes aux substances dans cette sous section est identique à celle des sections Danger pour l'environnement et Danger pour la santé humaine. La cote totale doit être supérieure à 0,55 pour exiger automatiquement un plan d'UE. Si elle se trouve entre 0,45 et 0,55, des données plus détaillées sont nécessaires, et si elle est inférieure à 0,45, un plan d'UE n'est pas requis.

Date de modification :