This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

ARCHIVED - Guidance Manual for the Risk Evaluation Framework for Sections 199 and 200 of CEPA 1999 : Decisions on Environmental Emergency Plans

4. Appendices

4.1. Section 199 of CEPA, 1999

Section 199 of Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 states, in part:

  1. The Minister may at any time publish in the Canada Gazette, and in any other manner that the Minister considers appropriate, a notice requiring any person or class of persons described in the notice to prepare and implement an environmental emergency plan respecting the prevention of, preparedness for, response to or recovery from an environmental emergency in respect of

    1. a substance or group of substances on the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1; or

    2. a substance or group of substances in relation to which there has been published in the Canada Gazette
      1. a statement of the Ministers under paragraph 77(6)(b) indicating that the measure that they propose to take, as confirmed or amended, is a recommendation that the substance be added to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1, or
      2. a copy of an order proposed to be made under subsection 90(1).

  2. The notice shall specify

    1. the substance or group of substances in relation to which the plan is to be prepared;

    2. the period within which the plan is to be prepared;

    3. the period within which the plan is to be implemented; and

    4. any other matter that the Minister considers necessary.

4.2. Section 200 of CEPA, 1999

Section 200 of CEPA, 1999 states:

  1. The Governor in Council may, on the recommendation of the Minister and after the Committee is given an opportunity to provide its advice to the Minister under Section 6, make regulations

    1. establishing a list of substances that, if they enter the environment as a result of an environmental emergency,

      1. have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity,
      2. constitute or may constitute a danger to the environment on which human life depends, or
      3. constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health;

    2. prescribing, in respect of a substance on the list established under paragraph (a), a minimum quantity;

    3. respecting the identification of the places in Canada where a substance referred to in paragraph (a), in any quantity or in the quantity prescribed for that substance under paragraph (b), is located and requiring notification to the Minister of those places;

    4. respecting the prevention of, preparedness for, response to and recovery from an environmental emergency in respect of a substance;

    5. respecting the notification and reporting of an environmental emergency;

    6. respecting the notification and reporting of the measures taken
      1. to prevent the environmental emergency, or
      2. to repair, reduce or mitigate any negative effects on the environment or human life or health that result from the environmental emergency or that may reasonably be expected to result from it;

    7. respecting the implementation of international agreements entered into by Canada in relation to environmental emergencies; and

    8. respecting any other matter necessary for the purposes of this part.

  2. The Governor in Council shall not make a regulation under subsection (1) in respect of a matter if, by order, the Governor in Council states that it is of the opinion that

    1. the matter is regulated by or under any other Act of Parliament that contains provisions that are similar in effect to sections 194 to 205; and

    2. that Act or any regulation made under that Act provides sufficient protection to human health and the environment or its biological diversity.

4.3. Details on Human Inhalation Toxicity Measurements

4.3.1. AEGL

The U.S. EPA has shifted from using LC50 values to Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGL) in determining relative hazards of chemicals in emergency situations. The primary purpose of the AEGL program is to develop guideline levels for once-in-a-lifetime short-term exposures to airborne concentrations of acutely toxic, high priority chemicals. A principle objective of the program is to develop scientifically credible acute (short-term) once-in-a-lifetime exposure guidelines within the constraints of data availability, resources and time. AEGLs represent threshold exposure limits for the general public and are applicable to emergency exposure periods ranging from 10 minutes to 8 hours. It is believed that exposure levels are applicable to the general public, including susceptible groups, such as infants, children, the elderly, persons with asthma, and those with other illnesses. However, it is recognised that individuals, subject to unique or idiosyncratic responses, could experience the effects described at concentrations below the corresponding AEGL (National Research Council, 2001).

For each chemical exposure levels are developed for a minimum of five exposure periods (10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hour, 4 hours, 8 hours). In addition, for each exposure period, three levels or "tiers" representing different severity of toxic effects are established as follows:

  • AEGL-1 is the airborne concentration (expressed as ppm or mg/m3 of air) of a substance above which it is predicted that the general population, including susceptible individuals, could experience notable discomfort.
  • AEGL-2 is the airborne concentration (expressed as ppm or mg/m3 of air) of a substance above which it is predicted that the general population, including susceptible individuals, could experience irreversible or other serious, long-lasting adverse health effects or an impaired ability to escape.
  • AEGL-3 is the airborne concentration (expressed as ppm or mg/m3 of air) of a substance above which it is predicted that the general population, including susceptible individuals, could experience life-threatening health effects or death.

The U.S. EPA envisions that AEGLs will be applied in the areas of emergency preparedness and response, chemical accident prevention in transportation and fixed facilities, worker safety, contaminated site remediation, destruction of chemical warfare agents, and chemical terrorism counter activities. The development of AEGLs has been slow due to the amount of work it takes to generate a final value, to date there are AEGLs for only 26 chemicals. In the REF the AEGL 2, 1-hour exposure is used, as it should correspond with an ERPG 2 value (see below).

4.3.2. ERPG

The U.S. Department of Energy Chemical Safety Program uses Emergency Response Planning Guidelines (ERPGs) to assess the threat to humans from chemicals in air (U.S. DOE, 2001). The concentrations given are designed to be a warning of potential health effects, but are not lethal concentrations. There are three levels; one being the lowest is correlated with minor transient effects, while 3 is associated with serious, but non-life threatening effects. Theoretically, an AEGL 1-hour value and a corresponding ERPG value should be the same for a chemical, although in practice there are differences based on the interpretation of data.

  • ERPG-1 The maximum concentration in air below which it is believed nearly all individuals could be exposed for up to one hour without experiencing other than mild transient adverse health effects or perceiving a clearly defined objectionable odor;
  • ERPG-2 The maximum concentration in air below which it is believed nearly all individuals could be exposed for up to one hour without experiencing or developing irreversible or other serious health effects or symptoms that could impair their abilities to take protective action;
  • ERPG-3 The maximum concentration in air below which it is believed nearly all individuals could be exposed for up to one hour without experiencing or developing life-threatening health effects.

The ERPG 2 value was used as the starting point and from there the ranges of chemical concentrations were divided into 5 categories. The value 0.5 ppm was chosen as the lowest concentration as this is the value that the U.S. EPA chose as a criterion for inhalation toxicity to include a chemical on their RMP list, although in that case they used an LC50 4-hour exposure. In the REF the top two scores are multiplied by 5 to increase the importance of this parameter in the overall score.

An AEGL/ERGP 2 concentration that is ≤ 5 ppm is used as a single criterion for requiring an E2 Plan, regardless of other data. It was felt that these compounds could be extremely toxic to humans via inhalation so that any sort of spill involving them is a high-risk situation and thus should have an E2 Plan. In comparison with the U.S. EPA criteria for inclusion on the RMP list (LC50 4-hr exposure) this trigger value is more conservative as it is a non-lethal criterion although it is over a shorter exposure period. This scale is shown in Table 4 below.

4.3.3. OSHA STEL

The U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration develop Short Term Exposure Levels (STEL) in cooperation with the U.S. National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration, 1971). These values represent concentrations in air that are of significant hazard to exposed workers over a 15-minute time period, but are not lethal values. They can be inhaled or absorbed through the skin. A STEL is defined by the American Council of Governmental Industrial Hygienists as the concentration to which workers can be exposed continuously for a short period of time (usually 10 or 15 minutes) without suffering from: irritation; chronic or irreversible tissue damage; or narcosis of sufficient degree to increase the likelihood of accidental injury, impair self-rescue or materially reduce work efficiency. A STEL is typically a 10 or 15 minute exposure and is therefore more conservative than an equivalent AEGL 2 or ERPG 2 that are set for a 1 hour exposure, although they are often based on the interpretation of different data.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

ARCHIVÉE - Guide pour le cadre d'estimation du risque - articles 199 et 200 de la LCPE 1999 : Décisions relatives aux plans d'urgence environnementale

4. Annexes

4.1 Article 199 de la LCPE, 1999

L'article 199 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, stipule en partie que :

  1. Le ministre peut publier, dans la Gazette du Canada, et de toute autre façon qu'il estime indiquée, un avis obligeant une personne - ou catégorie de personnes - donnée à élaborer et exécuter un plan d'urgence environnementale - en ce qui touche la prévention, les dispositifs d'alerte et de préparation ou les mesures correctives ou de réparation des dommages causés - à l'égard d'une substance - ou d'un groupe de substances - qui, selon le cas :

    1. est inscrite sur la liste de l'annexe 1;
    2. a fait l'objet d'une déclaration, publiée dans la Gazette du Canada au titre de l'alinéa 77(6)b), précisant que la mesure confirmée ou modifiée consiste à recommander l'inscription de la substance sur la liste de l'annexe 1, soit d'un projet de décret - publié dans cette publication - au titre du paragraphe 90(1).

  2. L'avis doit préciser :

    1. la substance ou le groupe de substances;
    2. le délai imparti pour élaborer le plan;
    3. le délai imparti pour l'exécuter;
    4. tout autre élément que le ministre estime nécessaire.

4.2. Article 200 de la LCPE, 1999

L'article 200 de la LCPE 1999 stipule que :

  1. Sur recommandation du ministre et après avoir donné au comité la possibilité de formuler ses conseils dans le cadre de l'article 6, le gouverneur en conseil peut prendre des règlements en ce qui touche :

    1. l'établissement d'une liste des substances qui, lorsqu'elles pénètrent dans l'environnement, dans le cadre d'une urgence environnementale :
      1. ont ou pourraient avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou sa diversité biologique,
      2. mettent ou pourraient mettre en danger l'environnement essentiel pour la vie humaine,
      3. constituent ou pourraient constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaines;

    2. la détermination d'une quantité minimale à l'égard d'une substance inscrite sur la liste;

    3. l'obligation de repérer les lieux au Canada où se trouve, dans une quantité réglementaire ou autre, toute substance visée à l'alinéa a) et de notifier cette information au ministre;

    4. la prévention des urgences environnementales à l'égard d'une substance, les dispositifs d'alerte et de réparation ainsi que les mesures à prendre pour remédier à ces urgences et réparer les dommages en découlant;

    5. l'obligation de signaler une urgence environnementale ou de faire rapport sur elle;

    6. l'obligation de notification des mesures prises pour prévenir une urgence environnementale ou pour supprimer ou atténuer les effets nocifs pouvant en résulter sur l'environnement ou la santé ou la vie humaines, ou l'obligation de faire rapport sur ces mesures;

    7. la mise en œuvre d'accords internationaux, conclus par le Canada, traitant d'urgences environnementales;

    8. toute autre mesure d'application de la présente partie.

  2. Les règlements ne peuvent toutefois être pris si le gouverneur en conseil déclare, par décret, qu'il est d'avis :

    1. qu'ils visent un point déjà réglementé sous le régime d'une autre loi fédérale comportant des dispositions semblables aux articles 194 à 205;

    2. que cette loi ou tout règlement pris en vertu de celle-ci protège suffisamment la santé humaine et l'environnement ou sa diversité biologique.

4.3. Détails relatifs aux mesures sur l'intoxication humaine par inhalation

4.3.1. AEGL

Pour déterminer le danger relatif que présentent les composés chimiques dans les situations d'urgence, l'U.S. EPA est passée de l'utilisation de la CL50 aux Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGL). L'objet premier du programme d'AEGL est l'établissement de concentrations de référence au regard de l'exposition à court terme, une fois au cours d'une vie, à certaines concentrations dans l'air de composés chimiques très toxiques et hautement prioritaires. Un objectif important du programme est la production de valeurs de référence scientifiquement valides sur l'exposition aiguë (à court terme), une fois au cours d'une vie, en fonction des contraintes de disponibilité des données, en ressources et en temps. Les AEGL correspondent à des limites d'exposition du grand public et elles s'appliquent à des durées d'exposition en situation d'urgence allant de 10 minutes à 8 h. On pense que ces limites d'exposition sont applicables au grand public, notamment les sujets vulnérables comme les nourrissons, les enfants, les personnes âgées, les asthmatiques et d'autres personnes atteintes de diverses autres maladies. On sait cependant que des personnes sujettes à des réponses uniques ou idiosyncrasiques pourraient subir les effets décrits à des concentrations inférieures aux AEGL correspondants (National Research Council, 2001).

Au regard de chaque composé chimique, des limites d'exposition sont établies pour un minimum de 5 durées d'exposition (10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 h, 4 h, 8 h). De plus, pour chaque durée d'exposition, trois niveaux sont établis, qui correspondent à différents degrés de gravité des effets toxiques :

  • AEGL-1 est la concentration dans l'air (en ppm ou en mg/m3 d'air) d'une substance au-delà de laquelle on prévoit que la population en général, à l'inclusion des personnes vulnérables, pourrait éprouver de l'inconfort de façon notable.
  • AEGL-2 est la concentration dans l'air (en ppm ou en mg/m3 d'air) d'une substance au-delà de laquelle on prévoit que la population en général, à l'inclusion des personnes vulnérables, pourrait éprouver des effets irréversibles ou d'autres effets nocifs, graves et de longue durée, ou encore éprouver de la difficulté à s'éloigner.
  • AEGL-3 est la concentration dans l'air (en ppm ou en mg/m3 d'air) d'une substance au-delà de laquelle on prévoit que la population en général, à l'inclusion des personnes vulnérables, pourrait éprouver des effets susceptibles d'être létaux ou que des personnes perdent la vie.

L'U.S. EPA prévoit que les AEGL serviront à la préparation et à l'intervention en cas de situation d'urgence, à la prévention des accidents liés à des substances chimiques pendant leur transport ou dans des installations, à la sécurité des travailleurs, à la remise en état des sites contaminés, à la destruction d'agents de guerre chimique et à la lutte contre des activités terroristes. L'établissement d'AEGL a été lent à cause de la somme de travail requise pour déterminer une valeur définitive. À ce jour, il n'existe des AEGL que pour 26 composés chimiques seulement. Dans le CER, on applique l'AEGL 2 pour une exposition de 1 h, du fait que cette valeur devrait correspondre à la valeur ERPG 2 (voir ci-après).

4.3.2. ERPG

Le Chemical Safety Program du Department of Energy des É.-U. applique des Emergency Response Planning Guidelines (ERPG) à l'estimation du danger pour les personnes présenté par des composés chimiques dans l'air (U.S. DOE, 2001). Les concentrations données sont choisies de manière à ce qu'elles servent d'avertissement d'effets possibles sur le plan de la santé; ce ne sont pas des concentrations létales. Il existe trois niveaux d'ERPG. Le niveau 1, le plus bas, correspond à des effets mineurs et transitoires, le niveau 3 correspond à des effets graves, mais sans menace pour la vie humaine. En principe, une valeur d'AEGL 1h pour un composé chimique donné serait la même qu'une valeur ERPG correspondante, mais en pratique, il existe des différences attribuables aux interprétations différentes des données.

  • ERPG-1 Le niveau ERPG-1 est la concentration atmosphérique maximale sous laquelle on pense que presque toutes les personnes peuvent être exposées pendant 1 h à une substance sans que se manifestent d'effets autres que de légers effets passagers sur la santé ou sans que ces personnes perçoivent une odeur désagréable clairement identifiable.
  • ERPG-2 Le niveau ERPG-2 est la concentration atmosphérique maximale sous laquelle on pense que presque toutes les personnes peuvent être exposées pendant 1 h à une substance sans que se manifestent d'effets irréversibles ou d'autres effets graves sur la santé, ni de symptômes susceptibles de nuire à la capacité de ces personnes de prendre des mesures de protection.
  • ERPG-3 Le niveau ERPG-3 est la concentration atmosphérique maximale sous laquelle on pense que presque toutes les personnes peuvent être exposées pendant 1 h à une substance sans que se manifestent d'effets pathologiques menaçant la vie humaine.

Le niveau ERPG 2 a servi de point de départ, et les plages de concentration des composés chimiques ont été divisées en 5 catégories. La valeur de 0,5 ppm a été choisie comme plus faible concentration parce que c'est la valeur choisie par l'U.S. EPA comme critère de toxicité par inhalation pour ajouter un composé chimique à sa liste RMP, bien que, dans ce cas, elle applique une CL50 d'exposition pendant 4 h. Dans le CER, les deux cotes les plus élevées sont multipliées par 5 pour accroître l'importance de ce paramètre dans le barème.

Une concentration AEGL/ERGP 2 * 5 ppm est utilisée comme critère unique pour l'exigence d'un plan d'UE, indépendamment d'autres données. On pense que les composés répondant à ce critère pourraient se révéler être très toxiques par inhalation pour les personnes, donc que tout déversement de toute nature de ces composés constitue une situation de risque élevé, donc exige la préparation d'un plan d'UE. Cette valeur de déclenchement est plus prudente que le critère d'inclusion sur la liste RMP appliqué par l'U.S. EPA (CL50 d'exposition pendant 4 h), puisqu'il s'agit d'un critère non létal même si la durée d'exposition est plus courte. Le tableau 4 donne cette échelle.

4.3.3. STEL de l'OSHA

La U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration détermine des niveaux d'exposition à court terme (Short Term Exposure Levels - STEL) de concert avec l'U.S. National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration, 1971). Les valeurs déterminées correspondent à des concentrations dans l'air qui présentent un grave danger pour les travailleurs exposés aux substances en question sur une durée de 15 minutes. Ce ne sont cependant pas des valeurs correspondant à des concentrations létales. Ces substances peuvent exercer leur effet par inhalation ou par absorption cutanée. L'American Council of Governmental Industrial Hygienists définit une STEL comme étant la concentration à laquelle des travailleurs peuvent être exposés de manière continue pendant une courte durée (ordinairement 10 à 15 minutes) sans souffrir des troubles suivants : irritation, lésions tissulaires chroniques ou irréversibles, narcose assez intense pour accroître la probabilité de blessures par accident, de compromettre l'autosauvetage ou de réduire l'efficience au travail. On associe ordinairement une durée de 10 ou 15 minutes d'exposition à une STEL. Cette valeur est donc plus prudente qu'un AEGL 2 ou un ERPG 2, auxquels correspond une exposition de 1 h, même s'ils sont souvent fondés sur l'interprétation de données différentes.

Date de modification :