This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

ARCHIVED - Guidance Manual for the Risk Evaluation Framework for Sections 199 and 200 of CEPA 1999 : Decisions on Environmental Emergency Plans

1. Introduction

Sections 199 and 200 of Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (Government of Canada, 1999) enable Environment Canada to require persons, who own or manage specified toxic and hazardous substances, to develop and implement environmental emergency plans if they are using or handling CEPA "toxic" substances (S199) or if they are using or handling hazardous substances that could be listed in the Environmental Emergencies Regulations (EER) under S200. This paper will focus on the methodology for determining how a chemical is assessed for requiring an environmental emergency (E2) plan. E2 plans address the prevention of, preparedness for, responses to and recovery from environmental emergencies in order to repair, reduce or mitigate the negative effects of an incident.

There was a need to have a methodology for determining when either a CEPA "toxic" compound or a potentially hazardous chemical required an environmental emergency plan. For S199, once the substances are declared CEPA "toxic" then each chemical is assessed to determine whether it requires a plan or not. For S200, any chemical can be added under the proposed Environmental Emergencies Regulations (Environment Canada, 2002a), CEPA "toxic" or not, so long as it can be ascertained that the substance is toxic in regards to the following criteria, if they enter the environment as a result of an environmental emergency,

  1. have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity,
  2. constitute or may constitute a danger to the environment on which human life depends, or
  3. constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health.

The current list of 174 chemicals on Schedule I of the EER was derived from a list of chemicals proposed by the Conseil pour la reduction des accidents industriels majeurs (CRAIM, 2002), which was the Montréal section of the now defunct Major Industrial Accidents Council of Canada (MIACC). This list is a compilation of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Risk Management Program (US EPA, 2002a) list of chemicals and the MIACC List 2 chemicals. The CRAIM list was designed to take into account the List of Hazardous Substances from the EPA RMP while also retaining the most hazardous substances from the MIACC List 2. The rationale for the CRAIM List focused almost entirely on human health and safety criteria (CRAIM 2002; J.P. Lacoursière Inc., 2002). In keeping with Environment Canada's mandate to protect the environment, methodology was developed to incorporate environmental criteria to evaluate CEPA "toxic" substances from S199, those already on Schedule I of S200 and other new compounds to be added to the Environmental Emergency Regulations.

This is the guidance manual for evaluation of organic and some inorganic substances. It does not apply to metals, complex effluents or mixtures, pesticides, or biological materials. Suitable criteria will be developed or determined in the near future. The REF also does not apply to explosives or radioactive materials as emergency response aspects are adequately covered under other federal government legislation.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

ARCHIVÉE - Guide pour le cadre d'estimation du risque - articles 199 et 200 de la LCPE 1999 : Décisions relatives aux plans d'urgence environnementale

1. Introduction

Les articles 199 et 200 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement 1999 (gouvernement du Canada, 1999) autorise Environnement Canada à exiger des personnes qui gèrent des substances toxiques ou dangereuses déterminées ou qui en sont propriétaires, qu'elles préparent et mettent en application des plans d'urgence environnementale si elles utilisent ou manipulent des substances « toxiques » au sens de la LCPE (art. 199) ou si elles utilisent ou manipulent des substances dangereuses qui pourraient être versées sur la liste du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales (RUE) en vertu de l'art. 200. Le présent document portera surtout sur les façons de déterminer comment est évalué un produit chimique au regard de l'exigence de produire un plan d'urgence environnementale (UE). Les plans d'UE traitent de la prévention des urgences environnementales, des dispositifs d'alerte et des mesures à prendre pour remédier à ces urgences, en vue de corriger, de réduire ou d'atténuer les dommages en découlant.

Il nous fallait disposer d'une méthode pour déterminer si un composé « toxique » au sens de la LCPE ou si un composé chimique potentiellement dangereux obligeait à préparer un plan d'UE. Avec l'art. 199, lorsque les substances sont déclarées « toxiques » au sens de la LCPE, chaque composé chimique est évalué pour déterminer s'il faut un plan d'UE pour lui ou non. Avec l'art. 200, tout composé chimique peut être ajouté en vertu du projet de règlement sur les urgences environnementales (Environnement Canada, 2002a), peu importe qu'il soit « toxique » ou non au sens de la LCPE, tant qu'on peut déterminer que la substance est toxique au regard des critères suivants, si elle pénètre dans le milieu dans le cadre d'une urgence environnementale :

  1. a ou pourrait avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou sa diversité biologique,
  2. met ou pourrait mettre en danger l'environnement essentiel pour la vie humaine,
  3. constitue ou pourrait constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaines.

La version en vigueur de la liste des 174 composés chimiques figurant à l'annexe 1 du RUE provient de la liste proposée par le Conseil pour la réduction des accidents industriels majeurs (CRAIM, 2002), la section montréalaise de l'ex-Conseil canadien des accidents industriels majeurs (CCAIM). Cette liste est une compilation de la liste des composés chimiques du Risk Management Program de l'U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA, 2002a) et des composés chimiques de la liste 2 du CCAIM. La liste du CRAIM a été dressée de manière à tenir compte de la liste des substances dangereuses du RMP de l'EPA tout en conservant les substances les plus dangereuses de la liste 2 du CCAIM. La liste du CRAIM est presque entièrement fondée sur des critères de santé et de sécurité des personnes (CRAIM 2002; J.P. Lacoursière Inc., 2002). Conformément au mandat d'Environnement Canada, de protection de l'environnement, on a mis au point une méthodologie visant à intégrer des critères environnementaux à l'évaluation de substances « toxiques » de l'art. 199, de celles qui figurent déjà à l'annexe 1, art. 200, et d'autres nouveaux composés qui s'ajouteront à la liste du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales.

Ce document est le Guide pour l'évaluation des substances organiques et de certaines substances inorganiques. Il ne s'applique pas aux métaux, aux effluents ou aux mélanges complexes, aux pesticides ou aux substances d'origine biologique. Des critères appropriés seront déterminés ou mis au point très bientôt. Le CER ne s'applique pas, non plus, aux explosifs ou aux matières radioactives, d'autres éléments législatifs fédéraux couvrant bien la question des interventions d'urgence concernant ces substances.

Date de modification :