Gasoline and Gasoline Blend Dispensing Flow Rate Regulations

Note: Information contained in this page is for compliance promotional purposes and has no legal status. For requirements under the regulations, refer to the actual regulations.

Questions and answers on the regulations

  1. Why is the dispensing flow rate of gasoline and gasoline blend being regulated?

    The Regulations will protect the health of Canadians by reducing emissions of benzene and other volatile organic compounds (VOCs) into the environment during the refuelling of on-road vehicles. This will be achieved by ensuring that in-use fuel dispensing flow rates do not exceed the design capacity of the filler pipes on the existing fleet of vehicles and of new on-board refuelling vapour recovery (ORVR) systems being introduced on Canadian vehicles since 1998. ORVR systems are designed to reduce vapour emissions of benzene and other VOCs during refuelling by 95% and to perform effectively with fuel dispensing flow rates up to 38 litres per minute (L/min).

  2. To whom do the Regulations apply?

    The Regulations apply to retailers and wholesale purchaser-consumersFootnote 1 of benzene-containing gasoline and gasoline blends who use, or offer for use, any nozzle to dispense those fuels into on-road vehicles. The Regulations do not apply to any fuel dispensing nozzle that is dedicated exclusively to refuelling heavy-duty vehicles, as defined in the Regulations.

  3. What is the dispensing flow rate limit under the Regulations?

    The flow rate from the nozzle can not exceed 38 litres per minute.

  4. Do I have to use a particular flow rate control mechanism?

    The Regulations allow the flow rate to be controlled by any mechanism(s) in the dispensing system, thereby giving parties the flexibility of limiting fuel dispensing flow rates in the manner that is best-suited for their facilities. Nonetheless, hardware is available in the Canadian marketplace that is designed specifically to comply with a 38 L/min flow rate requirement. This includes fuel dispensing nozzles which incorporate a flow-limiting device as well as separate flow-limiting devices to retrofit existing fuel dispenser systems.

  5. When did the Regulations come into effect?

    The Regulations came into effect February 1st, 2001.

  6. How can I measure the dispensing flow rate? (Section 4(2) of the Regulations)

    To determine the flow rate, the time required to dispense 10.0 litres of gasoline or gasoline blend must be measured by respecting the following:

    • use a digital stopwatch that reads to at least 0.01 seconds to measure the dispensing time;
    • use the dispenser's volume meter (pump) to measure the dispensed volume of gasoline or gasoline blend;
    • start the stopwatch when the dispenser's volume meter indicates that 2.0 litres of gasoline or gasoline blend have been dispensed; and
    • use the following formula to calculate the dispensing flow rate of gasoline or a gasoline blend from the nozzle, in litres per minute:

      Flow Rate = 60 X (Final Volume - Initial Volume) / (Final Time - Initial Time)

  7. Is compliance with the requirements of the Regulations mandatory?

    Compliance is mandatory for every person to whom the Regulations apply. Every person who contravenes a provision of the Regulations commits an offence under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), and is liable to the following under section 272 of the Act,

    1. on conviction on indictment, to a fine of not more than $1,000,000 or to imprisonment for a term of not more than three years, or to both; and
    2. on summary conviction, to a fine of not more than $300,000 or to imprisonment for a term of not more than six months, or to both.

  8. Can enforcement officers conduct inspections of regulated facilities to verify compliance with the Regulations?

    Yes. Under CEPA 1999, enforcement officers are authorized to inspect, through scheduled or unscheduled visits, in order to verify compliance with the Act and any regulations made under it. The Act also requires that the owner or the person in charge give the enforcement officer reasonable assistance in their duties.

Date modified:

Règlement sur le débit de distribution de l'essence et de ses mélanges

Remarque : Les informations ci-dessous sont fournies à des fins de promotion de la conformité et n'ont aucune valeur juridique. Pour connaître les exigences du règlement, veuillez vous référer au règlement proprement dit.

Questions et réponses sur le règlement

  1. Pourquoi le débit de distribution de l'essence et de ses mélanges est-il réglementé?

    Le règlement a pour but de protéger la santé des Canadiens en réduisant les émissions de benzène et d'autres composés organiques volatils (COV) dans l'environnement durant le ravitaillement en carburant des véhicules automobiles. Cet objectif est atteint en s'assurant que le débit de ravitaillement de l'essence ne dépasse pas la capacité des orifices de remplissage de la flotte de véhicules et des nouveaux systèmes de récupération des vapeurs qui ont commencé à être installés dans les véhicules canadiens en 1998. Ces systèmes sont conçus pour réduire jusqu'à 95% des émissions de vapeurs de benzène et d'autres COV durant le ravitaillement. Ils sont efficaces avec des débits ne dépassant pas >38 litres par minute (L/min).

  2. À qui s'applique le Règlement?

    Il s'applique aux détaillants et aux grossistes acheteurs-consommateursNote de bas de page 1 d'essence et de mélanges d'essence contenant du benzène qui utilisent un pistolet ou qui en offrent l'utilisation pour verser ces carburants dans des véhicules routiers. Il ne s'applique pas aux pistolets voués exclusivement au service des véhicules lourds, tel que défini dans le Règlement.

  3. Quel est le débit de distribution limite fixé par le Règlement?

    Le débit de distribution à partir du pistolet ne doit pas être supérieur à 38 litres par minute.

  4. Suis-je obligé d'utiliser un mécanisme de contrôle du débit en particulier?

    Le règlement permet de contrôler le débit par n'importe quel mécanisme dans le système de distribution, laissant aux parties intéressées la flexibilité de limiter le débit de distribution de la façon la plus appropriée pour leurs installations. Néanmoins, il existe sur le marché canadien de l'équipement conçu spécifiquement pour respecter le débit obligatoire de 38 L/min. Cet équipement comprend des pistolets distributeurs de carburant dotés d'un réducteur de débit, ainsi que des réducteurs de débit installés séparément pour réajuster les systèmes de distribution de carburant existants.

  5. Depuis quand le Règlement est-il en vigueur?

    Depuis le 1er février 2001.

  6. Comment dois-je mesurer le débit de distribution? (paragraphe 4(2) du Règlement)

    Il faut déterminer le temps qu'il faut pour verser 10,0 litres en respectant les consignes suivantes :

    • se servir d'un chronomètre numérique d'une précision d'au moins 0,01 seconde pour mesurer le temps de distribution;
    • se servir du volumètre du distributeur (pompe) pour mesurer le volume d'essence ou du mélange d'essence;
    • mettre en marche le chronomètre lorsque le volumètre du distributeur indique que 2,0 litres d'essence, ou d'un mélange d'essence, ont été versés;
    • se servir de la formule suivante pour calculer le débit d'essence ou d'un mélange d'essence à partir du pistolet, en litres par minute :

      Débit = 60 X (volume final - volume initial) / (temps final - temps initial)

  7. Est-ce que la conformité aux exigences du Règlement est obligatoire?

    La conformité est obligatoire pour toute personne touchée par le Règlement. Toute personne contrevenant à une disposition du Règlement commet une infraction à la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] et, conformément à l'article 272, son auteur encourt sur déclaration de culpabilité,

    1. par mise en accusation, d'une amende maximale d'un million de dollars et d'un emprisonnement maximal de trois ans, ou l'une de ces peines;
    2. par procédure sommaire, d'une amende maximale de trois cent mille dollars et d'un emprisonnement maximal de six mois, ou l'une de ces peines

  8. Est-ce que les agents de l'autorité peuvent inspecter les installations visées par le Règlement afin de vérifier la conformité?

    Oui, aux termes de la LCPE 1999, les agents de l'autorité sont autorisés à procéder à des inspections, sous forme de visites annoncées ou non, en vue de vérifier la conformité à la Loi et à ses règlements d'application. La Loi exige aussi que le propriétaire ou la personne responsable donne une aide raisonnable aux agents de l'autorité dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions.

Date de modification :