Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Consultation Document for Discussion of the Main Elements of the Proposed Regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 to Limit Greenhouse Gas Emissions from New On-Road Heavy-Duty Vehicles and Engines

Regulated Entities

The proposed regulations would apply to manufacturers and importers of new on-road heavy-duty vehicles and engines for the purpose of sale in Canada. The proposed regulations will not apply to owners or operators of heavy-duty vehicles or engines.

Model Years Covered

The proposed regulations will prescribe heavy-duty vehicle and engine standards starting with the 2014 model-year, and becoming progressively more stringent up to the 2018 model-year. A model year is determined by the manufacturer to designate the period of production of a particular model of an engine or vehicle. The model-year can span a period of up to two calendar years less one day, but can include only one January 1. The model year corresponds to the calendar year during which production occurred or the calendar year during which January 1 fell.

Applicable Classes of Vehicles

The proposed regulations will reduce greenhouse gas emissions from the whole range of new on-road heavy-duty vehicles from full-size pick-up trucks to combination tractors and buses as well as a wide variety of vocational vehicles such as: freight, delivery, service, cement, garbage and dump trucks. This will effectively include all on-road vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of more than 3,856 kg (8,500 pounds), except those vehicles that are subject to the Passenger Automobile and Light Truck Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations (e.g. medium-duty passenger vehicles up to 4,536 kg). These vehicles are broken down into the following classes:

Class of VehiclesGross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR)
Class 2b> 8,500 lbs (3,856 kg) ≤ 10,000 lbs (4,536 kg)
Class 3> 10,000 lbs (4,536 kg) ≤ 14,000 lbs (6,350 kg)
Class 4> 14,000 lbs (6,350 kg) ≤ 16,000 lbs (7,257 kg)
Class 5> 16,000 lbs (7,257 kg) ≤ 19,500 lbs (8,845 kg)
Class 6> 19,500 lbs (8,845 kg) ≤ 26,000 lbs (11,793 kg)
Class 7> 26,000 lbs (11,793 kg) ≤ 33,000 lbs (14,969 kg)
Class 8> 33,000 lbs (14,969 kg)

Vehicle weight classes are identical in Canada and the United States and definitions would be consistent with the U.S. national program.

The general approach of the proposed regulations will be similar for the above range of new heavy-duty vehicle classes, but will also take into account the significant differences between three broad categories of heavy-duty vehicles:

  1. Heavy-duty pick-up trucks and vans - This category largely includes derivatives of light-duty vehicles, such as 2500 and 3500 series pick-up trucks and vans. It includes most Class 2b and Class 3 vehicles that are not be subject to the Passenger Automobile and Light Truck Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations, as well as some Class 4 vehicles.

  2. Combination tractors - This category includes medium-heavy-duty trucks (Class 7) and heavy-duty trucks (Class 8) that are typically designed to haul a trailer. Trailers would not be regulated at this stage. The United States has indicated an intention to address trailers in a future rulemaking. In this case, Canadian regulations could be amended to align with any such changes made by the United States, taking into consideration Canadian competitiveness and safety considerations.

  3. Vocational vehicles - This category comprises all heavy-duty vehicles not covered in the previous two categories, such as straight trucks, freight, delivery, service, cement, garbage, and dump trucks as well as buses (school, inter-city and transit).

Emission Standards

The proposed regulations would set greenhouse gas emission standards aligned with those of the final United States national program. The standards would be expressed as the quantity of greenhouse gas emissions emitted per unit of work delivered.

The proposed regulations would reduce greenhouse gas emissions from new vehicles and engines. For combination tractors and vocational vehicles, the engine and the rest of the vehicle would face separate sets of emission standards. That is, engines would have to meet “engine-based” standards independent of the “vehicle-based” standards established for the rest of the vehicle. Emission standards would address the dominant greenhouse gases from transportation including carbon dioxide (CO2), nitrous oxide N2O), methane (CH4) and hydrofluorocarbon refrigerants.

CO2 Emission Standards:

Each of the previously-described heavy-duty vehicle categories would have its own set of CO2 emission standards.

1) Heavy-duty pick-up trucks and vans – The standards would be based on the complete vehicle and measured using the final U.S. national program testing procedures. The standards for a given group of vehicles would vary depending on the vehicle work factor, defined as a weighting of pay-load capacity, towing-capacity and four-wheel drive capability. Regulatees would have the option to have some of their vehicles perform better than the standards and others perform worse so long as, on average, their fleets of vehicles meet the standard. The standards for new heavy-duty pick-up trucks and vans would be defined in grams of emissions per distance travelled with different standards for gasoline and diesel-powered vehicles. Regulatees would have the option to obtain credits if their fleet performs better than the standard and subsequently bank or trade them to another regulatee with a similar fleet. If vehicles for the 2014-2018 model years had similar pay-load, towing capacity and four-wheel drive capability to currently available heavy-duty pick-ups and vans, the following emissions standards could be expected:

  • The diesel heavy-duty pick-up trucks and vans with the lowest work factors would be required to achieve a standard of approximately 600 grams of CO2 per mile in 2014. The standard would gradually decline to approximately 520 grams per mile by 2018.

  • The diesel heavy-duty pick-up trucks and vans with the highest work factors would be required to achieve a standard of approximately 800 grams of CO2 per mile in 2014, which would gradually decline to approximately 700 grams per mile by 2018.

  • The gasoline heavy-duty pick-up trucks and vans with the lowest work factors would be required to achieve a standard of approximately 520 grams per mile in 2014, which would gradually decline to approximately 480 grams per mile by 2018.

  • The gasoline heavy-duty pick-up trucks and vans with the highest work factors would be required to achieve a standard of approximately 720 grams per mile in 2014, which would gradually decline to approximately 660 grams per mile by 2018.

2) Combination tractors – Combination tractors would have separate standards for the engine and for the rest of the vehicle.

The engine standards would be measured in grams of CO2 per brake-horsepower-hour as shown in Table 1 below.

Table 1 – Engine CO2 Emission Standards for Combination Tractors
(grams of CO2/bhp·hr)
Class2014-162017 and later
Medium Heavy-Duty (Class 7)502487
Heavy Heavy-Duty (Class 8)475460

The vehicle standards would be measured in grams of CO2 per payload ton-mile, as shown in Table 2 below. The standards would vary based on whether the tractor has a low, mid or high roof and whether it is a Class 7 day-cab, Class 8 day-cab or Class 8 sleeper-cab.

Table 2 – Vehicle CO2 Emission Standards for Combination Tractors
(grams of CO2/ton·mile)
 Class 7 Day-CabClass 8 Day-CabClass 8 Sleeper-Cab
 2014-162017 and later2014-162017 and later2014-162017 and later
Low Roof10710481806866
Mid Roof11911588867673
High Roof12412092897572

Regulated entities would have the option to comply with the standards by grouping all of their vehicles of a given model year into subfleets and using the CO2 emission credit system.

In order to comply with the tractor standards in Tables 1 and 2, manufacturers would evaluate emissions using the U.S. national program testing procedures and a simulation model. The simulation model would take into account the following variables: tractor aerodynamics, tire rolling resistance, the maximum speed permitted by an installed speed limiter, and weight reductions. The simulation model would also take into account the installation of extended idle reduction technology and a 5-minute automatic engine shut-off for sleeper cabs. The simulation model would assume a standardized payload, engine and duty-cycle for each regulated category.

3) Vocational vehicles – Emissions from these vehicles would be regulated in a method similar to combination tractors with standards set for their engines in grams of CO2 per brake horsepower-hour and standards for the complete vehicle in grams of CO2 per payload ton-mile. The engine emissions would be measured using the U.S. national program testing procedures and the whole-vehicle emissions would be evaluated using the simulation model similar to the process for combination tractors. Only tire rolling resistance would be considered in the model for vocational vehicles. Diesel and gasoline engines for vocational vehicles would have different standards, reflecting the different properties of the two engine cycles (diesel cycle and gasoline Otto cycle). Tables 3 and 4 below show figures respectively for the 2014 to 2018 standards.

Table 3 – Diesel Engine CO2 Emission Standards for Vocational Trucks
(grams of CO2/bhp·hr)
LHD (Class 2B – 5)MHD (Class 6 – 7)HHD (Class 8)
2014-162017 and later2014-162017 and later2014-162017 and later
600576600576567555

Note: LHD – Light heavy-duty / MHD – Medium heavy-duty / HHD – Heavy heavy-duty

Beginning in 2016, the standard for gasoline engines used in vocational vehicles would be 627 grams of CO2/bhp-hr.

Table 4 – Vehicle CO2 Emission Standards for Vocational Trucks
(grams of CO2/ton·mile)
LHD (Class 2B – 5)MHD (Class 6 – 7)HHD (Class 8)
2014-162017 and later2014-162017 and later2014-162017 and later
388373234225226222

Note: LHD – Light heavy-duty / MHD – Medium heavy-duty / HHD – Heavy heavy-duty

In meeting the standards applicable to vocational vehicles and engines, regulated entities would have the same option as for combination tractors to use the CO2 emissions credit system within each category covered by a standard.

N2O and CH4 Standards

The standards for nitrous oxide and methane would be intended to prevent significant increases in emissions of these gases as vehicle technologies evolve. The CH4 emission standard for all model year 2014 and later engines would be 0.10 g/hp-hr. This standard would apply for all fuel types. The N2O emission standard for all model year 2014 and later engines would be 0.10 g/hp-hr.

Engines used in pick-up trucks and vans (Class 2b and 3) would not be subject to the above CH4 and N2O standards, but would rather have to meet a 0.05 g/mile standard applicable to both CH4 and N2O emissions.

Air Conditioning Standards

The proposed regulations would include measures to require reductions in leakage of the hydrofluorocarbon refrigerant used in cabin air-conditioning systems. These standards would be independent from the other greenhouse gas emission standards. Hydrofluorocarbon refrigerants have high global warming potential and highly cost-effective leakage measures are available. The proposed standard would be 1.5 percent refrigerant leakage per year and would apply to pickup trucks, vans and tractors for systems with refrigerant capacity greater than or equal to 734 grams. For systems with a refrigerant capacity of less than 734 grams, the standard would equal 11.0 grams per year.

Compliance Flexibilities

The proposed regulations would offer flexibilities to achieve overall compliance with emission standards. The flexibilities would be similar to those used under existing regulations such as the On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations (for air pollutants) and the Passenger Automobile and Light Truck Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. In addition to provisions relating to averaging of emissions and banking and trading of emissions credits, the proposed regulations would contain provisions providing credits for innovative and advanced technologies that are shown to reduce CO2 emissions but which are not adequately recognized in current test procedures or are not yet in widespread use.

Unique Canadian Considerations

There are many sizes and varieties of heavy-duty vehicles serving a wide spectrum of functions. The type of companies involved in the manufacture of different kinds of heavy-duty vehicles is also very diverse and there may be distinctions between the Canadian and American fleets that warrant consideration in the development of Canadian regulations.

The Government of Canada intends to consider potential implications for the Canadian transportation sector in developing Canadian regulations; specifically the competitiveness and safety of the Canadian fleet and potential implications on other modes.

A cost-benefit analysis will be developed as part of the regulatory development process.

All fuel-savings technologies used by heavy-duty vehicle manufacturers to meet the performance standards under the proposed regulations will also need to meet the requirements of the Motor Vehicle Safety Act.

While safety issues are not expected to change the overall regulatory approach since manufacturers will have the ability to choose from a wide range of technology options that are already available on the market, Transport Canada will investigate the safety implications of fuel-saving heavy-duty vehicle technologies and components in Canadian conditions; including the effects that low rolling resistance tires will have on traction performance during winter. Information gathered will be used to inform industry, as well as safety regulations that may be implemented by Transport Canada in the future. Transport Canada will work through existing committees to consult with provinces and territories on safety issues, and weight and dimensions.

Reporting and Record Keeping

Regulated entities will be required to submit annual reports and to maintain and submit, upon request by the Minister of the Environment, records relating to evidence of conformity with the proposed regulations and to the greenhouse gas emission performance of their heavy-duty vehicles and engines.

Administration and Compliance Verification

Regulated entities will be subject to enforcement and compliance requirements and penalties as specified under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

Collaboration with U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Environment Canada, in collaboration with Canada’s National Research Council, is doing joint aerodynamic testing and research with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and is conducting heavy-duty vehicle emissions testing at its facilities to support regulatory development. This collaboration is taking place under the Canada-U.S. Air Quality Committee and builds on joint work now underway with the U.S. on the development and implementation of GHG standards for passenger cars and light trucks.

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Document de consultation sur les éléments principaux du projet de règlement, pris en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999), visant à limiter les émissions de gaz à effet de serre provenant des nouveaux véhicules lourds routiers et leur moteurs

Entités réglementées

Le projet de règlement s'appliquerait à toute personne qui fabrique des véhicules lourds routiers ou des moteurs neufs au Canada, ou qui importe ces véhicules ou ces moteurs au Canada à des fins de vente. Le projet de règlement ne s'appliquerait pas aux propriétaires ou aux exploitants de véhicules lourds.

Années modèles visées

Le projet de règlement établira des normes pour les véhicules lourds et leurs moteurs à compter de l’année modèle 2014. Ces normes deviendront de plus en plus sévères jusqu’à l’année modèle 2018. L'année modèle est l'année déterminée par le fabricant pour désigner la période de production d'un modèle particulier de moteur ou de véhicule. L'année modèle peut couvrir une période allant jusqu'à deux années civiles moins un jour, mais elle peut comprendre un seul 1er janvier. L'année modèle correspond à l'année civile au cours de laquelle la production a eu lieu ou l'année civile comprenant le 1er janvier.

Classes de véhicules visées

Le projet de règlement viserait à réduire les émissions de toute la gamme des nouveaux véhicules lourds routiers : des camionnettes lourdes aux tracteurs semi-remorques et aux autobus, y compris divers véhicules spécialisés comme les camions de fret, les camions de livraison et de service, les bétonnières et les camions à ordures. Cette approche viserait tous les véhicules routiers avec un poids nominal brut du véhicule supérieur à 3 856 kg (8 500 livres), à l’exception des véhicules qui seraient régis par le Règlement sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des automobiles à passagers et des camions légers (c.-à-d. les véhicules moyens à passagers de 4 536 kg ou moins). Ces véhicules sont répartis de la façon suivante :

Classe de véhiculePoids nominal brut du véhicule (PNBV)
Classe 2b> 8 500 lb (3 856 kg) ≤ 10 000 lb (4 536 kg)
Classe 3> 10 000 lb (4 536 kg) ≤ 14 000 lb (6 350 kg)
Classe 4> 14 000 lb (6 350 kg) ≤ 16 000 lb (7 257 kg)
Classe 5> 16 000 lb (7 257 kg) ≤ 19 500 lb (8 845 kg)
Classe 6> 19 500 lb (8 845 kg) ≤ 26 000 lb (11 793 kg)
Classe 7> 26 000 lb (11 793 kg) ≤ 33 000 lb (14 969 kg)
Classe 8> 33 000 lb (14 969 kg)

Les classes de véhicule sont les mêmes au Canada et aux États-Unis et les définitions seraient conformes à celle du programme national américain (site disponible en anglais seulement).

L’approche générale du projet de règlement sera semblable à celle utilisée pour les classes de nouveaux véhicules lourds, mais tiendrait également compte des différences importantes entre les trois grandes catégories de véhicules lourds :

  1. Camionnettes et fourgonnettes lourdes : Cette catégorie est très semblable aux véhicules légers et comprend les camionnettes et les fourgonnettes des séries 2500 et 3500. Elle comprend la plupart des véhicules de classes 2b et 3 qui ne sont pas assujettis au Règlement sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des automobiles à passagers et des camions légers, ainsi que certains véhicules de classe 4.

  2. Tracteurs semi-remorques : Cette catégorie désigne les camions mi-lourds et les poids lourds qui sont normalement conçus pour tirer une remorque (c.-à-d. classes 7 et 8). Les remorques ne seraient pas visées par le règlement à cette étape. Les États-Unis ont mentionné qu’ils entendaient les réglementer dans un futur projet de règlementation. Par conséquent, le règlement canadien pourrait être modifié pour pouvoir tenir compte des changements apportés par les États-Unis, en ne perdant pas de vue la compétitivité du Canada et les considérations relatives à la sécurité.

  3. Véhicules spécialisés : Cette catégorie comprendrait tous les véhicules lourds non compris dans les deux catégories précédentes, notamment les camions porteurs, les camions de fret, les camions de livraison, les camions de service, les bétonnières, les camions à ordures, les camions à benne et les autobus (scolaires, interurbains et urbains).

Normes d’émissions

Le projet de règlement établirait des normes sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre qui seraient alignées avec celles du programme national final des États-Unis. Les normes seraient exprimées en quantité d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre par unité de travail.

Le projet de règlement permettrait de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des nouveaux véhicules et de leurs moteurs. Pour les tracteurs semi-remorques et les véhicules spécialisés, le moteur et le reste du véhicule seraient assujettis séparément à une série de normes d’émissions. Les moteurs seraient donc assujettis à des normes « fondées sur le moteur » distinctes des normes « fondées sur les véhicules » établies pour le reste du véhicule. Les normes d’émissions viseraient les principaux gaz à effet de serre émis par le secteur des transports, notamment le dioxyde de carbone (CO2), l’oxyde d’azote (N2O), le méthane (CH4) et les réfrigérants d’hydrofluorocarbone.

Normes pour les émissions de CO2 :

Des normes pour les émissions de CO2 seraient établies pour chacune des catégories de véhicules lourds susmentionnées.

1) Camionnettes et fourgonnettes lourdes – Les normes seraient appliquées à tout le véhicule et mesurées à l’aide des procédures d’essai du programme national final des États-Unis. Les normes pour un groupe donné de véhicules varieraient selon le facteur de charge, défini comme une pondération de la charge utile, la capacité de remorquage et selon que le véhicule a une transmission à quatre roues motrices ou non. Les entités réglementées auront l’option de dépasser ou non les normes avec certains de leurs véhicules pourvu qu’en moyenne, leurs parcs de véhicules respectent la norme. Les normes pour les camionnettes et les fourgonnettes lourdes seraient définies en grammes d’émissions par distance parcourue. Des normes différentes seraient établies pour les véhicules fonctionnant à l’essence ordinaire et au diesel. Les entités réglementées auraient l’option d’obtenir des crédits si leur parc de véhicule offre un rendement supérieur à la norme, puis d’accumuler ces crédits ou de les échanger à une autre entité ayant un parc semblable. Si les véhicules des années modèles 2014-2018 ont le même facteur de charge, la même capacité de remorquage et la même transmission que les camionnettes et les fourgonnettes actuelles, les normes d’émissions pourraient être les suivantes :

  • Les camionnettes et les fourgonnettes lourdes fonctionnant au diesel et dont le facteur de charge est peu élevé seraient assujetties à une norme d’environ 600 grammes de CO2 par mille parcouru en 2014. Cette norme diminuerait graduellement à 520 grammes d’ici 2018.

  • Les camionnettes et les fourgonnettes lourdes fonctionnant au diesel et dont le facteur de charge est élevé seraient assujetties à une norme d’environ 800 grammes de CO2 par mille parcouru en 2014. Cette norme diminuerait graduellement à 700 grammes d’ici 2018.

  • Les camionnettes et les fourgonnettes lourdes fonctionnant à l’essence et dont le facteur de charge est peu élevé seraient assujetties à une norme d’environ 520 grammes de CO2 par mille parcouru en 2014. Cette norme diminuerait graduellement à 480 grammes d’ici 2018.

  • Les camionnettes et les fourgonnettes lourdes fonctionnant à l’essence et dont le facteur de charge est élevé seraient assujetties à une norme d’environ 720 grammes de CO2 par mille parcouru en 2014. Cette norme diminuerait graduellement à 660 grammes d’ici 2018.

2) Tracteurs semi-remorques – Le moteur et le reste du véhicule seraient assujettis à des normes distinctes.

Les normes pour les moteurs seraient mesurées en grammes de CO2 par puissance au frein­heure, tel qu’illustré dans le tableau 1.

Tableau 1 – Normes d’émissions de CO2 pour les moteurs de semi-remorques
(grammes de CO2/puissance au frein-heure)
Classe2014-162017 et après
Camions mi-lourds (classe 7)502487
Camions lourds (classe 8)475460

Les normes pour les véhicules seraient mesurées en grammes de CO2 par tonne-mille de charges utiles, tel qu’illustré dans le tableau 2 ci-dessous. Des normes différentes s’appliqueraient en fonction du type de tracteur, qu’il soit muni d’un toit bas, moyen ou élevé, et de sa classe, qu’il soit de classe 7 (cabine de jour), de classe 8 (cabine de jour) ou de classe 8 (cabine couchette).

Tableau 2 – Normes d’émissions de CO2 pour les tracteurs semi-remorques
(grammes de CO2/tonne mille)
 classe 7
cabine de jour
classe 8
cabine de jour
classe 8
cabine couchette
 2014-162017 et après2014-162017 et après2014-162017 et après
Toit bas10710481806866
Toit moyen11911588867673
Toit élevé12412092897572

Les entités réglementées pourraient choisir de se conformer aux normes en regroupant l’ensemble de leurs véhicules d’une année modèle donnée en sous-parcs et d’utiliser des crédits d’émissions de CO2 .

Afin de se conformer aux normes sur les tracteurs semi-remorques présentées dans les tableaux 1 et 2, les constructeurs devront évaluer les émissions à l’aide des procédures d’essai et du modèle de simulation prescrits par le programme national des É.-U. Le modèle de simulation tiendrait compte des variables suivantes : l’aérodynamisme des tracteurs, la résistance au roulement des pneus, la vitesse maximale permise par un limiteur de vitesse et la réduction de poids. Il tiendrait également compte de l’installation de technologies de réduction du temps de marche au ralenti prolongé et d’un système d’arrêt automatique du moteur après 5 minutes pour les cabines couchette. Le modèle serait fondé sur une charge utile, un moteur et un cycle de service standard pour chaque catégorie règlementée.

3) Véhicules spécialisés – Les émissions des véhicules spécialisés seraient réglementées d’une manière semblable à celle utilisée pour les tracteurs semi-remorques, c’est-à-dire à l’aide de normes pour les moteurs, exprimées en grammes de CO2 par puissance au frein-heure et de normes pour l’ensemble du véhicule, exprimées en grammes de CO2 par tonne-mille de charge utile. Les émissions des moteurs seraient mesurées en utilisant les procédures d’essai prescrites par le programme national des É.-U. et les émissions de l’ensemble du véhicule seraient évaluées à l’aide du modèle de simulation, comme pour le processus appliqué aux tracteurs semi-remorques. Seule la résistance au roulement des pneus serait examinée à l’aide du modèle pour les véhicules spécialisés. Les moteurs diesel et à essence des véhicules spécialisés seraient assujettis à des normes différentes pour tenir compte des différentes propriétés des deux cycles d’utilisation du moteur (cycle diesel et cycle Otto pour les moteurs à essence). Les tableaux 3 et 4 présentent des données pour les normes de 2014 à 2018.

Tableau 3 – Normes d’émissions de CO2 pour les moteurs diesel des camions spécialisés
(grammes de CO2/puissance au frein-heure)
CL (classe 2B – 5)CML (classe 6 – 7)CL (classe 8)
2014-162017 et après2014-162017 et après2014-162017 et après
600576600576567555

Remarque : CL – camions légers/CML – camions mi-lourds/CL – camions lourds

À compter de 2016, les normes appliquées aux moteurs diesel des véhicules spécialisés seraient de 627 grammes de CO2/puissance au frein-heure.

Tableau 4 – Normes d’émissions de CO2 pour les camions spécialisés
(grammes de CO2/tonne mille)
CL (classe 2B – 5)CML (classe 6 – 7)CL (classe 8)
2014-162017 et après2014-162017 et après2014-162017 et après
388373234225226222

Remarque : CL – camions légers/CML – camions mi-lourds/CL – camions lourds

Pour respecter les normes concernant les véhicules spécialisés et leurs moteurs, les entités réglementées pourraient utiliser le système de crédits d’émissions de CO2 avec une autre entreprise pour des véhicules ou moteurs de chaque catégorie de norme, comme ils peuvent le faire pour les tracteurs semi-remorques.

Normes sur le N2O et le CH4

Les normes sur le N2O et le CH4 viseraient à empêcher une augmentation importante des émissions provenant de ces gaz qui pourrait survenir en raison de l’évolution des technologies. La norme d’émissions de CH4 pour les moteurs d’année modèle 2014 et les suivantes serait de 0,10 g/hp-h, et elle s’appliquerait à tous les types de carburant. La norme d’émissions de N2O pour les moteurs d’année modèle 2014 et les années suivantes serait de 0,10 g/hp-h.

Les moteurs des camionnettes et des fourgonnettes (classes 2b et 3) ne seraient pas assujettis aux normes sur le CH4 et le N2O susmentionnées; ils devraient plutôt respecter une norme de 0,05 g/mille applicable aux émissions de CH4 et de N20.

Normes sur la climatisation

Le projet de règlement comprendrait des mesures de réduction des fuites de réfrigérants d’hydrofluorocarbone utilisé dans les systèmes de climatisation des cabines. Ces normes seraient dissociées des autres normes sur les émissions de GES. Les réfrigérants d’hydrofluorocarbone ont un potentiel de réchauffement planétaire très élevé, et des dispositifs de prévention des fuites très rentables sont déjà sur le marché. La norme proposée viserait 1,5 % de fuites par an et elle s’appliquerait aux camionnettes, aux fourgonnettes et aux tracteurs pour les systèmes ayant une capacité de réfrigérants égale ou supérieure à 734 grammes. Pour les systèmes ayant une capacité de réfrigérants de moins de 734 grammes, la norme serait de 11,0 g par année.

Mesures de souplesses en matière de conformité

Le projet de règlement comprendrait des mesures de souplesse pour le respect des normes d’émissions. Ces mesures ressembleraient à celles de certains règlements en vigueur, comme le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs (polluants atmosphériques) et le Règlement sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des automobiles à passagers et des camions légers, établi en vertu de la LCPE, 1999. En plus des dispositions concernant le calcul de la moyenne des émissions et l’accumulation et l’échange des crédits, le projet de règlement comprendrait des dispositions sur l’obtention de crédits pour les technologies novatrices et avancées qui permettent de réduire les émissions de CO2, mais dont l’utilisation n’est pas encore répandue ou que les procédures d’essai actuelles ne permettent pas d’adopter.

Caractéristiques uniques au Canada

Les véhicules lourds se présentent sous différentes tailles et variétés et ils remplissent bon nombre de fonctions. Le type d’entreprise de fabrication des divers véhicules lourds est aussi très diversifié, et il pourrait y avoir des différences entre les parcs canadiens et américains à prendre en compte dans l’élaboration du règlement canadien.

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte des impacts potentiels sur le secteur canadien des transports au moment d’élaborer le règlement canadien, plus particulièrement la compétitivité et la sécurité du parc canadien et les impacts potentiels sur les autres moyens de transport.

Une analyse coûts-avantages sera effectuée dans le cadre du processus d’élaboration de la réglementation.

Toutes les technologies qui entraînent des économies de carburant utilisées par les constructeurs de véhicules lourds doivent non seulement respecter les normes énoncées dans le projet de règlement, mais aussi être conformes aux normes prescrites dans la Loi sur la sécurité automobile.

Même si les questions de sécurité ne devraient pas entraîner de modifications à l’approche réglementaire globale, étant donné que les constructeurs disposeront d’une vaste gamme de technologies déjà sur le marché parmi lesquelles ils pourront choisir, Transports Canada se penchera sur la sécurité des technologies d’économie de carburant pour les véhicules lourds et des composantes dans des conditions canadiennes, y compris les effets de l’adhérence des pneus à faible résistance au roulement sur les routes en hiver. Les renseignements recueillis serviront à informer l’industrie et guideront l’élaboration de règles de sécurité qui pourraient être adoptées par TC à l’avenir. TC, par l’intermédiaire des comités actuels, sollicitera les opinions des provinces et territoires sur la sécurité et les questions liées au poids et aux dimensions des véhicules.

Présentation de rapports et tenue de dossiers

Les entités réglementées devront présenter des rapports annuels ainsi que tenir à jour et présenter, sur demande du ministre de l’Environnement, des dossiers concernant les preuves de conformité au projet de règlement et au rendement des véhicules lourds et de leurs moteurs en matière d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Administration et vérification de la conformité

Les entités réglementées devront se conformer au projet de règlement, satisfaire aux exigences de conformité et pourront faire l’objet de peines, tel qu’il est précisé dans la LCPE, 1999.

Collaboration avec l’Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis

Environnement Canada, en partenariat avec le Conseil national de recherches Canada, effectue des essais et des recherches avec l’EPA, y compris des tests d’émissions des véhicules lourds dans les installations d’Environnement Canada afin d’appuyer l’élaboration du règlement. Cette collaboration a été établie par l’intermédiaire du Comité Canada-États-Unis sur la qualité de l'air, et elle s’inspire du travail conjoint en cours avec les États-Unis en vue de l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de normes d’émission de GES pour les automobiles et les camions légers.

Date de modification :