This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Implementation Plan for Canada-Wide Standards on Mercury from Dental Amalgam Wastes

Federal Government

Status:

Signed by CCME Ministers in September, 2001.

Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), March 2002, between Environment Canada and the Canadian Dental Association.

Brief Statement of Problem

Mercury is an element which occurs naturally in soil, vegetation and the atmosphere. Mercury is used in some consumer products, such as electrical switches, fluorescent tubes or amalgam for dental fillings, and can be released to the environment usually through disposal at the end of a product's useful life. Mercury can also contaminate products incidentally, posing a concern for product disposal. Significant reductions in mercury use in products has already occurred in Canada. Mercury is being phased out of the manufacturing of chlorine; the bulk of bleaches and alkalis available in Canada do not contain elevated mercury levels. Mercury has been eliminated from pesticides and paints in Canada, and most batteries are now mercury free.

Dental amalgam consists of approximately 50% mercury. An extremely beneficial material, amalgam becomes an issue upon its removal from teeth and during replacement of a filling. During filling removal, grinding produces small fragments of amalgam which pass through the traditional filter systems of dental offices and hence contaminate the sewer systems or septic beds serving these offices. Collection of amalgam fragments by filtration results in silver and mercury that can be recycled. However many dentists dispose of these fragments either in biomedical waste which is incinerated, in residential waste that may be incinerated, or by rinsing it down the sink.

The primary goal of the CWS is to achieve a 95% national reduction in mercury releases from dental amalgam waste discharges to the environment, by 2005, from the base year 2000.

General Accountability

Canada's overall approach to management of mercury from dental amalgam wastes will be:

  1. to implement the appropriate articles of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) (March 2002), between Environment Canada and the Canadian Dental Association. Highlights of the MOU are:
    • Provision of estimates, for the baseline year 2000, for:
      1. number of Canadian dentists targeted for voluntary compliance
      2. quantities of amalgam waste generated
      3. amalgam waste collected based on information obtained from licensed waste haulers
    • develop in cooperation with the Canadian Dental Association, provinces and territories, a process for verification of "equipment equivalent to the criteria stated in the ISO 11143", as defined within the CWS; and,
    • organize 12 Regional workshops on "Best Management Practices for Amalgam Waste in Canada - 2002" to assist dental practitioners across Canada.

Public Role / Transparency

The Minister will cooperate with the governments of the other CCME jurisdictions through the actions and articles described in the joint EC/CDA MOU.

Access to Information

Information on the progress of mercury reductions from this sector will be posted and updated on Environment Canada's Web site.

Verifiable Progress

The EC/CDA MOU states that EC will receive amalgam waste management data in electronic format on an annual basis from the Canadian Dental Association, from 2002 to 2007, and conduct data analyses and in cooperation with CDA, produce a summary report addressing the reported compliance with the Best Management Practices for Amalgam Waste in Canada - 2002.

Co-benefits

It is anticipated that this action will result in a reduction of dental amalgam waste entering sewage treatment works with a consequent reduction in the amount of mercury is sewage sludge which may be applied to land, incinerated or disposed in a landfill.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Plan de mise en oeuvre du standard relatif au mercure dans les résidus d'amalgames dentaires

Gouvernement fédéral

Situation :

Signé par le CCME en septembre 2001.

Protocole d'entente (PE) conclu entre Environnement Canada et l'Association dentaire canadienne (ADC) en mars 2002.

Brève description du problème

Le mercure est une substance présente à l'état naturel dans le sol, la végétation et l'atmosphère. Il est aussi utilisé dans certains produits de consommation, comme les commutateurs, les tubes fluorescents ou les amalgames dentaires, et peut être libéré dans l'environnement, habituellement à la fin de la durée utile de ces produits et de leur élimination. Le mercure peut également contaminer d'autres produits, ce qui pose problème au moment d'éliminer ces produits. L'utilisation du mercure a beaucoup diminué au Canada. Il est progressivement éliminé du procédé de fabrication du chlore, et la plupart des agents de blanchiment et des alcalis vendus au Canada ont une teneur peu élevée en mercure. Enfin, les pesticides et les peintures vendus au Canada ne contiennent pas de mercure, tout comme la plupart des piles.

Les amalgames dentaires contiennent environ 50 % de mercure. Matériaux extrêmement utiles, les amalgames deviennent un problème au moment de leur dépose et du remplacement d'un plombage. Durant l'enlèvement d'un plombage, de petites particules d'amalgames échappent aux filtres classiques utilisés dans les cabinets de dentistes et aboutissent dans les réseaux d'égout ou les champs d'épuration qui desservent ces cabinets. La filtration et la récupération de ces particules permettent de recycler l'argent et le mercure. Toutefois, bon nombre de dentistes les considèrent comme des déchets biomédicaux, qui sont incinérés, ou des ordures, qui peuvent être incinérées, ou les jettent dans l'évier.

Le présent standard pancanadien (SP) vise principalement à réduire de 95 % les rejets dans l'environnement de mercure provenant des résidus d'amalgames dentaires au Canada d'ici 2002, par rapport à l'année de référence 2000.

Responsabilités

La stratégie globale du Canada en matière de gestion du mercure provenant des résidus d'amalgames dentaires sera la suivante :

  1. veiller à l'application des articles appropriés du protocole d'entente (PE) (mars 2002) conclu entre Environnement Canada et l'Association dentaire canadienne. Les points saillants du PE sont les suivants :
    • Pour l'année de référence 2000, fournir une estimation :
      1. du nombre de dentistes canadiens qui se conformeront volontairement aux Pratiques exemplaires de gestion des résidus d'amalgames;
      2. des quantités de résidus d'amalgames produits;
      3. des résidus d'amalgames recueillis, d'après l'information obtenue auprès de transporteurs de déchets autorisés.
    • En coopération avec l'ADC, les provinces et les territoires, établir un processus de vérification de « l'équipement équivalent aux critères énoncés dans la norme ISO 11143 », tel que défini dans le SP.
    • Organiser 12 ateliers régionaux sur les « Pratiques exemplaires de gestion des résidus d'amalgames au Canada 2002 » afin d'appuyer les praticiens en soins dentaires à travers le Canada.

Rôle du public / Transparence

Le ministre de l'Environnement coopérera avec les autres instances compétentes du CCME par le truchement des mesures et articles décrits dans le Protocole d'entente conclu entre Environnement Canada et l'Association dentaire canadienne.

Accès à l'information

L'information sur les progrès accomplis en regard des réductions de mercure dans ce secteur sera affichée et mise à jour sur le site Web d'Environnement Canada.

Réalisations vérifiables

Conformément au Protocole d'entente conclu entre Environnement Canada et l'ADC, Environnement Canada recevra chaque année de l'ADC des données électroniques sur la gestion des résidus d'amalgames et, de concert avec l'ADC, effectuera chaque année (de 2002 à 2007) des analyses de données; en outre, il rédigera des rapports d'étape sur la conformité aux Pratiques exemplaires de gestion des résidus d'amalgames au Canada 2002.

Avantages communs

Cette mesure devrait permettre de réduire les rejets de résidus d'amalgames dentaires dans les ouvrages de traitement des eaux usées et, par conséquent, la quantité de mercure dans les boues résiduaires qui sont épandues sur le sol, incinérées ou mises en décharge.

Date de modification :