The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and Disposal at Sea

What is disposal at sea?

Each year in Canada, two to three million tonnes of material are disposed of at sea. Most of this is dredged material that must be moved to keep shipping channels and harbours clear for navigation and commerce. Only the substances listed in the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) may be considered for disposal at sea. Discharges from land or from normal ship operations (such as bilge water) are not considered disposal at sea but are subject to other controls.

How is disposal at sea controlled?

All disposal at sea is controlled federally by a system of permits issued under CEPA 1999. Permits are granted on a case-by-case basis after a detailed application and assessment process. This system has been in place since 1975 and was included in CEPA 1988. Administered by Environment Canada's Disposal at Sea Program, the permit system allows Canada to meet international obligations under the London Convention of 1972 and the 1996 Protocol to the Convention.

Permits typically govern timing, handling, storing, loading, placement at the disposal site, and monitoring requirements. The permit assessment phase involves public notice, an application that provides detailed data, a scientific review, and the payment of fees.

Each application is evaluated separately. Disposal at sea is permitted only for non-hazardous substances listed under CEPA 1999 and where it is the environmentally preferable and practical alternative. Permits are not granted if practical opportunities are available to recycle or reuse the material.

Under CEPA 1999, disposal at sea may be considered only for the following substances:

  • dredged material;
  • fish waste and other organic matter resulting from industrial fish processing operations;
  • ships, aircraft, platforms, or other structures from which all material that can create floating debris or other marine pollution has been removed to the maximum extent possible;
  • inert, inorganic geological matter;
  • uncontaminated organic matter of natural origin; and
  • bulky substances that are primarily composed of iron, steel, concrete, or other similar material that does not have a significant adverse effect, other than physical, on the sea or seabed.

In CEPA 1999 there are certain features of note:

  • a minimum waiting period of 30 days from a permit's publication in the Canada Gazette before disposal operations may begin, to allow anyone with a concern to file a notice of objection;
  • a prohibition on disposal at sea except for the small list of substances in Schedule 5 of the Act (as listed above);
  • a formal assessment framework (Schedule 6) for permit applications based on the precautionary principle;
  • application of the user pay principle;
  • a prohibition on exporting any substance for disposal at sea; and
  • a legal obligation for Environment Canada to monitor disposal sites

What happens after a permit is issued?

After a permit is issued, Environment Canada conducts periodic inspections during disposal operations to ensure compliance with permit conditions. When disposal operations are complete, monitoring studies are conducted at selected sites to verify that permit decisions were correct and adequately protective of the marine environment. Monitoring is conducted by the Disposal at Sea Program, and the results are considered in future permit assessments.

How is the public informed?

Public concern and potential conflicts with other legitimate uses of the sea are an important part of any permit application assessment. Applicants seeking a permit for disposal at sea must publish a notice in a local newspaper, and anyone with concerns may contact Environment Canada during the application assessment. Also, under CEPA 1999, anyone may file a notice of objection within 30 days of the publication of a permit in the Canada Gazette.

All permit and monitoring activities are part of the public record and are summarized each year in annual reports. Details of individual permits are also available on the Internet through the CEPA Registry.

The Disposal at Sea provisions of CEPA 1999 were amended in 2005, to provide an additional tool to address illegal discharges from ships. Key changes to the provisions included applying the Act to ships as well as to persons, being able to define "normal operations" of ships, and coordinating with the Canada Shipping Act to avoid duplication. These amendments should not affect the Disposal at Sea Program's permit system.

Further information

Internet:

More information on Environment Canada's Disposal at Sea Program.

Marine Environment Section:

Marine Environmental Protection Section
Compliance Promotion and Permitting Division
Environmental Protection and Operations Directorate
Environmental Stewardship Branch
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Blvd., 16th Floor
Gatineau QC K1A OH3

Inquiry Centre:

Environment Canada
10 Wellington Street
23rd Floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1 800 668-6767 [in Canada only] or 819-997-2800
Fax: 819-994-1412
TTY: 819-994-0736
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et l'immersion en mer

Qu'est ce que l'immersion en mer?

Chaque année, au Canada, on immerge de deux à trois millions de tonnes de substances en mer. Il s'agit, en général, de déblais de dragage qu'il faut déplacer dans les chenaux et les ports afin de faciliter le commerce et la navigation. Seules les substances énumérées dans la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] peuvent être rejetées en mer. Les déversements (d'eau de cale, par exemple) provenant des activités terrestres ou des activités maritimes normales ne sont pas considérés comme des immersions en mer, mais ils sont néanmoins soumis à des contrôles.

Comment contrôle-t-on l'immersion en mer?

L'immersion en mer est assujettie à un système fédéral de permis, délivré en vertu de la LCPE 1999 . Les permis sont délivrés au cas par cas, à la suite d'une demande et d'une évaluation détaillées. Ce régime, en vigueur depuis 1975, existait dans la LCPE (1988). Grâce à ce régime régi par le Programme d'immersion en mer d'Environnement Canada, le Canada peut respecter ses obligations internationales en vertu de la Convention de Londres de 1972 et du Protocole de 1996.

Les permis régissent le moment, l'exécution, le stockage, le chargement et le rejet des substances, et fixent les exigences en matière de contrôle. L'évaluation des demandes de permis comporte un avis public, une demande donnant de l'information détaillée, un examen scientifique et le paiement des droits.

Chaque demande est évaluée séparément et seul le rejet des substances non dangereuses énumérées dans la LCPE (1999) est autorisé, lorsque c'est préférable et commode sur le plan environnemental. S'il existe des façons commodes de recycler ou de réutiliser la substance visée, la demande de permis est rejetée.

Conformément à la LCPE (1999), l'immersion en mer n'est autorisée que pour les substances suivantes :

  • déblais de dragage;
  • déchets de poisson ou matières organiques résultant d'opérations de traitement industriel du poisson;
  • navires, aéronefs, plates-formes ou autres ouvrages à condition que les matériaux risquant de produire des débris flottants ou de contribuer d'une autre manière à la pollution du milieu marin aient été retirés dans la plus grande mesure possible;
  • matières géologiques inertes et inorganiques;
  • matières organiques d'origine naturelle;
  • substances volumineuses principalement composées de fer, d'acier, de ciment ou d'autres matières semblables qui n'ont d'effets négatifs significatifs sur la mer ou le fond des mers.

La LCPE (1999) comporte quelques particularités :

  • respect d'une période d'au moins 30 jours après l'annonce, dans la Gazette du Canada, de la délivrance du permis avant d'effectuer le rejet, afin de permettre la présentation d'un avis d'opposition;
  • interdiction d'immersion en mer, sauf pour les substances inscrites sur la liste succincte à l'Annexe 5 de la Loi (substances citées ci-dessus);
  • cadre d'évaluation officiel (Annexe 6) des demandes de permis, fondé sur le principe de prudence;
  • application du principe de l'utilisateur-payeur;
  • interdiction d'exporter des substances afin de les rejeter en mer;
  • obligation juridique pour Environnement Canada de surveiller les sites d'immersion.

Que se passe-t-il après la délivrance d'un permis?

Après la délivrance d'un permis, Environnement Canada procède à des inspections périodiques au cours des opérations de rejet afin d'assurer le respect des conditions du permis. Une fois le rejet terminé, des études de surveillance de la conformité sont réalisées à des sites choisis afin de déterminer si la décision d'accorder le permis était fondée et permettait d'assurer la protection du milieu marin. La surveillance est effectuée dans le cadre du Programme d'immersion en mer, et les résultats de ces études sont pris en compte dans l'évaluation des demandes de permis ultérieures.

Comment informe-t-on le public?

L'écoute des préoccupations du public et l'évaluation des conflits potentiels avec d'autres usages légitimes constituent un important volet de l'évaluation des demandes de permis d'immersion en mer. Les demandeurs doivent publier un avis dans un journal local afin que les personnes préoccupées par un éventuel rejet puissent communiquer avec Environnement Canada au cours du processus d'évaluation. Il est également possible, en vertu de la LCPE (1999), d'émettre un avis d'opposition dans les 30 jours suivant l'annonce, dans la Gazette du Canada, de la délivrance d'un permis.

Les activités de surveillance et de délivrance de permis sont du domaine public et sont résumées, chaque année, dans les rapports annuels. On peut connaître les modalités des permis en consultant le Registre de la LCPE.

On a modifié les dispositions sur l'immersion en mer de la LCPE (1999) en 2005 afin d'offrir un outil supplémentaire pour remédier au problème des rejets illégaux des navires. Parmi les principaux changements apportés aux dispositions, notons l'application de la Loi tant aux navires qu'aux personnes, la définition d' « utilisation normale » d'un navire, et la coordination avec la Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada afin d'éviter les chevauchements. Ces modifications ne devraient pas avoir d'incidence sur le régime des permis du Programme d'immersion en mer.

Pour plus de renseignements :

Internet :

Pour en savoir plus , veuillez consulter le site sur le Programme d'immersion en mer d'Environnement Canada..

Section des programmes de protection marine

Section des programmes de protection marine
Promotion de la conformité et permis
Activités de protection de l'environnement
Direction générale de l'intendance environnementale
Environnement Canada
351, boulevard St-Joseph, 16e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A OH3

Informathèque

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington
23e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767 [au Canada seulement] ou 819-997-2800
Télécopieur : 819-994-1412
ATS : 819-994-0736
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca