Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

A Guide to Understanding the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

6. New Substances

6.1 What are New Substances?

CEPA 1999 ensures that no new substances are introduced into the Canadian marketplace before they have been assessed to determine whether or not they are toxic or capable of becoming toxic to the environment or human health. Substances that are not on the Domestic Substances List are considered to be new to Canada and must be notified. New substances that are accepted as being in commercial use internationally are listed on the Non-Domestic Substances List. Substances on the Non-Domestic Substances List must also be notified, but are subject to lesser information requirements. New substances cannot be manufactured or imported until:

  • the Minister has been notified prior to manufacturing or importation of the substance;

  • relevant information needed for an assessment of its potential toxicity has been provided to the Minister and the appropriate fee has been paid; and

  • the period for assessing the information (as set out in regulations) has expired

What is the Non-Domestic Substances List?

The Non-Domestic Substances List is an inventory of substances that are not on the Domestic Substances List but are accepted as being in commercial use internationally. The list is based on the United States Environmental Protection Agency's Toxic Substances Control Act Chemical Substances Inventory, and contains more than 58 000 entries.

The risks of substances determined to be or suspected of being toxic or capable of becoming toxic may be managed, as necessary, through conditions or prohibitions imposed on their import or manufacture.

If these notification and assessment requirements are met by another federal Act, then the CEPA 1999 requirements do not apply. This means that CEPA 1999 in effect acts as a "safety net" -- unless new substances fall under other Acts that are specifically listed in Schedule 2 regarding chemicals and polymers, CEPA 1999 requirements will apply to all new substances. Federal Acts and regulations currently listed on Schedule 2 are the Pest Control Products Act, Feeds Act and Fertilizers Act, as well as their regulations.


6.2 How are the Risks Assessed?

Anyone interested in manufacturing or importing a new substance will be required to provide specific information for risk assessment purposes. Importers or manufacturers may also be required to provide information on "significant new activities," where a substance's exposure may change significantly based on factors such as new uses or volume of use (see Section 6.4).

Environment Canada and Health Canada evaluate new substances for risks to the environment and human health. A new substance assessment results in one of the following outcomes:

  • if the substance is not suspected to be toxic, the notifier may import or manufacture the substance after the assessment period has expired;

  • if the substance is suspected of being toxic or becoming toxic, the government may take risk management measures;

  • if the substance is not suspected of being toxic but a significant new activity could result in the substance becoming toxic, the substance can be subject to re-notification under certain conditions.


6.3 How are the Risks Managed?

The government can take the following risk management measures for new substances that are toxic or suspected to be toxic:

  • permit the manufacture or import of the substance subject to specified conditions;

  • prohibit the manufacture or import of the substance for a period not exceeding two years unless replaced by a regulation; or

  • prohibit the manufacture or import of the substance until additional information or test results have been submitted and assessed.

The government must undertake these risk management measures and publish them in the Canada Gazette, Part I before the expiration of the assessment period. The Gazette notices are also made public on the CEPA Environmental Registry website.


6.4 What is a Significant New Activity?

A significant new activity is an alternative use of a substance or other activity that results or may result in:

  • a significantly greater quantity or concentration of the substance in the environment; or

  • a significantly different manner or circumstances of exposure to the substance.

If there is a suspicion that a significant new activity in relation to the substance may result in the substance becoming toxic, the substance can be subject to a Significant New Activity Notice. The Notice communicates the criteria under which the government must be re-notified. The government assesses the new information on the substance to determine if it is toxic in relation to the significant new activity. Significant new activities can apply to existing substances on the Domestic Substances List or to new substances.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Guide explicatif de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

6. Nouvelles substances

6.1 Qu'est-ce qu'une nouvelle substance?

La LCPE 1999 s'assure qu'aucune nouvelle substance ne soit introduite sur le marché canadien avant qu'on ait évalué si elle est, oui ou non, effectivement ou potentiellement toxique pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine. Les substances qui ne figurent pas sur la Liste intérieure des substances sont considérées nouvelles au Canada. Les nouvelles substances qui sont reconnues comme étant en usage commercial sur le plan international sont inscrites à la Liste extérieure des substances. Il est interdit de fabriquer ou d'importer des nouvelles substances :

  • sans en avoir informé le Ministre avant la fabrication ou l'importation de la substance;

  • sans avoir fourni au Ministre les renseignements nécessaires à une évaluation de toxicité éventuelle et payé les droits exigibles; et

  • tant que le délai d'évaluation de l'information (prévu par règlement) n'est pas expiré.

Qu'est-ce que la Liste extérieure des substances?

La Liste extérieure des substances est un inventaire des substances qui ne figurent pas à la Liste intérieure des substances, mais qu'on estime être en circulation sur le marché international. Cette liste a été établie à partir de l'inventaire des substances chimiques de la Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) de l'Agence américaine de protection de l'environnement (USEPA) et elle contient plus de 58 000 entrées.

Au besoin, les risques associés à une substance jugée ou soupçonnée toxique ou susceptible de le devenir peuvent être gérés par l'imposition de conditions ou d'interdictions sur son importation ou sa fabrication.

Si une autre loi fédérale permet de satisfaire à ces exigences de déclaration et d'évaluation de nouvelles substances, les exigences de la LCPE 1999 ne s'appliquent pas. Ce qui signifie que la LCPE 1999 joue en effet un rôle de " filet de sécurité ", à moins que de nouvelles substances ne relèvent d'autres lois explicitement mentionnées dans l'annexe 2 à propos des produits chimiques et des polymères, les exigences de la LCPE 1999 s'appliquent à toutes les nouvelles substances. Les lois et règlements fédéraux figurant présentement à l'annexe 2 sont la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires, la Loi relative aux aliments du bétail et la Loi sur les engrais, ainsi que leurs règlements.


6.2 Comment évaluer les risques?

Quiconque désire fabriquer ou importer au Canada une substance donner de l'information en vue de l'évaluation des risques qu'elle présente. Les importateurs ou fabricants peuvent avoir à donner des renseignements sur les « nouvelles activités » d'une substance lorsque son exposition peut changer de manière importante, selon des facteurs comme de nouveaux usages ou le volume de l'usage [se référer à la Section 6.4].

Environnement Canada et Santé Canada évaluent les nouvelles substances en regard des risques qu'elles présentent pour l'environnement et la santé humaine. L'évaluation d'une nouvelle substance donne lieu à l'une des mesures suivantes :

  • si on ne croit pas qu'une substance est toxique, le déclarant peut importer ou fabriquer la substance après l'expiration de la période d'évaluation;

  • si on croit qu'une substance est toxique ou pourrait le devenir, le gouvernement peut prendre des mesures de gestion des risques;

  • si on croit qu'une substance n'est pas toxique, mais qu'une nouvelle activité pourrait provoquer sa toxicité, il est possible de soumettre la substance à une nouvelle inscription à certaines conditions.


6.3 Comment gérer les risques?

Le gouvernement peut prendre les mesures de gestion de risques suivantes pour les nouvelles substances toxiques ou soupçonnées de l'être :

  • autoriser la fabrication ou l'importation de la substance à certaines conditions;

  • interdire la fabrication ou l'importation de la substance pour une période d'au plus deux ans, à moins qu'un règlement remplace cette mesure;

  • interdire la fabrication ou l'importation de la substance jusqu'à ce que des renseignements ou les résultats d'essai soient fournis et évalués.

Le gouvernement doit prendre ces mesures de gestion des risques et les publier dans la Gazette du Canada, partie I, avant l'expiration de la période d'évaluation. Les avis de la Gazette sont également rendus publics sur le site Web du Registre environnemental de la LCPE.


6.4 Qu'est-ce qu'une nouvelle activité?

Par nouvelle activité, on entend toute utilisation nouvelle d'une substance qui entraîne ou risque d'entraîner :

  • un accroissement de la quantité ou de la concentration de la substance dans l'environnement; ou

  • une modification du mode ou des conditions d'exposition à la substance.

Si on soupçonne que la nouvelle activité liée à la substance risque de rendre celle-ci toxique, la substance pourrait faire l'objet d'un avis de nouvelle activité. L'avis précise les conditions justifiant une nouvelle déclaration auprès du gouvernement. Le gouvernement évalue les nouveaux renseignements sur la substance afin de déterminer si elle est toxique en rapport à la nouvelle activité. Une nouvelle activité peut s'appliquer à des substances existantes sur la Liste intérieure des substances ou à de nouvelles substances.