Skip booklet index and go to page content

A Guide to Understanding the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

18. Administrative Requirements

18.1 What is the National Advisory Committee?

CEPA 1999 requires the Minister to establish a National Advisory Committee composed of one representative for each of the federal Ministers of the Environment and Health, representatives from each province and territory and six representatives of aboriginal governments drawn from across Canada. An aboriginal government means a governing body that, through an agreement with the Government of Canada, is authorized to enact laws respecting the protection of the environment or the registration of vehicles or engines.

The Committee advises the Ministers on actions taken under the Act, which enables national, cooperative action and avoids duplication in regulatory activity among governments. The Committee also serves as the single window into provincial and territorial governments and representatives of aboriginal governments on offers to consult.

The duties of the NAC include advising the federal Ministers of the Environment and Health on:

  • proposed regulations for toxic substances;

  • proposed regulations on environmental emergencies;

  • a cooperative, coordinated approach to the management of toxic substances; and

  • any other matter of mutual interest.


18.2 What are Administrative and Equivalency Agreements?

CEPA 1999 includes provisions that allow the federal government to enter into administrative agreements with provincial and territorial governments, aboriginal governments as well as an aboriginal people (e.g., Band Councils). The Act allows the federal government to sign equivalency agreements with provincial, territorial and aboriginal governments.

Administrative agreements are work-sharing arrangements that can cover any matter related to the administration of the Act. Such matters can include inspections, investigations, information gathering, monitoring and reporting of collected data. These agreements do not release the federal government from any of its responsibilities under the law, nor do they delegate legislative power from one government to another.

The Act allows the use of equivalency agreements where, by Cabinet decision, a regulation under CEPA 1999 is declared to no longer apply in a province, a territory or an area under the jurisdiction of an aboriginal government that has equivalent requirements. The equivalent regulation does not have to have the same wording as the CEPA 1999 regulation, but have the same effect. The provincial, territorial or aboriginal government must also have a mechanism that allows individuals to request an investigation of alleged violations. Equivalency agreements are possible for CEPA 1999 regulations dealing with toxic substances, international air or international water pollution, environmental emergencies and, for aboriginal governments only, regulations relating to aboriginal land or environmental protection generally and made under Part 9.

CEPA 1999 requires that all proposed equivalency and administrative agreements undergo a 60-day public comment period. Agreements terminate five years after coming into force to ensure regular review and renewal as necessary. Agreements may be terminated at any time with three months notice.


18.3 What is a Board of Review?

CEPA 1999 sets out procedures for establishing and conducting Boards of Review in response to notices of objection filed by members of the public. These provisions are an important component of the Act's enhanced provisions for public participation.

Any person may file a notice of objection to a decision, an order or a proposed regulation and request that Board of Review be established. The Ministers can establish a Board of Review to inquire into the nature and extent of the danger posed by the substance that is the subject of the order or the proposed regulation. In addition, the Minister may establish a Board of Review for other instruments (e.g., administrative or equivalency agreements) when request for such a Board is filed during the 60-day public comment following publication of the instrument in the Canada Gazette.


18.4 When is the Act Reviewed?

Every five years, a committee of one or both Houses of Parliament must review the Act, as required under CEPA 1999. The committee conducts a comprehensive review of the provisions and operations of the Act and makes recommendations regarding any changes to the Act or its administration. The review can therefore monitor the effectiveness of the legislation in protecting the environment and human health and preventing pollution.

 

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Guide explicatif de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

18. Exigences administratives

18.1 Qu'est-ce que le Comité consultatif national?

En vertu de la LCPE 1999, le Ministre doit constituer un Comité consultatif national (CCN) composé d'un représentant du ministère de l'Environnement et d'un représentant du ministère de la Santé, de représentants de chaque province et territoire et de six représentants de gouvernements autochtones de diverses régions du Canada. Un gouvernement autochtone est un organisme dirigeant qui, au moyen d'une entente avec le gouvernement du Canada, a le pouvoir d'édicter des règles de droit portant sur la protection de l'environnement ou sur l'immatriculation de véhicules ou de machines.

Le Comité conseille les ministres au sujet des mesures prises en vertu de la Loi, qui permet des activités de collaboration à l'échelle nationale et évite le chevauchement d'activités de réglementation entre les gouvernements. Il agit également à titre de guichet unique relativement aux offres de consultation pour les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et pour les représentants des gouvernements autochtones.

Le CCN a entre autres pour fonction de conseiller les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé sur :

  • les projets de réglementation sur les substances toxiques;

  • les projets de réglementation sur les urgences environnementales;

  • une approche coopérative et coordonnée de la gestion des substances toxiques;

  • toute autre question d'intérêt commun.


18.2 Que sont les accords relatifs à l'exécution et aux dispositions équivalentes?

La LCPE 1999 comporte des dispositions permettant au gouvernement fédéral de conclure des accords relatifs à l'exécution avec les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones ainsi qu'avec le peuple autochtone (p. ex. les conseils de bande). La Loi permet aussi au gouvernement fédéral de signer des accords relatifs aux dispositions équivalentes avec les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones.

Les accords relatifs à l'exécution correspondent à des dispositions sur le partage du travail qui peuvent toucher toute question relative à l'exécution de la loi, y compris les inspections, les enquêtes, la collecte d'information, la surveillance et la livraison des données recueillies. Ces ententes n'enlèvent aucune responsabilité que la loi confère au gouvernement fédéral et ne transfèrent aucun pouvoir législatif d'un gouvernement à un autre.

La Loi permet l'utilisation d'accords relatifs aux dispositions équivalentes lorsque le Cabinet déclare qu'un règlement aux termes de la LCPE 1999 ne s'applique plus dans une province, un territoire ou une région administrée par les Autochtones qui a des exigences équivalentes. Le règlement équivalent n'a pas besoin d'être formulé comme le règlement rattaché à la LCPE, mais ont le même effet. Le gouvernement provincial, territorial ou autochtone doit aussi avoir prévu un mécanisme permettant qu'une personne demande une enquête sur des infractions alléguées. Des accords relatifs aux dispositions équivalentes peuvent être établis pour les règlements de la LCPE qui portent sur les substances toxiques, la pollution de l'air ou de l'eau à l'échelle internationale, les urgences environnementales et, uniquement dans le cas des gouvernements autochtones, les règlements pris en vertu de la partie 9 et concernant les terres autochtones ou la protection de l'environnement en général.

La LCPE 1999 exige que tous les accords relatifs à l'exécution et aux dispositions équivalentes soient soumis au public pour une période de consultation de 60 jours. Ces accords se terminent cinq ans après leur entrée en vigueur pour garantir un examen régulier, et leur renouvellement si nécessaire. Les accords peuvent se terminer à tout moment moyennant un avis préalable de trois mois.


18.3 Qu'est-ce qu'une commission de révision?

La LCPE 1999 précise la procédure de création et de fonctionnement des commissions de révision en cas d'avis d'opposition du public. Ces dispositions sont un aspect important des améliorations apportées à la Loi pour favoriser la participation du public.

Quiconque peut déposer un avis d'opposition à une décision, à un décret ou à un règlement proposé et demander l'institution d'une commission de révision. Les ministres peuvent constituer une commission de révision chargée d'enquêter sur la nature et l'importance du danger que représente une substance visée par le décret ou le règlement proposé. De plus, le Ministre peut constituer une commission de révision pour l'examen d'autres textes (p. ex. des accords relatifs à l'exécution ou aux dispositions équivalentes) lorsque la demande de constitution d'une telle commission est déposée durant la période de consultation publique de 60 jours suivant la publication du texte dans la Gazette du Canada.


18.4 À quel moment examine-t-on la Loi?

Tous les cinq ans, un comité de l'une des Chambres du Parlement, ou des deux, doit examiner la Loi, comme l'y oblige la LCPE 1999. Le comité doit procéder à un examen détaillé des dispositions de la Loi et des conséquences de son application, et proposer des recommandations relatives à d'éventuelles modifications à la Loi ou à son application. L'examen permet alors de s'assurer que la Loi protège bien l'environnement et la santé humaine, et qu'elle prévient la pollution.

 

Date de modification :