Skip booklet index and go to page content

A Guide to Understanding the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

13. Government Operations and Federal and Aboriginal Lands

13.1 What are Government Operations, Federal Facilities and Aboriginal Lands?

CEPA 1999 applies to activities on Government of Canada lands. This includes federal departments, boards and agencies, federal works and undertakings, Crown corporations, federal land, persons on that land and other persons in so far as their activities involve that land. This part of the Act also applies to Aboriginal lands.


13.2 Why is there a Special Part of CEPA 1999 for Government Operations and Federal and Aboriginal Lands?

CEPA 1999 applies to all Canadian persons, whether individuals or companies, including federal operations. This means that regulations for toxic substances, fuels, disposal at sea and other matters apply equally to federal operations. Compliance is monitored and CEPA 1999 violations by federal operations are dealt with in the same manner as any other violations, including court action such as injunction and prosecution.

However, under Canada's Constitution, provincial environmental laws do not generally apply to federal lands. This means that federal operations and land, including aboriginal land, are, for the most part, not subject to provincial regulations or permit systems covering emissions, effluents, environmental emergencies, waste handling and other environmental matters. The non-application of these environmental protection laws creates the so-called "environmental protection regulatory gap" with respect to federal departments, boards, agencies, Crown corporations, federal works and undertakings on federal and aboriginal lands.

Under CEPA 1999, Environment Canada can establish regulatory and non-regulatory instruments to manage many, but not all, of the environmental protection risks on federal and aboriginal lands that would otherwise be addressed by provincial and territorial legislation.


13.3 How is CEPA 1999 Used to Manage Government Operations and Federal and Aboriginal Lands?

CEPA 1999 provides the government with broad powers to issue a range of nationally applied regulatory and non-regulatory tools specifically for activities carried out on federal and aboriginal lands. These regulatory and non-regulatory tools include the use of regulations, pollution prevention planning and the creation of codes of practice and guidelines for operations where non-regulatory measures would effectively protect the environment and human health. When created, these tools apply throughout Canada. This means that federal entities, federal land or aboriginal land situated in one province have the same standards as federal entities, federal land or aboriginal land situated in another province. In certain circumstances, CEPA 1999 may also be used to develop tools that would apply only to federal entities, federal land or only to aboriginal lands, but the standards would have to be the same across the country, even though the corresponding provincial requirements may vary across the country.

 

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Guide explicatif de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

13. Opérations gouvernementales, territoire domanial et terres autochtones

13.1 Que sont les opérations gouvernementales, les avoirs fédéraux et les terres autochtones?

La LCPE 1999 s'applique aux activités effectuées sur le territoire du gouvernement du Canada, ce qui comprend les ministères, les commissions et les organismes fédéraux; les activités et les entreprises fédérales; les sociétés d'État; le territoire domanial; les personnes qui occupent ce territoire et d'autres personnes dans la mesure où leurs activités s'effectuent sur ce territoire. Cette partie de la Loi s'applique également aux terres autochtones.

13.2 Pourquoi y a-t-il une partie réservée aux opérations gouvernementales, au territoire domanial et aux terres autochtones dans la LCPE 1999?

La LCPE 1999 s'applique à toutes les personnes au Canada, qu'elles soient morales ou physiques, y compris aux affaires fédérales, ce qui signifie que les règlements concernant les substances toxiques, les combustibles, les immersions en mer et autres substances s'appliquent aussi aux affaires fédérales. Leur conformité à la Loi fait l'objet d'un contrôle, et les infractions commises en vertu de la LCPE dans le cadre des affaires fédérales peuvent faire l'objet de procédures judiciaires, telles des procédures d'injonction et des poursuites, comme toute autre infraction.

Toutefois, en vertu de la constitution du Canada, les lois environnementales des provinces ne s'appliquent généralement pas au territoire domanial. Autrement dit, les affaires fédérales, et le territoire domanial, y compris les terres autochtones, ne sont pas, pour la plupart, assujettis aux règlements ou aux régimes de permis provinciaux régissant les émissions, les effluents, les urgences environnementales, la gestion des déchets et autres questions de nature environnementale. La non-application de ces lois de protection environnementale contribue à créer ce qu'il est convenu d'appeler des « vides réglementaires sur la protection de l'environnement » en ce qui concerne les ministères, commissions et organismes fédéraux, les sociétés d'État, et les activités et entreprises fédérales sur le territoire domanial fédéral et les terres autochtones.

En vertu de la LCPE 1999, Environnement Canada peut adopter des textes réglementaires ou non réglementaires pour gérer de nombreux risques de protection de l'environnement, mais pas tous, sur le territoire domanial et les terres autochtones, qui seraient autrement gérés en vertu des lois provinciales et territoriales.

13.3 Comment utilise-t-on la LCPE 1999 pour gérer les opérations gouvernementales, le territoire domanial et les terres autochtones?

La LCPE 1999 donne au gouvernement le vaste pouvoir d'élaborer une gamme d'outils réglementaires et non réglementaires appliqués à l'échelle nationale expressément pour les activités réalisées sur le territoire domanial ou les terres autochtones. Ces outils réglementaires et non réglementaires comportent l'utilisation de règlements, la planification de la prévention de la pollution et l'élaboration de codes de pratique et de directives pour les opérations lorsque des mesures non réglementaires pourraient protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine de manière efficace. Une fois en place, ces outils s'appliquent à l'ensemble du Canada, ce qui signifie que les entités fédérales, le territoire domanial ou les terres autochtones situés dans une province possèdent les mêmes normes que les entités fédérales, le territoire domanial ou les terres autochtones situés dans une autre province. Dans certains cas, il est également possible d'utiliser la LCPE 1999 pour élaborer des outils qui s'appliqueront uniquement aux entités fédérales et au territoire domanial ou seulement aux terres autochtones, mais les normes doivent être les mêmes partout au pays, même si les exigences provinciales correspondantes peuvent varier d'une région à l'autre.

 

Date de modification :