Skip booklet index and go to page content

A Guide to Understanding the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

10. Hazardous Wastes

10.1 What is Hazardous Waste?

Hazardous waste includes a wide range of residues from industrial production including used solvents, acids and bases, leftovers from oil refining and the manufacture of chemicals and metal processing. Several common consumer products, including old car batteries and oil-based paints are also hazardous once they are discarded. The nature and concentration of certain chemicals in many wastes makes them potentially hazardous to the environment and human health. They have characteristics such as flammability, toxicity and corrosivity. They may represent an immediate danger, such as ability to burn skin on contact, or longer-term environmental or human health risks due to accumulation and persistence of toxic substances in the environment.

Every year, approximately six million tonnes of hazardous waste are produced in Canada. Imports of hazardous waste total about 417 000 tonnes, of which approximately 55% is destined for recycling. Exports of hazardous wastes total about 320 000 tonnes, of which approximately 65% destined for recycling. Until ways can be found to avoid creating hazardous waste, it must be managed in a way that minimizes risks to the environment and human health.

 


10.2 How is CEPA 1999 Used to Manage Hazardous Waste?

Under CEPA 1999, transboundary movements (imports, exports, or transits across provincial or territorial borders) of hazardous wastes or hazardous recyclable materials cannot take place unless the Minister is notified and a permit is issued. The prior informed consent of the countries of transit and destination are required. Shipments are also tracked from point of origin to destination. Notification information is made public in the Canada Gazette, Part I and on the CEPA Environmental Registry website. These provisions allow for the implementation of Canada's obligations under three international agreements:

  • the Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and Their Disposal;

  • the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development'sDecision of the Council concerning the Control of Transboundary Movements of Wastes Destined for Recovery Operations C(2001)107/Final; and

  • the Canada-United States Agreement on the Transboundary Movement of Hazardous Waste.

CEPA 1999 provides additional authority to:

  • define hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material, which will enable progress towards a federal-provincial-territorial harmonized approach to the management of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material;

  • regulate exports and imports of prescribed non-hazardous wastes destined for final disposal (e.g., municipal solid wastes);

  • develop environmentally sound management criteria to consider prior to refusing to issue an export, import and transit permit, to form an opinion as to whether the hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material will be managed in a manner that will protect the environment and human health;

  • require exporters of hazardous wastes to develop and implement reduction plans for exports of waste destined for final disposal; and

  • control interprovincial movements of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials.

The Minister may also issue a Permit of Equivalent Level of Environmental Safety for export, import and transit of hazardous wastes, hazardous recyclable material or prescribed non-hazardous waste being sent for final disposal, or for interprovincial movement of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material. By these permits, the Minister can vary or set aside provisions of regulations governing these activities if satisfied that the level of environmental safety under the permit will be equivalent to what would have been achieved under the regulations.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Guide explicatif de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

10. Déchets dangereux

10.1 Qu'est-ce qu'un déchet dangereux?

Les déchets dangereux comprennent une vaste gamme de résidus de la production industrielle, comme les solvants, les acides et les bases usés, les rejets du raffinage du pétrole et de la production de substances chimiques et les résidus de la transformation des métaux. Plusieurs produits de consommation communs, comme les vieux accumulateurs d'autos et les peintures à l'huile, sont eux aussi dangereux une fois qu'ils sont mis au rebut. La nature et la concentration de certaines substances chimiques présentes dans de nombreux produits résiduels les rendent potentiellement dangereux pour l'environnement et la santé humaine. Ces produits possèdent des caractéristiques comme l'inflammabilité, la toxicité et la corrosivité. Ils peuvent présenter un danger immédiat, comme le pouvoir de brûler la peau par simple contact, ou des risques à plus long terme pour l'environnement et la santé humaine en raison de l'accumulation et de la persistance des substances toxiques dans l'environnement.

Chaque année, environ six millions de tonnes de déchets dangereux sont produits au Canada. Les importations de déchets dangereux totalisent 417 000 tonnes, dont environ 55 p. 100 est destiné au recyclage. Les exportations de déchets dangereux, quant à elles, totalisent 320 000 tonnes, dont environ 65 p. 100 est destiné au recyclage. Jusqu'à ce qu'on trouve des moyens pour éviter de produire ces déchets dangereux, ceux-ci devront être gérés de façon à réduire au minimum les risques pour l'environnement et la santé humaine.


10.2 Comment utilise-t-on la LCPE 1999 pour gérer les déchets dangereux?

En vertu de la LCPE 1999, les déplacements transfrontaliers (importations, exportations ou transit par les frontières provinciales ou territoriales) de déchets dangereux ou de matières dangereuses recyclables ne peuvent se faire sans que le Ministre n'en soit avisé et n'ait délivré un permis. Le consentement éclairé préalable des pays de transit et de destination est exigé. Les envois sont également suivis du départ à l'arrivée. Les renseignements relatifs aux déclarations sont rendus publics dans la Gazette du Canada, partie I, et dans le site Web du Registre environnemental de la LCPE. Ces dispositions permettent l'application des obligations du Canada en vertu de trois accords internationaux :

  • la Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination;

  • la Décision du Conseil concernant le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets destinés à des opérations de valorisation C(2001)107/Final émise par l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques;

  • l'Accord entre le Canada et les États-Unis concernant le déplacement transfrontière des déchets dangereux.

La LCPE 1999 prévoit des pouvoirs supplémentaires pour :

  • définir la notion de déchets dangereux et de matières dangereuses recyclables, ce qui permettra d'avancer vers une approche de gestion des déchets dangereux et des matières dangereuses recyclables fédérale-provinciale-territoriale harmonisée;

  • réglementer les exportations et les importations de déchets non dangereux prescrits destinés à l'élimination finale (p. ex. les déchets urbains solides);

  • élaborer des critères de gestion respectueux de l'environnement dont il faudra tenir compte avant de refuser de délivrer un permis d'exportation, d'importation ou de transit afin de déterminer si les déchets dangereux ou les matières dangereuses recyclables seront gérés de manière à protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine;

  • exiger des exportateurs de déchets dangereux destinés à l'élimination finale qu'ils élaborent et appliquent des plans de réduction;

  • contrôler les déplacements interprovinciaux de déchets dangereux et de matières dangereuses recyclables.

Le Ministre peut également délivrer un permis de sécurité environnementale équivalente pour l'exportation, l'importation ou le transit de déchets dangereux, de matières dangereuses recyclables ou de déchets non dangereux réglementés destinés à une élimination finale, ou pour les mouvements interprovinciaux de déchets dangereux et de matières dangereuses recyclables. Grâce au permis, le Ministre peut varier ou annuler des dispositions ou des règlements régissant ces activités s'il est convaincu que le niveau de sécurité environnementale aux termes du permis sera équivalent à celui qui aurait été obtenu en vertu des règlements.

 

Date de modification :