This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the Regulations Amending the Gasoline Regulations (SOR/2008-126)

Minister's Response to Concerns Raised by David Emery

Mr. David Emery
demery@golden.net

Dear Mr. Emery:

This letter is in response to your January 11 notice of objection, regarding the Regulations Amending the Gasoline Regulations that were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on December 22, 2007.

I have carefully considered the issues in your notice in deciding whether to establish a board of review. The purpose of a board of review is to inquire into the nature and extent of the danger posed by the substance in respect of which the decision is made. As your submission has not provided any new information regarding the nature and extent of the danger posed by leaded gasoline that would warrant a board of review, a board of review will not be established.

However, the exemption for competition vehicles under the Gasoline Regulations has been extended until January 1, 2010. This extension will provide the time needed for the Government of Canada to conduct new studies regarding the health risks associated with the use of leaded gasoline in competition vehicles, as lead sampling at race tracks has not been conducted since 1997.

Sincerely,

John Baird, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition au règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l'essence (DORS/2008-126)

Réponse du Ministre aux inquiétudes suscitées par David Emery

M. David Emery
demery@golden.net

Cher Monsieur Emery :

La présente fait suite à votre avis d'opposition daté du 11 janvier concernant le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l'essence qui a été publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 22 décembre 2007.

J'ai examiné attentivement et soigneusement votre avis d'opposition. Une commission de révision a pour objectif d'enquêter sur la nature et l’étendue du danger posé par la substance visée par la prise de décision. Comme votre lettre n'a pas fourni aucun nouveau renseignement quant à la nature et à l'étendue du danger posé par l'essence au plomb qui pourrait justifier l'établissement d'une commission de révision, aucune commission ne sera pas établie.

Toutefois, l'exemption pour les véhicules de compétition en vertu du Règlement sur l’essence a été prolongée jusqu'au 1er janvier 2010. Cette prolongation accordera le temps nécessaire au gouvernement du Canada pour mener de nouvelles études concernant les risques pour la santé dus à l'utilisation de l'essence au plomb dans les véhicules de compétition, car aucun échantillonnage de plomb n'a été effectué sur les pistes de course depuis 1997.

Sincèrement,

John Baird, c.p., député

Date de modification :