This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Issues

This Issues Paper has been prepared to support the current five-year review of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) by the House Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development and the Senate Standing Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources.

The Issues Paper:

  • identifies 12 issue areas that the Ministers believe could benefit from consideration during the Parliamentary Review, with a view to improving the effectiveness and efficiency of the Act; and
  • discusses three broader policy challenges facing governments in Canada, in which CEPA 1999 has a role.

In preparing for the Parliamentary Review, the departments have benefited from comments received from public consultations with a broad cross-section of groups including municipal governments, Aboriginal organizations, industry and business interests and civil society, as well as advice from provincial and territorial governments.

The document is also available in PDF format (840 KB)

 
Introduction
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

La Loi Canadienne sur la Protection de l'Environnement (1999) : Questions

Le présent document de réflexion a été rédigé à l'appui de l'examen quinquennal de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] par le Comité permanent sur l'environnement et le développement durable de la Chambre des communes et le Comité sénatorial permanent de l'énergie, de l'environnement et des ressources naturelles.

Le présent document :

  • dresse une liste de 12 points sur lesquels il pourrait être avantageux, selon les ministres, de se pencher au cours de l'examen parlementaire dans le but de renforcer l'efficacité et l'efficience de la Loi; et
  • examine trois grands défis en matière de politiques qui se posent au gouvernement du Canada et à l'égard desquels la LCPE (1999) a un rôle à jouer.

Dans leur préparation aux fins de l'examen parlementaire, les ministères ont bénéficié des commentaires reçus lors des consultations publiques auprès d'un vaste échantillon représentatif de groupes, comprenant des administrations municipales, des organisations autochtones, des entreprises et industries et des représentants de la société civile, ainsi que des conseils des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux.

Ce document est aussi disponible en format PDF (980 ko)

 
Introduction
Date de modification :