This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Equivalency Agreements under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

What are equivalency agreements?

Under section 10 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), when an instrument already exists in another jurisdiction (provincial/territorial) that achieves the same environmental outcome as a CEPA 1999 regulation, the provincial or territorial instruments apply instead of the CEPA 1999 regulation. For this to occur, the Province/Territory enters into an equivalency agreement (EA) with the Government of Canada.

The purpose of EAsis to avoid duplication among the various orders of government and to enable the best-positioned jurisdiction to provide the highest environmental quality for Canadians. These agreements are important instruments for enabling the federal and provincial/territorial governments to work together effectively and efficiently to achieve broad environmental protection goals.

When can EAs be entered into?

According to CEPA 1999, regulations made under the following provisions are eligible for inclusion in an EAEAs:

  • respecting toxic substances (s. 93(1));
  • respecting emergencies (s. 200(1));
  • respecting government operations on federal and Aboriginal lands (ss. 209(1)(2)); and
  • respecting international air and water pollution (ss. 167 and 177), unless the regulations are with respect to a federal source

For any of the eligible regulations to be dealt with in an EAEAs, certain requirements must be met.

First, the environmental legislation of the other jurisdiction must contain provisions similar to sections 17 to 20 of CEPA1999. Specifically, citizens must be provided with the right to apply for investigations of offences and to be kept informed of progress on those investigations. Equivalent provisions may be found in environmental legislation other than that covered in the EA, as long as the other legislation expressly extends the use of its provisions to the legislation at issue.

Second, the other jurisdiction's laws must be in force and equivalent to the CEPA 1999 regulation. "Equivalent" does not require that the two be identical, but rather that they serve the same purpose and have the same effect. For example, the methods used to determine emission limits or allowances for regulated emitters should result in analogous reductions and treat like emitters comparably. From a policy perspective, an equivalency determination should also consider whether measurement methods will provide scientifically comparable and valid results, whether enforcement is consistent with Environment Canada's CEPA Enforcement and Compliance Policy; and whether there are provisions for comparable penalties.

Essentially, a decision to enter into an EA is justifiable where the level of protection of the environment is equivalent.

When does an EA come into force?

EAs come into force on the date specified in the agreement and automatically terminate five years later. They may also be terminated earlier by either party, with three months' notice.

How is the public informed?

Before being entered into, every EA must be made available to the public for a 60-day comment period, during which any person may file comments or a notice of objection. The Minister must publicly report on how these submissions were dealt with at the end of the 60 days. Finally, after an agreement has been entered into, the Minister must either publish it or give notice of its availability in the Canada Gazette.

What happens if an EA is not complied with?

In the event of non-compliance with an equivalency agreement, the federal government can make use of the allowance for terminating an EA with three months' notice.

How are EAs being used?

Although Alberta is the only province that has entered into an EA so far, the federal government would like to use this tool wherever possible. The Government of Canada wants to work with the Provinces and Territories to determine early on where EAs can apply and to encourage their use in an efficient and transparent manner.

Further information:

Internet:

CEPA Environmental Registry

Inquiry Centre:

Environment Canada
10 Wellington Street
23rd floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1 800 668-6767 [in Canada only] or 819-997-2800
Fax:
819-994-1412
TTY:
819-994-0736
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Accords d'équivalence établis en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Qu'entend-on par accords d'équivalence?

L'article 10 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] prévoit qu'un instrument provincial ou territorial existant peut être utilisé au lieu de règlements pris en vertu de la LCPE (1999) s'il produit les mêmes résultats sur le plan environnemental. Afin que cette disposition s'applique, la province ou le territoire doit alors conclure un accord d'équivalence (AE) avec le gouvernement du Canada.

Les AE ont pour but d'éviter les chevauchements parmi les divers ordres de gouvernement et de permettre à l'instance la mieux placée d'atteindre le plus haut niveau possible de qualité de l'environnement pour les Canadiens. Ces accords sont d'importants instruments qui permettent aux gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux/territoriaux de collaborer de façon optimale afin d'atteindre des objectifs généraux de protection de l'environnement.

Quand peut-on conclure des AE?

En vertu de la LCPE (1999), un règlement pris en application des dispositions suivantes peut être inclus dans un AE :

  • dispositions relatives aux substances toxiques (paragraphe 93 [ 1 ] );
  • dispositions relatives aux urgences (paragraphe 200 [ 1 ] );
  • dispositions relatives aux opérations gouvernementales sur le territoire domanial et des terres autochtones (paragraphes 209 [ 1 ] et [2] );
  • dispositions relatives à la pollution atmosphérique internationale et à la pollution internationale des eaux (articles 167 et 177), à moins que le règlement ne traite d'une source fédérale.

Pour tout règlement qui pourrait être traité par le biais d'un AE, certaines exigences sont requises.

Dans un premier temps, la législation environnementale de l'autre instance doit contenir des dispositions semblables à celles des articles 17 à 20 de la LCPE (1999). Précisons que les citoyens doivent être autorisés à demander une enquête sur des infractions et être tenus informés de l'avancement du dossier. Les dispositions équivalentes peuvent appartenir à une législation environnementale autre que celle couverte dans l'AE, pourvu que ses dispositions de cette autre législation s'appliquent expressément à cette dernière.

Deuxièmement, les lois de l'autre instance doivent être en vigueur et équivalentes au règlement de la LCPE (1999). Pour être « équivalentes », les lois des deux instances n'ont pas besoin d'être identiques; elles doivent plutôt avoir le même but et le même effet. Par exemple, les méthodes servant à déterminer les limites ou les quotas d'émission pour les émetteurs réglementés devraient permettre d'obtenir des réductions semblables et traiter les émetteurs de façon comparable. Du point de vue des politiques, pour déterminer s'il y a équivalence, il faut établir si des méthodes de mesure produiront des résultats scientifiquement valides et comparables, si ces méthodes sont conformes à la Politique d'observation et d'application de la LCPE (1999) d'Environnement Canada, et si des dispositions prévoient des peines comparables.

Essentiellement, une décision de conclure un AE est valable lorsque le niveau de protection de l'environnement est équivalent.

À quel moment un AE entre-t-il en vigueur?

Il entre en vigueur à la date précisée dans l'accord et prend fin systématiquement cinq ans plus tard. L'accord peut aussi prendre fin plus tôt, sur préavis de trois mois de l'une ou l'autre des parties.

Comment informe-t-on le public?

Avant d'entrer en vigueur, un AE doit être rendu public pour une période de consultation publique de 60 jours au cours de laquelle il est possible de soumettre ses commentaires ou un avis d'objection. Le ministre doit rendre compte publiquement de la façon dont ces observations sont traitées à la fin de la période de 60 jours. Enfin, une fois qu'un accord est conclu, le ministre doit le publier ou, au moyen d'un avis, indiquer qu'il peut être consulté dans la Gazette du Canada.

Quelles sont les conséquences de la non-conformité à un AE?

Dans l'éventualité d'un accord d'équivalence non-conforme, le gouvernement fédéral peut se prévaloir de son droit de mettre fin à l'AE sur préavis de trois mois.

Comment les AE sont-ils utilisés?

L'Alberta est la seule province ayant conclu un AE jusqu'à présent, mais le gouvernement fédéral aimerait utiliser cet outil dans la mesure du possible. Le gouvernement du Canada veut collaborer avec les provinces et les territoires afin de déterminer rapidement dans quels cas les AE peuvent s'appliquer et encourager leur utilisation de façon efficiente et transparente.

Pour plus de renseignements :

Internet :

Registre environnemental de la LCPE

Informathèque

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington, 23e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767 [au Canada seulement] ou 819-997-2800
Télécopieur : 819-994-1412
ATS :
819-994-0736
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :