This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Part I - Canada's Draft National Implementation Plan for the Stockholm Convention

Chapter 9: Report on NIP Consultations and Summary

9.1 Report on NIP Consultations

On May 17, 2004, Canada's Environment Minister announced the coming into force of the Stockholm Convention and urged continued vigilance. Anticipating entry into force of the Convention, in late 2003 Environment Canada formed a small advisory team, including members from federal government agencies and stakeholders, to assist with planning for multistakeholder consultations. In January 2004, a discussion document was prepared and made publicly available. In February and March, 2004, Environment Canada hosted day long meetings in Edmonton, Alberta and Dartmouth, Nova Scotia. A meeting in Gatineau, Quebec spanned a day and a half, with more detailed explanation of the Convention's obligations. Meetings were announced on Environment Canada's Green Lane (POPs website) and invitations and the discussion document were sent to aboriginal organizations, organizations focusing on women and children's health, industrial associations and businesses, environmental nongovernmental organizations, and other levels of Canadian government. Stakeholders were invited to provide written comments and suggestions, in addition to their participation in workshops or if they were unable to attend any of the three sessions. Over 80 individuals from the public, private and nonprofit sector attended the sessions. In addition to comments received during face-to-face sessions, six written comments were submitted for consideration.

In general, stakeholders acknowledged that Canada had played and continues to play an important role in the Stockholm Convention and that northern aboriginal representatives and traditional knowledge were a key contributor to that success. They also agreed that substantial progress had been made in reducing POPs originating in Canada. Stakeholder meetings and subsequent written comments addressed the nature of implementation plans and what level of analysis is required by countries, including Canada, to assess implementation needs. Canada was encouraged to submit an early NIP for discussion among the parties and to maintain stakeholder involvement in its development.

Based on comments received during consultations, Canada produced a draft National Implementation Plan. The plan was discussed through interdepartmental, intergovernmental and multi-stakeholder fora and was released for public consultation in early February 2005. The draft NIP was also posted on Environment Canada's Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 Registry. Stakeholders with particular knowledge, interest and expertise in the Stockholm Convention and/or persistent organic pollutants were invited to a focussed consultation session in Ottawa, Ontario, held on February 14, 2005. Stakeholders were informed that the February 2005 consultation draft would be shared with participants at the first Conference of the Parties (COP-1) in May 2005 and that comments received during the February 2005 consultations, along with those resulting from sharing the NIP with the Conference of the Parties, would be considered in developing the Final NIP, to be delivered to the COP by May 17, 2006. Approximately 25 stakeholders participated and provided comments during that meeting, and additional written comments were delivered to Environment Canada by March 18, 2005. Reports on the 2004 and 2005 consultations are attached to this NIP as Appendices "D", "E" and "F".

9.2 Summary

Canada has been a leader on every front in the battle against POPs. Canadian scientists did much of the original research that showed how POPs were disseminated in the environment, as well as their environmental and health effects. Canada was one of the first countries to ban or restrict their manufacture, use and release. In addition, a Canadian led the negotiations for the Stockholm Convention. Canada also provided a $20 million Canada POPs Fund, administered by the World Bank to help developing countries build their own capacities regarding POPs. Canada was also the only country to make a financial commitment of this kind during the critical negotiating period of the Convention.

POPs are of concern to all regions of Canada, because of the propensity of some POPs to accumulate over a lifetime and to be passed on from one generation to the next, mainly through breast milk. They are of particular concern in Canada's North, where they are trapped in the "Arctic sink". The geographic location and socio-economic activities of Aboriginal Northerners make them particularly susceptible because they eat country food that may contain POPs. Early research in Canada demonstrated the impacts of POPs on the environment and human health and catalyzed Canadian action in international fora, including active involvement in the negotiations leading up to the Stockholm Convention and early signing and ratification of the Treaty.

Canada has federal, provincial and territorial legislation in place and pending that will be used to implement the Stockholm Convention. The federal government has adopted a Toxic Substances Management Policy that guides the management of toxic substances dependent upon their relative risk. Cooperative relationships between the federal and provincial/territorial governments have led to the adoption of Canada Wide Standards for a number of the unintentionally produced POPs under the Convention. In addition to federal and provincial initiatives, Canada's northern aboriginal organizations, municipalities, environmental nongovernmental organizations, industry associations and other groups are engaged in activities that are consistent with the obligations and intent of the Convention.

When Canada signed and ratified the Stockholm Convention, programs were already in place or planned that would enable Canada to meet its obligations under the Stockholm Convention. Canada has already taken action to prohibit and/or take the legal and administrative measures necessary to eliminate the production, use, import and export of all of the intentionally produced chemicals under the Stockholm Convention. The pesticidal registration of all POPs under the Convention either never applied or was discontinued by the late 1990s. HCB, Mirex and PCBs as industrial chemicals are prohibited under CEPA 1999. CEPA 1999 prohibits the use of PCBs, except in specified equipment as allowed under the Convention. Canada's Toxic Substances Management Policy, CEPA 1999 and the Pest Control Products Act guide the assessment of existing and proposed chemical substances and provide for their assessment against criteria of persistence, bioaccumulation, and toxicity. Canada is currently categorizing its inventory of existing substances (some 23,000) using these criteria, and will conduct further screening level assessments for substances that meet persistence and bioaccumulation criteria that are roughly equivalent to those under the Stockholm Convention. Health Canada's Pest Management Review Agency (PMRA) conducts periodic and regular review of pesticides that are currently registered and assesses them against TSMP criteria. The combination of the CEPA 1999 categorization/screening project, PMRA reviews and the assessment of chemicals and pesticides newly proposed for introduction to Canada will ensure that persistent organic pollutants are further reduced over time in Canada or not introduced at all.

Management of unintentionally produced POPs in Canada has focussed largely on releases of dioxins and furans. Reductions in HCB are expected to parallel reductions in dioxins/furans emissions. Significant strides in the reduction and virtual elimination of dioxins and furans have been achieved to date in Canada. Reduction and elimination strategies are based on a mix of management tools including regulations, guidelines, environmental codes of practice, and other tools, such as education programs. Many of these instruments are based on the application of best available techniques and best environmental practices.

As a result of actions taken from the 1970s through the 1990s, there are no stockpiles of POPs pesticides in Canada. PCBs were never manufactured in Canada, but they were imported for use and have been used in a wide range of products. The use of PCBs has been prohibited for many years except for specified existing equipment. The 2002 Annual Report of the National Inventories of PCBs in Use and PCB Wastes in Storage in Canada (Appendix "B") indicates that nationally, between 1992 and 2002, PCB items in use declined by one-third to 9,647 tonnes; PCBs stored in waste declined by 30 percent to 99,190 tonnes. Environment Canada is currently revising its PCB regulatory framework. The proposed revisions will:

  • prohibit the storage of PCB material after December 31, 2009;
  • prohibit long term storage of additional PCB material;
  • prohibit the storage of PCB material in sensitive locations; and
  • require reporting on PCBs in use, in storage and destroyed.

Canada's National Action Plan (NAP) on unintentionally produced Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs) is attached to this NIP as Part II. It identifies Canada's plans for meeting the obligations under Article 5 of the Stockholm Convention on POPs, namely, measures to reduce or eliminate releases from unintentional production of polychlorinated dibenzo-para-dioxins, polychlorinated dibenzofurans, hexachlorobenzene and polychlorinated biphenyls. The NAP presents information on current release inventories, laws and policies, and the strategies that Canada has adopted in its domestic programs consistent with the Convention.

As a party to the Basel and Rotterdam Conventions, Canada complies with international standards related to environmentally sound management and prior informed consent regarding POPs under the Stockholm Convention. PCBs are the primary POP of concern for hazardous waste management in Canada. Proposed revisions to the Export and Import of Hazardous Wastes Regulations under CEPA 1999 will require that the exporter or importer of hazardous wastes notify whether the wastes to be exported or imported contain POPs in excess of the low POP content referred to in Article 6, paragraph 2(c) and defined in paragraphs 28 and 29 of the Basel Convention's General technical guidelines for the environmentally sound management of wastes consisting of, containing or contaminated with POPs (UNEP/CHW.7/8/Add.1 /Rev.1) including notification of their quantity and concentration.

Canada makes environmental and human health information on POPs available to the public, and has existing labeling and consumer awareness measures. There is a wide range of information provided, from scientific journal articles and workshop proceedings to the transparent processes of substance assessments under CEPA 1999. Public information on POPs is available through a variety of sources, including federal, provincial and territorial Internet sites. As the federal government moves forward with its government-on-line initiative, this will likely facilitate the availability of even broader amounts of public information in the future.

Canada has a number of domestic programs dealing with research, development and monitoring of POPs, which contribute to international knowledge. In addition, Canada participates directly in international POPs research and monitoring activities, including assisting capacity building in countries and countries with economies in transition.

During negotiations leading up to the Convention's entry into force, Canada has shared information with other countries and has responded to requests for information from them, and from the interim Secretariat, and will continue to do so. In 2000, Canada established the five-year $20 million (Cdn) Canada POPs Fund, administered by the World Bank, to assist developing countries and countries with economies in transition to build their capacities to deal with POPs and to implement their obligations under the Convention. In addition, Canada will continue its participation in the Global Environment Facility (GEF), the interim funding mechanism for the Convention.

Canada will maintain programs that are consistent with its obligations under the Convention and, as the Convention comes fully into force, will participate in decision-making concerning reporting, effectiveness evaluation and the addition of new substances to the Convention and will implement those decisions in accordance with domestic policy.

Looking to the future, Canada intends to maintain its active contributions to the Stockholm Convention and to continue improvements to domestic policies and programs that reflect the obligations and intent of the Convention and the transparency and public involvement that was instrumental to the development of the Convention. The major activities will include:

  • continuing assessment of new and existing chemicals for their persistence, bioaccumulation and inherent toxicity, and consulting on potential candidate POPs
  • contributing to evaluation of the effectiveness of the Convention through participation in global monitoring programs and through national reporting mechanisms
  • reviewing the national implementation plan and the national action plan on unintentional POPs on a regular basis.
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Partie I : Plan national de mise en oeuvre du Canada en vertu de la Convention de Stockholm

9. Rapport sur les consultations au sujet du PNMO et sommaire

9.1 Rapport sur les consultations au sujet du PNMO

Le 17 mai 2004 , le ministre de l'Environnement du Canada a annoncé l'entrée en vigueur de la Convention de Stockholm et vivement recommandé une vigilance constante. À la fin de 2003, e n prévision de cette entrée en vigueur , Environnement Canada a chargé une petite équipe consultative composée notamment de représentants des organismes gouvernementaux fédéraux et des intervenants de participer à la planification des consultations multipartites. En janvier 2004, un document de travail a été préparé et publié. En février et en mars 2004, Environnement Canada a été l'hôte de réunions d'un jour à Edmonton, en Alberta, et à Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Une réunion tenue à Gatineau, au Québec, a duré une journée et demie, et les obligations imposées par la Convention ont fait l'objet d'explications détaillées. Ces réunions ont été annoncées sur le site Web des POP d'Environnement Canada, et des invitations et le document de travail ont été envoyés aux organisations autochtones, aux organisations vouées aux femmes et à la santé des enfants, aux entreprises et aux associations industrielles, aux organisations environnementales non gouvernementales et à d'autres échelons du gouvernement canadien. Les intervenants ont été invités à fournir des commentaires et des suggestions par écrit en plus de leur participation aux ateliers ou s'il leur était impossible d'assister à l'une des trois réunions. Plus de 80 représentants du public et des secteurs privé et sans but non lucratif ont assisté aux séances. Outre les opinions exprimées en personne au cours de ces rencontres, six commentaires ont été envoyés par écrit.

En général, les intervenants reconnaissent l'apport important du Canada à la Convention de Stockholm, apport que l'on doit en partie aux représentants des peuples autochtones septentrionaux et au savoir traditionnel. Les intervenants ont aussi convenu que des progrès notables avaient été accomplis dans la réduction des POP produits au Canada. Les rencontres auxquelles ils ont participé et les commentaires qu'ils ont envoyés par la suite portent sur la nature des plans de mise en oeuvre et l'ampleur des analyses que devront réaliser les pays, dont le Canada, pour évaluer les exigences de mise en oeuvre. On a encouragé le Canada à présenter un PNMO rapidement pour que les Parties puissent en discuter et à continuer d'associer les intervenants à l'élaboration du plan.

En s'appuyant sur les commentaires présentés au cours des consultations, le Canada a produit une version préliminaire du Plan national de mise en oeuvre. Celui-ci a fait l'objet de discussions lors de forums interministériels, intergouvernementaux et multipartites et été publié au début de février 2005 pour que le public puisse exprimer son opinion. Le PNMO a aussi été affiché sur le site du Registre de la Loi canadienne de la protection de l'environnement de 1999 d'Environnement Canada. Les intervenants qui s'intéressent particulièrement à la Convention de Stockholm ou aux POP, notamment en raison de leurs connaissances ou de leur expertise, ont été invités à une séance de consultation ciblée le 14 février 2005 à Ottawa, en Ontario. Ils ont été informés du fait que le document provisoire issu des consultations de février 2005 serait remis aux participants à la CdP-1, en mai 2005, et que les commentaires recueillis lors des consultations de février 2005 et à la Conférence des Parties seraient pris en compte dans l'élaboration de la version définitive du PNMO, que le Canada doit soumettre à la CdP avant le 17 mai 2006. Une douzaine d'intervenants ont participé à cette réunion et donné leur avis, et d'autres ont fait parvenir des commentaires écrits à Environnement Canada avant le 18 mars 2005. Les rapports sur les consultations de 2004 et de 2005 sont joints au présent PNMO en tant qu'annexes D, E et F.

9.2 Sommaire

Les scientifiques canadiens ont fait le plus gros du travail des premières recherches qui ont montré comment les POP se propageaient dans l'environnement et quels effets ils avaient sur la santé et l'environnement. Le Canada a été parmi les premiers pays à interdire ou à restreindre la fabrication, l'utilisation et le rejet de ces substances. De surcroît, c'est un Canadien qui a dirigé les négociations de la Convention de Stockholm. Enfin, pour aider les pays en développement à renforcer leurs capacités de gérer les POP, le Canada a créé un fonds sur les POP de 20 millions de dollars qui est administré par la Banque mondiale. C'est le seul pays à avoir pris un engagement financier de ce genre durant la période cruciale des négociations de la Convention.

Les POP sont préoccupants dans toutes les régions du Canada, car certains d'entre eux peuvent s'accumuler dans le corps tout au long de la vie et être transmis d'une génération à l'autre, essentiellement par le lait maternel. La situation s'avère notamment inquiétante dans le Nord du Canada, où les POP sont emprisonnés dans le « puits arctique ». En raison de leur situation géographique et de leurs activités socioéconomiques, les Autochtones du Nord sont particulièrement vulnérables parce qu'ils consomment de la nourriture régionale susceptible de contenir des POP. Très tôt, les recherches menées au Canada ont révélé les incidences des POP sur l'environnement et la santé humaine et motivé l'intervention canadienne dans les forums internationaux, y compris une participation active aux négociations qui ont mené à la Convention de Stockholm ainsi qu'à une signature et une ratification rapides du traité.

Le Canada mise sur la législation fédérale, provinciale et territoriale en place et à venir pour mettre en oeuvre la Convention de Stockholm. Le gouvernement fédéral a mis en place la PGST, qui oriente la gestion des substances toxiques en fonction de leur risque relatif. La collaboration entre le gouvernement fédéral et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux a entraîné l'adoption des normes pancanadiennes pour certains POP produits non intentionnellement aux termes de la Convention. Outre les initiatives fédérales et provinciales, les organisations autochtones septentrionales du Canada, les municipalités, les organisations environnementales non gouvernementales, les associations de l'industrie et d'autres groupes prennent part à des activités conformes aux obligations et à l'objectif de la Convention.

Lorsque le Canada a signé et ratifié la Convention de Stockholm, les programmes en place ou prévus devaient lui permettre de remplir ses obligations. Déjà, le Canada a pris des mesures pour interdire ou pris les mesures juridiques et administratives qui s'imposent pour éliminer la production, l'utilisation, l'importation et l'exportation de toutes les substances chimiques produites intentionnellement qui sont inscrites dans la Convention. L'homologation des usages antiparasitaires de tous les POP figurant dans la Convention n'a jamais eu lieu ou a été abandonnée à la fin des années 1990. La LCPE 1999 interdit l'usage de l'HCB, du mirex et des BPC comme produits chimiques industriels ainsi que celui des BPC, sauf dans l'équipement déterminé, comme l'autorise la Convention. La PGST, la LCPE 1999 et la LPA du Canada aiguillent l'évaluation des substances chimiques proposées et existantes et prévoient leur évaluation par rapport aux critères de persistance, de bioaccumulation et de toxicité. Le Canada classe actuellement par catégorie les (quelque 23 000) substances existantes de son inventaire en fonction de ces critères et effectuera d'autres analyses préalables des substances répondant à des critères de persistance et de bioaccumulation qui sont grosso modo équivalents à ceux définis en vertu de la Convention. L'ARLA de Santé Canada procède à un examen périodique des pesticides homologués et les évalue en appliquant les critères de la PGST. Les effets conjugués du projet de catégorisation et d'analyse préalable exécuté en vertu de la LCPE 1999, des examens réalisés par l'ARLA et de l'évaluation des substances chimiques et des pesticides proposés aux fins d'introduction au Canada feront en sorte que les POP continueront de diminuer au fil du temps ou ne seront pas mis en marché au Canada.

La gestion des POPPNI au Canada s'est surtout concentrée sur les rejets de dioxines et de furannes. Selon les prévisions, les réductions des rejets d'HCB devraient suivre une courbe parallèle à celles des émissions de dioxines et de furannes. Jusqu'à présent, le Canada a fait des progrès importants dans la réduction et la quasi-élimination des dioxines et des furannes. Les stratégies de réduction et d'élimination sont fondées sur une combinaison d'outils de gestion, notamment les règlements, les lignes directrices et les codes de pratique environnementaux, et d'autres outils, tels que les programmes d'éducation. Ces outils s'appuient souvent sur l'application des meilleures techniques disponibles et des meilleures pratiques environnementales.

Grâce aux mesures prises des années 1970 aux années 1990, il n'y a pas de stocks de pesticides qui sont des POP au Canada. Les BPC n'ont jamais été fabriqués au Canada, mais on les a importés en vue de les utiliser et ils sont entrés dans la composition d'un large éventail de produits. L'usage des BPC est interdit depuis de nombreuses années, sauf dans de l'équipement existant particulier. L'Inventaire national des matières contenant des BPC utilisées ou entreposées au Canada : Rapport sommaire de 2002 (voir l'annexe B ci-jointe) indique qu'au Canada, entre 1992 et 2002, les articles en circulation contenant des BPC se chiffraient à 9 647 tonnes, soit une diminution d'un tiers, et les déchets entreposés contenant des BPC s'élevaient à 99 190 tonnes, soit une diminution de 30 p. 100. Environnement Canada révise actuellement son cadre de réglementation des BPC. Voici les révisions proposées :

  • interdiction d'entreposer du matériel contenant des BPC après le 31 décembre 2009 ,
  • interdiction d'entreposer à long terme du nouveau matériel contenant des BPC,
  • interdiction d'entreposer du matériel contenant des BPC dans les endroits névralgiques ,
  • obligation de déclarer les BPC en circulation, en entreposage ou détruits.

Le PAN constitue la partie II de ce PNMO. On y expose les initiatives qu'a prises le Canada pour s'acquitter des obligations imposées par l'article 5 de la Convention de Stockholm sur les POP, à savoir l'application de mesures pour réduire ou éliminer les rejets de la production non intentionnelle de polychlorodibenzo-p-dioxines , de p olychlorodibenzofurannes , d'hexachlorobenzène et de biphényles polychlorés. Le PAN contient des renseignements sur les inventaires de rejets, lois et politiques actuels et présente les stratégies que le Canada a adoptées dans ses programmes nationaux conformément à la Convention.

En tant que Partie aux Conventions de Bâle et de Rotterdam, le Canada respecte les normes internationales pour la gestion écologiquement rationnelle et le consentement préalable en connaissance de cause concernant les POP inscrits dans la Convention de Stockholm. Les BPC sont les POP les plus préoccupants au chapitre de la gestion des déchets dangereux au Canada. Des projets de modification du Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation des déchets dangereux de la LCPE 1999 veulent que l'exportateur ou l'importateur de déchets dangereux déclare si les déchets devant être exportés ou importés contiennent une teneur en POP dépassant celle, peu élevée, qui est mentionnée à l'alinéa 6.2c) et définie aux articles 28 et 29 des directives techniques générales de la Convention de Bâle sur la gestion écologiquement rationnelle des déchets constitués de POP, en contenant ou contaminés par eux (UNEP/CHW.7/8/Add.1/Rev.1). La déclaration doit comprendre la quantité et la concentration des POP.

Le Canada met à la disposition du public des informations sanitaires et environnementales relatives aux POP et applique des mesures d'étiquetage et de sensibilisation des consommateurs. L'information fournie, très diversifiée, provient autant d'articles de revues scientifiques et de procès-verbaux d'ateliers que de processus transparents d'évaluations des substances effectuées conformément à la LCPE 1999. Le public peut se renseigner sur les POP en consultant diverses sources, notamment les sites Internet fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux. La mise en oeuvre de l'initiative fédérale de cybergouvernement devrait faciliter la diffusion d'une masse encore plus grande d'informations.

Le Canada exécute plusieurs programmes nationaux de recherche-développement et de surveillance qui portent sur les POP et contribuent à enrichir les connaissances mondiales. En outre, le Canada participe directement aux activités internationales de recherche et de surveillance concernant les POP, notamment en aidant les pays en développement et les pays à économie en transition à renforcer leurs capacités.

Au cours des négociations qui ont abouti à l'entrée en vigueur de la Convention, le Canada a échangé des informations avec les autres pays et a donné suite à des demandes d'information de ceux-ci et du Secrétariat intérimaire et continuera de le faire. En 2000, le Canada a créé le Fonds canadien sur les POP, un fonds quinquennal de 20 000 000 $ CAN administré par la Banque mondiale, pour aider les pays en développement et les pays à économie en transition à renforcer leurs moyens de traiter les POP et à s'acquitter de leurs obligations au titre de la Convention.

De surcroît, le Canada continuera de participer au Fonds pour l'environnement mondial (FEM) qui fait office, à titre provisoire, de mécanisme financier de la Convention.

Le Canada mettra en oeuvre des programmes compatibles avec ses obligations au titre de la Convention. Lorsque la Convention entrera pleinement en vigueur, il participera au processus de décisions sur les rapports, l'évaluation de l'efficacité et l'inscription de nouvelles substances dans la Convention et appliquera les décisions prises conformément à sa politique nationale.

Dans l'avenir, le Canada a l'intention de continuer à prendre une part active aux activités entourant la Convention de Stockholm et à améliorer les politiques et programmes nationaux en s'inspirant de l'objectif et des obligations de la Convention, en faisant preuve de transparence et en sollicitant la participation du public, qui a joué un joué un rôle déterminant dans l'élaboration de la Convention. Voici quelques-unes des principales activités proposées :

  • évaluation continue des substances chimiques nouvelles et existantes pour en déterminer la persistance, la bioaccumulation et la toxicité inhérente et consultations sur l'inscription éventuelle d'autres POP;
  • participation à l'évaluation de l'efficacité de la Convention au moyen des programmes mondiaux de surveillance et du mécanisme de déclaration national;
  • examen à intervalles réguliers du plan national de mise en oeuvre et du plan d'action national relatif aux POPPNI.
Date de modification :