This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Advisory Notice for Transition Engines Installed in Machines Sold Only in Canada under the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations (03-2006)

Purpose

This Advisory Notice outlines the procedure Environment Canada is applying to machines sold only in Canada under the transition engine provisions of the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations. This procedure is being applied as an interim measure pending the amendment of the transition engine provisions of the Regulations.

Description of Transition Engine Provisions

The Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 came into effect on January 1, 2006 and establish standards for smog-forming emissions from diesel engines used in a variety of off-road applications (e.g., construction, agricultural, forestry and mining equipment) in alignment with the standards of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

The U.S. EPA's provisions for transition engines (also referred to as flexibility engines) allow machine manufacturers to install engines that are not certified to the new emission standards in a limited percentage or in a small volume of machines during a seven-year period. All transition engines must meet the previous Tier 1 or Tier 2 emission standards, except those in the less than 19 kW power category.

The transition engine provisions of the Canadian Regulations were developed, in consultation with stakeholders, to allow machines that qualify under the U.S. transition engine provisions and that are sold in the U.S. to be sold in Canada. The Regulations currently limit the use of the transition engine provisions to machines that are sold concurrently in Canada and the U.S. However, it has come to Environment Canada's attention that there are limited cases where machines are manufactured in Canada and sold in Canada but not sold in the U.S.

Environment Canada recognizes that it is reasonable for a Canadian machine manufacturer to have the equivalent flexibility to offer for sale in Canada machines that would otherwise be eligible for sale in Canada if they were sold in the U.S. Accordingly, Environment Canada will be amending the Regulations to address transition engines installed in machines that are sold only in Canada during the upcoming process to amend the Regulations to incorporate the U.S. Tier 4 emission standards.

Interim Procedure for Transition Engines

As an interim measure, Environment Canada is applying the following procedure to address transition engines installed in machines sold only in Canada as a means of providing equivalent flexibility to the provisions in the Regulations for transition engines installed in machines that are sold concurrently in Canada and the U.S.

A Canadian company may sell a transition engine installed in a machine that is sold only in Canada, provided that:

  • the company informs the Minister1 in writing of its intention to do so, along with the street address of the place of business in Canada where the calculations, data and information in respect of the evidence of conformity are kept;
  • the machine conforms to the requirements of subsections 13(1) to 13(4) with the calculations based on Canadian sales;
  • the company submits the declaration referred to in section 19 of the Regulations (refer to Chapter 8 of the "Guidance Document for the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations"2) and makes the statement under subparagraph 19(1)(e)(ii) that "The company is able to produce the evidence of conformity under section 17 of the Canadian Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations"; and
  • the company and engine conform to all other applicable requirements of the Regulations.

In the case of transition engines installed in machines that are sold only in Canada, the evidence of conformity listed in section 7.4 of the "Guidance Document for the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations"2, with the following changes, will be satisfactory:

  • the calculations referred to in item 4 shall be based on the Canadian company's sales of machines in Canada only;
  • the Canadian company shall keep the calculations and any data or information related thereto at its principal place of business in Canada as referred to above; and
  • the documentation referred to in item 8 is not required.

The procedure set out in this Advisory Notice maintains Environment Canada's overall objective and policy to reduce emissions from engines in alignment with U.S. EPA Rules, on which the current Regulations are based. This procedure will apply only until the Regulations are amended to incorporate provisions that address transition engines installed in machines that are sold only in Canada.

If you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact Mr. Morrie Kirshenblatt at 613-991-4569 or morrie.kirshenblatt@ec.gc.ca.

Director, Transportation Division
Environment Canada


1  The "Minister" is the federal Minister of the Environment. Where information is required to be submitted to the Minister, unless otherwise directed, it should be sent to: Director, Transportation Division, Clean Air Directorate, Environment Canada, 351 St-Joseph Blvd, Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H3.

2  The "Guidance Document for the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations" is available on Environment Canada's CEPA Registry.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉ - Avis d'information pour les moteurs de transition installés dans les machines vendues seulement au Canada en vertu du Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression (03-2006)

Objectif

Cet avis d'information décrit la procédure qu'Environnement Canada applique aux machines vendues seulement au Canada en vertu des dispositions sur les moteurs de transition du Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression. Cette procédure constitue une mesure intérimaire jusqu'à ce que les dispositions sur les moteurs de transition du Règlement soient modifiées.

Description des dispositions sur les moteurs de transition

Le Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression est entré en vigueur le 1 janvier 2006 en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999). Il établit les normes sur les émissions des moteurs diesel contribuant à la formation du smog, qui sont utilisés dans une variété d'applications hors route (par ex., les équipements utilisés dans les domaines agricole, forestier, minier et de la construction) en s’alignant sur les normes de l’Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des Etats-Unis.

Les dispositions de l'EPA américaine sur les moteurs de transition (aussi connus sous l’appellation de moteurs de flexibilité) permettent aux fabricants de machines d'installer dans leur production un pourcentage limité ou un petit volume de moteurs non-certifiés aux nouvelles normes au cours d'une période de sept ans. Tous les moteurs de transition sont soumis aux normes d'émissions existantes des Groupes 1 et 2, sauf ceux de la catégorie de puissance de moins de 19 kW.

Les dispositions pour les moteurs de transition du Règlement canadien ont été développées en consultation avec les intervenants afin de permettre la vente au Canada de machines qui sont vendues aux États-Unis et qui se qualifient en vertu des dispositions américaines pour les moteurs de transition. Le Règlement limite présentement l'usage des dispositions pour les moteurs de transition à ceux vendus simultanément au Canada et aux États-Unis. Cependant, Environnement Canada a pris connaissance du fait que certains cas existent où les machines sont fabriquées au Canada et sont vendues au Canada mais non au États-Unis.

Environnement Canada reconnaît qu'il est raisonnable pour un fabricant canadien de machines d'avoir une flexibilité équivalente pour offrir des machines pour la vente au Canada qui seraient autrement éligibles pour la vente au Canada si elles étaient aussi vendues aux États-Unis. Par conséquent, Environnement Canada modifiera le Règlement pour traiter des moteurs de transition installés dans des machines qui sont vendues seulement au Canada en même temps que le processus de modification du Règlement sera mené pour incorporer les normes d'émissions américaines du Groupe 4.

Procédure intérimaire pour les moteurs de transition

Comme mesure intérimaire, Environnement Canada appliquera la procédure qui suit pour traiter des moteurs de transition installés dans les machines vendues seulement au Canada de façon à fournir une flexibilité équivalente aux dispositions présentes dans le Règlement pour les moteurs de transition installés dans les machines vendus simultanément au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Une entreprise canadienne peut vendre un moteur de transition installé dans une machine vendue seulement au Canada pourvu que :

  • l'entreprise informe le ministre1 par écrit de son intention en incluant son adresse d'affaires au Canada là où sont maintenus les calculs, les données et l'information relatives à la preuve de la conformité;
  • la machine respecte les exigences des paragraphes 13(1) à 13(4) avec le calcul basé sur les ventes au Canada;
  • l'entreprise soumet la déclaration à laquelle réfère l'article 19 du Règlement (se référer au chapitre 8 du « Document d'orientation pour le Règlement sur les missions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression »2) et émet l'énoncé selon le sous-alinéa 19(1)(e)(ii) que « l'entreprise peut produire la preuve de conformité en vertu de l'article 17 du Règlement canadien sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression »;
  • l'entreprise et le moteur se conforment à toutes les autres exigences applicables du Règlement.

Dans le cas des moteurs de transition installés dans des machines vendues seulement au Canada, la preuve de la conformité énoncé au paragraphe 7.4 du « Document d'orientation pour le Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression »2 est suffisante en tenant compte des modifications suivantes :

  • le calcul mentionné à l'item 4 sera fondée sur les ventes de machines de l'entreprise canadienne seulement au Canada;
  • l'entreprise canadienne tiendra les calculs et toutes les données ou informations relatives dans son lieu principal d'affaires au Canada, comme visé ci-dessus;
  • la documentation identifiée à l'item 8 n'est pas exigée.

La procédure telle que décrite dans cet avis d'information maintient l'objectif global et la politique d'Environnement Canada de réduire les émissions des moteurs en s’alignant sur les Règles de l'EPA des États-Unis sur lesquelles le présent Règlement est fondé. Cette procédure s'appliquera seulement jusqu'à ce que le Règlement soit modifié pour incorporer les dispositions qui adressent les moteurs de transition installés dans des machines qui sont vendues seulement au Canada.

Si vous avez des questions à ce sujet, prière de communiquer avec M. Morrie Kirshenblatt au numéro (613) 991-4569 ou à l'adresse courriel morrie.kirshenblatt@ec.gc.ca.

Directeur, Division du transport
Environnement Canada


1 Le « ministre » est le ministre fédéral de l'environnement. Lorsque l'information doit être soumise au ministre, sauf avis contraire, elle doit être envoyée à : Directeur, Division du transport, Direction de l'air pur, Environnement Canada, 351 boul. St-Joseph, Gatineau, Québec K1A 0H3.

2 Le « Document d'orientation pour le Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression » est disponible sur le Registre de la LCPE d'Environnement Canada.

Date de modification :