This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Consultations on Canada's Draft National Implementation Plan under the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs) - February / March 2005

On May 23, 2001, Canada was the first country to sign and ratify the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs), a global agreement that will dramatically reduce or eliminate emissions of 12 POPs that are known to result in serious harm to the environment and human health. By May 17, 2006, Canada is required to submit a National Implementation Plan (NIP) describing how it will implement its obligations under the Convention.

Environment Canada has led development of Canada's Draft National Implementation Plan on behalf of the federal government. Comments and advice received from written comments and three regional workshops held in Winter 2004 were considered in this process.

This Draft NIP includes:

Canada proposes to provide our draft NIP as an information piece at the Stockholm Convention's first Conference of Parties (COP-1) in Uruguay May 2-6, 2005. The draft NIP that is forwarded to COP-1 will include a report on consultations, including those held in 2004 and 2005. Following COP-1, Canada will consider all advice received, and will then complete our NIP and submit it to the COP before May 17, 2006. Before submitting the final NIP to the Conference of the Parties in 2006, final consultations will be held.

We ask that you submit your comments no later than March 18, 2005. Comments may be submitted in writing, via email, or fax, to the attention of:

Greg Filyk
Manager, Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs)
Environment Canada, Transboundary Air Issues Branch
351 St Joseph Boulevard, 11th Floor Gatineau, Quebec Canada K1A 0H3
Telephone: (819) 953-5945
Fax: (819) 953-8963
Email: Greg.Filyk@ec.gc.ca

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉ - Consultations sur le Plan national de mise en oeuvre en vertu de la Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants (POP) - février/mars 2005

Le 23 mai 2001, le Canada a été le premier pays à signer et à ratifier la Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants (POP), un accord international qui entraînera une réduction appréciable ou l'élimination des émissions de 12 POP reconnus pour être dangereux pour l'environnement et la santé humaine. D'ici le 17 mai 2006, le Canada doit présenter un plan national de mise en oeuvre (PNMO) décrivant la façon dont il entend s'acquitter de ses obligations en vertu de la Convention.

Environnement Canada a dirigé l'élaboration du plan national de mise en oeuvre provisoire du Canada pour le compte du gouvernement fédéral. Dans le cadre de ce processus, on a tenu compte des commentaires et des conseils reçus par écrit et formulés lors de trois ateliers régionaux qui ont eu lieu à l'hiver 2004.

Cette version préliminaire du PNMO comprend ce qui suit :

Le Canada propose d'offrir, à titre d'information, le PNMO provisoire du Canada à la première Conférence des Parties (CdP 1) à la Convention de Stockholm, qui aura lieu en Uruguay du 2 au 6 mai 2005. Le PNMO provisoire qui sera transmis à la CdP-1 comprendra un rapport sur les consultations, y compris celles tenues en 2004 et en 2005. Après la CdP 1, le Canada tiendra compte de tous les conseils reçus, et parachèvera son PNMO définitif et le présentera à la CdP avant le 17 mai 2006. Avant de présenter le PNMO définitif à la CdP, en 2006, on consultera les intervenants une dernière fois.

Veuillez faire parvenir vos commentaires au sujet du présent document, avant le 18 mars 2005. Vous pouvez soumettre vos commentaires par écrit, par courriel ou par télécopieur, à l'attention de :

Greg Filyk
Gestionnaire, Polluants organiques persistants (POP)
Environnement Canada, Direction des questions atmosphériques transfrontalières
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph, 11e étage, Gatineau (Québec) Canada K1A 0H3
Téléphone : (819) 953-5945
Téléc. : (819) 953-8963
Courriel : Greg.Filyk@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :