Notice of objection - Minister's response

APR 26 2017

Mr. Jose Luis Gutierrez-Garda
Project Director
Upcycle the Gyres Society
joseluis@upgyres.org

Dear Mr. Gutierrez-Garda:

Thank you for your email message of November 29, 2016, providing me with your notice of objection with respect to the proposed regulations for microbeads in personal care products. I regret the delay in responding.

Your notice of objection requests that I establish a board of review. More specifically, it objects to the coming into force dates that were included in the proposed Microbeads in Toiletries Regulations, which were published in Part I of the Canada Gazette on November 5, 2016, for a 75-day comment period that ended on January 19, 2017.

You outlined your support for the proposed regulations and urged the Government of Canada to expand the scope to include other sources of microplastics. You also raised questions about the responsible disposal of leftover inventory that contains microbeads.

I have carefully considered the issues set out in your notice of objection and your request that I establish a board of review. I decline the establishment of the board you requested.

Please be assured that the Government of Canada is committed to consulting with all stakeholders and the public on the development of these regulations, and that all issues brought forth will be considered in an open and transparent manner. To that end, Environment and Climate Change Canada will summarize the comments received during the consultation period, including yours, and describe how these matters have been addressed in the regulatory impact analysis statement that will be published with the Regulations in the Canada Gazette, Part II.

Reducing plastic pollution in lakes and rivers will help to protect the long-term health of the environment. For more information on the Government of Canada's actions on microbeads, please visit www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/chemical-substances/other-chemical-substances-interest/microbeads.html.

I appreciate your bringing the concerns of the Upcycle the Gyres Society to my attention. Please accept my best regards.

Sincerely,

The Honourable Catherine McKenna, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Réponse de la Ministre à l'avis d'opposition

Monsieur José Luis Gutiérrez-García, directeur de projet
Upcycle the Gyres Society
joseluis@upgyres.org

Monsieur,

Je vous remercie de votre courriel du 29 novembre 2016 dans lequel vous avez présenté votre avis d'opposition à l'égard du projet de règlement sur l'utilisation des microbilles dans les produits de soins personnels.

Je vous prie de m'excuser d'avoir tardé à vous répondre.

Par l'entremise de votre avis d'opposition, vous me demandez d'établir une commission de révision. Plus précisément, vous vous objectez aux dates d'entrée en vigueur incluses dans le projet de Règlement sur les microbilles dans les produits de toilette, lequel a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 5 novembre 2016 pour une période de commentaires de 75 jours, période qui a pris fin le 19 janvier 2017.
Vous exprimez votre appui envers le projet de règlement et vous exhortez le gouvernement canadien à en élargir la portée afin d'inclure d'autres sources de microplastiques. Vous soulevez également des questions sur l'élimination responsable des stocks de produits restants contenant des microbilles.

J'ai examiné attentivement les points exposés dans votre avis d'opposition ainsi que votre demande d'établir une commission de révision. Je refuse d'établir la commission que vous demandez.

Soyez assuré que le gouvernement du Canada prend à coeur de consulter tous les intervenants ainsi que le public à propos de l'élaboration de ce règlement, et que chaque enjeu soulevé sera considéré de façon ouverte et transparente. À cet effet, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada résumera les commentaires reçus lors de la période de consultation, y compris les vôtres, et décrira comment ces sujets auront été abordés dans le Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation qui sera publié conjointement avec le Règlement dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II.

La réduction de la pollution par le plastique dans les lacs et rivières contribuera à protéger la santé à long terme de l'environnement. Pour obtenir davantage d'information sur les mesures prises par le gouvernement du Canada à l'égard des microbilles, je vous invite à visiter le www.canada.ca/fr/sante-canada/services/substances-chimiques/autres-substances-chimiques-interets/microbilles.html.

Je vous remercie d'avoir porté à mon attention les préoccupations de la Upcycle the Gyres Society. Je vous prie d'agréer, monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Cordialement,


L'honorable Catherine McKenna, C.P., députée Ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique

Date de modification :