This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister of the Environment Letterhead

 

June 15, 2012

The Honourable Jim Bradley, M.P.P.
Minister of the Environment
Government of Ontario
Ferguson Block, 11th Floor
77 Wellesley Street West
Toronto ON  M7A 2T5

Dear Minister:

Thank you for your letter of May 23, 2012, confirming your commitment to the negotiation of a new Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem (COA)

As you noted, for over 40 years, Canada and Ontario have worked together under a series of agreements to restore, protect and conserve the Great Lakes.  Environment Canada is proud of this historical cooperation and values the contributions that were made to meet Canada’s obligations under the Canada-United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement (GLWQA).

In 2010, Canada and the United States began negotiations to amend and modernize the GLWQA, and I would like to express my appreciation for the vital role that Ontario has played throughout the negotiations process. Taking into full account the advice and input provided by the Ontario Ministry of the Environment, Canada and the United States are negotiating a streamlined and expanded GLWQA to more comprehensively address current problems in the Great Lakes, including issues not adequately addressed by the existing Agreement such as the nearshore environment, aquatic invasive species, habitats and species, and climate change impacts.

I would also like to recognize Ontario’s work in the development of a proposed Great Lakes Protection Act and accompanying Great Lakes Strategy. The amended GLWQA will provide the foundation for making even greater progress on the achievement of tangible results for the restoration and protection of Great Lakes water quality. I am pleased to see Ontario move forward with legislation that will help Canada deliver these results.

With the GLWQA negotiations drawing to a close, and Ontario’s proposed Great Lakes Protection Act tabled, I propose that negotiations for a new COA begin immediately and that our two governments move as expeditiously as possible to conclude a new agreement. A new COA will set out the action plan for the federal and provincial governments to work cooperatively toward its shared goals.

Over the coming months, the Government of Canada looks forward to working with Ontario to meaningfully engage and involve the Great Lakes community in the development of a new COA. As we begin formal negotiations, I am pleased to name Mr. Michael Goffin, Regional Director General for Environment Canada in Ontario, as Chief Negotiator on behalf of the Government of Canada.

In the meantime, I remain committed to continuing the solid collaboration that Canada and Ontario have always exercised in improving Great Lakes water quality.

The Government of Canada continues to sustain its strong commitment to the Great Lakes, even in these times of fiscal restraint. Federally, we have made significant investments towards cleaning up Areas of Concern and the remediation of contaminated sediments, addressing toxics and nuisance algae, improving water quality in Lake Simcoe and addressing threats posed by Asian Carp. I am enclosing some information on recent federal commitments in the Great Lakes.

The Great Lakes are vital in supporting our environment, our economy, and our society.  By continuing our collaborative efforts, we can continue to make progress on this rich and valuable natural resource.

I appreciate Ontario’s continued commitment to protect and improve our shared Great Lakes, and we look forward to continued cooperation under a new Agreement.

Sincerely,

The Honourable Peter Kent, P.C., M.P.

Enclosure

c.c.:  The Honourable Gerry Ritz, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
        The Honourable Keith Ashfield, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans
        The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health
        The Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Natural Resources
        The Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Public Works and Government Services
        The Honourable Denis Lebel, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities
        The Honourable Ted McMeekin, Ontario Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
        The Honourable Michael Gravelle, Ontario Minister of Natural Resources

b.c.c.: Michael Goffin, Regional Director General, Ontario Region

Download letter of intent in PDF Format (39 KB)


Federal Commitment to Great Lakes

  • The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that all Canadians have access to clean, safe and healthy water, that there is a reliable and secure supply of water, and that our water resources are used wisely, both economically and ecologically.

  • Under the Government’s Action Plan for Clean Water, action is being taken with a commitment of $48.9 million to remediate contaminated sediment, a key source of toxics, in the Canadian Areas of Concern.

  • The Government of Canada’s commitment to the remediation of Great Lakes Areas of Concern remains strong, with funding of $8 million per year having been renewed and made permanent in Budget 2010.

  • In addition to specifically targeted Great Lakes funding, the Government of Canada also contributes to cleaning up and protecting the lakes through a wide array of national programs and legislation delivered by multiple departments; including Environment Canada, Parks Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Transport Canada, Agriculture and Agri-food Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Health Canada, Public Works and Government Services Canada, and Infrastructure Canada.

  • Canada continues to invest resources in addressing high priority issues, with Budget 2011 providing new funding ($16 million) to address the reoccurrence of toxic and nuisance algae in the Great Lakes, with a particular focus on Lake Erie and Budget 2012 announcing the continuation of the fund to clean up Lake Simcoe.

  • The Honourable Keith Ashfield, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, recently announced new federal funding totalling $17.5 million to protect the Great Lakes from the threat of Asian carp.
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

entête de lettre du Ministre de l'Environnement

Le 15 juin 2012

L'honorable Jim Bradley, député
Ministre de l’Environnement
Gouvernement de l'Ontario
Édifice Ferguson, 11e étage
77, rue Wellesley Ouest
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 2T5

Monsieur,

Je vous remercie pour votre lettre datée du 23 mai 2012 qui confirme votre engagement à l'égard de la négociation d'un nouvel Accord Canada-Ontario concernant l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs (ACO).

Comme vous l'avez mentionné, depuis plus de 40 ans, le Canada et l'Ontario travaillent de concert dans le cadre d'une série d'ententes visant à restaurer, à protéger et à conserver les Grands Lacs. Environnement Canada est fier de cette coopération historique et apprécie ce qui a été fait pour respecter les obligations du Canada en vertu de l'Accord relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs (l'Accord) conclu entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

En 2010, le Canada et les États-Unis ont entamé des négociations visant à modifier et à moderniser l'Accord, et je souhaite exprimer ma reconnaissance pour le rôle crucial que l'Ontario a joué tout au long du processus de négociation. En tenant pleinement compte de l'ensemble des conseils et commentaires fournis par le ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario, le Canada et les États-Unis sont à négocier une version simplifiée et élargie de cet Accord qui permettrait de résoudre les problèmes actuels dans les Grands Lacs, y compris les problèmes qui ne sont pas traités adéquatement par l'accord existant, tels que ceux liés aux zones côtières, aux espèces aquatiques envahissantes, aux habitats et aux espèces et aux répercussions des changements climatiques.

J'aimerais aussi souligner le travail de l'Ontario dans l'élaboration d'un projet de loi sur la protection des Grands Lacs et de la stratégie relative aux Grands Lacs. L'Accord modifié sera le fondement pour réaliser des progrès encore plus marqués à l'égard de l'obtention de résultats tangibles pour la restauration et la protection de la qualité de l'eau des Grands Lacs. Je suis heureux de constater que l'Ontario va de l'avant avec la mesure législative qui aidera le Canada à atteindre ces résultats.

Avec les négociations concernant l'Accord qui tirent à leur fin et le projet de loi sur la protection des Grands Lacs déposé, je propose que les négociations relatives à un nouvel Accord Canada-Ontario s'amorcent immédiatement et que nos deux gouvernements agissent le plus rapidement possible afin de conclure une nouvelle entente. Un nouvel Accord Canada-Ontario permettra d'établir le plan d'action pour les gouvernements fédéral et provincial leur permettant de collaborer afin d'atteindre des objectifs communs.

Au cours des prochains mois, le gouvernement du Canada se réjouit à l'idée de travailler avec le gouvernement de l'Ontario pour véritablement faire participer la collectivité des Grands Lacs dans l'élaboration d'un nouvel Accord Canada-Ontario. Maintenant que nous commençons des négociations officielles, je suis heureux d'annoncer la nomination de M. Michael Goffin, directeur général régional d'Environnement Canada en Ontario, à titre de négociateur en chef au nom du gouvernement du Canada.

Entre-temps, je demeure résolu à maintenir l'étroite collaboration établie depuis toujours entre le Canada et l'Ontario à l'égard de l’amélioration de la qualité de l'eau des Grands Lacs.

Le gouvernement du Canada continue de maintenir son engagement ferme envers les Grands Lacs, et ce, même dans ces moments de restrictions budgétaires. À l'échelle fédérale, nous avons investi de manière considérable dans l'assainissement des secteurs préoccupants ainsi que l'assainissement des sédiments contaminés, la lutte contre les substances toxiques et nuisibles, l'amélioration de la qualité de l'eau dans le lac Simcoe et le traitement des menaces que représente la carpe asiatique. Je joins quelques renseignements sur les récents engagements fédéraux à l'égard des Grands Lacs.

Les Grands Lacs sont essentiels au soutien de notre environnement, de notre économie et de notre société. En poursuivant nos efforts de collaboration, nous pouvons continuer à réaliser des progrès concernant cette ressource naturelle riche et précieuse.

J'apprécie l'engagement soutenu de l'Ontario à l'égard de la protection et de l'amélioration de nos Grands Lacs communs, et nous souhaitons une coopération continue en vertu du nouvel accord.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.

L'honorable Peter Kent, C.P., député

Pièce jointe

c.c. : L'honorable Gerry Ritz, ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire
        L'honorable Keith Ashfield, ministre des Pêches et des Océans
        L'honorable Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de la Santé
        L'honorable Joe Oliver, ministre des Ressources naturelles
        L'honorable Rona Ambrose, ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux
        L'honorable Denis Lebel, ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités
        L'honorable Ted McMeekin, ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario
        L'honorable Michael Gravelle, ministre des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario

Cci : Michael Goffin, directeur général régional, région de l'Ontario

Téléchargez la lettre en format PDF (40 Ko)


Engagement fédéral envers les Grands Lacs

  • Le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à faire en sorte que tous les Canadiens aient accès à de l'eau saine et sans danger, que l'approvisionnement en eau soit sûr et sécuritaire et que nos ressources en eau soient utilisées judicieusement, tant sur le plan économique qu'écologique.

  • En vertu du Plan d'action pour l'assainissement de l'eau, des mesures sont actuellement prises grâce à un engagement financier de 48,9 millions de dollars afin de dépolluer les sédiments contaminés, qui sont l’une des principales sources de substances toxiques dans les secteurs préoccupants au Canada.

  • L'engagement du gouvernement du Canada pour la restauration des secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs demeure solide grâce à un financement annuel de huit millions de dollars qui a été renouvelé et rendu permanent dans le budget de 2010.

  • En plus du financement visant directement les Grands Lacs, le gouvernement du Canada contribue également à assainir et à protéger les lacs grâce à une vaste gamme de lois et de programmes nationaux mis en œuvre par plusieurs ministères, y compris Environnement Canada, Parcs Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada, Transports Canada, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada, Santé Canada, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et Infrastructure Canada.

  • Le Canada continue d'investir des ressources dans la résolution des enjeux de haute priorité, grâce à un nouveau financement annoncé dans le budget de 2011 (16 millions de dollars) permettant de traiter la réapparition des algues toxiques et nuisibles dans les Grands Lacs, avec un accent particulier sur le lac Érié et le maintien du financement de l'assainissement du lac Simcoe annoncé dans le budget de 2012.

  • L'honorable Keith Ashfield, ministre des Pêches et des Océans, a récemment annoncé un nouveau financement fédéral totalisant 17,5 millions de dollars afin de protéger les Grands Lacs contre la menace que représente la carpe asiatique.
Date de modification :