Environmental protection alternative measures - Final report

Report to the court under subsection 300(2)


Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Statutes of Canada (1999)

Chapter 33

 

Her Majesty

VS

9051-6345 Québec Inc.

Record No. QUE-140627-001

500-73-004315-152

Date of agreement: October 15, 2015

Date agreement ended: January 15, 2016

Environmental Enforcement Directorate

Quebec Region

January 18, 2016

Coat of Arms of Canada

 

Table of contents


1.0 Report under subsection 300(2) of the CEPA (1999)

1.1 Summary

On July 30, 2015, charges were filed at Montreal’s Palais de Justice against 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman. The charges laid consisted of eight (8) counts of violating the PCB Regulations (SOR/2008-273), thereby committing the offences set out in paragraphs 272.1(1)(f) and 272(1)(h) of the Canada Environmental Protection Act (1999) (CEPA 1999).

On October 15, 2015, counsel for the Public Prosecution Service of Canada and the defendant formally signed an Environmental Protection Alternative Measures Agreement. The Agreement, which can be found in Appendix 1 of this document, included three (3) measures.

  • 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman shall make a contribution of twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) to the Receiver General of Canada in trust for the Environmental Damages Fund administered by the Regional Director General of Environment Canada, Quebec Region, within fifteen (15) days of signing this Agreement. Proof of payment of the contribution shall be provided to Environment Canada.

  • Within three (3) months of signing this Agreement, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman shall provide Environment Canada with a complete written inventory of all electrical equipment that may contain PCBs, for all properties under the responsibility of the Shapiro Group, Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman. This inventory shall include, but not be limited to, transformers, capacitors, breakers, rectifiers and other electrical equipment containing oil, manufactured prior to 1980. The inventory shall also include stocked fluorescent lamp ballasts containing PCBs if their total PCB content exceeds 1 kg for the same site.

  • 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman shall, no later than fifteen (15) days after signing this Agreement, submit to the Minister via the PCB On-line Reporting System the reports required under subsection 33(1) of the PCB Regulations for the years 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015, for the PCBs at 245 Victoria Avenue, Westmount.


1.2 Results

Following checks conducted by Environment and Climate Change Canada enforcement officers, it was established that 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman had complied with each measure as set out in the Agreement, in accordance with the dates specified therein.

  1. The payment of the contribution was made on October 22, 2015, within 15 days of the signing of the Agreement. The proof of payment was provided to Environment and Climate Change Canada on October 29, 2015;

  2. A complete written inventory of all electrical equipment that may contain PCBs, for all properties under the responsibility of Shapiro Group, Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman was provided on January 11, 2016, within the three-month deadline. The inventory complied with the expectations of Environment and Climate Change Canada;

  3. The reports required under subsection 33(1) of the PCB Regulations for the years 2008 to 2015 were submitted through the PCB On-Line Reporting System on October 28, 2015, within 15 days, for PCBs at 245 Victoria Avenue.


1.3 Conclusion

Since all the measures described in the Environmental Protection Alternative Measures Agreement, entered into on October 15, 2015, between the Attorney General of Canada and 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman, were complied with, it is recommended that the prosecutor ask the court to withdraw the charges. No action under section 302 of the CEPA (1999) will be taken.

Under section 301 of the CEPA (1999), a copy of the Agreement and this report, or a notice that the Agreement and this report have been filed with the court and are available to the public, shall be included in the Environmental Registry.

 

Sandra Lalande
Enforcement Officer
Environmental Enforcement Directorate – Quebec
Environment and Climate Change Canada
105 McGill St., 3rd floor
Montreal, QC
H2Y 2E7
sandra.lalande@canada.ca
Telephone: 514-283-0625

 

Appendix 1

Environmental Protection Alternative Measures Agreement

 

The attorney general of Canada

and

9051-6345 Québec Inc.
Gerry Shapiro
Mark Schneiderman


Whereas 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman have been charged with alleged violations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (hereinafter “CEPA 1999”);


Whereas
the prosecution for the offences is not barred at law, and in the opinion of the Attorney General of Canada, sufficient evidence exists to warrant proceeding with the prosecution of the offences;


Whereas
the Attorney General of Canada is satisfied that Environmental Protection Alternative Measures (hereinafter “Measures”) would not be inconsistent with the purposes of the Act in this case;


Whereas
9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman do not deny their participation or involvement in the commission of the alleged offences and accept responsibility for the above acts;


Whereas
9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman have had the opportunity to seek legal counsel and are represented in this Environmental Protection Alternative Measures Agreement;


Whereas
the Attorney General of Canada has consulted with the Minister of the Environment and has considered the circumstances of this case, the nature of the alleged offences and all other factors to be considered, as prescribed by CEPA 1999;


Whereas
both Parties agree that an Environmental Protection Alternative Measures Agreement is the most appropriate means of resolving all matters pertaining to this case;


Therefore
, the Attorney General of Canada and 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman enter into an Environmental Protection Alternative Measures Agreement with the following provisions:


Purpose

The express purpose of this Agreement is to further the goals and objectives of CEPA 1999 and its regulations.


Facts

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman have been charged with the following offences:


Count 1

On or around April 1, 2015, 9051-6345 Québec Inc. and its officers, Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman, failed to submit to the Minister a report regarding the use of the electrical capacitor located at 245 Victoria, Westmount, contrary to subsection 39(1) of the PCB Regulations, thereby committing an offence punishable on conviction on indictment under paragraph 272.1(1)(f) of CEPA 1999.


Count 2

On or around January 1, 2010, and April 15, 2014, 9051-6345 Québec Inc. and its officers, Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman, used an electrical capacitor containing PCBs in a concentration exceeding 500 mg/kg, beyond the allowable date of December 31, 2009, which electrical capacitor was located at 245 Victoria, Westmount, contrary to paragraph 6(c) of the PCB Regulations, thereby committing an offence punishable on conviction on indictment under paragraph 272.(1)(h) of CEPA 1999.


Charges were laid in Montreal, province of Quebec, on July 30, 2015. 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman do not deny their participation or involvement in the commission of the alleged offences and accept responsibility for the above acts.


Measures

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman, shall make a contribution of twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) to the Receiver General of Canada in trust for the Environmental Damages Fund administered by the Regional Director General of Environment Canada, Quebec Region, within fifteen (15) days of signing this Agreement. Proof of payment of the contribution shall be provided to Environment Canada.

Within three (3) months of signing this Agreement, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman shall provide Environment Canada with a complete written inventory of all electrical equipment that may contain PCBs, for all properties under the responsibility of the Shapiro Group, Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman. This inventory shall include, but not be limited to, transformers, capacitors, breakers, rectifiers and other electrical equipment containing oil, manufactured prior to 1980. The inventory shall also include stocked fluorescent lamp ballasts containing PCBs if their total PCB content exceeds 1 kg for the same site.

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman shall, no later than fifteen (15) days after signing this Agreement, submit to the Minister via the PCB On‑line Reporting System the reports required under subsection 33(1) of the PCB Regulations for the years 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015, for the PCBs at 245 Victoria Avenue, Westmount.


Compliance schedule

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman undertake to comply with the Measures and the terms and conditions of this Agreement within the time prescribed for each of the aforementioned Measures.


Verifying compliance with this agreement

The Parties agree that Environment Canada shall supervise and monitor compliance with this Agreement, pursuant to CEPA 1999.


Inspection and other monitoring activities

Nothing in this Agreement bars CEPA 1999 enforcement officers and analysts from conducting inspections or investigations that they are legally authorized to conduct.


Confidential information

All information contained in and obtained pursuant to this Agreement is subject to the provisions of the Access to Information Act and CEPA 1999.

Trade secrets and financial, commercial, scientific or technical information that is and is treated as confidential information, the disclosure of which could likely result in financial loss or gain or could likely prejudice the competitive position of any person, or information that could likely interfere with the contractual or other negotiations of any person, shall remain confidential and not be disclosed, except as provided for in the Access to Information Act and CEPA 1999.

This Agreement shall be filed with the Court, as part of the Court record of the proceedings to which the public has access, in accordance with the provisions of section 300 of CEPA 1999.

Notwithstanding the above, reports relating to the administration of or compliance with this Agreement shall be accessible to the public in accordance with section 301 of CEPA 1999. The final report shall be made available to the public and to the Court in accordance with sections 300(2) and 301. Interim reports shall not be made available to the public, under sections 300(2) and 301.


Reservation of rights

The Attorney General of Canada reserves the right to seek injunctive relief, or any other appropriate remedy, in the event of any violation of the requirements of this Agreement.


Penalties

Failure on the part of 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman to comply with the provisions of this Agreement is an offence under paragraph 272(1)(e) of CEPA 1999. 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman also acknowledge that any false or misleading representations made during negotiation of the Agreement is an offence under paragraph 272(1)(e) of CEPA 1999. 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman may also be prosecuted on the original offences because subsection 296(5) provides that the use of environmental protection alternative measures in respect of a person who is alleged to have committed an offence does not bar any proceedings against that person under CEPA 1999.

In the event that 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman fail to comply with the stipulations of this Agreement, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman shall be liable on conviction to the penalties provided for under CEPA 1999.


Force majeure

Force majeure is an event resulting from circumstances beyond the control of 9051‑6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman that causes or may cause a delay in complying with any provision of this Agreement. If a force majeure incident occurs, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman shall notify the Attorney General of Canada in writing as soon as possible, but in any event within seven days of when 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman first knew or should have known of the incident by the exercise of due diligence.

The notice shall cite the force majeure provisions of this Agreement and indicate the anticipated length of time during which 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman will be unable to comply with this Agreement. If a force majeure incident occurs, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman shall make an application to amend the Agreement, in accordance with section 303 of CEPA 1999. The application shall be made by 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman to the Attorney General of Canada, and 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman shall send a copy of the application to Environment Canada.


Intent and interpretation of the agreement

This Agreement constitutes the entire Agreement between the Parties. The Parties acknowledge that there are no representations between the Parties other than those expressly set out in this Agreement. This Agreement supersedes all previous oral or written negotiations, arrangements, letters of intent, offers, proposals, representations and information conveyed between the Parties or their authorized representatives.


Severability

The provisions of this Agreement shall be severable should for any reason 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman be lawfully excused from performing any of the terms of this Agreement. For greater certainty, the remaining provisions of this Agreement shall remain in full force and effect until the end of this Agreement.


Time of the essence

Time is of the essence in this Agreement.


Governing legislation

This Agreement shall be governed by the laws of Canada, including the provisions of CEPA 1999 and its corresponding regulations, and any definitions that apply to this Agreement are those provided for in CEPA 1999 and its corresponding regulations, and those also specified in this Agreement.


Warranty

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman warrant that their obligations under this Agreement shall be performed by persons who are competent and qualified and who have the appropriate knowledge and skills.


Certification

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman certify that, on the effective date of this Agreement, there is no specific direction in existence requiring them to undertake any activity or refrain from taking any activity constituting the Measures negotiated in this Agreement by any federal, provincial, territorial or municipal law, or by any court order.

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman also certify that the funds used to carry out the alternative Measures do not come from government financial grants. Finally, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman certify that the person whose signature appears below is an officer of the company and is duly authorized to sign this Agreement and bind the company.


Amendment of agreement

Any application to amend this Agreement shall be made in accordance with section 303 of CEPA 1999. The application shall be made to the Attorney General of Canada, and 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman shall send a copy of the application to Environment Canada.


Termination of this agreement

This Agreement shall terminate when the terms and conditions have been fulfilled to the satisfaction of the Attorney General of Canada, or otherwise in accordance with the applicable provisions of CEPA 1999.


Assignment

This Agreement shall not be assigned without the written consent of the Attorney General of Canada.


Notice

Whenever in this Agreement it is required or permitted that a notice or demand be given or served by either Party to or on the other Party, such notice or demand may be in writing and shall be deemed duly given or communicated if sent by registered mail, priority post or facsimile.

The addresses for delivery are as follows:

To:
Shapiro Group
Stock Exchange Tower
800 Victoria Place, Suite 440, Box 284
Montréal QC  H4Z 1E8

 

To:
Agent of the Attorney General of Canada
Trang Dai Nguyen

Prosecutor for Canada’s Director of Public Prosecutions
Public Prosecution Service of Canada
Guy-Favreau Complex, 200 René-Lévesque Blvd. W
East Tower, 9th Floor
Montréal, QC  H2Z 1X4
Telephone:
514 283-7695
Fax:
514 496-7372

 

To:
Environment Canada
Director, Environmental Enforcement

105 McGill St., 3rd Floor
Montréal, QC  H2Y 2E7
Telephone:
514 283-0625
Fax:
514 496-2087


Waiver

No condoning, excusing or overlooking by any of the Parties of any default by the other Party at any time or times in performing or observing any of its covenants will operate as a waiver of or otherwise affect the rights of the Parties in respect of any continuing or subsequent default. No waiver of these rights will be inferred from anything done or omitted by the Parties except by a variation of this Agreement in accordance with section 303 of CEPA 1999.


In witness whereof the Parties have signed this Agreement on this 15th day of October 2014


___________________________________________________

Charles Kazaz
Representative for
9051-6345 Québec Inc.
Gerry Shapiro and Mark Schneiderman

 

 

___________________________________________________

Trang Dai Nguyen
Agent of the Attorney General of Canada

Date modified:

Mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l'environnement - Rapport final

Rapport au tribunal en vertu du paragraphe 300(2)


Loi Canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Lois du Canada (1999)

Chapitre 33

 

La Reine

VS

9051-6345 Québec Inc.

Dossier QUE-140627-001

500-73-004315-152

Date de l’entente : 15 octobre 2015

Date de fin de l’entente : 15 janvier 2016

Direction de l’application de la loi en environnement

Région du Québec

18 janvier 2016

Armoiries du Canada

 

Table des matières


1.0 Rapport en vertu du paragraphe 300(2) de la LCPE (1999)

1.1 Résumé

Le 30 juillet 2015, des accusations ont été déposées au Palais de Justice de Montréal, contre 9051-6345 Québec Inc., M. Gerry Shapiro et M. Mark Shneiderman. Le dépôt comprenait huit (8) chefs d’accusation découlant d’infraction au Règlement sur les BPC (DORS/2008-273) et commettant ainsi les infractions prévues aux alinéas 272.1(1)f) et 272(1)h) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)].

Le 15 octobre 2015, le Procureur du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada et la partie défenderesse ont signé officiellement une entente dans le cadre d’un accord concernant les Mesures de Rechange en matière de Protection de l’Environnement. L’entente, qu’on retrouve à l’Annexe 1 de ce docuement, prévoit trois (3) mesures.

  • 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, verseront une contribution de vingt mille dollars (20 000 $) au Receveur Général du Canada, en fiducie pour le fond pour dommage à l'environnement administré par le directeur général régional d'Environnement Canada, région du Québec, et ce, quinze (15) jours suivant la signature de cette entente. Une preuve du versement de la contribution devra être fournie à Environnement Canada.

  • Dans un délai de trois (3) mois de la signature de l'entente, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman fourniront à Environnement Canada un inventaire complet et écrit de tous les équipements électriques susceptible de contenir des BPC, pour toutes les propriétés sous la responsabilité du Groupe Shapiro, Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman. Notamment, mais sans s’y limité, l’inventaire des transformateurs, condensateurs, disjoncteurs, redresseurs de courant et autres équipements électriques contenant de l’huile et fabriqué avant 1980. L’inventaire devra également comprendre les ballasts de lampes fluorescentes contenant des BPC qui sont en stockage si leur contenu total en BPC dépasse 1 kg pour un même site.

  • 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, feront, au plus tard quinze (15) jours suivant la signature de l’entente, présenté au ministre, via le Système de déclaration des BPC en ligne, les rapports requis en vertu du paragraphe 33(1) du Règlement sur les BPC pour les années 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 et 2015, pour les BPC du 245, avenue Victoria, Westmount.


1.2 Résultat

Suite aux vérifications faites par les agents d’application de la loi d’Environnement Canada et changement Climatique Canada, il a été établi que 9051-6345 Québec Inc., M. Gerry Shapiro et M. Mark Shneiderman ont respecté chaque mesure telle qu’édictée dans l’entente conclue, et ce selon les dates spécifiées dans l’entente.

  1. Le versement de la contribution a été effectué le 22 octobre 2015, soit dans le délai de 15 jours de la signature de l’entente; La preuve du versement a été fournie à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, le 29 octobre 2015;

  2. Un inventaire complet et écrit de tous les équipements électriques susceptibles de contenir des BPC, pour toutes les propriétés sous la responsabilité de Groupe Shapiro, Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, a été fourni le 11 janvier 2016, soit dans le délai de trois mois. Cet inventaire est conforme aux attentes d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada;

  3. Les rapports requis en vertu du paragraphe 33(1) du Règlement sur les BPC pour les années 2008 à 2015 ont été soumis via le Système de déclaration des BPC en ligne, le 28 octobre 2015, dans le délai de 15 jours, pour les BPC du 245 avenue Victoria.


1.3 Conclusion

Compte tenu que toutes les mesures décrites dans l’entente de Mesure de rechange en Matière de Protection de l’Environnement, conclue le 15 octobre 2015, entre le Procureur Général du Canada et 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman; recommandation est faite au procureur de demander au tribunal de retiré les accusations, aucune suite en vertu de l’article 302 de la LCPE (1999) ne sera engagée.

En vertu de l’article 301 de la LCPE 1999, il sera versé au Registre soit un exemplaire de l’accord et du présent rapport, soit un avis portant que ces documents ont été déposés auprès du tribunal et sont donc accessibles au public.

 

Sandra Lalande
Agent d’application de la loi
Direction de l’application de la loi en environnement – Québec
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
105, rue McGill, 3e étage
Montréal (QC)
H2Y 2E7
sandra.lalande@canada.ca
Téléphone : 514-283-0625

 

Annexe 1

Entente de mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l'environnement

Le procureur général du Canada

et

9051-6345 Québec Inc.
Gerry Shapiro
Mark Schneiderman


Attendu que 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, ont été accusés de violations présumées en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (appelée LCPE (1999) dans cette entente);


Attendu que
la loi n'empêche pas l'introduction d'une instance dans ce cas et que le

Procureur général du Canada est d'avis qu'il existe suffisamment de preuves pour justifier la poursuite des infractions;


Attendu que
le Procureur général du Canada est d'avis que les mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l’environnement (Mesures) seraient compatibles, en l’occurrence, avec l’objet de la loi;


Attendu que
9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, ne nie pas sa participation ou son implication dans la commission des infractions présumées et accepte la responsabilité des actes susmentionnés;


Attendu que
9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, ont eu l'opportunité de consulter un conseiller juridique et qu'ils sont représentés dans le cadre de la présente entente de mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l'environnement;


Attendu que
le Procureur général du Canada a consulté le ministre de l'Environnement et qu'il a pris en considération les circonstances de l'affaire, la nature des infractions présumées et tous les autres facteurs à prendre en considération, comme prescrit par la LCPE (1999);


Attendu que
les deux parties conviennent qu'une entente de mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l'environnement est la façon la plus appropriée de résoudre toutes les questions relatives à cette poursuite;


Pour ces motifs
, le Procureur général du Canada et 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, conviennent d'une entente de mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l'environnement contenant les dispositions suivantes :


But

Le but exprès de cette entente est de respecter les objectifs de la LCPE (1999) et de ses règlements.


Faits

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman ont été accusés des infractions suivantes :


Chef d'accusation 1

Le ou vers le 1er avril 2015, la compagnie 9051-6345 Québec Inc. et ses dirigeants Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, ont omis de présenter au Ministre le rapport concernant l’utilisation du condensateur électrique se trouvant au 245 Victoria, Westmount, contrairement à l’article 39(1) du Règlement sur les BPC, commettant ainsi une infraction punissable sur déclaration de culpabilité par mise en accusation prévue à l’alinéa 272.1(1)f) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999).


Chef d'accusation 2

Entre le ou vers le 1er janvier 2010 et le 15 avril 2014, la compagnie 9051-6345 Québec Inc. et ses dirigeants Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, ont utilisé un condensateur électrique contenant des BPC en concentration supérieure à 500 mg/kg, au-delà de la date permise du 31 décembre 2009 et se trouvant au 245 Victoria, Westmount, contrairement à l’alinéa 6c) du Règlement sur les BPC, commettant ainsi une infraction punissable sur déclaration de culpabilité par mise en accusation prévue à l’alinéa 272.(1)h) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999).


Des accusations ont été déposées à Montréal, province de Québec, le 30 juillet 2015. 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman ne nient pas sa participation ou son implication dans la commission des infractions présumées et acceptent la responsabilité des actes susmentionnés.


Mesures

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, verseront une contribution de vingt mille dollars (20 000 $) au Receveur Général du Canada, en fiducie pour le fond pour dommage à l'environnement administré par le directeur général régional d'Environnement Canada, région du Québec, et ce, quinze (15) jours suivant la signature de cette entente. Une preuve du versement de la contribution devra être fournie à Environnement Canada.

Dans un délai de trois (3) mois de la signature de l'entente, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman fourniront à Environnement Canada un inventaire complet et écrit de tous les équipements électriques susceptible de contenir des BPC, pour toutes les propriétés sous la responsabilité du Groupe Shapiro, Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman. Notamment, mais sans s’y limité, l’inventaire des transformateurs, condensateurs, disjoncteurs, redresseurs de courant et autres équipements électriques contenant de l’huile et fabriqué avant 1980. L’inventaire devra également comprendre les ballasts de lampes fluorescentes contenant des BPC qui sont en stockage si leur contenu total en BPC dépasse 1 kg pour un même site.

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman, feront, au plus tard quinze (15) jours suivant la signature de l’entente, présenté au ministre, via le Système de déclaration des BPC en ligne, les rapports requis en vertu du paragraphe 33(1) du Règlement sur les BPC pour les années 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 et 2015, pour les BPC du 245, avenue Victoria, Westmount.


Échéancier d'application

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman s'engagent à respecter les mesures et les conditions de cette entente dans les délais prescrits pour chaque mesure susmentionnée.


Vérification du respect de cette entente

Les parties conviennent qu'Environnement Canada supervisera et contrôlera le respect de cette entente, en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999).


Inspection et autres activités de contrôle

Rien dans cette entente n'empêche les agents d'exécution et les analystes de la LCPE (1999) de mener les inspections ou enquêtes qu'ils sont légalement autorisés à mener.


Information confidentielle

Toute l'information contenue dans cette entente et obtenue en vertu de cette entente est sujette aux dispositions de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la LCPE (1999).

Les secrets commerciaux et l'information financière, commerciale, scientifique ou technique qui constituent de l'information confidentielle et qui sont traités comme tels, et dont la divulgation pourrait vraisemblablement entraîner une perte ou un gain financier ou pourrait vraisemblablement nuire à la position concurrentielle de toute personne, ou de l'information qui pourrait vraisemblablement nuire aux négociations de contrats ou autres de toute personne, demeureront confidentiels et ne pourront être divulgués, à l'exception de ce qui est prévu dans la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la LCPE (1999).

Cette entente sera déposée à la Cour et fera partie du dossier de la Cour de la poursuite auquel le public a accès, conformément aux dispositions de l'article 300 de la LCPE (1999).

Nonobstant ce qui précède, les rapports relatifs à l’administration ou au respect de cette entente seront accessibles au public conformément à l'article 301 de la LCPE (1999). Le rapport final sera rendu public et soumis à la Cour conformément aux articles 300(2) et 301. Les rapports provisoires ne seront pas rendus publics, en vertu des articles 300(2) et 301.


Réservation de droits

Le Procureur général du Canada se réserve le droit de chercher à obtenir une injonction, ou tout autre recours approprié, dans l'éventualité de toute violation des exigences de cette entente.


Peines

Le défaut de 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman de se conformer aux dispositions de cette entente constitue une infraction en vertu de l'article 272(1) (e) de la LCPE (1999). 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman reconnaît également que toute représentation fausse ou trompeuse faite durant les négociations sur l'entente constitue une infraction en vertu de l'article 272(1) (e) de la LCPE (1999). 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman peut également être poursuivie pour les infractions initiales, étant donné que le sous-article 296(5) prévoit que le recours aux mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l'environnement dans le cas d'une personne présumée avoir commis une infraction n'empêche nullement d'intenter une poursuite contre ladite personne en vertu de la LCPE (1999).

Dans l’éventualité où 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman omettraient de se conformer aux stipulations de cette entente, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman seront passibles d'une condamnation aux peines prévues en vertu de la LCPE (1999).


Force majeure

Un cas de force majeure est un événement qui résulte de circonstances qui échappent à 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman et qui retarde ou peut retarder l'observance de toute disposition de cette entente. Si un événement de force majeure se produit, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman en aviseront par écrit le Procureur général du Canada aussi rapidement que possible, mais à tout le moins dans les sept jours suivant le moment où 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman ont pris connaissance de l'événement ou auraient dû en prendre connaissance en exerçant une diligence raisonnable.

L'avis invoquera les dispositions de force majeure de cette entente et indiquera la période de temps prévue durant laquelle 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman ne seront pas en mesure de se conformer à cette entente. Si un événement de force majeure se produit, 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman présenteront une demande de modification conformément à l'article 303 de la LCPE (1999). La demande sera faite par 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman au Procureur général du Canada et 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman feront parvenir une copie de la demande à Environnement Canada.


Intention et interprétation de l'entente

Cette entente constitue la totalité de l'entente entre les parties. Les parties reconnaissent qu’il n'existe aucune autre prétention entre les parties que celles qui sont expressément énoncées dans cette entente. Cette entente annule toutes négociations, ententes, lettres d'intention, offres, propositions, déclarations et informations antérieures, orales ou écrites, échangées ou transmises entre les parties ou leurs représentants autorisés.


Divisibilité

Les dispositions de cette entente seront divisibles si pour toute raison 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman devaient être légalement dispensés d'exécuter toute condition de cette entente. Il demeure entendu que les autres dispositions de cette entente demeureront pleinement en vigueur jusqu'au terme de cette entente.


Respect des échéances

Les échéances fixées sont une condition essentielle dans cette entente.


Loi applicable

Cette entente sera régie par les lois du Canada, y compris les dispositions de LCPE (1999) et de ses règlements correspondants, et toutes définitions qui s'appliquent à cette entente sont celles qui sont stipulées dans la LCPE (1999) et ses règlements correspondants et celles qui sont également précisées dans cette entente.


Garantie

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman garantissent que ses obligations, en vertu de cette entente seront exécutées par des personnes compétentes, qualifiées et qui ont les connaissances et les compétences appropriées.


Attestation

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman attestent, qu'à la date d'entrée en vigueur de cette entente, ils ne soient pas tenus, en vertu d'une loi fédérale, provinciale ou territoriale, d'un arrêté municipal ou d'une ordonnance du tribunal, d'entreprendre ou de s'abstenir d'entreprendre les activités correspondant aux mesures négociées dans le présent accord.

9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman attestent en outre que les fonds engagés pour s'acquitter des mesures de rechange ne proviennent pas de subventions financières gouvernementales 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman attestent enfin que la personne dont la signature figure ci-dessous est un agent de la société dûment autorisé à signer l'accord et à lier la société.


Modification de l'entente

Toute demande de modification de cette entente sera faite conformément à l’article 303 de la LCPE (1999). La demande sera adressée au Procureur général du Canada et 9051-6345 Québec Inc., Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman fera parvenir une copie de la demande à Environnement Canada.


Fin de cette entente

L'accord prend fin lorsque les conditions ont été remplies à la satisfaction du Procureur général du Canada ou conformément aux dispositions applicables de la LCPE (1999).


Cession

Cette entente ne sera pas cédée sans le consentement écrit du Procureur général du Canada.


Signification

Chaque fois que dans cette entente il est exigé ou autorisé qu'un avis ou une demande soit présenté ou accordé par l'une ou l'autre des Parties à l'autre Partie, cette demande ou cet avis peut être fait par écrit et sera jugé avoir été dûment présenté ou communiqué s'il est transmis par courrier recommandé, par la poste prioritaire ou par télécopie :

Les adresses de livraison sont les suivantes :

À :
Groupe Shapiro
Tour de la Bourse
800 Place Victoria, suite 440, P.O. Box 284
Montréal Qc, H4Z 1E8

 

À :
Agent pour le Procureur général du Canada
Me Trang Dai Nguyen

Procureur pour le Directeur des poursuites pénales du Canada
Service des poursuites pénales du Canada
Complexe Guy-Favreau 200, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest
Tour Est, 9e étage
Montréal (Québec)  H2Z 1X4
Téléphone :
514 283-7695
Télécopieur :
514 496-7372

 

À :
Environnement Canada
Directeur de l’application de la Loi d’Environnement Canada

105, rue McGill, 3e étage
Montréal (Québec)  H2Y 2E7
Téléphone :
514 283-0625
Télécopieur :
514 496-2087


Renoncement

Aucune tolérance, excuse ou négligence de l'une des parties de l'omission de l'autre partie à aucun moment d'exécuter ou d'observer ses engagements propres ne sera vu comme un renoncement ou ne portera autrement atteinte aux droits des parties relativement à toute défaillance continue ou subséquente. Aucun renoncement à ces droits ne sera supposé de toute action ou omission des parties, sauf sur modification de cette entente conformément à l'article 303 de la LCPE (1999).


En foi de quoi les parties ont signé cette entente en ce 15 octobre 2014


___________________________________________________

Me Charles Kazaz
Représentant de
9051-6345 Québec Inc.
Gerry Shapiro et Mark Schneiderman

 

 

___________________________________________________

Me Trang Dai Nguyen
Agent pour le Procureur général du Canada

Date de modification :