The National Advisory Committee under CEPA 1999 (NAC)

Introduction:

Section 6 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 provides that the CEPA National Advisory Committee (NAC) be the main intergovernmental forum for the purpose of enabling national action and avoiding duplication in regulatory activity among governments within Canada.

Mandate and Role:

The Committee is constituted under the authority of Section 6 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, for the purpose of:

  • advising the Ministers of the Environment and Health on regulations proposed to be made under s.93(1) regarding substances declared to be toxic,
  • advising the Minister of the Environment on regulations proposed to be made under s.200(1) regarding environmental emergencies;
  • advising the Minister of the Environment on a cooperative, coordinated intergovernmental approach for the management of toxic substances;
  • advising the Minister of the Environment on any other environmental matters that are of mutual interest to the Government of Canada and provincial, territorial and aboriginal governments;

The role of the NAC can be broadly defined as a platform for advising the Minister(s) and ensuring a full and open sharing of information between the federal, provincial, territorial, and aboriginal governments on all matters related to the protection of the environment and the management of toxic substances.

Membership, Chair and Secretariat:

In addition to an Environment Canada and a Health Canada representative, the committee provides for a representative of each of the provinces and territories as well as up to six representatives of Aboriginal governments. CEPA 1999 defines Aboriginal government as a government established under an agreement with the Crown and that is empowered to enact environmental protection laws.

The committee is co-chaired by John Moffet, Director General, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, (Environment Canada) and Karen Lloyd, Director General, Safe Environments Directorate (Health Canada). Environment Canada's Regional Directors of the Environmental Stewardship Branch are ex-officio members (non-voting members) of the NAC.

Environment Canada provides secretariat support to the NAC. The Legislative Governance group in the Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Directorate is in charge of processing information to, and from, NAC members.

For Further Information on the NAC:

For further information regarding the NAC, please contact Lynn Lafontaine at the CEPA NAC Secretariat, at 819-956-0231
or CCNdelaLCPE/CEPANAC@ec.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Le Comité consultatif national de la LCPE (1999) (CCN)

Introduction :

L'article 6 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) prévoit la création d'un Comité consultatif national (CCN) de la LCPE agissant à titre de principal forum intergouvernemental dans le but de rendre réalisable une action nationale et d'éviter le dédoublement des règlements pris par les gouvernements au Canada.

Mandat et rôle :

Le Comité est constitué en vertu de l'article 6 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et chargé:

  • de conseiller les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé sur les projets de règlements prévus au paragraphe 93(1) en ce qui concerne les substances jugées toxiques,
  • de conseiller le ministre de l'Environnement sur les projets de règlements prévus au paragraphe 200(1) en ce qui concerne les urgences environnementales;
  • de conseiller le ministre de l'Environnement sur un cadre intergouvernemental d'action concertée pour la gestion des substances toxiques;
  • de conseiller le ministre de l'Environnement sur les autres questions liées à l'environnement qui sont d'intérêt commun pour le gouvernement du Canada et les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones.

Le rôle du CCN peut donc être défini comme un programme permettant de conseiller le(s) ministre(s) et d'assurer un partage complet et franc de l'information entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones en ce qui concerne tout ce qui a trait à la protection de l'environnement et à la gestion des substances toxiques.

Composition, présidence et secrétariat :

Outre un représentant d'Environnement Canada et de Santé Canada, le Comité comprend un représentant de chacune des provinces et chaque territoire; il comprend également, au plus, six représentants des gouvernements autochtones. Selon la définition qu'en donne la LCPE (1999), un gouvernement autochtone est un gouvernement établi en vertu d'un accord avec la Couronne et qui a le pouvoir d'édicter des lois sur la protection de l'environnement.

Le Comité est coprésidé par John Moffet, Directeur général, Affaires législatives et réglementaires (Environnement Canada), et Karen Lloyd, Directrice générale, Direction de la sécurité des milieux (Santé Canada). Les directeurs régionaux de la Direction générale de l'intendance environnementale d'Environnement Canada sont membres ex officio (sans droit de vote) du CCN.

Environnement Canada fournit des services de secrétariat au CCN. La Gouvernance législative, Affaires législatives et règlementaires est chargée du traitement de l'information à destination et en provenance des membres du CCN.

Pour en savoir davantage au sujet du CCN :

Pour en savoir davantage au sujet du CCN, prière de communiquer avec Lynn Lafontaine, au secrétariat du CNN de la LCPE, par téléphone au 819-956-0231 ou par courriel, à l'adresse suivante : CCNdelaLCPE/CEPANAC@ec.gc.ca.

Date de modification :