This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Preliminary Consultations on the Discussion Draft
Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations

Download the report in PDF format (196 KB)

Environment Canada has prepared a Discussion Draft of the Off-Road Compression-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations for review and comment.

The discussion draft of the proposed regulations, under the authority of Part 7, Division 5 of CEPA 1999, will establish emission standards for diesel engines typically found in agricultural, construction, forestry and mining applications. The proposed regulations will apply to 2006 and later model-year engines.

This will be the first time that off-road diesel engines will be subject to emissions standards in Canada. Companies involved in the manufacture, distribution or importation for the purposes of sale of compression-ignition engines and machines equipped with such engines may be directly affected by the proposed regulations. An advisory letter was prepared for importers.

This is the second in a series of planned emissions regulations for off-road engines. The Off-Road Small Spark-Ignition Engine Emission Regulations were published in the Canada Gazette Part I on March 29, 2003. Future proposed regulations will address outboard engines and personal watercraft, recreational vehicles including snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles, and large spark-ignition engines. Emission regulations for off-road engines are an element of the Federal Agenda on Cleaner Vehicles, Engines and Fuels published in the February 17, 2001 Canada Gazette, Part I.

Comments received by August 15th, 2003 will be considered in developing a formal proposal in the Canada Gazette, Part I, expected in Fall 2003. There will be a further opportunity to comment after publication in the Part I of the Canada Gazette. Please provide your written comments to:

Morrie Kirshenblatt
Head, Off-Road Regulations
Transportation Systems Branch
351 St - Joseph Blvd
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3

Tel: 819-953-0914
Fax: 819-953-7815
Email: offroad_comments@ec.gc.ca

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Consultation préliminaire sur le document de discussion relatif au règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression

Téléchargez le rapport en format PDF (191 ko).

Environnement Canada a préparé un document de discussion relatif au projet de règlement sur les émissions des moteurs hors route à allumage par compression pour fins d'examen et de commentaires.

Le règlement, proposé en vertu de la partie 7, section 5 de la LCPE 1999, établira des normes d'émissions pour les moteurs diesel utilisés couramment dans les secteurs de la construction et de l'exploitation agricole, minière et forestière. Il s'appliquera aux moteurs à partir de l'année modèle 2006.

Ce sera la première fois que les moteurs diesel hors route seront assujettis à des normes d'émissions au Canada. Les entreprises impliquées dans la fabrication, la distribution ou l'importation des moteurs à allumage par compression et des machines pourvues de ces moteurs pourront être affectées directement par le projet de règlement. Une lettre d'avis à l'intention des importateurs a été préparée.

Il s'agit du deuxième d'une série de règlements prévus sur les émissions des moteurs hors route. Le Règlement sur les émissions des petits moteurs hors route à allumage commandé a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 29 mars 2003. D'autres règlements porteront sur les moteurs hors-bord et les motomarines, les véhicules récréatifs et les gros moteurs à allumage commandé. Le contrôle des émissions des moteurs hors route est l'une des initiatives prévues par le Programme fédéral pour des véhicules, des moteurs et des carburants moins polluants, publié le 17 février 2001 dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada.

Les commentaires reçus d'ici le 15 août 2003 seront pris en considération pour l'élaboration d'un projet de règlement qui devrait être publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada à l'automne 2003. Le public aura une nouvelle occasion de commenter le projet après sa publication dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada. Veuillez envoyer vos commentaires par écrit à :

M. Morrie Kirshenblatt
Chef, Réglementation hors route
Direction des systèmes de transport
Environnement Canada
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3

Tél. : 819-953-0914
Téléc. : 819-953-7815
Courriel : offroad_comments@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :