This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Letterhead for Ontario Ministry of the Environment.  Includes logo and mailing address.

The Honourable Peter Kent
Minister of the Environment
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
10 Wellington Street, 28th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3

Dear Minister Kent:

            Re:      Extension of Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem

            I am writing to confirm our mutual agreement to extend the term of the Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem to June 24, 2012, the maximum extension permitted under federal law, and to add new commitments to the Agreement in support of our efforts to protect the Great Lakes.    

            The current Canada-Ontario Agreement is scheduled to expire on March 31, 2011.   Article XI permits Canada and Ontario to amend the Agreement by an exchange of letters.  On behalf of our respective governments, we have agreed to amend the Agreement by extending its term to June 24, 2012, and to add new commitments to the Agreement in support of our efforts for the protection of the Great Lakes during the extension.  The amendments are set out in the Appendix attached to this letter.  We have agreed that the effective date of the amendments will be March 31, 2011. 

            Since 1971, Canada and Ontario have worked together under a series of Great Lakes agreements that have guided our efforts to improve the water quality and aquatic ecosystem health of the Great Lakes Basin and contributed to meeting Canada’s obligations under the Canada-United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement (“GLWQA”).  Canada and the United States are currently negotiating amendments to the GLWQA to strengthen and modernize the agreement to address existing and emerging threats.  It is now evident that the GLWQA amendment process will not be completed prior to the scheduled expiry of the Canada-Ontario Agreement.  We recognize that our respective governments must continue to work together under the Canada-Ontario Agreement framework and that our efforts to restore, protect and conserve the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem continue without interruption.  Accordingly, we have agreed to the extension of the current Canada-Ontario Agreement and to the new commitments set out in the attached Appendix.   

            The Government of Ontario pledges to work together with the Government of Canada under the existing Canada-Ontario Agreement, and to negotiate a new Canada-Ontario Agreement expeditiously so that a new Canada-Ontario Agreement will be in effect on or before June 25, 2012.  In our view, there should be no gap between the expiry of the existing Canada-Ontario Agreement and the commencement of a new Canada-Ontario Agreement.   

            The Great Lakes are vital in supporting our environment, our economy, and our society.  Ontario appreciates Canada’s continued commitment to protect and improve our shared Great Lakes.    

Sincerely,

 

John Wilkinson
Minister

 

And on behalf of:

Linda Jeffrey, Ontario Minister of Natural Resources
Carol Mitchell, Ontario Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs         

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Entente de lettre du ministère de l'environnement de l'Ontario, comprenant le logo du ministère et son adresse postale.

L'honorable Peter Kent
Ministre de l'Environnement
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
10, rue Wellington, 28e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H3

Monsieur le Ministre,

            Objet :            Prolongation de l'Accord Canada-Ontario concernant l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs

            Je confirme par la présente notre entente mutuelle consistant à prolonger jusqu'au 24 juin 2012 l'Accord Canada-Ontario concernant l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs, prolongation maximale permise en vertu de la loi fédérale, et à ajouter audit Accord de nouveaux engagements pour l'appui de notre activité de protection des Grands Lacs.      

            L'actuel Accord Canada-Ontario va prendre fin le 31 mars 2011. L'article XI permet au Canada et à l'Ontario de modifier l'Accord au moyen d'un échange de lettres.  Au nom de nos gouvernements respectifs, nous avons convenu de modifier l'Accord, en le prolongeant jusqu'au 24 juin 2012 et en y ajoutant de nouvelles obligations pour l'appui de notre activité de protection des Grands Lacs pendant la prolongation. Les modifications figurent dans l'appendice annexé à la présente lettre. Nous avons convenu que la date d'entrée en vigueur des modifications serait le 31 mars 2011.    

            Depuis 1971, le Canada et l'Ontario collaborent à une série d'accords sur les Grands Lacs qui guident les efforts que nous déployons pour améliorer la qualité de l'eau et la santé de l'écosystème aquatique du bassin des Grands Lacs et qui contribuent à remplir les obligations du Canada en vertu de l'Accord Canada-États-Unis relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs (« AQEGL »). À l'heure actuelle, le Canada et les États-Unis négocient des modifications relatives à l'AQEGL pour renforcer et moderniser l'Accord et ce, afin de répondre aux menaces existantes et émergentes. Il est maintenant évident que le processus de modification de l'AQEGL ne sera pas terminé avant la date prévue de l'expiration de l'Accord Canada-Ontario. Nous reconnaissons que nos gouvernements respectifs doivent continuer de collaborer dans le cadre de l'Accord Canada-Ontario et que nos efforts destinés à rétablir, à protéger et à conserver l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs doivent se poursuivre sans interruption. En conséquence, nous avons convenu de prolonger l'Accord Canada-Ontario actuel et d'y ajouter les nouveaux engagements figurant à l'appendice ci-joint.   

            Le Gouvernement de l'Ontario s'engage à collaborer avec le Gouvernement du Canada en vertu de l'Accord Canada-Ontario existant et à négocier diligemment un nouvel Accord Canada-Ontario de sorte qu'un nouvel Accord Canada-Ontario soit en vigueur au plus tard le 25 juin 2012. Nous sommes d'avis qu'il devrait n'y avoir aucune interruption entre l'expiration de l'Accord Canada-Ontario actuel et l'entrée en vigueur du nouvel Accord Canada-Ontario.   

            Les Grands Lacs jouent un rôle vital dans l'appui de notre environnement, de notre économie et de notre société. L'Ontario apprécie l'engagement continu du Canada à l'égard de la protection et de l'amélioration de la ressource commune que constituent nos Grands Lacs.      

Veuillez recevoir, Monsieur le Ministre, l'assurance de ma considération distinguée.

 

John Wilkinson
Ministre

et au nom de :

Linda Jeffrey, ministre des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario
Carol Mitchell, ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario       

Date de modification :