Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Proposed Risk Management Strategy addressing Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents

Update

Please visit Environment Canada's Municipal Wastewater Effluent Website for the most recent information on this initiative.

Background

Report on Consultations

Environment Canada has prepared the following report, which presents a summary of the key messages, perspectives, ideas and issues that were raised throughout the consultation sessions. After consideration of the comments received, Environment Canada will formally propose, by publication of a Notice in Canada Gazette, Part I, a preventive or control instrument addressing ammonia, inorganic chloramines and chlorinated wastewater effluents in the Spring of 2003. This publication will be followed by a 60-day comment period. A final Notice of the instrument will be published in 2004.

Proposed Risk Management Strategy Addressing Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents under CEPA 1999 - Report of Consultation Sessions August 20th to November 4th, 2002

[ Format: PDF ]

On June 23, 2001, the Ministers of the Environment and Health published in the Canada Gazette (Canada Gazette, Part I, Vol. 135 No 25, pp. 2255-2262) their proposed recommendation that Ammonia, Inorganic chloramines, Textile mill effluents, and Nonylphenol and its ethoxylates be added to the List of Toxic Substances, Schedule 1, under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). On March 4, 1999, Chlorinated wastewater effluents was added to Schedule 1 (Canada Gazette, Part II, Vol 133 No 6 pp. 688-689) based on a previous risk assessment. The major quantifiable sources of the above noted substances released to aquatic ecosystems across Canada are municipal wastewater systems.

Environment Canada is proposing pollution prevention planning as the preventive or control instrument to manage the risks associated with the release of ammonia, inorganic chloramines and chlorinated wastewater effluents. The proposed instrument is the first step toward a long-term strategy for managing wastewater effluents. Textile mill effluents and nonylphenol and its ethoxylates are being addressed in a separate but coordinated process as discussed in the proposed risk management strategy.

The Priority Substances List Assessment Reports are available through the following links:

Consultation

Environment Canada hosted a series of one-day consultation sessions across Canada between August and November 2002, with representatives from provinces and territories, municipalities and other operating authorities, water and wastewater associations, municipal and industrial associations, environmental groups and other interested parties. The consultation sessions provided participants with contextual information for the substances addressed in the proposed instrument under CEPA 1999 and for the development of a long-term strategy. The sessions also provided an opportunity for participants to comment on the proposed elements of the notice that requires pollution prevention plans to be prepared and implemented under CEPA 1999 such as:

  1. risk management objectives for ammonia, inorganic chloramines and chlorinated wastewater effluents;
  2. criteria to select the wastewater systems for which pollution prevention plans will be prepared;
  3. timelines for the preparation and implementation of the pollution prevention plans.

The two documents developed for the consultation sessions are:

  1. August 2002: Proposed Risk Management Strategy addressing Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents under CEPA 1999.
    [ Format: PDF ]

  2. August 2002: Pollution Prevention Planning for Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents Working Document.
    [ Format: PDF ]

Consultation period ended November 18, 2002.

Contact:

Claude Fortin
email: claude.fortin@ec.gc.ca
phone: (819) 997-5416
fax: (819) 953-7253

More information about the pollution prevention planning provisions of CEPA 1999 Part 4 can be found in the P2 Planning Provisions of Part 4 of CEPA 1999: Frequently Asked Questions and in the Guidelines for the Implementation of the Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). Information about the pollution prevention planning can be found in Environment Canada's Pollution Prevention Planning Handbook. All three documents are available on Environment Canada's Pollution Prevention web section. Copies are also available from Environment Canada's Inquiry Centre at 1-800-668-6767 or CEPAP2Plans@ec.gc.ca.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Proposition de stratégie de Gestion des risques pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents des eaux usées chlorées en vertu de la LCPE (1999)

Mise à jour

Veuillez visiter le site web d'Environnement Canada sur les effluents d'eaux usées municipales pour les renseignements les plus récents concernant cette initiative.

Contexte

Rapport des séances de consultation

Ce rapport présente un résumé des suggestions clés, des points de vue, des idées et des enjeux qui ont été soulevés pendant les séances de consultation. À la suite de l'examen des commentaires reçus, Environnement Canada proposera officiellement, par la publication d'un avis dans la partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada, un instrument de prévention ou de contrôle pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents des eaux usées chlorées au cours du printemps de 2003. Cette publication sera suivie d'une période de 60 jours réservée aux commentaires et l'instrument final sera publié en 2004.

Proposition de stratégie de gestion des risques pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents des eaux usées chlorées en vertu de la LCPE (1999) - Rapport des séances de consultation du 20 août au 4 novembre 2002

[ Format: PDF ]

Le 23 juin 2001, les Ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé ont publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada (Gazette du Canada, Partie I, Vol. 135, No 25, pp. 2255-2262) leur recommandation à l'effet d'ajouter l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques, les effluents des usines de textiles et le nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés à la Liste des substances toxiques, l'Annexe I, de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Les eaux usées chlorées ont été ajoutées à l'Annexe I (Gazette du Canada, Partie II, Vol 133, No 6 pp. 688-689) le 4 mars 1999, en fonction d'une évaluation des risques exécutée précédemment. Les principales sources quantifiables de rejets des substances mentionnées ci-dessus dans les écosystèmes aquatiques à travers le Canada sont les systèmes d'eaux usées municipales.

Environnement Canada propose que la planification de la prévention de la pollution soit utilisée comme instrument de contrôle ou de prévention pour gérer les risques associés aux rejets d'ammoniac, de chloramines inorganiques et d'eaux usées chlorées. La proposition de cet instrument de contrôle ou de prévention constitue la première étape dans l'élaboration d'une stratégie à long terme de gestion des eaux usées. Les effluents des usines de textile et le nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés sont examinés à travers un processus parallèle, mais coordonné à celui-ci, tel que mentionné dans la Proposition de stratégie de gestion des risques.

Les rapports d'évaluations des substances inclues dans la Liste de substances d'intérêt prioritaire sont disponibles sur les sites web suivants :

Consultations

Environnement Canada a organisé une série de séances de consultation d'une journée à travers le Canada d'août à octobre 2002, auxquelles participeront des représentants des provinces et territoires, municipalités et autres opérateurs, associations d'industries et municipales, groupes environnementaux et autres parties intéressées. Ces séances de consultation visent à fournir aux participants de l'information contextuelle sur les substances visées par l'instrument proposé en vertu de la LCPE (1999) et sur le développement d'une stratégie à long terme. Les sessions de consultation offrent aussi l'occasion de faire des commentaires sur les éléments proposés de l'avis requérant la préparation et la mise en œuvre de plans de prévention de la pollution en vertu de la LCPE (1999) tel que :

  1. les objectifs de gestion des risques pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents des eaux usées chlorées;
  2. les critères utilisés pour sélectionner les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées pour lesquels les plans de prévention de la pollution s'avéreront nécessaires;
  3. le calendrier de préparation et de mise en oeuvre des plans de prévention de la pollution.

Les deux documents suivants ont été préparés pour les séances de consultation :

  1. Août 2003 : Proposition de stratégie de gestion des risques pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents d'eaux usées chlorées en vertu de la LCPE (1999).
    [ Format: PDF ]

  2. Août 2003 : Planification de la prévention de la pollution pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents d'eaux usées chlorées dans les effluents d'eaux usées municipales. Document de travail.
    [ Format: PDF ]

La période de consultation a pris fin le 18 novembre 2002.

Personne-ressource à Environment Canada :

Claude Fortin
Courriel : claude.fortin@ec.gc.ca
Téléphone : (819) 997-5416
Télécopieur : (819) 953-7253

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la partie 4 de la LCPE (1999) sont disponibles dans le document intitulé Dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la Partie 4 de la LCPE (1999): Questions courantes. D'autres renseignements sur les dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la Partie 4 de la LCPE (1999), sont fournis dans les Directives pour la mise en œuvre des dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la Partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 (LCPE (1999)). Pour plus d'information sur les plans de prévention de la pollution, veuillez consulter le Guide de la planification de la prévention de la pollution. Ces trois documents sont publiés sur le site web d'Environnement Canada qui traite de Prévention de la pollution. Vous pouvez également vous adresser à l'Informathèque d'Environnement Canada au 1-800-668-6767 ou à CEPAP2Plans@ec.gc.ca.