The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and Virtual Elimination

The Ministers of the Environment and of Health shall recommend the addition of a substance to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) and propose the implementation of virtual elimination under subsection 65(3), when a substance falls under section 77 (1) of the Act and:

  • meets any of the criteria set out under section 64 of the Act;
  • is persistent in the environment as set out in regulations;
  • is bioaccumulative as set out in regulations;
  • is present in the environment primarily as a result of human activity; and
  • is not a naturally occurring inorganic substance such as mercury or lead, or a naturally occurring radionuclide.

What is virtual elimination?

Under CEPA 1999, virtual elimination is the reduction of the quantity or concentration of a toxic substance in releases to the environment to below a "level of quantification" specified by the Ministers.

What is the level of quantification?

The level of quantification is the lowest concentration of a toxic substance that can be accurately measured using sensitive but routine sampling and analytical methods. This level is determined in a laboratory. The risk posed by the substance and socio-economic factors have no bearing in its determination.

What is the process for virtually eliminating a substance?

After a level of quantification has been established for a substance, the Ministers of the Environment and of Health can add the substance and its level of quantification to the Virtual Elimination List. The quantity or concentration of the substance that may be released into the environment must then be identified in regulations. There can be one or more such "release limits" in regulations.

In working towards the virtual elimination of the substance, the Ministers may set interim release limits. In many cases, setting progressively lower release limits and implementing other measures to manage the risk posed by a substance will lead to the reduction of the quantity or concentration of the substance below the level of quantification.

The act also allows the minister to require the preparation and submission of a virtual elimination plan. The plan must include a description of proposed actions that will lead to virtual elimination of the substance and time-frames to complete these actions.

Further information

Internet:

Inquiry Centre:

Environment Canada
10 Wellington Street, 23rd floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3
Tel.:
(819) 997-2800 or toll-free 1 800 668-6767
Fax:
(819) 994-1412
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999, et la quasi-élimination

Téléchargez la fiche d'information en format PDF (23 Ko)

Les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé doivent recommander l'ajout d'une substance à l'Annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 [LCPE (1999)] et proposer la mise en œuvre de sa quasi-élimination en vertu du paragraphe 65(3) lorsque la substance relève de l'article 77(1) de la Loi et qu'elle :

  • satisfait à tout critère énoncé dans l'article 64 de laLoi;
  • est persistante dans l'environnement, comme mentionné dans les règlements;
  • est bioaccumulable, comme mentionné dans les règlements;
  • est présente dans l'environnement principalement des suites de l'activité humaine;
  • n'est ni une substance inorganique d'origine naturelle, comme le mercure ou le plomb, ni un radionucléide d'origine naturelle.

En quoi consiste la quasi-élimination?

La LCPE 1999 définit la quasi-élimination comme étant la réduction de la quantité ou de la concentration d'une substance toxique de sorte que son rejet dans l'environnement soit inférieur à une « limite de dosage » précisée par les ministres.

Quel est la limite de dosage?

La limite de dosage s'entend à la concentration la plus faible d'une substance toxique qui peut être mesurée avec exactitude au moyen de méthodes d'analyse et d'échantillonnage précises mais courantes. Cette limite est établie en laboratoire. Le risque présenté par la substance et les facteurs socioéconomiques n'ont aucune incidence sur sa détermination.

Selon quel processus arrive-t-on à la quasi-élimination d'une substance?

Une fois que la limite de dosage ait été établie pour une substance, les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé peuvent ajouter la substance et sa limite de dosage à la « Liste de quasi-élimination ». La réglementation doit alors préciser la quantité ou la concentration de la substance qu'il est permis de rejeter dans l'environnement. Une ou plusieurs « limites de rejet » de cette nature peuvent être précisées dans les règlements.

Dans le cadre d'efforts visant la quasi-élimination de la substance, les ministres peuvent fixer des limites de rejet provisoires. Dans bien des cas, l'établissement de limites de rejet progressives et la mise en œuvre d'autres mesures visant à gérer le risque présenté par une substance mèneront à la réduction de la quantité ou de la concentration de la substance en deçà de la limite de dosage.

La Loi permet également au ministre d'exiger la préparation et la présentation d'un plan visant la quasi-élimination. Le plan doit comporter une description des mesures proposées en vue de mener à une quasi-élimination de la substance, de même que des délais d'exécution pour le parachèvement de ces mesures.

Renseignements complémentaires

Internet :

Informathèque :

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington, 23e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Tél. : 819-997-2800 ou, sans frais, 1-800-668-6767 [au Canada seulement]
Téléc. : 819-994-1412
ATS : 819-994-0736
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :